4.5 star rating: Recommended 223 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 223 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Experience was wonderful and moving. Guide was very knowledgable, friendly and willing to help in any way. Language was not a problem. Train journey was good, country side was a joy, and food was relatively good. I had seconds. Journey back to Bangkok was around 5 5 and half hours, traffic was busy, so make provision by taking a book or music, or just sleep the journey back. Would definitely go again. Take lots of pictures.

Neddy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

What a mix of emotions and experiences today. From seeing the thousand commemorated to travelling over the bridge through the landscape that killed and made so so many suffer. To wanting to make the 5 spaniards who talked so loudly, ignorantly and irreverantly ALL the way on the train suffer. Shame on you all for your forgetfulness.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great tour guide (retired School Teacher), informative and told it how it was!! Really enjoyed this boat ride, walked over the Bridge, train ride back, and tasty lunch - well done.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

We had a lovely day with our tour guide Teewan. The driver was also the best that we had experienced in Thailand! Our trip was interesting and informative,we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Viator to other travelers!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

fantastic!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

*****

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Love this trip, a great day!

Alex G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

THE GUIDE JUNE WAS EXCELLANT AND SO WAS DRIVER THIS TOUR WAS EXCELLANT AND GREAT VALUE I REALLY ENJOYED TOUR WAS EXCELLANT THANK YOU ALEX GRAHAM

Kim R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour and loved the long tail boat ride. Unfortunately, the train was packed and we had to stand all the way. The cemetery was very moving.

Helene A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a great day out and highly recommended.

Rhodi P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Very well organised, full schedule and excellent value for money.

David L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent value for money - truly brilliant day out - highly recommended.

Lindy W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A great day. You could really feel what the POWs must have felt walking across the bridge and taking the train ride.

John A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent trip, well worth going on this excursion. Only problem was when we returned from Cambodia on 20 Feb, we expected a messagae informing us of hotel pickup time for Rice Barge cruise on 21 Feb. Luckily the local rep who met us at the airport kindly phoned you for the details of pickup times.

Jane W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Excellent tour, the guide was brilliant, really passionate and a wealth of experience. A trip not to be missed. The day was planned out very well, we did think it was going to be a very long day but it was well worth it and the day went very quickly.

John B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

An excellent, well organised trip. Very moving experience. Our guide was very pleasant and extremely knowledgeable. The food was excellent and plentiful. It really is a full day trip. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

After seeing the movie numerous times, I wanted to take the opportunity to see the bridge for real. Also, I just needed to get out of the city for a day. The trip was great! A small tour van with 8 of us in it plus the driver and the tour guide. The guide gave us just enough local info and lore for the 2 hour drive out to keep us entertained, but sensed when we just wanted to nap. The tour itself will dispel many myths and more importantly open you eyes to many new facts. The train ride was fun, especially the persistent beer girl, and lunch was pretty good too. The only draw back was the almost 3 hour ride back as we went about an hour west on the train, but by then we all needed a good nap for the nights activities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It's a long way from Bangkok but the ride was interesting of itself. The cemetery museum, boat ride to the bridge were all well done and rewarding. After touring the bridge we were on the train and on another 100 miles north thru the countryside, stopping for lunch in a small village. All most interesting. All went off without a hitch including the hotel pickup and dropoff. Tour Guide was good couldn't have asked for more.

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Really interesting trip that covered a lot of ground in one day. Very enthusiastic guide, and the lunch provided was excellent. This trip is also an excellent value for money!

Ronnie B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Our first tour. Gobsmacked and amazed at how well run and operated it was. Don't hesitate, just do it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was very good!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Excellent day trip and very knowledgeable guide, well worth doing if you have a spare day in Bangkok.

Janice N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

This is a must, loved it but also very sad to learn about the way they were treated building the bridge. We had a lovely lunch, and the trip up the river was amazing.

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This trip is a must!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The whole day was brilliant. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and made sure we had all the information we needed, not just on the railway but at everything we could see from the coach. The trip itself was brilliant too, so much packed into the day. Definitely worthwhile doing.

From USD $ 61.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message