4.5 star rating: Recommended 229 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 229 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The weather all day was WET, but this was the highlight of the trip for me. Our rest stop on the way had "Turkish" toilets so be prepared! We had time to photograph and walk across the Bridge. The museum is small, but interesting. From there to the train, we took what someone called a "James Bond" boat, with floor seating. The train was very late in arriving, and we were soaked. Our guide did not do a good job of telling everyone what was happening with the train. Also we had to pay extra to go on what our guide called a "tourist class" car. But the scenery along the train route is awesome, and the buffet meal served afterwards was excellent. Of course, the main impact of the trip is the historical insight offered into this WW II era.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Your tour was execlent,and so was your gide and the driver ,thank you very much ,regards Bill Makeham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth every penny! The one downside, as seems to be the norm these days, is the "commercialisation" at Kanchanaburi. Having said that, the excursion was humbling as well as educational and it really struck home the horrors of what happened here - and to think that the railway, once completed, stretched more than 400 kms and this was built in 17 months! What these men went through was inhuman. Would I go again? Yes, if only to once again pay my respects to the many thousands who lost their life building this railway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Good pick up from hotel and then the tour guide was informative about both the area we were going to and Bangkok. Spent time at the cemetery, museum and then a cruise up the river. We had time to walk across the bridge before we went on the train. On the train get the upgrade seats, you definitely get a seat as well as snacks and drinks. The trip on the railway allowed you to see the countryside and also get up close to the railway and see the areas which must have been really difficult to build. The a spot of lunch which was really good loads of choice and loads of food. Then back to Bangkok. A day I will never forget as the area I come from lost many soldiers to this railway.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a Good Day--The boat ride to the Bridge was exhilirating, the Bridge itself was memorable, the visit to the POW cemetary was moving, the War Museum was eye-opening, and the train ride was spectacular. Loved every minute of it (even though it was a long day).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

love it the boat the train and the bridge all good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a pleasant day trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and took very good care of us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Sue and I Phil were very impressed with the Bridge on the River Kwai tour but the only down side that we both agreed on, was, the fact that we did not have much time to see the museum...Hopefully, we will return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Bangkok area. The tour guide, Kris, was very knowledgable, funny and spoken excellent English. He even went out of his way to get us back to our hotel without sitting in 2 hours of Bangkok traffic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyed every part of this tour. The guide was informative and friendly. The cemetry and museum moving. The longtail boat ride exhilarating. Walking across the bridge an experience. The train ride was enhanced by going tourist class for an extra 200 bhat, waited on hand and foot. Country side was enjoyable and final lunch very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour is a "must see". I learned a great deal on this tour. It was exactly what I was looking for and the included meal was an added treat. The train ride was simply an amazing experience. The tour guide was fantastic and kept a good pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic trip and great service.We received a letter the day before stating what time we would be picked up, we had an air conditioned mini bus with our party of 5 and 2 other travellers in it and our guide was lovely. We all thoroughly enjoyed the trip, the boat ride to the actual bridge was a great way to get your first glimpse of it. Highly recommended.

ELIZABETH M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent trip, long journey but well worth it. Must do if you dont mind the journey. Sadly we lost our photos, anyone got any up to date thatwe could purchase?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The trip was every bit as exciting as expected and more. Upon arrival at my hotel, I was given as message from you confirming the time the next day for picking me up. We had a great tour guide who was right on time. Myself and six British people were in a very comfortable van. We made stops along the way and saw the cemetery and a museum and things I didn't realize were included. Seeing the bridge from a long tail boat was exciting to me. We also had time to shop before the train ride. What a fantastic ride we had with outstanding scenery. The food we had before finishing our journey was spectacular. I couldn't have had a better day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great trip Joe was wonderful. Good that there was a small group . Joe shared a lot,of good information. joes English was also vry good which helped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The river cruise and buffet lunch on board back to Bangkok and on board narration was wonderful and relaxing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had a fantastic day. A very interesting trip - made that much more so by our excellent tour guide, June. She was really amazing, friendly and SO informative. We saw first hand too that she was streets ahead of all the other tour guides we encountered en route. Highly recommended indeed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent

Colin L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

very enjoyable tour the train ride good, lunch was excellent our guide was very good over all very good day highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic day tour and enjoyed the trip up the river to the bridge. Long day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

this was a great daytrip out of bangkok. enjoyed myself very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our first stop from Bangkok was to a cemetery where many of the PoWs who built the railway and bridge are buried - row upon row of headstones in an immaculately tendered field. Very moving.
We then proceeded to a museum dedicated to the memory of said PoWs - photos and newspaper cuttings of emaciated men, many very ill, forced to work.
We then boarded a river boat for the journey to the bridge itself. These boats are canoe-like structures with outboard motors that frisk you at high speed, with the edge of the boat so close to the level of the river, and the wind blowing through your hair! How exciting!
The bridge turned out to be different from the one in the famous movie - it's made of steel, whilst the movie version had it made of wood, if memory serves. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the sad era of the Second World War that occasioned the building of the railway and bridge. I also learnt that there is no river Kwai as such. Apparently the word 'kwai' is Thai for river. The PoWs mistakenly thought the river was called Kwai when they heard locals use the term.
We then boarded a train that took us over the bridge and along the railway for about 100 km, passing through picturesque Thai countryside of plantations, farms and forest. So very peaceful. I was particularly impressed by how smart the houses were, even deep in the Thai countryside.
Finally we met our minivan for the return trip to Bangkok, at break neck speed it has to be said. Our driver paid scant regard to the speed limit and was constantly 'undertaking' i.e. overtaking on the wrong side of the car being passed. Quite scary at times!
Andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This day trip out of Bangkok was a good one where you get immersed into the past. Looking at the death railway line construction was amazing given the harsh environment during the war time. We have a great driver that drive us around smoothly from/to Bangkok. We will also like to thank our tour guide YAI who is very knowledgeable and thoughtful. She has ensured that we make the best out of our day trip to understand and see the past of the POW that have gone through under the Japanese occupation period. Her thoughtful gesture to ensure that we are comfortable throughout the journey was also commendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Peter was the best guide Had a great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Nice guide and driver. The JETAH museum is a must. Very moving to see what the prisoners had to go through. The ride on the boat and train were great. You'll have plenty of occasions to take beautiful pictures. Wasn't very hungry so I didn't have much food for lunch but it looked OK from what I saw. Because of the traffic in Bangkok, don't expect to be back before 6pm, a long but very rewarding day. Highly recommended!

From USD $ 60.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message