Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 48 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 48 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Moira D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was something that I was not looking forward to and the experience is very humbling. The guide was excellent and was worth the money. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

The trip was fantastic and the tour guide was fun to be with and had good knowledge of the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this Tour of the Thai Burma Railway.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

O tour foi muito interessante. Difícil foi suportar o calor e o atraso do trem, que nos deixou esperando por mais de 1 hora. Claro que isso não é culpa da Viator, que prestou um ótimo serviço.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip which was well planned. Only issue was waiting for the famous train, it was 1.5 hours late and all we could do was wait! Lunch was nice, scenery was lovely.

Arfon J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip, most definitely good value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent, if long day out, Knowledgeable Guide spoke excellent English was very informative about the countryside and route and what we saw. Car was comfortable and the Driver drove well. Excellent Thai meal at lunch time

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall a very sobering experience. Not enough time was allowed between walking the bridge and getting on the train to allow shopping in the souvenir market.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The trip was well organised and we loved it but had a problem understanding the guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Four of us did this as a private trip. It's a long day but worth it. The guide was excellent. The visit to the war graves was very moving, and again the visit to the pow camp museum was very interesting although on a previous trip some Yeats ago I remember there being a lot more information and personal stories within the museum which really brought home the horror and the bravery of the prisoners. Perhaps as there is a greater level of tourism in the area some of the exhibits have moved? We really enjoyed the short boat ride to the bridge and the trip on the train was interesting and a chance to see more of the agricultural side of the area.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great for those interested in the real history of the Railway and Bridge.

brenst
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Well organised. Good guide, Enjoyable day

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We are pleased we made the trip which covered everything described in the internet itinerary. Our guide was very chatty and seemed to think he had to talk to us all the time - it is a long way from Bangkok to the River Kwai.
Our highlights were walking across the bridge and the train ride which takes you across the original tracks.

Debbie A
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

If you have limited time but want to get the River Kawi Bridge and Death Railway this is a good way.
We never felt like we were short on time, our guide Yai would always give us a brief outline and then let us go. The JEATH Museum could be skipped as it is very run down and needs work badly.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

This was a good trip. An early start and a full day. The whole trip is decided by the train times, so occasionally we would have liked more time in certain places. Quite a moving experience, but well worh doing. The train ride was something else - well recommended

Eryl U
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

great day good giude good driver great lunch recommend it highly

Ellissa P
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

We came on the tour with low expectations. Fortunately our guide made our tour and exceed our expectations. We had a great time, whilst it was very moving to see what POWs and locals went through to build this railway.

Paula F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

The tour content was great and we had plenty of time to look around at the different stops along the way. Our visit to the Saiyok Elephant Park was a delightful and unexpected surprise, and we took the option to go for an elephant ride. The only thing we were a little disappointed in was our guide's lack of enthusiasm - he wasn't very forthcoming with information about the area's history unless asked.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour itself is worthwhile but we were not impressed with our local guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I didn't realise from the tour description that we would spend 6 of the 11 hours in a car travelling to and from the river area, and 2 hours on a train (with hard wooden seats). A lot of time in transit and not much being able to walk around and see things. The guide didn't offer much in the way of commentary or insight into the events relating to the railway/prison camps etc. It would have been nice to see the museum near the cemetery we visited and not just the one near the jetty which was very small.

The boat we were in broke down, so we drifted in the middle of the river for a little while till one came to rescue us. Not the fault of the tour company but I do wonder if there are better maintained boats around that could be used.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Hi
Our tour the next day was a Mr Kasem ?

His language was a little better but very limited in explaining I think they get tired as they get older I believe new generation of ladies would do a better job

On the way back he hardly said a word stopped at toilet stop and did say that was it and as we came near hotel did only say we are nearly here not even thanking us or hope e enjoyed the day again a very poor representation.

All these 2 tours not impressed with Viator agents in Thailand and will not recommend them

Mine other tour friends had never travelled with Viator and accepted it on mine advice were not happy

Or change of company from Tour East may be better

Barry Geskus

Peter W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

Museum was a real disapointment and guide not really interested in imparting information. Once at the Bridge there was little else to do so returned to hotel before lunch.

Helen R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2007

I was slightly disappointed, as the train trip was not what I expected. Much of the train ride is through farmed countryside and not at all scenic. The train was very crowded and not everyone had seats. I preferred my previous trip to The River Kwai which incorporated the Floating Market and Orchid Farm.

From USD $ 97.24

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36P

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message