Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Aaron W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

In general, we loved doing the hop-on, hop-off tours, but for Barcelona, it rained almost all day. We tried sitting in the bottom of the bus, but you can't see anything from there. We ended up sitting on the top in the rain! We purchased our tickets in advance and I wouldn't do this again, only because it was very easy to do it on site and then if the weather is bad, you can choose something else and not be out any money.

Edward S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

The audio equipment did not work on one of the buses that we used. We had to stand on the first level when it started to lightly rain.

Stuart W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2008

Too long between stops, in fact too many stops. It took a lot of time to get to different venues so that not many places could be seen.

Bruce K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2008

We purchased our tickets before leaving on our trip for the HOP-ON HOP-OFF and it was the wrong thing to do in Barcelona. The bus stopped just 10 minutes from our cruise ship but you have to get it validated an hour walk away before you can get on the bus, we could have paid cash and got right on the bus. We used the same company in Naples and Rome where they validate your ticket on the bus and that was a lot better system.

Susan B United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

The buses are great, and it's an ideal way of seeing Barcelona. The upstairs parts of the buses are always busy, and you may have to wait a long time to get a seat. They do run often, so it depends how busy it is as to how long you wait. However, you have to queue to transfer the Viator voucher for the bus ticket, and this took a lot longer than just buying the ticket at the bus stop. We were there over Easter weekend, so it was probably busier than normal, but this queue took forever!

Julianne K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

Finding the place to pick up the tickets was not easy. We spent a good hour that could have been spent on the tour. Then the place to pick up the tickets had a really long line. We could have done it easier and cheaper if we had just picked up the tickets there. The tour itself was interesting and well done.

Marcey S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

Bus itself is fun, but I would not buy it from Viator. Because of the voucher, I had to go to a central location to pick up the tickets, though they are widely sold. Generally, I like Viator a lot, but in this case it made things more inconvenient.

Karielle D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

This tour was fun, but slow.

Yvonne E M Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

The wait to get the tickets using the online voucher was long, and then the ticket agent tried to dissuade us from taking the trip because the buses would be crowded and we would have to wait long because it was raining and no one would be wanting to sit on top which turned out to be the case. Other tours available seemed cheaper and were in coach buses, not what seemed like a city bus. The decals on the outside of the windows also made it impossible to see outside when the windows were steamed up from the rain.

Barbara A USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

The bus dropped us off for Parc Guell too far from the park. It was a ten-minute walk uphill and not for elderly people or someone with a walking problem. The Sagrada Familia was better as they dropped us off across the street from it. Did not have time to do anything else as we were pressed for time.

Ronald D United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

We booked and paid in advance for a Sunday and Monday. On the Sunday, the Barcelona Marathon was on, so the buses did not start until 2:00 p.m. from a Bus Stop away from the Placa de Catalunia. The following day, Monday, the buses were on strike. The other Barcelona tour buses were running. So, we had a miserable time with this tour. I did get a refund for the Monday, but I would rather have had the trip.

MASAFUMI I United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2008

The tour bus itself was excellent, but there was a long queue which was very inconvenient for those with children. Finally I used a taxi on that day.

Teresa L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

A lot of the headphones were not working on the buses. Buses were very overcrowded up top and below. Very hard to redeem certificate from Viator. We had to take a taxi to a special location to redeem them.

Lee Mei L Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

The wait was too long for the bus. The blue line especially took ages. Even the line to get the ticket was more than 1 hour wait. Tickets bought online should be able to be redeemed through a machine or just use that copy. That's why we bought online.

JOANNE C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

Bus needs to improve getting to pickup points as scheduled.

Noreen C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

Our cruise bus dropped us off at the World Trade Center stop. From there we had a twenty minute walk to exchange our voucher for the tickets. We had a 20 minute walk, but those who didn't have a voucher was able to purchase their tickets at the WTC stop. Now please explain why the attendant couldn't take the voucher, but could take money. It didn't make sense and caused needless walking for a disabled member in our party. There was no benefit to buying our tickets before hand unlike Italy where we were able to use the voucher at any stop. The bus itself and tour were very nice.

Ian H Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

Finding the tour operator's office in Placa de Catalunya was not easy, as it was not at the address we were given but across the road and underground. The sound quality on the bus was poor and, coupled with the guides' Spanish accents, made it often difficult to understand what points they were trying to make. Waiting in long lines to get on the bus was a time waster. The Red and Blue routes were interesting. Buses were wasted on the Green line when they could have eased the crowding on the Blue and Red. Barcelona was marvellous. Sadly, this tour was not!

Helen B United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2007

The bus gets you around the city reasonably quickly and past the major areas of interest, so it's very useful. Our only disappointment, and it was a big one, was that we had to walk about two miles to get the tickets for the bus.

Brent M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2007

It was difficult to hear and understand the information given on the tour bus, and the lines to re-board were quite long.

Miriam F Israel

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2007

Long lines to get to the bus, so sometimes we preferred to walk or take a taxi. We didn't use it as much as we expected because of that, so it was quite expensive. We did only the red line, for lack of time due to the waiting time.

David T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2007

Don't like the restrictions on consecutive days to use a 2 day pass. Should be more flexible.

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

Definitely need 2 days to do all the stops, it offers very comprehensive coverage of the city. I suggest taking a jacket if you plan to sit on the open air top deck outside of summer (I travelled in November) as although the weather was early 20's it was a little cool in the wind upstairs. I thought the commentary could have been better as well, the guides only really told you what was at each stop as approaching, no real info about the places we passed or the city in general.

Iris C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

Easy to use and courteous. Good route. It was difficult to understand any of the tour guides due to sound systems and sometimes their English.

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

We had a very hard time finding the office to pick up passes. The tour needed better directions. Also, there were long lines at the stations, so we tended not to hop off once on.

Note from Viator: You can exchange your Viator voucher for the bus ticket at one of three tourism offices conveniently located at the airport or downtown Barcelona. The full contact details will be advised on your confirmation voucher after purchase.

Mary Jo D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Though I've enjoyed the "hop-on hop-off" experience in the past, this particular one was extremely disappointing, and others in our group agreed. The recorded voice had such a heavy accent that neither my friend nor I could understand much of what was said. We were constantly saying things like, "maybe that's what he was talking about" as we struggled to listen and match up what we heard with what we were seeing. I think it's a huge mistake to use a local voice who happens to speak English -- it would be much better to use a British or American voice who would pronounce the Spanish names more slowly. Other than the transportation it provided us to various venues, this particular tour was a waste of money.

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 31.96

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

You must print and bring a paper voucher for this activity. What's this?
Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message