4.5 star rating: Recommended 56 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 56 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Enjoyable tour, The drive from Bangkok was longer than expected. We had an excellent individual tour guide and took in some extra stops.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

OK, yes, this location is now for tourists. But guess what? You are visiting a foreign country and you likely will not blend. You are a tourist. For this one have fun with it. We did the tour on Sunday and I have to recommend that as there was no traffic. Our guide told us the trip to the market can be a lot longer on weekdays. We went to a coconut factory adn then to the markets where our guide got us a private boat to go around in. We saw some others comment about our luck. The markets were a great place to get lunch, we pulled over to a few food stands on boats and it was so much fun. The food at the docks was also good. If you buy trinkets when in the boat you will pay more than the large fixed price store in the docks. Just know that or check their prices first if you really want the haggle experience. Getting people down 65% still had the same results. We noticed this across the board. Stick to food, but it is worth the cost to go around the market on boat.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Great trip and really pleased that we went privately as it was very warm to be hanging around waiting on a full bus load. My brother joined me from New Zealand totally unexpected and I phoned up to add him to the tour which was done without any hassle. Great tour - not so sure about the length of time spent at the stopovers but other than that fantastic experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The long boat ride was fun and shopping was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Nice tour, the guide was nice and informative.
The stop at the Coconut sugar farm is great and the floating market are for sure something to see.
We booked a private tour and all the trip and the driver has been very pleasant.
Must Do.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Overall a great experience! The side trips to ride elephants, visit a snake farm, and see a woodworking shop were a bit much and we felt obligated to purchase tickets for these activities. Would leave these options up to the traveler.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Nice guide and good value! The floating market is very interesting. I just didn't like stopping at some shops on the way back!

Sarah T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Expensive, but was worth it when travelling in a small group.

Simmi P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Private tour of the floating markets was excellent, with own driver and guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

A really great tour. Floating Market was great to see and I had a great time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wrong time of year, perhaps? Very few boats even on the water and the few there had more overpriced trinkets and souvenirs than anything. I saw lot's of good reviews so maybe we just hit a bad day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It is a pleasent half-day tour. You can be independent and the personal car is comfortable. Nevertheless expect to be brought to wood-carving shops, elephant-ride farms, tiger-farms, etc etc etc so if you want to focus on the floating market you can ask in advance to skip them.
The floating market itself is a very interesting experience, but it is purely a tourist thing, no locals buying/selling goods there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It was a great experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

tourist trap, we wanted more culture

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

As we had already been on an elephant ride, and having read criticisms of this particular elephant camp, we asked our guide to delete this from our itinerary.

Our guide was very chatty in the car, while we hurtled along at 130km an hour in 80 zones.

As it was our last day in Thailand we had minimal baht with us and I think our guide lost interest in us. We clearly weren't going to buy anything so he wasn't going to get any commissions.

We stopped at an orchid farm but were left to our own devices. Ditto at a teak carving factory. The floating markets were good fun and we parted with our last 600 baht to have a paddle boat to ourselves. The narrow waterways are very overcrowded but that added to the atmosphere.

Once we got back to our hotel we did not get the customary Thai farewell, they just hopped in the car and were off.

From USD $ 77.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK21P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message