4 star rating: Recommended 74 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 74 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sarah T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

Expensive, but was worth it when travelling in a small group.

Simmi P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Private tour of the floating markets was excellent, with own driver and guide.

Loret O
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

A really great tour. Floating Market was great to see and I had a great time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The experience is quite unique in the sense it was never like anything i've experience before. Merchants selling their goods in their boat seems worth watching and amusing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very good guide and v. good trip. Did not like being left at a jewelry factory. Left bad taste. Would rather paid more and not been hassle.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Wrong time of year, perhaps? Very few boats even on the water and the few there had more overpriced trinkets and souvenirs than anything. I saw lot's of good reviews so maybe we just hit a bad day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It is a pleasent half-day tour. You can be independent and the personal car is comfortable. Nevertheless expect to be brought to wood-carving shops, elephant-ride farms, tiger-farms, etc etc etc so if you want to focus on the floating market you can ask in advance to skip them.
The floating market itself is a very interesting experience, but it is purely a tourist thing, no locals buying/selling goods there.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

It was a great experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

tourist trap, we wanted more culture

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

As we had already been on an elephant ride, and having read criticisms of this particular elephant camp, we asked our guide to delete this from our itinerary.

Our guide was very chatty in the car, while we hurtled along at 130km an hour in 80 zones.

As it was our last day in Thailand we had minimal baht with us and I think our guide lost interest in us. We clearly weren't going to buy anything so he wasn't going to get any commissions.

We stopped at an orchid farm but were left to our own devices. Ditto at a teak carving factory. The floating markets were good fun and we parted with our last 600 baht to have a paddle boat to ourselves. The narrow waterways are very overcrowded but that added to the atmosphere.

Once we got back to our hotel we did not get the customary Thai farewell, they just hopped in the car and were off.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

A must see but very touristy. The private tour was great because we were able to be on our own schedule.

jf l
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

More driving than I wanted but the short boat ride was fun.

stevenwarriner
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very touristy, but what did I expect. I suppose if you're looking for "old world" thailand we are 50 years too late!

The market is still amazing. I come from Africa so it's a culture shock - which is what i want:)

What i did not like about the tour was the silly coconut plantation stop on route (100km drive). I used the stop for a toilet break, but the plantation is really just a place to exploit tourists for more money.

What really pissed me off was that to tour the market in a boat was an extra Baht150 (only $4). BUT when you've already paid the viator price of $80, why cant the tour operator incluse it into his costs???

Either way, the tour was fun despite the 3 dollars!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The Floating Markets are OK and nice to see.
Our guide unfortunately was not worth the money we paid.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This was a morning trip but most of the trip was taken up by driving!! We arrived early which meant that we could avoid the crowds, but the guide couldn't speak English well and subsequently wasn't able to say much about the market at all. Essentially, we arrived, got in a motor boat, then I was asked to pay extra to actually experience the floating market (which was what I was expecting this tour to involve in the first place!) after which I was paddled around the floating market. Then the guide tried to send me off shopping for one hour!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Our friends went with another company and they had a fantastic tour guide. ours was only ok

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Like some others pointed out, this market is setup for the tourists with most stalls selling the same touristic stuff. If this is want you want, visit the market. We were really looking more for a market that locals might actually go to... this is not it. I wouldn't recommend this to my friends. Perhaps we could have saved the long drive out to this floating market and just stayed in Bangkok and gone to a real market.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Very disappointed with the service. The driver drove much too quickly and weaved in and out of lanes - we had to ask him to slow down. The tour guide's English was hard to understand and he kept yawning and stretching - quite unprofessional . There should have been some water in the van.

CHARLES A
United Arab Emirates

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2007

I found the trip too short. We did not spend enough time in the boat touring the floating market. We were dropped off to do our own thing in the market. Also, we stopped at the orchid place which was not interesting and not mentioned as being part of the tour. We stopped also at a teak factory. While reasonably interesting, this was not expected, and we could have used more time at the floating market, which was the whole purpose of the trip. Also, the tour leader seemed unimpressed with the tip that I gave him.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

After my first experience whit Viator, I can say never again. A call to Viator to have a tour on floating market, a small boute, lunch on rose market a visit rose market. Viator send a e-mail where says that is all included, and. 2 days before the tour i print the voguer, and the voguer just talk about the tour on de floating market. A call to the representative in Bangkok, and they tell me, “ sorry, but if you want you can call viator, we just have the floating market tour”, I call to Viator ( 11 minutes from Thailand to USA ) the answer, “ sorry, no that’s impossible”.
So in the end of the day, I pay 457 dolares, to a trip in the floating MARKET for 6 pax, pick up in the hotel and leave us in the hotel. If I by the some trip in the hotel, the total was 250 dolares. The lunch ? the small boat ? the rose market? I don’t know, maybe viator can answer, but to me, Viator NEVER AGAIN.

PS: a rent a small boat on Floating Market and a have paid 1000 bats for 20 minutes, so, for all the adventure VIATOR, I paid more a less, 532 dolares, without lunch and the roses market.


NEVER AGAIN

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Hi
We did the Floating market tour and will not recommend this tour or any viator to mine friends because off very poor tour guiding

Nicco was our guide and none of us 3 passengers could hardly understand him on out drive down
He was more interesting in eating all his bag for breakfast

The tour is an experience to see unfortunately we had a lot of rain,I did sea a lot better guides from the company you use

It was interesting the kept on contacting Mr and Mrs baile and I was tour leader?? I did not know what is going on in mine opinion is hopeless and perhaps you make a change

I travel a lot and guides should make the day but was not the case

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2007

Too touristy, fake environment.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2007

This market is only an attraction for tourists. Too many people, everybody sells exactly the same things. I recommend weekend market in Bangkok instead.

From USD $ 66.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK21P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message