4.5 star rating: Recommended 35 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 35 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

A brilliant choice. Quite a long day but the guide was so knowledgeable and managed to guide us through the formalities with ease. Well worth a day out and was actually the highlight of our stay in Bangkok.

Ross P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It was just me, the driver, and the guide in a Mercedes. It doesn't get better than that!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I took this tour on my birthday! It was awesome. We took a side trip and rode elephants. It was great!

Stuart R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a fantastic tour and all the better for taking the private tour. It was very moving and definitely our best trip to date. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we made the most of time at Kanachanaburi. We loved it!

Moira D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was something that I was not looking forward to and the experience is very humbling. The guide was excellent and was worth the money. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

The trip was fantastic and the tour guide was fun to be with and had good knowledge of the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The trip was well organised and we loved it but had a problem understanding the guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Four of us did this as a private trip. It's a long day but worth it. The guide was excellent. The visit to the war graves was very moving, and again the visit to the pow camp museum was very interesting although on a previous trip some Yeats ago I remember there being a lot more information and personal stories within the museum which really brought home the horror and the bravery of the prisoners. Perhaps as there is a greater level of tourism in the area some of the exhibits have moved? We really enjoyed the short boat ride to the bridge and the trip on the train was interesting and a chance to see more of the agricultural side of the area.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great for those interested in the real history of the Railway and Bridge.

brenst
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Well organised. Good guide, Enjoyable day

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We are pleased we made the trip which covered everything described in the internet itinerary. Our guide was very chatty and seemed to think he had to talk to us all the time - it is a long way from Bangkok to the River Kwai.
Our highlights were walking across the bridge and the train ride which takes you across the original tracks.

Debbie A
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

If you have limited time but want to get the River Kawi Bridge and Death Railway this is a good way.
We never felt like we were short on time, our guide Yai would always give us a brief outline and then let us go. The JEATH Museum could be skipped as it is very run down and needs work badly.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This was a good trip. An early start and a full day. The whole trip is decided by the train times, so occasionally we would have liked more time in certain places. Quite a moving experience, but well worh doing. The train ride was something else - well recommended

Eryl U
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

great day good giude good driver great lunch recommend it highly

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We came on the tour with low expectations. Fortunately our guide made our tour and exceed our expectations. We had a great time, whilst it was very moving to see what POWs and locals went through to build this railway.

From USD $ 118.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36P

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message