4.5 star rating: Recommended 236 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 236 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour to the River Kwai was great and we took our three teenage kids and they really enjoyed it. The tour guide was lovely and had a great personality. The buffet lunch was the best Thai we had in Thailand.

Candice - Sydney (Australia)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip both interesting and extremely moving

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent day - tour guide was lovely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out from start to finish the guide and driver were excellent the places we called at were very good the train journey makes you realise what the prisoners had to endure. A long day, a tiering day but an excellent trip highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was brilliant it was extremely moving for me as my Uncle was there. Long day but worth every second. Lunch was brilliant and our tour guide excellent. Definately recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was a very moving day at the museum and the British cemetary. We had a lovely lady called "Tiny" as our guide. She was excellent, very friendly and knowlagable. We were impressed with how organised she was. She told us when to take the best photos from the train . She collected the tickets, our stickers, the picture from our refreshment box along with our train certificate, rolled them all together to give us a lovely memento of the day. Thank you Tiny for making trip special

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful tour. I have done both of the River Kwai tours through Viator, and prefer this one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing day for so little money. I was part of only 2 tourists with 1 guide and 1 driver for a day of full of history and culture. I also saw the Thailand countryside by van, boat and train. I highly recommend this tour for anyone that enjoys seeing the real part of Thailand while visiting famous places of history. The summary of our day was: 2 hour van ride to War cemetery, short ride to Death Museum, 10 minute high speed ride boat to Bridge, 1 hour of walking around bridge area, 1 1/2 hour train ride on Death Railway, lunch, 3 hour van ride back to Bangkok. Great Day! Great tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well done, informative, and the guide and accommodations were among the best. Especially for such a historic and moving war memorial.

David
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great day for us. The tour is well put together with much to do and see. The visit to the cemetery was a reminder of the cost of the building the railway during World War II and the JEATH museum has a mock of the terrible conditions the prisoners of war had to face even after a hard days labour on the railway and bridges. The long boat ride from the JEATH museum to the bridge was exhilarating as we sped along the smooth clean river to the steel bridge funded by the Japanese three years after the war ended. The houseboats and mansions on the river bank are a beautiful site. The train ride from the steel bridge at Kanchanaburi to Sai Yok near the Thai-Burma border was fantastic, and a little scary over the timber bridges built during WWII and very fascinating, and it all ended at a beautiful restaurant near Sai Yok, and a very tasty Thai meal. Our guide was energetic and friendly with a lot of information on the history of it all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, very peaceful, I think the highlight for me was the old train with wooden seats going along the side of the river, a really special day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

a highly recommended tour, with an informative guide. from the solemnness of the war graves to the "James Bond" boat ride, the train journey along the railway and finally the lovely meal at the end of the rail line. we were also offered the elephant ride if we so wished. a long but fascinating day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A must do tour, this was the best day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great day on this tour. Was a long bus ride to get there but well worth it. Loved the Long Jet boat ride down to the Bridge and the train ride along the Death Railway was awesome. Very moving to read the graves at the JEATH cemetery. All in all a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My grandad was a pow on the burma railway, so taking this tour was very important to me. From start to finish this tour was amazing, we had a very informative guide and a great driver. The tour was very well organised and the lunch alone worth the price of the tour ! Amazing day out with a few tears

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, couldn't fault it.
The railways journey was really interesting (pay the £4 on tour extra for the first class seats) and the lunch provided was good quality.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great day out with Tiny. She was very knowledgable and very funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

a fantastic tour one of the best!!!, was a great day out, and gives you a chance to see and ride the death railway, a chance to take some amazing photos, the speed boat along the river kwai is also fantastic, well worth the money, would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Superb tour with some fantastic experiences .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a very long day, picked up from our hotel in Bangkok at 6.10am and not back until gone 6pm but it was well worth the tiredness. The only down side was that after spending 2 hours on the train going away from Bangkok it was a long mini bus trip back to the hotel. There is nothing else negative that can be said about this trip. The war cemetery was very moving and a fitting tribute and actually being able to travel on the railway was an experience that I would not have missed. We were even given refreshments on the train ride, which was totally unexpected. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Out tour guide was brilliant and on the way back he made a detour to the Tiger Temple which was again another amazing experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend this to anyone with a short time to see the river Kwai area. A great way to get to see as much as possible in one day. Kanchanaburi cemetery/ museum/ river trip/ bridge visit and a long train ride. We have not used viator before but will do so again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A very good value for money trip. it was an early start though at 6.20am but a lot was packed into the day, firstly negotiating Bangkoks monstrous traffic and making a couple of pick ups at other hotels before hitting the road. The trip entailed a stop at the death railway museum which has numerous contemporary photographs and artefacts,we then transferred by long tailed motor boats and and made our way up the river to the bridge where we had the chance to stop and walk over it. We then got on a train and travelled for about an hour and fourty minutes along the line .When we alighted a hot lunch was included which was very good and the trip ended at an immaculately kept cemetery where thousands of service personnel have been laid to rest. The guide could'nt do enough to be helpful with his commentary, although after such an early start sometimes a few more quiet moments would have been appreciated. We arrived back at our hotel at about 7.30pm and I would not hesitate to recommend this trip. It was a privilege to have been there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour but expect being emotional visiting the Australian/British cemetery of those of didn't survive the death camps and even more emotional at the JEATH War Museum. Next, a very fast long-tail boat ride to the Burma Death Railway. We took about a 2 1/2 hour ride on the railway through farm country, then lunch at an open-air restaurant. Long trip back to Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only problem was the hotel pick up as the hotel I was staying at was not on the list.I could not find the hotel I was meant to be picked up from thou when I got back to my hotel and told reception they phoned this company up,was asked if I wanted to go on it the next day(my answer yes) and the reception staff the next day led me to the pick up place where I eventually was picked up.Top tour and 10 out of 10 for help and assistance!will highly recommend this tour to people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was exceptionally good, particularly for those interested in the War. We couldn't have asked for a better Guide than Peter. He was brilliant, very knowledgeable, and ensured everyone on the tour enjoyed the experience.

From USD $ 58.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message