5 star rating: Highly Recommended 636 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 636 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour is by all means a must! We were lucky to have an excellent and knowledgeable guide, a comfortable couch, a great weather. All experience in Montserrat was breathtaking. The second part of the trip-visiting Pares Balta farm,which has been run since 1790(!) was an eye-opener as well. The whole presentation-theoretical and practical part of it :))was AMAZING: professional, good humoured, charming.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The views at Montserrat were breathtaking. Our tour guide (Alexandra) was great! She gave us the right amount of information and allowed us free time to explore the area on our own. The Cava Trail was also nice. I have never seen such a large wine cellar. Wine tasted great so we brought back a few bottles to enjoy at home. Two thumbs up for this activity!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guides were excellent!!
Great knowledge and friendly
Cava tour well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nikko was great! We enjoyed Montserrat, even though it was raining in the morning. It was nice having time, so we could decide what we wanted to do there. And who doesn't like Cava?!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alex was a great tour guide with great attitude!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really cool day trip. Took the funicular to the top and hiked down- breathtaking views! Not a lot of lunch choices here- just a couple of cafeteria style places, and another that had sausage and hot dogs only. The tour of the winery was a lot of fun- and the cava was delicious!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth visiting Montserrat and the cava tour was a great way to finish the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We absolutely loved this excursion and are very happy that we chose this particular trip option. First of all we were able to buy this trip at a 50% discounted rate which made it super reasonable and an amazing value for money.
The tour started right on time and our tour guide Lydia was wonderful, she was so knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately on our way to Monserrat we got stuck in a really bad traffic jam due to an accident on the way and reached Monserrat more that one and a half hour late but Lydia managed to extend the trip time and gave us enough time to explore Monserrat on our own. She explained the various options of things to do and see up on the mountain and even what food items to try and sights not to be missed.
We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain and while savoring the amazing views did a downhill walk back to the monastery. Then visited the basilica and ate and did some souvenir shopping.
We did not feel rushed at all and it was a splendid time.
After that we reached the Codorniu winery, and because we were late, we missed the winery tour with English narration, but we were able to do the tour of the winery with a Spanish speaking guide and Lydia translated everything in English for us. It was an interesting tour and we got to taste two glasses of two different types of Cava!!!
I just want to thank you for a great day and accommodating the traffic delay and still giving us a memorable tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My niece and I enjoyed this tour very much. Montserrat is beautiful -- definitely a must-do experience out of Barcelona. We also enjoyed the Cava tour and tasting at Cordinou. The meeting point for departure was easy to find in Barcelona, and the amount of time allowed at each place was appropriate. We especially appreciated having ample free time at Montserrat. Our guide supplied a good range of possible activities to choose from. Very nice way to spend a day.

Enrique
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was FANTASTIC ;) Monserrat is beautiful but you need time to be able to walk all over! Unfortunately my tour started late 1 hour cuz they waited for clients that arrive late in the morning so we didn't depart on time and while in Monserrat that hour missed was totally needed at least for me cuz I was the youngest person on my tour n I decided to do EVERYTHING!

The Cava tours was also fantastic cuz we got free samples of cava ;) but it was very interesting to see all the process and see the wineries! Pepe the guide from fabric of cava was excellent ... His knowledge about the product is remarkable.

Lydia the tour guide was GREAT! She is like a "talking encyclopedia" and bringing all her knowledge and experience it made the tour WAAAAYYYYY more interesting. Cuz in a tour you just go and see places and things but Lydia told us the story about every single thing that we saw! The detail information that she gave us was on point! She is definetly a history teacher! Love her ;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, enjoyed every minute of it with a first class guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful tour and really enjoyed seeing Montserrat. The tour company was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great out-of-town trip! Montserrat is really something to see. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Tour of Codorniu winery was awesome, with tour guide Pepe leading the way. You should see the amazing underground wine cellars and the beautiful estate. Everything was so clean and very impressive. Tram ride was definitely fun for everyone, plus the wine tasting. Should not be missed when visiting Barcelona!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful excursion; small group on a large comfortable bus; great tour guide. The drive is beautiful, Montserrat is beautiful and the views are amazing. The Codonui winery was very informative, fun and delicious samples at the end. So glad that we did this while we were visiting Barcelona.

Special Offer
$100.00 Save $15.00

From USD $ 85.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message