4.5 star rating: Recommended 181 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 181 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Great trip Joe was wonderful. Good that there was a small group . Joe shared a lot,of good information. joes English was also vry good which helped.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The river cruise and buffet lunch on board back to Bangkok and on board narration was wonderful and relaxing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

We had a fantastic day. A very interesting trip - made that much more so by our excellent tour guide, June. She was really amazing, friendly and SO informative. We saw first hand too that she was streets ahead of all the other tour guides we encountered en route. Highly recommended indeed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent

Colin L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

very enjoyable tour the train ride good, lunch was excellent our guide was very good over all very good day highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic day tour and enjoyed the trip up the river to the bridge. Long day but well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

this was a great daytrip out of bangkok. enjoyed myself very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Our first stop from Bangkok was to a cemetery where many of the PoWs who built the railway and bridge are buried - row upon row of headstones in an immaculately tendered field. Very moving.
We then proceeded to a museum dedicated to the memory of said PoWs - photos and newspaper cuttings of emaciated men, many very ill, forced to work.
We then boarded a river boat for the journey to the bridge itself. These boats are canoe-like structures with outboard motors that frisk you at high speed, with the edge of the boat so close to the level of the river, and the wind blowing through your hair! How exciting!
The bridge turned out to be different from the one in the famous movie - it's made of steel, whilst the movie version had it made of wood, if memory serves. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the sad era of the Second World War that occasioned the building of the railway and bridge. I also learnt that there is no river Kwai as such. Apparently the word 'kwai' is Thai for river. The PoWs mistakenly thought the river was called Kwai when they heard locals use the term.
We then boarded a train that took us over the bridge and along the railway for about 100 km, passing through picturesque Thai countryside of plantations, farms and forest. So very peaceful. I was particularly impressed by how smart the houses were, even deep in the Thai countryside.
Finally we met our minivan for the return trip to Bangkok, at break neck speed it has to be said. Our driver paid scant regard to the speed limit and was constantly 'undertaking' i.e. overtaking on the wrong side of the car being passed. Quite scary at times!
Andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This day trip out of Bangkok was a good one where you get immersed into the past. Looking at the death railway line construction was amazing given the harsh environment during the war time. We have a great driver that drive us around smoothly from/to Bangkok. We will also like to thank our tour guide YAI who is very knowledgeable and thoughtful. She has ensured that we make the best out of our day trip to understand and see the past of the POW that have gone through under the Japanese occupation period. Her thoughtful gesture to ensure that we are comfortable throughout the journey was also commendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Peter was the best guide Had a great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Nice guide and driver. The JETAH museum is a must. Very moving to see what the prisoners had to go through. The ride on the boat and train were great. You'll have plenty of occasions to take beautiful pictures. Wasn't very hungry so I didn't have much food for lunch but it looked OK from what I saw. Because of the traffic in Bangkok, don't expect to be back before 6pm, a long but very rewarding day. Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excellent tour, the guide Nicko very informative and knowledgable and looked after us at every turn. Very moving to travel where the POW's and Thai and other workers slaved to build the railway. "Forgive but not forget"

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

really excellent trip for anyone interested in this sad time. Definitely my favorite tour in Bangkok. Tour included visit to war cemetery near the bridge [very moving]. Local train surprisingly comfortable for 3rd class and lovely trip through the peaceful Thai countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

It was a great day with lots of exciting things to see

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

An extremely interesting and well organised tour

From USD $ 65.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message