Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 95 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Peter J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour, great guide who spoke really good English. We were well looked after- perfect timing of arrival at markets, getting on rowing boat, long tail pick up, lunch at markets. Trip to wood carving was good, it was a great day, highly recommended. Thank you!

N J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Fantastic trip. Made even better by the fact that we had the same guide and driver from the previous day, this made things very relaxed. Well organised and still had chance to relax by the pool in the afternoon. Thank you Mr Tawee!

Sam H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great excursion

coxo01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The boat ride to the market was the best part. It takes place in a long tail boat across narrow canals where you get to see how people actually live. The market itself was too tourist oriented. However, going to Bangkok and not visiting the floating market is just plain dumb. You must do it.

Helen H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a fantastic time despite the national holiday - so many vendors were not on the water. Our guide had lovely English and pointed out so much of interest along the way (sea salt production, coconut plantation, teak carving) without any pressure to buy. The private car picked us up right on time - there is something to be said for riding in a black mercedes through the countryside. There was no pressure to get to the next stop and we had plenty of time for photographs - who needs shopping? I would probably recommend the whole day tour rather than just the half day - I feel like we missed some great opportunities to see and learn more. Our guide was very nice and answered all our questions. Once she realized I was there for the photos, she made sure that I got to see the grounds and the demonstrations to pick up the details others might not be interested in seeing. The "high speed" boat tour was fantastic - all the altars were decorated and the flowers in bloom at each home just made the trip feel special. The market was a great riot of color and several vendors actually carried larger sizes (US 14 and up) of clothing. There were not a lot of bargains to be had, but it was certainly eye candy.

Monica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Tami was amazing. She was so knowledgable about the market and Thai culture overall. We enjoyed the stop at the coconut farm and the salt fields. She was very sweet and helped us negotiate with some of the vendors at the market. She made it a great day.

JB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Approximate 100kms outside Bangkok but worth the visit. Extremely busy tourist trap.

Peter W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Guide very good and really interesting and colourful trip - enjoyed it

Ryan T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Great!

Jason C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

OK, so it was touristy, but I loved it! Loved taking the speedboat through the canals and loved the tourist shopping. Once again, our guide was wonderful.

Esther K Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Awesome. Traditional, not touristy, and so awesome care by our personal tour guide, who even gave us a Thai language tutorial! The stop at a local fishing market before the floating market is a precious memory! Going back again and bringing my mother to show off Thailand!

John B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Excellent. Wonderful experience.

Maryann W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great fun, great tour guide.

Henry R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Yes, it is just for tourists but it is so unique that you must go. Our guide for the day was a blast. She soon took notice that we were game to try new things and led us on a gourmet tour of the market. We ate everything that looked good to us and none of us got sick. So go ahead and enjoy the coconut pancakes.

Ziv K Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

it was very good, thanks. Helen.

Marcia J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a great trip. Definitely recommended.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Very good guide, very friendly and knowledgeable. An excellent and recommended tour.

DAVID F United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

A unique experience! Must be done.

Susan G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide was great. Very personable and knowledgeable. The driver was terrific too. The floating market was interesting and the long tail boat ride very nice. We did think the boat ride would be longer. Nevertheless riding on the canals and seeing how folks live on them is well worth it.

However it is a lot of driving to get there. The guide kept us entertained and clearly loved the job. Worth doing if you have a good guide but be prepared for quite a bit of time in the car.

Savannah` E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

A must do in Bangkok although the floating markets themselves are just a different area to sell things. Really fun to do.

Wendy N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a really good tour and very good value for money. We had our own guide for 2 people who was excellent and told us lots about Bangkok during the car journey to the place where we got on the boat.
The floating markets themselves are now very commercialised which is a shame but it's a great experience. There is a small additional charge from a local boat company upon arrival at the markets if you want to take a small boat that goes right through the middle of the stalls - worth paying the extra for the experience but it is short

Whitney J

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great guide !

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour is definitely recommended as the floating market is a must see for Bangkok! There may be other cheaper ways to see it, but we very much enjoyed the personal tour with a guide and driver. The guide was informative and accommodating, not at all pushy. Be prepared to spend a little money at the market, experimenting with new tastes and smells. Much of the fun for us was negociating a better price on dry goods food items are not usually negotiable. The water was one meter higher than normal due to recent rains some during our day, so not all shops were open, but enough were open to be very interesting. We especially liked the stop at the coconut products area on the way to the market town.

kate

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

i LIKED THIS TOUR VERY MUCH. I WAS LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT WE HAD TO PAY AN EXTRA CHARGE FOR THE BOAT IN THE MARKETS. bUT OVERALL TRIP WAS GOOD.

Heidi

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We did not expect a personal guide and driver, but a tour bus. We really enjoyed our tour.

Viewing 2 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 63.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK21P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message