4.5 star rating: Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend this to anyone with a short time to see the river Kwai area. A great way to get to see as much as possible in one day. Kanchanaburi cemetery/ museum/ river trip/ bridge visit and a long train ride. We have not used viator before but will do so again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A very good value for money trip. it was an early start though at 6.20am but a lot was packed into the day, firstly negotiating Bangkoks monstrous traffic and making a couple of pick ups at other hotels before hitting the road. The trip entailed a stop at the death railway museum which has numerous contemporary photographs and artefacts,we then transferred by long tailed motor boats and and made our way up the river to the bridge where we had the chance to stop and walk over it. We then got on a train and travelled for about an hour and fourty minutes along the line .When we alighted a hot lunch was included which was very good and the trip ended at an immaculately kept cemetery where thousands of service personnel have been laid to rest. The guide could'nt do enough to be helpful with his commentary, although after such an early start sometimes a few more quiet moments would have been appreciated. We arrived back at our hotel at about 7.30pm and I would not hesitate to recommend this trip. It was a privilege to have been there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A very good value for money trip. it was an early start though at 6.20am but a lot was packed into the day, firstly negotiating Bangkoks monstrous traffic and making a couple of pick ups at other hotels before hitting the road. The trip entailed a stop at the death railway museum which has numerous contemporary photographs and artefacts,we then transferred by long tailed motor boats and and made our way up the river to the bridge where we had the chance to stop and walk over it. We then got on a train and travelled for about an hour and fourty minutes along the line .When we alighted a hot lunch was included which was very good and the trip ended at an immaculately kept cemetery where thousands of service personnel have been laid to rest. The guide could'nt do enough to be helpful with his commentary, although after such an early start sometimes a few more quiet moments would have been appreciated. We arrived back at our hotel at about 7.30pm and I would not hesitate to recommend this trip. It was a privilege to have been there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour but expect being emotional visiting the Australian/British cemetery of those of didn't survive the death camps and even more emotional at the JEATH War Museum. Next, a very fast long-tail boat ride to the Burma Death Railway. We took about a 2 1/2 hour ride on the railway through farm country, then lunch at an open-air restaurant. Long trip back to Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only problem was the hotel pick up as the hotel I was staying at was not on the list.I could not find the hotel I was meant to be picked up from thou when I got back to my hotel and told reception they phoned this company up,was asked if I wanted to go on it the next day(my answer yes) and the reception staff the next day led me to the pick up place where I eventually was picked up.Top tour and 10 out of 10 for help and assistance!will highly recommend this tour to people.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was exceptionally good, particularly for those interested in the War. We couldn't have asked for a better Guide than Peter. He was brilliant, very knowledgeable, and ensured everyone on the tour enjoyed the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Cannot recommend this trip more highly, really enjoyable day, but, please review the company you are using. Thailand is a dangerous place on the roads and I do not appreciate the drivers talking on their mobile phones when they should be concentrating on the roads and protecting us. It is against the law even in Thailand, we seen an awful crash on the way back where people were killed. It could have been us !!! Please change to a company that abides by the law and keeps us safe.

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The topic of the tour is a bit depressing but the presentation was very effective. I learned a lot and still enjoyed the time spent outside of the city of Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful day away from the hectic city of bangkok. Very emotional at the cemetery

Elaine B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up promptly in the morning and were pleasantly surprised to be in a small group of 10 people, we had expected the group to be much larger. Although the journey out to the cemetery and museum is quite long it is still a very worthwhile tour. We had plenty of time to see the cemetery and museum. The toilet facilities at the museum were basic but spotlessly clean. The boat ride was fantastic and fast. We enjoyed the time we had at the bridge with plenty of time to walk over the bridge before the train came. We had been warned that the train would be packed but we decided not to opt for the extra cost to upgrade and were pleasantly surprised to find reasonably comfortable seats without too much crowding. The train ride was 1 hour 40mins long but it was quite a nice rest watching the scenery go by. Locals were walking up and down the train selling various items of food and souvenirs. Once we got to Wangpo we alighted and walked across the road to the restaurant and had a lovely lunch. The journey home was not too bad although the traffic in Bangkok is manic. All in all we had a wonderful day and it was well worth going. We have used Viator before when we went to Italy and can't fault the service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great guide , very friendly! A very informative tour and packed with history!!! Loved the entire day! Would recommend it to anyone!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this day trip! Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and knew how to ensure the trip was terrific. Our driver made the trip appear effortless, and avoided peak hour traffic, yet till with plentiful rest breaks.
The River Kwai / Death Railway trip has personal significance, as it would for many Australians, and I believe is now one of the pilgrimages equivalent to ANZAC Cove, France, Kokoda Trail. Excellent value. Thank you Viator, I hope to do future trips with you when next back 'in country'!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The weather all day was WET, but this was the highlight of the trip for me. Our rest stop on the way had "Turkish" toilets so be prepared! We had time to photograph and walk across the Bridge. The museum is small, but interesting. From there to the train, we took what someone called a "James Bond" boat, with floor seating. The train was very late in arriving, and we were soaked. Our guide did not do a good job of telling everyone what was happening with the train. Also we had to pay extra to go on what our guide called a "tourist class" car. But the scenery along the train route is awesome, and the buffet meal served afterwards was excellent. Of course, the main impact of the trip is the historical insight offered into this WW II era.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Your tour was execlent,and so was your gide and the driver ,thank you very much ,regards Bill Makeham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth every penny! The one downside, as seems to be the norm these days, is the "commercialisation" at Kanchanaburi. Having said that, the excursion was humbling as well as educational and it really struck home the horrors of what happened here - and to think that the railway, once completed, stretched more than 400 kms and this was built in 17 months! What these men went through was inhuman. Would I go again? Yes, if only to once again pay my respects to the many thousands who lost their life building this railway

From USD $ 66.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message