4.5 star rating: Recommended 110 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Full-Day Freixenet Cava Cellars, Sitges and Bacardi House Tour from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 110 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The cava is good, but you don't have to do it by a tour. The tour guide basically just take you to the cellar, and then organize you back to the bus. Then take you to a really beautiful small town and leave you one hour to enjoy the sunshine, beach and your lunch. The tour is too short ! The tour guide seem to be a little bit unenthusiastic!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The tour at Freixenet was ok, interesting facility, but felt it was a little more business versus insight to the actual process and unique aspects of the company. The tasting is one free glass, would rather had multiple small versions to taste the varieties they offer. Sitges was a nice beach city, but beyond shops and the beach, it didn't offer much of history or excitement.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

If you are not a city person this is a good trip to get away from the hussle of Barcelona. The wine tour was ok. You only tasted 1 cava wine. It would have been better to conduct a real tasting with a variety.
The trip to Sitges was the best part. The food was better than in Barcelona and the setting was beautiful. But we only had 1 hour in this great coastal town. It was too rushed. It would have been great to skip the pseudo wine tour and hang out in Sitges instead.
Our tour guide was nice but did not really talk much about the areas we visited or the history. He was quiet and seemed preoccupied with something, who knows..
I did find out that you can take a train to Sitges from Barcelona as a stand alone trip. I would recommend it. Enjoy!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour of the cava cellar was a bit boring, and you do not get to taste all of the cavas. You get one glass of cordon negro. I would have rather had a sip of each one than one class of one type.
Sitges is a nice, gay friendly beach. If you hate gays, this is not the place for you. The days that we went it was kind of chilly, but it was great to see an actual beach, not the fake beach in Barcelona. It was great to see another side of Catalonia. I would recommend this trip if you are interested in wine, want to get out of Barcelona, and you are supportive of gays.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

I thought the Freixenet tour was cut a bit short, unfortunately. Seemed like we were rushed and then didn't get the full tour. Otherwise, it was great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Sitges was beautiful, Freixenet was extraordinary. However, I must say that our tour guide Maria was less than engaging. In contrast to Fernando, ( our guide the day before) who engaged us from the moment we sat on the bus, greeting us and telling us more abut the city. Maria really did not greet us until we were well on our way to Frexinet. The tour guide at Frexinet was fabulous and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the caves and learning about the cava region and business. However, Once we arrived in Sitges on the walking tour, it became obvious that our guide did not know a lot of the history and tidbits about the area. I must also say that once she heard my complaint about her non-engagement if you will, she did try to engage and speak to myself and our group more. However, when compared with my Gaudi tour guide, I found her lacking significantly. Overall I would give this tour a 3 out of five.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

The Sitges tour was too short, we hardly had any time to look around much or even sit at the beach side. One hour was not enough to have a proper lunch. We just had to hurry up and keep walking. The Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars were good.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Great trip. Interesting to see wine caves. Stiges was interesting but we were there in September so not much going on. Also there was a lot of walking and several people on the trip were unable to do it and slowed down the group. We had to alter plans because they couldn't walk. Either don't sign up for the trip or know your limitations. It was interesting walking but ti was a long way.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We did the Freixenet Cava Wine Tour and Sitges in October 2013. The tour of the winery was very good. The tour was actually done by an employee of the winery, not by the local tour operator. The size of the wine cellar was amazing and the sample was very good.
After leaving the winery we went by bus to Sitges. After doing a short tour of Sitges we had free time to eat and/or shop. The guide told us to meet at 2:00 PM just out of the city. We were instructed that the bus would not wait because there were folks on our tour that head to be back by 3:00 to make their next tour.
Everyone met at the location before 2:00, but there was no bus. The guide informed us that the bus had broken down and there would be another bus to take us back to the office in twenty minutes. One hour later we were still waiting for the bus. The guide did the best she could to avoid us during this time, leaving us all in the dark as to what was going on. Finally, a bus arrived at 3:30 to take all of us back to the office.
I know that buses breakdown occasionally(things do happen), but the manner in which the tour operator reacted to this was very poor. From the guide not keeping us informed(if she was informed) to the way we were treated when we returned to the office was unsatisfactory.
I would not use or recommend this company. We booked several other tours throughout Spain and Italy that were very good. This was the only tour company that we had a negative experience.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Compared to the other reviews, I think our trip was diminished by our guide who, fully admitted, was not someone who did this itinerary. First, he could not make the DVD of Freixenet work. Second, he could not provide us with any verbal information prior to arrival to compensate for the lack of video. Third, he basically walked us for a few blocks in Sitges and said to be back at the bus by 2:15 since it would leave then. He then pointed one way and said that’s the longer route to the water and the other saying that’s the shorter. That was that.

Other than the guide’s lack of involvement, the bus was clean and comfortable and the driver seemed very responsible. The Freixenet tour was interesting, particularly since we had visited a number of boutique vineyards during out trip and this one was proudly commercial. Fascinating operation and history! Competent guide for the tour. Nice glass of cava at the end in a lovely tasting room with the ability to purchase additional an varied glasses of cava and tapas at really rock-bottom prices. Sitges was lovely but we felt that, without any guidance except the water is that way, we missed out on a great deal.

From USD $ 66.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140SITGES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message