Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 798 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Vanessa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Montserrat is simply amazing! Highly recommend it as the views are just beautiful. I would also recommend taking the time to see the Saint Mary inside the Cathedral, stunning.

Alison K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We lucked out with a perfect weather day - I liked the free time we had to ourselves at Montserrat to hike and hear the boys choir - great recommendation from tour guide to get to the church early for that! The cava tour was also enjoyable and great opportunity to see a bit of the countryside.

Peter Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

After a brisk walk to the minibus, we quickly set off for Montserrat in the thick of the morning rush hour, but fortunatey we were going against the traffic flow and we made good time. Wonderful time up in Montserrat with the clouds playing hide and seek with the towering boulders that rose above us. We took thhe funicular to the top extra cost, but well worth it and later went in to hear the Boys choir sing prayers at 1pm. Sadly and nothing to do with the tour some people seem to have forgotten their basic manners even inside a church. Later onto Le Cordonui, and a terrific tour by train of their cellars and wine tasting. Long journey back into Barcelona due to traffic but the Guide/Driver kept us amused with many tales of his lifes experiences, Totally recommended!

Joseph Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend wish we had more time at Montserrat

Guma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip to Montserrat. Laura was a peach of a guide. Waiting to here from her...I have the information she and I discussed. Roger Moore

Isaac B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guide was really friendly

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great, and well organised. Terrific bus tour and overall guide.

JoAnn Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great small group. Our guide gave us lots history. The cava tour was very informative. The caves are quite extensive. I found out that they have a winery in Napa that we've visited in the past!

K Kiely S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a wonderful tour with a lot of variety. This was our first trip to Spain so it was nice to see a little of the countryside. There were 6 people in our group and the guide was great and shared his knowledge about the local culture as well as the history of the areas that we visited. At Montserrat we visited the Basilica, listened to the Boy's Choir, and hiked up the mountain trail. There was also an art museum but we didn't have enough time to visit. After lunch, we drove to a vineyard and had a wonderful tour and then sampled multiple wines. We started at 8:30 sharp and returned at 7 PM. Highly recommend this tour.

Jesto Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a very nice tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and witty. The mass at Montserrat is a must specially the choir.

The Cava tasting was also excellent. Learned a lot about wine making and tasting. Excellent presentation by our guide from Pares Balta

rgirardz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great trip. Love the Cava.

irene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The trip was so worth it....it's not far from Barcelona and Monserrat is such a beautiful place...the Cava tour was really an experience....should not miss it!!!

Doug D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The drive to Montserrat was scenic and as we approached, I figure 30-45 minutes for viewing and pictures. Our guide gave us a briefing and then said we would meet in 3 1/2 hours. I looked at him like he was crazy.

Clearly, I had not done my homework. A cable car ride to the top, a nice paced walk down with breathtaking view the whole way, a short live mass viewing while waiting for the famous boys choir it was packed so full it was almost not worth it but they were amazing, a quick lunch, a walk through the art museum and I glance at my watch only to realize I have to briskly walk back to te rendezvous. The time evaporated!

Highly recommend if you are in Barcelona for more than a couple days.

Our trip then continued to the Parez Balta winery. A very nice small to medium sized place for the region. Our guide was passionate, knowledgeable and a great hostess. Tasted a limited edition that was smooth and refined. I'm not a big sparkling wine fan, but would serve this over most champaign I've had for even close to the price 22 in house! I didn't research local pricing. We had nice samplings of a white, rose and red as well. All were mid range wines but all were nice. The prize of this trip was the learning more fine details of the process and the science behind it, the tasting was more bonus.

If you're looking to taste a larger variety for comparison i.e. 84 to 90 rated red with reviews on how ratings were reviewed as displayed in the lobby, then this might not be the trip for you. If you're looking for great local insight of the process with a scenic ride in and out and a nice small sampling, it's would be hard to match.

Andres H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour but don't dawdle if you want to catch the funicular up to the top, walk back and get a good spot to see the choir. You must be early to even get inside. Cava tour was also good. David was a very good and interesting guide - good fun. Man, can he talk!
Overall, a really good tour - highly recommend it

Shannon A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The trip was great and our guide Emma was outstanding! Having time to explore Montserrat on our own was perfect. The Cava tour was very insightful video at the start of the tour could use a little refinement, but as a marketer, I guess I'm a little tough on marketing tactics!. The cava itself was great and I left with several bottles.

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour guide Joseff was amazing. Very informative quick tour of Monserrat before our free-time to help plan our morning. Bus/bus driver were great! Couldn't have asked for a better winery experience. The wine tasting and snacks provided exceeded my expectations. Great value for the price.

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip to Montserrat followed by the Codorniu winery was one of the highlights of our weeklong stay in Barcelona. We were a family of four with two grown children. Our guide was David, who was very engaging, helpful, knowledgeable and proud of Montserrat, having grown up in the vicinity.

Montserrat is simply not to be missed. Especially the mountain scenery, just breathtaking. We left the city at 8:30am in a minivan with another couple, six in all, arriving around 9:30, leaving us reasonable time to go exploring before our 2pm departure time.

When we arrived a mist was pretty much hiding everything, but it quickly burned off. One has many choices for exploring Montserrat and it can be confusing to plan the best use of your time. David introduced us to the basilica and the legend of the Black Madonna and threw in two thousand years of Catalan history in about 7 minutes. We decided first to take the Sant Joan funicular up to the top of the mountain. Fantastic. Once at the top you can find many beautiful vistas to soak in and to photograph. We then returned via the funicular. It's possible to walk down, but time and energy levels weren't up to it. Then we decided to walk up to the Cross of San Miguel. About a 20 minute walk, very steep at times. People of all ages were doing it as well as a few dogs!. Well worth it. Once you reach the cross you have the definitive view of Montserrat, with the monastery buildings overlooked by the mountain. After walking back, my wife then got into see the Black Madonna. There was a wait but not too bad.

After Montserrat we visited the centuries-old Codorniu winery. We had a guide from the winery, a group of about 20, with David tagging along. The tour was in English. He took us to the ancient underground cellars where the wines and Cavas used to be made. Miles of cellars. We then got to taste the Cavas. Calling it sparkling wine does it injustice.

We returned to Barcelona around 6:30.

Stacy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour and loved our guide. There were only 4 of us on the tour the day I went, including our lovely guide. It was 4 girls altogether and we had a great time! The guide, I don't remember her name, but was very friendly, informative, and just a great person to be around. Our time in Montserrat was great but I think we even had a better time at the winery, Pares Balta. I think because our group was small, they were able to provide an even more personalized tour of their organic winery amazing! and provide generous tastings of the excellent cava wine and snacks. It was one of the best tours I've been on and I highly recommend it!

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My favorite tour of my trip. Bring your walking shoes and your camera. Breathtaking views. We did the extra museum tour at Monserrat and really enjoyed that as well.

Kendra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip. This tour allows for a good amount of time to walk around Montserrat and explore on your own. Then off to a winery. This was truly a great day trip. I will recommend it to family and friends.

Rita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the tour of Montserrat and the hike we took above the monastery. We thought the Cava tour was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

philip.williams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

amazing tour, wish I had more time at Monserrat to explore more. tour guide was great and the people at the cava winery were very enthusiastic and made the experience great

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Montserrat was amazing! The cava winery was the best, wonderful tour guide and a pleasant group of fun travelers!!!

Gladys C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour...the guide was most informative with a great depth of knowledge about Montserrat and it's history what a fantastic place! The visit to the winery Pares Balta was a joy...great wines with 'nibblies' with lovely staff who are passionate about their wine, from their growing techniques to the finished product. They even provided soft drinks for the couple of kids on the tour.

Sebms_boss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an exceptional tour for us. The guide, Mable, was very knowledgeable and receptive to questions. She provided full insight into the most recommended sights for us to see when we were on Montserrat. The real highlight of the trip, however, was the visit to the winery. The tour there was comprehensive, and entertaining. We would recommend this trip to anyone who is considering it.

Viewing 2 of 32

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 104.53

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message