Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 223 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 223 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jean N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent trip. A very varied day, emotional, exciting and very varied. Excellent lunch.

NEIL S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

This was an excellent day and very well run by our guide. Lunch was very nice.

Patricia C
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Everything I expected and more!

LORRAINE B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was a long day, but there were many stops to alleviate the boredom. The guide's English wasn't so good, and it was difficult to hear her on the coach, so I was not sure of the instructions given most of the time.

Stephen H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Well worth a visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

Very impressive, you're able to walk on the bridge and catch the train for a short trip. Quite informative and a must see destination.

Derek R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

I really enjoyed this tour and found the tour rep very professional and knowledgeable. The lunch was okay.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour. The train ride is really the highlight and seeing the bridge. It's a long trip from Bangkok but I think it's worth it and a nice way to get out of the city and see some different scenery.

I think one of the nice things is that you go visit the JEATH museum and take a motor boat from there to the bridge. It's cool because you get some good views of the bridge from the water and the day I went was a really nice day for a little boat ride. I definitely recommend upgrading to the first class car on the train. I don't know what the second class car is like, but the first class car was relaxed and they served some water/coffee/soda and snacks and in my experience it's always better to upgrade if it's only a few more. Definitely a good activity for history buffs and non-history buffs alike.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very kind and comments were interesting. Even though riding the train for more than 2 hours seemed tiring it was worth. The timber bridge is really one work of engineering by slaved POWs and Asian coolies. Maybe the Railway Death Museum should be included.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A very good trip and great value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A long day out 13 hours door to door but worth it. Knowledgable tour guide. Travel by bus, boat and train to see the countryside. Very good lunch included.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good tour worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Was a very smooth experience. A lot of travel time but worth the effort.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour where we got to see a lot of history in the museums and learn a lot about the surroundings as well as travel in a car, on a boat and in a train. It was a really good trip.

The only bad part was our tour guide? His english wasn't good so we could only understand every 3rd word

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

well worth tour
the tour was not over passed.
with the train ride i would recommend you upgrade,not overly comfortable but worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the day it was a very long day but woeth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A big day but worthy. How historical it is!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A long day but worth it. Lunch was delicious at a small local restaurant away from the tourist crowds. Great to ride the railway and our guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Ok tour. Regards Antonin

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour guide was funny, friendly, and ensured that all guests new what was happening. The bus trip from Bangkok to Kanachanaburi was pleasant and comfortable. We parked a little way from the bridge and took a short boat trip up to the bridge. I wouldnt recommend the extended boat ride where you see some river houses - just take the boat directly to the bridge. The bridge itself is not impressive but of course the history behind it is. It was packed full of people taking photos and selfies. There seems to be nice but possibly expensive restaurant nearby. We took a trip on the Death Train in relative comfort because most of us took the tourist option of pillows on the seats and a guaranteed seat to see the scenery. The scenery is not impressive until near the end of the trip. We visited the war cemetary in town and it was good to see it being well maintained. The bus trip back to Bangkok was less pleasant because of the traffic build up in Bangkok. However, some people including myself asked to get off the bus early and travel by foot or sky train the rest of the way. The guide allowed us off the bus and even escorted a young family across a busy road. It was a long day but overall a good trip and recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Mostly as advertised. The long-tailed boat ride was thrilling. The van ride back to Bangkok was long. The local tour operator was very efficient and the guide was good. I would do the trip again and recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Really good day! early start to get to the war memorial, then the museum, then a boat trip down the river then a walk on the bridge, train journey and a late lunch (which was lovely)! Would recommend to anyone who has an interest in the history of the bridge over the river kwai.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We really enjoyed our day. The tour guide Mr Wat was very informative, humerous and kind. Unfortunately train was late and it blew the timing out. Which wasn't a problem for us, but made for an almost 14 hr day. The Bridge was amazing. It was a very interesting and moving experience. Thank you.

From USD $ 60.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3685BKK36C

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message