4.5 star rating: Recommended 167 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 167 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only problem was the hotel pick up as the hotel I was staying at was not on the list.I could not find the hotel I was meant to be picked up from thou when I got back to my hotel and told reception they phoned this company up,was asked if I wanted to go on it the next day(my answer yes) and the reception staff the next day led me to the pick up place where I eventually was picked up.Top tour and 10 out of 10 for help and assistance!will highly recommend this tour to people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was exceptionally good, particularly for those interested in the War. We couldn't have asked for a better Guide than Peter. He was brilliant, very knowledgeable, and ensured everyone on the tour enjoyed the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Cannot recommend this trip more highly, really enjoyable day, but, please review the company you are using. Thailand is a dangerous place on the roads and I do not appreciate the drivers talking on their mobile phones when they should be concentrating on the roads and protecting us. It is against the law even in Thailand, we seen an awful crash on the way back where people were killed. It could have been us !!! Please change to a company that abides by the law and keeps us safe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The topic of the tour is a bit depressing but the presentation was very effective. I learned a lot and still enjoyed the time spent outside of the city of Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful day away from the hectic city of bangkok. Very emotional at the cemetery

Elaine B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up promptly in the morning and were pleasantly surprised to be in a small group of 10 people, we had expected the group to be much larger. Although the journey out to the cemetery and museum is quite long it is still a very worthwhile tour. We had plenty of time to see the cemetery and museum. The toilet facilities at the museum were basic but spotlessly clean. The boat ride was fantastic and fast. We enjoyed the time we had at the bridge with plenty of time to walk over the bridge before the train came. We had been warned that the train would be packed but we decided not to opt for the extra cost to upgrade and were pleasantly surprised to find reasonably comfortable seats without too much crowding. The train ride was 1 hour 40mins long but it was quite a nice rest watching the scenery go by. Locals were walking up and down the train selling various items of food and souvenirs. Once we got to Wangpo we alighted and walked across the road to the restaurant and had a lovely lunch. The journey home was not too bad although the traffic in Bangkok is manic. All in all we had a wonderful day and it was well worth going. We have used Viator before when we went to Italy and can't fault the service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great guide , very friendly! A very informative tour and packed with history!!! Loved the entire day! Would recommend it to anyone!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this day trip! Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and knew how to ensure the trip was terrific. Our driver made the trip appear effortless, and avoided peak hour traffic, yet till with plentiful rest breaks.
The River Kwai / Death Railway trip has personal significance, as it would for many Australians, and I believe is now one of the pilgrimages equivalent to ANZAC Cove, France, Kokoda Trail. Excellent value. Thank you Viator, I hope to do future trips with you when next back 'in country'!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The weather all day was WET, but this was the highlight of the trip for me. Our rest stop on the way had "Turkish" toilets so be prepared! We had time to photograph and walk across the Bridge. The museum is small, but interesting. From there to the train, we took what someone called a "James Bond" boat, with floor seating. The train was very late in arriving, and we were soaked. Our guide did not do a good job of telling everyone what was happening with the train. Also we had to pay extra to go on what our guide called a "tourist class" car. But the scenery along the train route is awesome, and the buffet meal served afterwards was excellent. Of course, the main impact of the trip is the historical insight offered into this WW II era.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Your tour was execlent,and so was your gide and the driver ,thank you very much ,regards Bill Makeham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth every penny! The one downside, as seems to be the norm these days, is the "commercialisation" at Kanchanaburi. Having said that, the excursion was humbling as well as educational and it really struck home the horrors of what happened here - and to think that the railway, once completed, stretched more than 400 kms and this was built in 17 months! What these men went through was inhuman. Would I go again? Yes, if only to once again pay my respects to the many thousands who lost their life building this railway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Good pick up from hotel and then the tour guide was informative about both the area we were going to and Bangkok. Spent time at the cemetery, museum and then a cruise up the river. We had time to walk across the bridge before we went on the train. On the train get the upgrade seats, you definitely get a seat as well as snacks and drinks. The trip on the railway allowed you to see the countryside and also get up close to the railway and see the areas which must have been really difficult to build. The a spot of lunch which was really good loads of choice and loads of food. Then back to Bangkok. A day I will never forget as the area I come from lost many soldiers to this railway.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a Good Day--The boat ride to the Bridge was exhilirating, the Bridge itself was memorable, the visit to the POW cemetary was moving, the War Museum was eye-opening, and the train ride was spectacular. Loved every minute of it (even though it was a long day).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

love it the boat the train and the bridge all good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a pleasant day trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and took very good care of us.

From USD $ 67.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message