5 star rating: Highly Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Hot Air Balloon Flight over Catalonia. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

It was amazing! The guys who run this tour are very nice. The views were beautiful. If you're looking for something romantic, then do this with your partner. It's money well spent. It's also very relaxing and fun. I would definitely do it again!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Was a great experience. But a little unorganised with drop off and pickups as to who was going with whom. But was a huge tick off my list. Staff were friendly and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

very professional and friendly had a lovely morning.pat and denise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Excellent, well organised!

harleyfxr
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The driver was on time to collect us from the meeting point. 45 min drive and then a quick stop for coffee/toilet break before heading out to the Hot Air Balloon site. Great to watch the steps involved with setting it up and getting ready for flight. Floated over the countryside for approx. 40mins, over a couple of villages then landed in a field. Assisted with packing up the balloon then headed back to our original location where our 'pilot' made beautiful toasted sandwiches over the gas flame and washed down with a sparkling red. Was great fun and taking home a certificate with our name on it made for a memorable experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This trip was exciting and fun! I am very glad that we decided to do the private balloon ride as it made everything more personal and fun. The tour starts out with driver picking you up at a determined location and he takes you out into the country where you will meet the pilot. Once you arrive, the pilot sets up the balloon and the group is asked to help. Once in the air you are able to float for about one hour. On the day we went on this ride the weather was bad and we did not have much wind or sun. Due to this, we pretty much stayed in one area for about half hour and it was not the most attractive area of Spain. We landed pretty close to power lines so that was a little scary but the adventure was the most excitement we got so we were happy about it. Also, upon return the "brunch" that is served is a grilled cheese sandwich with a very sweet Cava to wash it down. We were not expecting a three course meal but were taken back by the "brunch" description when we saw that it was grilled cheese sandwiches. Overall, the tour was fun but a little boring once in the air as the weather was not cooperating. The staff was really nice though and they made the trip more entertaining and fun!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was a little disappointing. Our tour guide was just too fast for us to be comfortable. We explained we were from aus and drive on the other side of the road and we hadn't ridden bikes before. When we got our confidence up it was great! We were the only ones on tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great experience. Breaking thru the clouds was breathtaking.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

I had a great time, the employee are very nice and friendly. The only thing I didn't like about my trip was the snack. There were some sandwiches very cheap. I paid 250USD and I was expecting at least something better than that.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The trip was amazing, a really great experience to do and the whole team was very friendly.
will never forget it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed participating in the hot air balloon flight over Catalonia, however the only issue was that the pilot did not speak English so i did not understand the tour of the countryside.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

The balloon ride was a marvellous experience, however, the brunch was a disappointment. I was simply starving.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

Very good service. Amicable and informative staff. Pity about the weather

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

just came back from our wonderful trip to Barcelona, and the highlight of our trip was the hot air baloon ride. My kids loved it , want to do it again. It was well organised and very enjoyable rideand we were very well looked after. Its recommended to all.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

It was a very good activity, I liked it. Of course I'll recommend it for all of my friends. That was my first time flying with an air balloon, and it will not be the last one for sure.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This trip is tough to rate because I could give it anywhere from one to five stars depending on what you are expecting. It's a five star trip if you only want to go up in a hot air balloon. It's a one star trip if you expect to see anything worth seeing. We basically went up over some remote village for about an hour and then it was over. I thought it was somewhat expensive for what you get. Plus, I hate the smell of cig smoke, which is a major problem all over Europe. Just didn't think I'd get it up in the balloon. Until I smelled cig smoke coming from the pilot.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

The flight itself was breathtaking, really a great experience, and the crew was very friendly. Two items that put a slight damper on our experience were: 1) the need to go to 3 separate launch sites before getting off the ground (which added 1.5 hours of driving around), and 2) our flight group of 6 included 2 native spanish speakers, and so the crew defaulted to speaking primarily to them in spanish, which made us feel like an afterthought and that it would be awkward to ask them to repeat everything they were talking about during the flight. On the ride home, the driver/crew and spanish speaking couple were having a conversation in spanish, where then one of the crew called us all out jokingly to "not all talk at once" - well, there was no way for us to participate in the conversation, so we found the comment a bit rude. Overall - it was a great, safe flight and wonderful scenery - but these two items keep me from being able to rate the experience higher unfortunately.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

The only reason the rate is not 5 starts is because there was no English guide, as was promised. Other than that it was great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Good experiences.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The trip was fun but we think it is overpriced.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

I stupidly thought I was ballooning with Viator, which I picked especially for possible risky experience as it is presumably a major trusted world events company, rather than a local company it would have been heaper to book with them than pay the fee to Viator. Also Viator stated that my 1st choice date was booked but when I contacted the local company re confirmation and pick up I found out than Friday was booked and Saturday would be better! This could have had a big impact on my holiday plans if I had trusted the Viator details!

From USD $ 194.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2646BCNBALLOON

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message