Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

trip was good but guide to Motserrat not very good. Gaudi tour much better

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Great trip highly recommended. Guide was informative and professional. Free time allowed was nice to explore on your own. More stops/entry into places on the Artistic tour would have been better. Overall a great trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Montserrat was very pretty. Very crowded as there was a large group there for a pilgrimage. Was not able to see the black Virgin Mary. Tour guide said on a normal day it would take about 2 hours to see her and you do not have this long there on this tour.

Artistic Barcelona was ok. The trip said it included entrance fees except for the Picasso Museum. It did not. We did not get into any of Gaudi's apartments or Sagrada Familia as we thought we were going to, so I missed this entirely on this trip as we were leaving the next day. We did get into Park Guell, but it is free as it is a public park. If you want to go into Gaudi's sites, do the Hop on Hop Off tour as it takes you to all these sites and more and you can pay the fee and go in at you own leisure. You only see the monumental bull ring and Gaudi's apartments from the tour bus driving by. Very dissapointed we were mislead on the entrance fee inclusion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very interesting tour to Montserrat. Enjoyed the time there and wish it had been longer. Guide informative. Artistic tour was also good, enjoyed the Gaudi park but glad we went into the Gaudi Familia church on our own as it was not included in the tour and would have been very disappointed if we hadn't seen it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Things to consider when choosing this tour in the summer: the boys choir might be on vacation and the lines so long you won't get to see the Black Madonna. The tour of Gaudi's works was excellent which is why I gave this 3 stars.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The Montserrat guide had to speak in four languages, and her language was fluent in all. However, I think that we would have learned a lot more if she only had to speak in one or two languages. The morning was rainy and very foggy, so visibility was poor and hardly worth the trip. No time to hear the boys' choir.
Afternoon tour was excellent (fortunately it stopped raining). Afternoon tour was definitely worth it. Just don't go to Monserrat if it rains!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Morning to Montserrat was excellent - guide very knowledgeable and helpful. Artistic Barcelona was our only disappointment so far - guide late - all customers English speaking except for 2 Italians who monopolized the guide therefore lots of info given in Italian with only short statements made in English - guides should be more professional in their approach.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Monserrat trip. The guide was excellent and the scenery majestic. However, the afternoon guide was not as great and according to the tour description, we were to go into the Sagrada Familia cathedral -- not walk around the outside of the place. Also, the guide was not too happy about taking my husband and myself back to the office where we were picked up for the tour. I would give the morning Montserrat tour 6 stars and the afternoon Artistic Barcelona 1 star.

shazza
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Great attractions but did not enjoy the tour as guide had Spanish and English travelers mixed together. Tour was advertised to be in English and no mention that at the same time guides need to be translating in two or three different languages and Barcelona Gaudi Tour was a nightmare with so many disappointed travelers as the guide was translating from English to Spanish and than to French. He missed to translate so many attractions in English or lucky if he said two to seven words in English. He admitted that he keeps forgetting to say in English. It was a total waste of money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

We were expecting to go inside the Guadi church, but we unable to

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Friendly guide, however the tour bus was dirty and in need of a major overhaul. The air cond. barely worked on the bus so it was hot and stuffy. We did not have much time in Montserrat and it was basically tour on your own. Our guide was difficult to understand because of her strong accent, however she was very polite and quite approachable. The artistic barcelona day trip was a waste of money. Wouldn´t recommend this company. We were told that we would be visiting the Sagrada de la Familia but we just stood out front and were then taken to a souvenir shop. We left the tour as we were very dissatisfied. Take your own tour and save some money.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

Monsterrat was an okay tour. Not what I expected. Very disappointed with the Artistic Trip the tour guide did not speak English very well and could not understand him. Encouraged the whole tour group to not get back on the bus on our last tour. So everyone found their own way back. I think that if the tour guide was better I would have enjoyed the tour better. Not happy that we did not go into the Sagrada Famillia church.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Montserrat was good but artistic tour guide was too rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

In Montserrat, not nearly enough time to explore. After waiting in line at the church to see the black madonna, there was no time to see anything else. It was cut short way too extremely. Very disappointing, since we will not be coming back. Our tour guide said the wait would only be a few minutes and it was a half hour. Also, not enough time on our own.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

It is not a combined tour. It's two different tours, one starts at 9.30 another at 3.30 pm. The guide speaks two languages so you spent double times listening, less time to explore. It got worse tho, 3 languages in 2nd tour. My ears were tired+headache after all translations, very time consuming :(

Special Offer

From USD $ 123.86

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEBA08

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message