5 star rating: Highly Recommended 636 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 636 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day outside the city. Small van with 13 of us just fit. Our guide was upbeat, fun and wonderful. Montserrat was amazing! Easily could have spent all day there. Warning, if you hike the longest hard trail like our son did, there won't be time for anything else, the church, store, museum, etc.... He just made it back in time to leave. We took the shorter easy trail and still had time to explore the church and store although we missed the museum. The Cordiniu Winery was so much fun, great train rides, tour guide and wonderful cava! My only wish is that we were allowed to buy individual glasses of cava after the tasting. Only bottles were available for sale after the tasting. I would highly recommend this tour, we all really enjoyed our day outside Barcelona, great job!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alex was amazing. She was funny but had great insight as well. I loved Montserrat and all of the history. I think one of the best parts of this is that you had time to do what you wanted and were not in the group the whole time. The cava tasting I thought was just going to be a few glasses of cava to end the day but the place was amazing and has history that dates back to 1551. The grounds and buildings were unbelievable. Our guide there was the best! He has worked for the company for 40 years and was awesome. This was a great way to see outside of Barcelona!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very interesting tour indeed. Lydia, our guide, was very informative and made our day a very special one. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best things that made our trip as memorable as it was was due to our tour guide Lidia! She was not only the most knowledgeable person about Barcelona and Montserrat that I've ever met but she conveyed the knowledge in a fun and engaging way, rather than just lecture us from a microphone. She stood the entire bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat / Codorniu and relayed her knowledge to us and mixed in great stories and experiences. She is by far one of the best tour guides we've ever encountered on our many trips and excursions.

Onto the tour itself. Montserrat was breathtaking, from the ride up the mountainside, to the funicular ride to the peak, and the walks back down the mountain, awe inspiring. The church and all of the surrounding grounds were beautiful and the engineering of it all left me scratching my head. The views from the top were fantastic and something we'll never forget.

The cava tour we lucked out and were granted access to the best cava at Codorniu and our tour guide Max was funny and informative, not only on the process of creating cava or the history of it, but also just the way he toured us around with his own personal twist. The caves were enormous and we could have easily gotten lost down there for weeks. The tasting was a great way to end the trip and we ended up leaving with 3 bottles of cava! The prices were very good, considering we couldn't get the cava we enjoyed back here in the states. 3 bottles ran us around 30 euros, not bad at all.

Sometimes I am hesitant to spend money on tours/guides when I enjoy finding a book or self guided tour to save money but this tour was absolutely worth it 100%. It wasn't too much a hit on my wallet and the memories we came away with were far more important.

I would highly recommend this tour and hopefully you can be as lucky as we were and get Lidia as your tour guide! Thanks again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a perfect day for the trip to Montserrat and the cava tour. Our guide was very informative, friendly and helpful, and the free time we were afforded was sufficient for exploring on your own without having to follow the crowd the entire time. Also, having someone who knows the area and the sites so well and being able to relax and enjoy the scenery (and not drive to these locations) makes this trip well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was great however the weather was not so good which stopped some of the views as we were told "open your mind", I did sense of peace on the top which shouldn't be missed. The Cava was also interesting with a generous tasting session

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat is a sight not to be missed. The hiking was wonderful as was the monastery. Cava was a perfect finish as well!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful trip with free time to explore options. The wine tasting was informative and a lot of fun! Very skilled driver and entertaining tour guide. Comfortable van for 8. Highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic guide! Montserrat is a beautiful site and well worth the visit. Be prepared to walk a lot since there is so much to do and see. We enjoyed the trip immensely especially the tour of the Codorniu winery. This winery tour was the best I have been on and I have been to dozens of California winery's!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Montserrat and the win tour. Both were very interesting and it covered everything. Our guide was Geordy and he new a lot about the Montserrat and the area around Barcelona.It is a beautiful place. It was nice because we had three hours of free time to do what we wanted to do. There is so much to do and see there. The winery was interesting as well. A lot to see and learn. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Superb. Excellent knowledgeable guide and Montserrat was a beautiful place to see. The Codorneu winery was a revelation too. Train rides around the wine store seven levels underground was exhilarating. Oh, the wine is excellent value too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Montserrat is breathtaking and the Cava tasting was a nice finish to the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Informative guide. Good value. Monserrat was amazing. If you like wine the cava tour is a must. Would recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Completely enjoyed the day! Comfortable transportation. Our guide Alexandra was excellent- she was so knowledgeable, had a wonderful presentation style, and really made the day really fun for the group.

Special Offer
$100.34 Save $15.05

From USD $ 85.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message