Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 132 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Leo M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Very nice, and well worth the money.

Thomas T Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

An interesting blend--three very different locations made for good variety. Added nicely to the rest of my vacation.

Marieta B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

My friends and I enjoyed the experience in Montserrat.

Thelma T USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Was a good way of seeing significant Barcelona spots.

Stephen E USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

The winery was a joke. They only let us try one wine. The tour of winery was stupid. The Stiges walking tour needs a better guide.

Linda F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Good pace, good overview of area surrounding Barcelona. Nice balance of guided and time on your own.

Lars-Goran L Finland

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

In all a very nice trip. Montserrat was really fantastic, and the bus ride down was fabulous!

Amanda R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Nice tour guide who was friendly and knew a lot about the areas we went to.

Jason L New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

I had a great time. The tour was well organized and informative, and the guide was bubbly, fun and full of energy and enthusiasm.

Wing Lam L Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

It would be better if there were more time in Torres, and we had a chance to see more of the wine making progress.

Timea C Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Montserrat was beautiful. It was all very interesting.

Julie O USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Enjoyable, however I wished we had had the option to do more wine tasting at the winery if we had wished.

Zeda G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Montserrat is a beautiful site so don't miss this trip while visiting Barcelona. Thank you for the helpful, informative, multi-lingual tour guide and comfortable ride.

Susan W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Long Day, but worth it. Lots of Walking, Always up-hill !!!

Nicole S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour was very well organized: comfortable bus was parked where it was supposed to be and left on time, safe driving, and friendly guide. However, the tour wasn't for me. The Gaudi Crypt was great, but I found Montserrat rather boring and rest of the group in the tour was 60. So, if you know you want to see the monastery and the black Madonna and boys choir etc this is a great tour to go to. If you just look for something interesting to do in Barcelona in general, choose for something else. Again, this is just my personal preference, the tour itself was good and I would certainly recommend it to anyone interested in visiting this religious place.

Allison K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Montserrat is one Amazing place! So much to do and see up there.... incredible!
Gaudis crypt is great you can walk in and take a look around and get a feeling for the famous architect! Great day tour.

JT

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

We only took this tour for the Gaudi parts and it proved to be a pretty accurate assessment of the value in the tour. Monserrat on a holiday Tuesday was a giant bore. The Colonia Guell walking tour was interesting though the Gaudi crypt visit was rushed and uninformative. I don't know who thought Spanish "champagne" was a good idea at 10 o'clock in the morning but it isn't.

Mary

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

This could have been a great day but it was limited by the tour guides ability to manage the large number of participants. It was also harder to follow with her speaking in English and in Spanish. There were several participants that spoke other languages and thier friends would translate to them while the guide was talking. Very disruptive for those of us struggling to hear her. Montserrat was amazing and I definitely recommend it. Colonia Guell and the Gaudi Crypt were also worth the trip but much of the information was lost in translation. If the guide had used a speaker system it may have helped.

MR CJC P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Colonia Guell was charming , although not a show stopper place. The guide will take you through the streets, so have a look at the charming houses! The Gaudi Crypt is an unfinished Gaudi building, it is small, but beautiful none the less. All arrangements went smoothly on the way to Montserrat. It is truly beautiful there. if you want to see the Black Madonna you need to get in the line REAL EARLY. There was a line from well outside the church, through the length of the church, to the back of the church where the Madonna is. You could easily stand in the line for a couple of hours... It is also rather busy there - but there is loads of thinng to buy, and roads to walk and BEAUTIFUL views down the mountain. We had 3 hours free time there and we felt it was a bit too long... Especially in summer when it is too hot to participate in all the hiking trails.

Philip H

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Good trip, nice to see Montserrat. Pick pockets trying their luck here too ...

teonk

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

I enjoyed the visit at Montserrat. The views were truly beautiful.

ANGELINE Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

WORTH THE DRIVE.

snookie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Didn't appreciate all the time spent on the colonia gull..made less time at the monetary which we all felt we would have appreciated more. Missed choir !!.. The guide kept going..guess this..guess that...didn't appreciate that. She neede to move it along. Never got much of a tour at the momentary. Sorry !

Judith I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I loved the destination but we were left on our own.too long. I found there was not too much information as we went along as I expected I dont even remember much about the goudy crypt

Valerie B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Colonia Guell small - not that much to see but visiting the the Gaudi crypt was definitely worthwhile. Very small but you definitely get a feel for Gaudi's work and puts La Sagradia Familia into perspective. Train ride to Montserrat pleasant if fairly short. When we arrived the guide suggested going straight to the Monastery in order to sit/see the boys choir. However even arriving with 45 minutes to spare in the church it was standing room only as Mass was in progress. The boys choir eventually arrived - sang one very beautiful piece and then more of a folk song which was not to my personal liking. All in all possibly 10 minutes worth of music and near to an hour and half standing. We had a look around the Monastery following the service, had a quick bite to eat then paid and queued for one of the two funicular railways. Unfortunately we did not manage to get on the railway as it took just 48 passengers by which time we had to abandon the queue and ask for a refund. Had a quick look around the free exhibition included with the ticket and then back to the coach. Personally I think a little more information about waiting times for the railways would have been very useful to have prior to wasting time in the queue. In essence I think if you just want to see Montserrat then do this by train from Barcelona under your own steam. Bit 'touristy' for my liking even in the Monastery!

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 81.81

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2512BMONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message