5 star rating: Highly Recommended 719 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 719 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved this tour! Our tour guide Nil was very lovely, informative and engaging. Although we had 3 hours of free time on Montserrat (which is truly beautiful!) this just flew by as there was so much to do! The winery was also gorgeous and it was great seeing the underground cellars.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth doing and we really enjoyed our guide Neil and the two other couples that made up the party of seven. Neil was very knowledgeable, had a good understanding of English, explained how the day would work, was clear in his instructions about meeting points and time to be there. We had plenty of time to look around Montserrat, take the cable car to the lookout point and soak up the atmosphere. The Cava Trail exceeded my expectations. I didn't realise that so many kilometres of tunnels had been created to store the wine of this family business. The whole presentation was very professional and the price of the Cava catered for all budgets. We really enjoyed our day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was wonderful. We got enough spare time in Monserrat to do things by ourselves which was great. Our guide was excellent. When we arrived he showed us where everything was and what we should definately try and do and told us all about Montserrat. Took us all around and then we got free time. If you like cheese - buy some bread, cheeses and goodies from the stalls for your lunch. It's all yummy. The Cava cellars were wonderful. Had a little train ride around some of the tunnels which was good and then off to the tasting room to taste what we had just seen in the cellar. Great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great day trip that I would recommend to everyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with an excellent guide - Alexanda. You are given a lot of time to explore Montserrat and the Cava tour was interesting. I like the small group format - a maximum of 8 passengers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour - great guide who was very knowledgeable and provided information but also gave plenty of space.
Nice combination of Monserrat and wine tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow. This tour was one of the highlights on our trip. The guide, Fabian, was very friendly, spoke English almost without accent and could explain everything asked. The views from Montserrat were breathtaking. Then the wine tasting at Pares Balta winery was out of this world.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed this very much. Especially the Monastery's history

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing scenery, well worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour is by all means a must! We were lucky to have an excellent and knowledgeable guide, a comfortable couch, a great weather. All experience in Montserrat was breathtaking. The second part of the trip-visiting Pares Balta farm,which has been run since 1790(!) was an eye-opener as well. The whole presentation-theoretical and practical part of it :))was AMAZING: professional, good humoured, charming.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The views at Montserrat were breathtaking. Our tour guide (Alexandra) was great! She gave us the right amount of information and allowed us free time to explore the area on our own. The Cava Trail was also nice. I have never seen such a large wine cellar. Wine tasted great so we brought back a few bottles to enjoy at home. Two thumbs up for this activity!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guides were excellent!!
Great knowledge and friendly
Cava tour well worth it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Nikko was great! We enjoyed Montserrat, even though it was raining in the morning. It was nice having time, so we could decide what we wanted to do there. And who doesn't like Cava?!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Alex was a great tour guide with great attitude!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really cool day trip. Took the funicular to the top and hiked down- breathtaking views! Not a lot of lunch choices here- just a couple of cafeteria style places, and another that had sausage and hot dogs only. The tour of the winery was a lot of fun- and the cava was delicious!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth visiting Montserrat and the cava tour was a great way to finish the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We absolutely loved this excursion and are very happy that we chose this particular trip option. First of all we were able to buy this trip at a 50% discounted rate which made it super reasonable and an amazing value for money.
The tour started right on time and our tour guide Lydia was wonderful, she was so knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately on our way to Monserrat we got stuck in a really bad traffic jam due to an accident on the way and reached Monserrat more that one and a half hour late but Lydia managed to extend the trip time and gave us enough time to explore Monserrat on our own. She explained the various options of things to do and see up on the mountain and even what food items to try and sights not to be missed.
We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain and while savoring the amazing views did a downhill walk back to the monastery. Then visited the basilica and ate and did some souvenir shopping.
We did not feel rushed at all and it was a splendid time.
After that we reached the Codorniu winery, and because we were late, we missed the winery tour with English narration, but we were able to do the tour of the winery with a Spanish speaking guide and Lydia translated everything in English for us. It was an interesting tour and we got to taste two glasses of two different types of Cava!!!
I just want to thank you for a great day and accommodating the traffic delay and still giving us a memorable tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My niece and I enjoyed this tour very much. Montserrat is beautiful -- definitely a must-do experience out of Barcelona. We also enjoyed the Cava tour and tasting at Cordinou. The meeting point for departure was easy to find in Barcelona, and the amount of time allowed at each place was appropriate. We especially appreciated having ample free time at Montserrat. Our guide supplied a good range of possible activities to choose from. Very nice way to spend a day.

Enrique
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was FANTASTIC ;) Monserrat is beautiful but you need time to be able to walk all over! Unfortunately my tour started late 1 hour cuz they waited for clients that arrive late in the morning so we didn't depart on time and while in Monserrat that hour missed was totally needed at least for me cuz I was the youngest person on my tour n I decided to do EVERYTHING!

The Cava tours was also fantastic cuz we got free samples of cava ;) but it was very interesting to see all the process and see the wineries! Pepe the guide from fabric of cava was excellent ... His knowledge about the product is remarkable.

Lydia the tour guide was GREAT! She is like a "talking encyclopedia" and bringing all her knowledge and experience it made the tour WAAAAYYYYY more interesting. Cuz in a tour you just go and see places and things but Lydia told us the story about every single thing that we saw! The detail information that she gave us was on point! She is definetly a history teacher! Love her ;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, enjoyed every minute of it with a first class guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful tour and really enjoyed seeing Montserrat. The tour company was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great out-of-town trip! Montserrat is really something to see. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Tour of Codorniu winery was awesome, with tour guide Pepe leading the way. You should see the amazing underground wine cellars and the beautiful estate. Everything was so clean and very impressive. Tram ride was definitely fun for everyone, plus the wine tasting. Should not be missed when visiting Barcelona!

From USD $ 100.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message