Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Corinne S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Loved the Montserrat portion, we were able to follow the guide and after a while they let us go to do whatever we wanted and meet back up at the bus at a specific time. The artistic portion was worth it. However, we did not like that there was only one guide. Speaking four different languages was difficult for us, as we would pass whatever it was they were talking about we would miss it do to them speaking so many languages.

Elizabeth A USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

Great tour - loved Montserrat - a must do while in Barcelona. Just need to add some extra time at Montserrat to see the statue of the Virgin and some extra free time to visit the shops in the area.

James B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

The Montserrat tour takes you to a mystical place, high atop a mountain. The scenery is breathtaking and the Benedictine abbey is beautiful. I would have put the tour in the absolutely fantastic category had it been about an hour longer. We did not really have enough time at Montserrat to fully appreciate it.

The afternoon Barcelona tour was absolutely fantastic, doing a wonderful job of fully exposing the group to two of Gaudi's most important works. The guide, in particular, made the tour very special. She was the best I've encountered in taking twelve tours in Europe this year.

Neal s. S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

Due to pickpocketing of my wife's passport, drivers license and other documents, we were forced to miss the first half of this tour. The second half or the city portion was fairly good. Because it was a Monday, we did not see the Picasso Museum, but the 13th century church with the 20th century stained-glass window was very unique. Not enough time in the older section and too much time hanging around the souvenier shop next to the Sagria Familia.

ANDREW W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Montserrat fantastic, modernists tour ok but could be done on your own just as well.

Luanne M Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Montserrat was great but the English spoken by the guide on the Modernist Tour was hard to understand in a large group setting.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

joyceshing

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Montserrat tour was breathtaking, definitely worth the trip up the mountain, however the bus came back later than was quoted. I was not aware this was two separate tours with two separate guides. We only had 1/2 hour to grab something to eat. I also was misled that we were going to visit the La Sagrada Familia. It was not clear we were only standing outside of it and not going in it. It was definitely a loss not going in to see the inside of the Church. Others on the tours thought the same thing. It would have helped to have personal headsets to hear the guides. The Viator in Rome had them. The Tour Operator in Barcelona did not have them and we missed half of what was said. Our tour was to be in English, however they combined Spanish speaking only with English speaking people so our tour took longer due to our guide having to speak the same information in two languages. We were also not told, we would not be returned to the pick up point. They dropped us off in a area we were not familar with and walked 4-5 blocks back to the pick up point. We were able to walk it, but if someone was elderly, this would have been an issue. Poor communication with the tour description. I would not have chosen the second part of this tour!

Elizabeth S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The mountain tour was brilliant. Such a beautiful place with so much history. Then our Artistic tour in the afternoon was great to begin with, our tour guide had so much knowledge. However, the day was too long. I wouldn't recommend doing both tours in the same day as it's 11 hours.

Kerri P

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Monserrat was beautiful. A great place to spend some time. We took the cog wheel train instead of staying with the bus for the extra cost, but the guide told us the view is no different. The guides were good. I would have preferred to go inside the sangrada familia. Thought it included it.

Lorne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Our trip to Montserrat was truly awesome. The ride up the funicular offered spectacular views. The awe of sitting in the Cathedral offered quiet moments in a busy day.

sharah

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

the guide was nice and made commentary about history going to montserrat, left us to do our own tour while there, we went inside the church, had the train ride going up the mountain. but very disappointed about the afternoon tour, we did a walking tour that " gothic tour" but the only guadi tour we did was the Parc Guell and nothing else, the sagrada familia was only in the outside.. all in our group was disappointed.

Jackie W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Experienced guide with good suggestion of what to do during the limited F and E time at Montserrat. Will be better to extend the F and E til 2pm and then continue the afternoon Gaudi tour instead of having an hour plus break.

norman

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

trip was good but guide to Motserrat not very good. Gaudi tour much better

Mai

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Great trip highly recommended. Guide was informative and professional. Free time allowed was nice to explore on your own. More stops/entry into places on the Artistic tour would have been better. Overall a great trip

Shanna N USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Montserrat was very pretty. Very crowded as there was a large group there for a pilgrimage. Was not able to see the black Virgin Mary. Tour guide said on a normal day it would take about 2 hours to see her and you do not have this long there on this tour.

Artistic Barcelona was ok. The trip said it included entrance fees except for the Picasso Museum. It did not. We did not get into any of Gaudi's apartments or Sagrada Familia as we thought we were going to, so I missed this entirely on this trip as we were leaving the next day. We did get into Park Guell, but it is free as it is a public park. If you want to go into Gaudi's sites, do the Hop on Hop Off tour as it takes you to all these sites and more and you can pay the fee and go in at you own leisure. You only see the monumental bull ring and Gaudi's apartments from the tour bus driving by. Very dissapointed we were mislead on the entrance fee inclusion.

Kathy USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very interesting tour to Montserrat. Enjoyed the time there and wish it had been longer. Guide informative. Artistic tour was also good, enjoyed the Gaudi park but glad we went into the Gaudi Familia church on our own as it was not included in the tour and would have been very disappointed if we hadn't seen it.

VERONICA W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Things to consider when choosing this tour in the summer: the boys choir might be on vacation and the lines so long you won't get to see the Black Madonna. The tour of Gaudi's works was excellent which is why I gave this 3 stars.

lauriesonsino

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The Montserrat guide had to speak in four languages, and her language was fluent in all. However, I think that we would have learned a lot more if she only had to speak in one or two languages. The morning was rainy and very foggy, so visibility was poor and hardly worth the trip. No time to hear the boys' choir.
Afternoon tour was excellent (fortunately it stopped raining). Afternoon tour was definitely worth it. Just don't go to Monserrat if it rains!

Linda W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Morning to Montserrat was excellent - guide very knowledgeable and helpful. Artistic Barcelona was our only disappointment so far - guide late - all customers English speaking except for 2 Italians who monopolized the guide therefore lots of info given in Italian with only short statements made in English - guides should be more professional in their approach.

Joseph N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Monserrat trip. The guide was excellent and the scenery majestic. However, the afternoon guide was not as great and according to the tour description, we were to go into the Sagrada Familia cathedral -- not walk around the outside of the place. Also, the guide was not too happy about taking my husband and myself back to the office where we were picked up for the tour. I would give the morning Montserrat tour 6 stars and the afternoon Artistic Barcelona 1 star.

Annamaria C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The Montserrat Day trip was great, but there was much time wasted with the guide talking about things one can work out for themselves. She was lovely but really didn't stop talking all day - even on bus back when a little quiet reflective time to absorb all we'd seen would've been great.
In the afternoon the Gaudi tour was disappointing - not due to anything but a very lack lustre, disinterested guide . Pedro spent the 3 hours alternating between English and Spanish - very confusing indeed. He also seemed to show little enthusiasm shuffling his way from site to site. We broke away and saw as much as we could as his slow pace meant that at Park Guell, in particular very little distance was covered. We have done about 30 tours with Viator but this was by far the most disappointing.

willem m

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

monserrat was good, but far too short.
Gaudi tour was terrible. spent too much time walking, no entry into places, the guide shared very, very little about Sagrada, or he was poorly informed. it was a waste of time and money. spoiled what could have been a good day. we have told friends to avoid this tour because of the gaudi section and to visit the sites by themselves.

shazza Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Great attractions but did not enjoy the tour as guide had Spanish and English travelers mixed together. Tour was advertised to be in English and no mention that at the same time guides need to be translating in two or three different languages and Barcelona Gaudi Tour was a nightmare with so many disappointed travelers as the guide was translating from English to Spanish and than to French. He missed to translate so many attractions in English or lucky if he said two to seven words in English. He admitted that he keeps forgetting to say in English. It was a total waste of money.

Deepa P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

We were expecting to go inside the Guadi church, but we unable to

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 111.88

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEBA08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message