Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This trip was fantastic. A complete and comprehensive day. We visited the Death Railway museum, rode on a speedboat up the river Kwai to the steel bridge where we stopped off to take photos and cross the bridge. Visited the war graves of British, Dutch and Australian soldiers. Finally boarded an ancient wooden train to travel along the Death Railway. At the end of the line we were taken to a forest restaurant for a marvelous buffet lunch. The guide was very informative about the trip and on the way to the first part of the visit gave us a brief insight into the Thai way of life at present. A must do trip

LINDA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A brilliant choice. Quite a long day but the guide was so knowledgeable and managed to guide us through the formalities with ease. Well worth a day out and was actually the highlight of our stay in Bangkok.

Ross P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was just me, the driver, and the guide in a Mercedes. It doesn't get better than that!

Jodi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I took this tour on my birthday! It was awesome. We took a side trip and rode elephants. It was great!

Stuart R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a fantastic tour and all the better for taking the private tour. It was very moving and definitely our best trip to date. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we made the most of time at Kanachanaburi. We loved it!

Moira D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was something that I was not looking forward to and the experience is very humbling. The guide was excellent and was worth the money. Would recommend.

William V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

The trip was fantastic and the tour guide was fun to be with and had good knowledge of the trip.

beachhaven

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this Tour of the Thai Burma Railway.

Romy B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

O tour foi muito interessante. Difícil foi suportar o calor e o atraso do trem, que nos deixou esperando por mais de 1 hora. Claro que isso não é culpa da Viator, que prestou um ótimo serviço.

Ebony B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip which was well planned. Only issue was waiting for the famous train, it was 1.5 hours late and all we could do was wait! Lunch was nice, scenery was lovely.

Arfon J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, most definitely good value for money.

Julie P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, if long day out, Knowledgeable Guide spoke excellent English was very informative about the countryside and route and what we saw. Car was comfortable and the Driver drove well. Excellent Thai meal at lunch time

PAUL B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall a very sobering experience. Not enough time was allowed between walking the bridge and getting on the train to allow shopping in the souvenir market.

Dawn N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The trip was well organised and we loved it but had a problem understanding the guide.

Nicola A E

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Four of us did this as a private trip. It's a long day but worth it. The guide was excellent. The visit to the war graves was very moving, and again the visit to the pow camp museum was very interesting although on a previous trip some Yeats ago I remember there being a lot more information and personal stories within the museum which really brought home the horror and the bravery of the prisoners. Perhaps as there is a greater level of tourism in the area some of the exhibits have moved? We really enjoyed the short boat ride to the bridge and the trip on the train was interesting and a chance to see more of the agricultural side of the area.

Terry R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great for those interested in the real history of the Railway and Bridge.

brenst Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Well organised. Good guide, Enjoyable day

Richard N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We are pleased we made the trip which covered everything described in the internet itinerary. Our guide was very chatty and seemed to think he had to talk to us all the time - it is a long way from Bangkok to the River Kwai.
Our highlights were walking across the bridge and the train ride which takes you across the original tracks.

Debbie A Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

If you have limited time but want to get the River Kawi Bridge and Death Railway this is a good way.
We never felt like we were short on time, our guide Yai would always give us a brief outline and then let us go. The JEATH Museum could be skipped as it is very run down and needs work badly.

IAN K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This was a good trip. An early start and a full day. The whole trip is decided by the train times, so occasionally we would have liked more time in certain places. Quite a moving experience, but well worh doing. The train ride was something else - well recommended

Eryl U Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

great day good giude good driver great lunch recommend it highly

Ellissa P Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We came on the tour with low expectations. Fortunately our guide made our tour and exceed our expectations. We had a great time, whilst it was very moving to see what POWs and locals went through to build this railway.

Paula F Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

The tour content was great and we had plenty of time to look around at the different stops along the way. Our visit to the Saiyok Elephant Park was a delightful and unexpected surprise, and we took the option to go for an elephant ride. The only thing we were a little disappointed in was our guide's lack of enthusiasm - he wasn't very forthcoming with information about the area's history unless asked.

bcavaliere27

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour itself is worthwhile but we were not impressed with our local guide.

Rachel L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I didn't realise from the tour description that we would spend 6 of the 11 hours in a car travelling to and from the river area, and 2 hours on a train (with hard wooden seats). A lot of time in transit and not much being able to walk around and see things. The guide didn't offer much in the way of commentary or insight into the events relating to the railway/prison camps etc. It would have been nice to see the museum near the cemetery we visited and not just the one near the jetty which was very small.

The boat we were in broke down, so we drifted in the middle of the river for a little while till one came to rescue us. Not the fault of the tour company but I do wonder if there are better maintained boats around that could be used.

Viewing 2 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | Next

From USD $ 98.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message