4.5 star rating: Recommended 236 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 236 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The topic of the tour is a bit depressing but the presentation was very effective. I learned a lot and still enjoyed the time spent outside of the city of Bangkok.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful day away from the hectic city of bangkok. Very emotional at the cemetery

Elaine B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were picked up promptly in the morning and were pleasantly surprised to be in a small group of 10 people, we had expected the group to be much larger. Although the journey out to the cemetery and museum is quite long it is still a very worthwhile tour. We had plenty of time to see the cemetery and museum. The toilet facilities at the museum were basic but spotlessly clean. The boat ride was fantastic and fast. We enjoyed the time we had at the bridge with plenty of time to walk over the bridge before the train came. We had been warned that the train would be packed but we decided not to opt for the extra cost to upgrade and were pleasantly surprised to find reasonably comfortable seats without too much crowding. The train ride was 1 hour 40mins long but it was quite a nice rest watching the scenery go by. Locals were walking up and down the train selling various items of food and souvenirs. Once we got to Wangpo we alighted and walked across the road to the restaurant and had a lovely lunch. The journey home was not too bad although the traffic in Bangkok is manic. All in all we had a wonderful day and it was well worth going. We have used Viator before when we went to Italy and can't fault the service.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great guide , very friendly! A very informative tour and packed with history!!! Loved the entire day! Would recommend it to anyone!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved this day trip! Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and knew how to ensure the trip was terrific. Our driver made the trip appear effortless, and avoided peak hour traffic, yet till with plentiful rest breaks.
The River Kwai / Death Railway trip has personal significance, as it would for many Australians, and I believe is now one of the pilgrimages equivalent to ANZAC Cove, France, Kokoda Trail. Excellent value. Thank you Viator, I hope to do future trips with you when next back 'in country'!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The weather all day was WET, but this was the highlight of the trip for me. Our rest stop on the way had "Turkish" toilets so be prepared! We had time to photograph and walk across the Bridge. The museum is small, but interesting. From there to the train, we took what someone called a "James Bond" boat, with floor seating. The train was very late in arriving, and we were soaked. Our guide did not do a good job of telling everyone what was happening with the train. Also we had to pay extra to go on what our guide called a "tourist class" car. But the scenery along the train route is awesome, and the buffet meal served afterwards was excellent. Of course, the main impact of the trip is the historical insight offered into this WW II era.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Your tour was execlent,and so was your gide and the driver ,thank you very much ,regards Bill Makeham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth every penny! The one downside, as seems to be the norm these days, is the "commercialisation" at Kanchanaburi. Having said that, the excursion was humbling as well as educational and it really struck home the horrors of what happened here - and to think that the railway, once completed, stretched more than 400 kms and this was built in 17 months! What these men went through was inhuman. Would I go again? Yes, if only to once again pay my respects to the many thousands who lost their life building this railway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Good pick up from hotel and then the tour guide was informative about both the area we were going to and Bangkok. Spent time at the cemetery, museum and then a cruise up the river. We had time to walk across the bridge before we went on the train. On the train get the upgrade seats, you definitely get a seat as well as snacks and drinks. The trip on the railway allowed you to see the countryside and also get up close to the railway and see the areas which must have been really difficult to build. The a spot of lunch which was really good loads of choice and loads of food. Then back to Bangkok. A day I will never forget as the area I come from lost many soldiers to this railway.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Such a Good Day--The boat ride to the Bridge was exhilirating, the Bridge itself was memorable, the visit to the POW cemetary was moving, the War Museum was eye-opening, and the train ride was spectacular. Loved every minute of it (even though it was a long day).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

love it the boat the train and the bridge all good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a pleasant day trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable and took very good care of us.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Sue and I Phil were very impressed with the Bridge on the River Kwai tour but the only down side that we both agreed on, was, the fact that we did not have much time to see the museum...Hopefully, we will return.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Bangkok area. The tour guide, Kris, was very knowledgable, funny and spoken excellent English. He even went out of his way to get us back to our hotel without sitting in 2 hours of Bangkok traffic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyed every part of this tour. The guide was informative and friendly. The cemetry and museum moving. The longtail boat ride exhilarating. Walking across the bridge an experience. The train ride was enhanced by going tourist class for an extra 200 bhat, waited on hand and foot. Country side was enjoyable and final lunch very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour is a "must see". I learned a great deal on this tour. It was exactly what I was looking for and the included meal was an added treat. The train ride was simply an amazing experience. The tour guide was fantastic and kept a good pace.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic trip and great service.We received a letter the day before stating what time we would be picked up, we had an air conditioned mini bus with our party of 5 and 2 other travellers in it and our guide was lovely. We all thoroughly enjoyed the trip, the boat ride to the actual bridge was a great way to get your first glimpse of it. Highly recommended.

ELIZABETH M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent trip, long journey but well worth it. Must do if you dont mind the journey. Sadly we lost our photos, anyone got any up to date thatwe could purchase?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The trip was every bit as exciting as expected and more. Upon arrival at my hotel, I was given as message from you confirming the time the next day for picking me up. We had a great tour guide who was right on time. Myself and six British people were in a very comfortable van. We made stops along the way and saw the cemetery and a museum and things I didn't realize were included. Seeing the bridge from a long tail boat was exciting to me. We also had time to shop before the train ride. What a fantastic ride we had with outstanding scenery. The food we had before finishing our journey was spectacular. I couldn't have had a better day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great trip Joe was wonderful. Good that there was a small group . Joe shared a lot,of good information. joes English was also vry good which helped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The river cruise and buffet lunch on board back to Bangkok and on board narration was wonderful and relaxing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had a fantastic day. A very interesting trip - made that much more so by our excellent tour guide, June. She was really amazing, friendly and SO informative. We saw first hand too that she was streets ahead of all the other tour guides we encountered en route. Highly recommended indeed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent

Colin L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

very enjoyable tour the train ride good, lunch was excellent our guide was very good over all very good day highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic day tour and enjoyed the trip up the river to the bridge. Long day but well worth it.

From USD $ 58.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message