4 star rating: Recommended 84 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 84 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Montserrat was great but the English spoken by the guide on the Modernist Tour was hard to understand in a large group setting.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The mountain tour was brilliant. Such a beautiful place with so much history. Then our Artistic tour in the afternoon was great to begin with, our tour guide had so much knowledge. However, the day was too long. I wouldn't recommend doing both tours in the same day as it's 11 hours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Monserrat was beautiful. A great place to spend some time. We took the cog wheel train instead of staying with the bus for the extra cost, but the guide told us the view is no different. The guides were good. I would have preferred to go inside the sangrada familia. Thought it included it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Our trip to Montserrat was truly awesome. The ride up the funicular offered spectacular views. The awe of sitting in the Cathedral offered quiet moments in a busy day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

the guide was nice and made commentary about history going to montserrat, left us to do our own tour while there, we went inside the church, had the train ride going up the mountain. but very disappointed about the afternoon tour, we did a walking tour that " gothic tour" but the only guadi tour we did was the Parc Guell and nothing else, the sagrada familia was only in the outside.. all in our group was disappointed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Experienced guide with good suggestion of what to do during the limited F and E time at Montserrat. Will be better to extend the F and E til 2pm and then continue the afternoon Gaudi tour instead of having an hour plus break.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

trip was good but guide to Motserrat not very good. Gaudi tour much better

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

Great trip highly recommended. Guide was informative and professional. Free time allowed was nice to explore on your own. More stops/entry into places on the Artistic tour would have been better. Overall a great trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Montserrat was very pretty. Very crowded as there was a large group there for a pilgrimage. Was not able to see the black Virgin Mary. Tour guide said on a normal day it would take about 2 hours to see her and you do not have this long there on this tour.

Artistic Barcelona was ok. The trip said it included entrance fees except for the Picasso Museum. It did not. We did not get into any of Gaudi's apartments or Sagrada Familia as we thought we were going to, so I missed this entirely on this trip as we were leaving the next day. We did get into Park Guell, but it is free as it is a public park. If you want to go into Gaudi's sites, do the Hop on Hop Off tour as it takes you to all these sites and more and you can pay the fee and go in at you own leisure. You only see the monumental bull ring and Gaudi's apartments from the tour bus driving by. Very dissapointed we were mislead on the entrance fee inclusion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Very interesting tour to Montserrat. Enjoyed the time there and wish it had been longer. Guide informative. Artistic tour was also good, enjoyed the Gaudi park but glad we went into the Gaudi Familia church on our own as it was not included in the tour and would have been very disappointed if we hadn't seen it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Things to consider when choosing this tour in the summer: the boys choir might be on vacation and the lines so long you won't get to see the Black Madonna. The tour of Gaudi's works was excellent which is why I gave this 3 stars.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The Montserrat guide had to speak in four languages, and her language was fluent in all. However, I think that we would have learned a lot more if she only had to speak in one or two languages. The morning was rainy and very foggy, so visibility was poor and hardly worth the trip. No time to hear the boys' choir.
Afternoon tour was excellent (fortunately it stopped raining). Afternoon tour was definitely worth it. Just don't go to Monserrat if it rains!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Morning to Montserrat was excellent - guide very knowledgeable and helpful. Artistic Barcelona was our only disappointment so far - guide late - all customers English speaking except for 2 Italians who monopolized the guide therefore lots of info given in Italian with only short statements made in English - guides should be more professional in their approach.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the Monserrat trip. The guide was excellent and the scenery majestic. However, the afternoon guide was not as great and according to the tour description, we were to go into the Sagrada Familia cathedral -- not walk around the outside of the place. Also, the guide was not too happy about taking my husband and myself back to the office where we were picked up for the tour. I would give the morning Montserrat tour 6 stars and the afternoon Artistic Barcelona 1 star.

Special Offer

From USD $ 116.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEBA08

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message