4.5 star rating: Recommended 236 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 236 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

After seeing the movie numerous times, I wanted to take the opportunity to see the bridge for real. Also, I just needed to get out of the city for a day. The trip was great! A small tour van with 8 of us in it plus the driver and the tour guide. The guide gave us just enough local info and lore for the 2 hour drive out to keep us entertained, but sensed when we just wanted to nap. The tour itself will dispel many myths and more importantly open you eyes to many new facts. The train ride was fun, especially the persistent beer girl, and lunch was pretty good too. The only draw back was the almost 3 hour ride back as we went about an hour west on the train, but by then we all needed a good nap for the nights activities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It's a long way from Bangkok but the ride was interesting of itself. The cemetery museum, boat ride to the bridge were all well done and rewarding. After touring the bridge we were on the train and on another 100 miles north thru the countryside, stopping for lunch in a small village. All most interesting. All went off without a hitch including the hotel pickup and dropoff. Tour Guide was good couldn't have asked for more.

Krishan S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Really interesting trip that covered a lot of ground in one day. Very enthusiastic guide, and the lunch provided was excellent. This trip is also an excellent value for money!

Ronnie B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Our first tour. Gobsmacked and amazed at how well run and operated it was. Don't hesitate, just do it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was very good!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Excellent day trip and very knowledgeable guide, well worth doing if you have a spare day in Bangkok.

Janice N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

This is a must, loved it but also very sad to learn about the way they were treated building the bridge. We had a lovely lunch, and the trip up the river was amazing.

Haagse Harry.
Nederland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This trip is a must!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The whole day was brilliant. The tour guide was so knowledgeable and made sure we had all the information we needed, not just on the railway but at everything we could see from the coach. The trip itself was brilliant too, so much packed into the day. Definitely worthwhile doing.

Jean N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent trip. A very varied day, emotional, exciting and very varied. Excellent lunch.

NEIL S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was an excellent day and very well run by our guide. Lunch was very nice.

Patricia C
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Everything I expected and more!

LORRAINE B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was a long day, but there were many stops to alleviate the boredom. The guide's English wasn't so good, and it was difficult to hear her on the coach, so I was not sure of the instructions given most of the time.

Stephen H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Well worth a visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Very impressive, you're able to walk on the bridge and catch the train for a short trip. Quite informative and a must see destination.

Derek R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

I really enjoyed this tour and found the tour rep very professional and knowledgeable. The lunch was okay.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The trip was informative and well organised. Would have liked time to be able to walk across the bridge. A lot of time wasted at the station waiting for the train as part of the tour to arrive. The lunch provided was very good

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I highly recommend this tour if only for the activities included. I loved the boat ride, the visit to the bridge, the relaxing and fun train ride, even the sumptuous lunch.

However, I am quite unsatisfied with our tour guide. During the visit to the cemetery, she gave us 10 minutes to go around. That was it. No brief introduction or information about the place. Same for the other places we visited. Whenever we would approach her and ask questions, she would gladly answer us. However, she had no standard spill about the places we went to. Such a shame.

After lunch, we also visited an elephant camp which is not included in the itinerary. Some from our group said they could not afford the elephant ride since it wasn't included in the itinerary, while my husband and I opted out since we don't support this type of tourist attraction. So those who didn't join the trek were left waiting inside the van. I didn't mind waiting. But we could have simply spent more time in places which we actually paid for like the cemetery.

Overall, a very good experience. Could have been great if not for the inadequate tour guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

all good except to be told extra 300 baht for train - should be included in price of tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour. The train ride is really the highlight and seeing the bridge. It's a long trip from Bangkok but I think it's worth it and a nice way to get out of the city and see some different scenery.

I think one of the nice things is that you go visit the JEATH museum and take a motor boat from there to the bridge. It's cool because you get some good views of the bridge from the water and the day I went was a really nice day for a little boat ride. I definitely recommend upgrading to the first class car on the train. I don't know what the second class car is like, but the first class car was relaxed and they served some water/coffee/soda and snacks and in my experience it's always better to upgrade if it's only a few more. Definitely a good activity for history buffs and non-history buffs alike.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very kind and comments were interesting. Even though riding the train for more than 2 hours seemed tiring it was worth. The timber bridge is really one work of engineering by slaved POWs and Asian coolies. Maybe the Railway Death Museum should be included.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A very good trip and great value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A long day out 13 hours door to door but worth it. Knowledgable tour guide. Travel by bus, boat and train to see the countryside. Very good lunch included.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good tour worth the trip.

From USD $ 58.87

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message