5 star rating: Highly Recommended 739 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 739 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very interesting tour indeed. Lydia, our guide, was very informative and made our day a very special one. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best things that made our trip as memorable as it was was due to our tour guide Lidia! She was not only the most knowledgeable person about Barcelona and Montserrat that I've ever met but she conveyed the knowledge in a fun and engaging way, rather than just lecture us from a microphone. She stood the entire bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat / Codorniu and relayed her knowledge to us and mixed in great stories and experiences. She is by far one of the best tour guides we've ever encountered on our many trips and excursions.

Onto the tour itself. Montserrat was breathtaking, from the ride up the mountainside, to the funicular ride to the peak, and the walks back down the mountain, awe inspiring. The church and all of the surrounding grounds were beautiful and the engineering of it all left me scratching my head. The views from the top were fantastic and something we'll never forget.

The cava tour we lucked out and were granted access to the best cava at Codorniu and our tour guide Max was funny and informative, not only on the process of creating cava or the history of it, but also just the way he toured us around with his own personal twist. The caves were enormous and we could have easily gotten lost down there for weeks. The tasting was a great way to end the trip and we ended up leaving with 3 bottles of cava! The prices were very good, considering we couldn't get the cava we enjoyed back here in the states. 3 bottles ran us around 30 euros, not bad at all.

Sometimes I am hesitant to spend money on tours/guides when I enjoy finding a book or self guided tour to save money but this tour was absolutely worth it 100%. It wasn't too much a hit on my wallet and the memories we came away with were far more important.

I would highly recommend this tour and hopefully you can be as lucky as we were and get Lidia as your tour guide! Thanks again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a perfect day for the trip to Montserrat and the cava tour. Our guide was very informative, friendly and helpful, and the free time we were afforded was sufficient for exploring on your own without having to follow the crowd the entire time. Also, having someone who knows the area and the sites so well and being able to relax and enjoy the scenery (and not drive to these locations) makes this trip well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this was great however the weather was not so good which stopped some of the views as we were told "open your mind", I did sense of peace on the top which shouldn't be missed. The Cava was also interesting with a generous tasting session

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat is a sight not to be missed. The hiking was wonderful as was the monastery. Cava was a perfect finish as well!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful trip with free time to explore options. The wine tasting was informative and a lot of fun! Very skilled driver and entertaining tour guide. Comfortable van for 8. Highly recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic guide! Montserrat is a beautiful site and well worth the visit. Be prepared to walk a lot since there is so much to do and see. We enjoyed the trip immensely especially the tour of the Codorniu winery. This winery tour was the best I have been on and I have been to dozens of California winery's!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Montserrat and the win tour. Both were very interesting and it covered everything. Our guide was Geordy and he new a lot about the Montserrat and the area around Barcelona.It is a beautiful place. It was nice because we had three hours of free time to do what we wanted to do. There is so much to do and see there. The winery was interesting as well. A lot to see and learn. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Superb. Excellent knowledgeable guide and Montserrat was a beautiful place to see. The Codorneu winery was a revelation too. Train rides around the wine store seven levels underground was exhilarating. Oh, the wine is excellent value too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Monserrat is beautiful and we were given plenty time to explore. Only down side is lack of food for lunch - I would recommend taking a picnic and sitting at the top of the mountain to eat it with those views. The Cava tour was great as well, and we had a really passionate guide who told us some very interesting facts and gave us delicious wine to taste.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Montserrat is breathtaking and the Cava tasting was a nice finish to the day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Informative guide. Good value. Monserrat was amazing. If you like wine the cava tour is a must. Would recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Completely enjoyed the day! Comfortable transportation. Our guide Alexandra was excellent- she was so knowledgeable, had a wonderful presentation style, and really made the day really fun for the group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was pretty great. I'm glad our guide urged us to go around the street market and buy some food for a picnic. And that trip to the cava winery was amazing. I wish I could've spent more time in both places!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

From start to finish we had a fantastic tour, despite the mist overhanging the monastery all day. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept everyone involved all day. The Cava Trail visit was a delight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lidia was amazing!! We could not say enough good things about her. She gave us the history of Barcelona, was so friendly and I didn't realize how high up we were going I have a slight fear of heights but Lidia accommodated my fears and put them to ease by driving a bit slower and having me sit on the mountain side as opposed to the overlook. I could not say enough good things about Lidia or the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved this tour! Our tour guide Nil was very lovely, informative and engaging. Although we had 3 hours of free time on Montserrat (which is truly beautiful!) this just flew by as there was so much to do! The winery was also gorgeous and it was great seeing the underground cellars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth doing and we really enjoyed our guide Neil and the two other couples that made up the party of seven. Neil was very knowledgeable, had a good understanding of English, explained how the day would work, was clear in his instructions about meeting points and time to be there. We had plenty of time to look around Montserrat, take the cable car to the lookout point and soak up the atmosphere. The Cava Trail exceeded my expectations. I didn't realise that so many kilometres of tunnels had been created to store the wine of this family business. The whole presentation was very professional and the price of the Cava catered for all budgets. We really enjoyed our day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was wonderful. We got enough spare time in Monserrat to do things by ourselves which was great. Our guide was excellent. When we arrived he showed us where everything was and what we should definately try and do and told us all about Montserrat. Took us all around and then we got free time. If you like cheese - buy some bread, cheeses and goodies from the stalls for your lunch. It's all yummy. The Cava cellars were wonderful. Had a little train ride around some of the tunnels which was good and then off to the tasting room to taste what we had just seen in the cellar. Great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day trip that I would recommend to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with an excellent guide - Alexanda. You are given a lot of time to explore Montserrat and the Cava tour was interesting. I like the small group format - a maximum of 8 passengers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour - great guide who was very knowledgeable and provided information but also gave plenty of space.
Nice combination of Monserrat and wine tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow. This tour was one of the highlights on our trip. The guide, Fabian, was very friendly, spoke English almost without accent and could explain everything asked. The views from Montserrat were breathtaking. Then the wine tasting at Pares Balta winery was out of this world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed this very much. Especially the Monastery's history

From USD $ 100.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message