5 star rating: Highly Recommended 691 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 691 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We absolutely loved this excursion and are very happy that we chose this particular trip option. First of all we were able to buy this trip at a 50% discounted rate which made it super reasonable and an amazing value for money.
The tour started right on time and our tour guide Lydia was wonderful, she was so knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately on our way to Monserrat we got stuck in a really bad traffic jam due to an accident on the way and reached Monserrat more that one and a half hour late but Lydia managed to extend the trip time and gave us enough time to explore Monserrat on our own. She explained the various options of things to do and see up on the mountain and even what food items to try and sights not to be missed.
We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain and while savoring the amazing views did a downhill walk back to the monastery. Then visited the basilica and ate and did some souvenir shopping.
We did not feel rushed at all and it was a splendid time.
After that we reached the Codorniu winery, and because we were late, we missed the winery tour with English narration, but we were able to do the tour of the winery with a Spanish speaking guide and Lydia translated everything in English for us. It was an interesting tour and we got to taste two glasses of two different types of Cava!!!
I just want to thank you for a great day and accommodating the traffic delay and still giving us a memorable tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My niece and I enjoyed this tour very much. Montserrat is beautiful -- definitely a must-do experience out of Barcelona. We also enjoyed the Cava tour and tasting at Cordinou. The meeting point for departure was easy to find in Barcelona, and the amount of time allowed at each place was appropriate. We especially appreciated having ample free time at Montserrat. Our guide supplied a good range of possible activities to choose from. Very nice way to spend a day.

Enrique
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was FANTASTIC ;) Monserrat is beautiful but you need time to be able to walk all over! Unfortunately my tour started late 1 hour cuz they waited for clients that arrive late in the morning so we didn't depart on time and while in Monserrat that hour missed was totally needed at least for me cuz I was the youngest person on my tour n I decided to do EVERYTHING!

The Cava tours was also fantastic cuz we got free samples of cava ;) but it was very interesting to see all the process and see the wineries! Pepe the guide from fabric of cava was excellent ... His knowledge about the product is remarkable.

Lydia the tour guide was GREAT! She is like a "talking encyclopedia" and bringing all her knowledge and experience it made the tour WAAAAYYYYY more interesting. Cuz in a tour you just go and see places and things but Lydia told us the story about every single thing that we saw! The detail information that she gave us was on point! She is definetly a history teacher! Love her ;)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour, enjoyed every minute of it with a first class guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful tour and really enjoyed seeing Montserrat. The tour company was great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great out-of-town trip! Montserrat is really something to see. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Tour of Codorniu winery was awesome, with tour guide Pepe leading the way. You should see the amazing underground wine cellars and the beautiful estate. Everything was so clean and very impressive. Tram ride was definitely fun for everyone, plus the wine tasting. Should not be missed when visiting Barcelona!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful excursion; small group on a large comfortable bus; great tour guide. The drive is beautiful, Montserrat is beautiful and the views are amazing. The Codonui winery was very informative, fun and delicious samples at the end. So glad that we did this while we were visiting Barcelona.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! Very great guide (Felipe?). He gave great suggestions for food options on the mountain. The scenery is amazing and the tour of the wine caves is unforgettable. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent organisation great guide and a fun enjoyable educational day..views outstanding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Feliciano was great. Montserrat was a magical place that you could easily spend all day at. You definitely need to get into the church at least 30 minutes early to hear the boys choir sing. It's well worth the time spent waiting. We took the little cable car up to the top of the mountain but didn't have much time to walk around. The views were great. The Cava tour was interesting and I was surprised by how enormous the place was. You only get two tastings, but they were large glasses of cava. Our tour guide gave us some great suggestions on places to eat and beaches to see in and around Barcelona. Money well spent on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour could not have been better. Tour guide Lidia was very informative and kept us entertained with her stories. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative, re: history and present day policy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Lydia, was excellent, and provided us with an insight into Catalan's history and the importance of Montserrat. The day was great, would recommend this tour! Montserrat is a beautiful place, and the Cava tour was just as good. And of course the Cava tasting was delicious...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A lot of fun lots to see! The Cava Was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a simply amazing experience. Everything was professional and well organized and allowed us to do everything that we wanted. Our guide was fun and shared really interesting facts about the areas we visited as well as the people. Book this trip, you won't be sorry.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a very enjoyable day. Henrico was a wonderful guide:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great time great travel guide great surprises- all good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Montserrat and Cava Trail tour was one of many highlights of my holiday in Spain. Montserrat is situated high in the mountains and provided stunning views, including all the way to the Pyrennes mountains. There is a lot of free time whilst there to visit the Cathedral, take a cable car ride or go hiking. The winery tour in the afternoon was also very enjoyable, culminating in an opportunity to try cava, a locally produced champagne. Overall, the Montserrat/Cava Trail tour was wonderful and our guide, Enrique, was excellent and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Montserrat is a magical place, and Jordi did everything exactly right. We are limited in mobility and he did all he could to make us comfortable. He answered all our questions and was very knowledgeable about what we were about to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour. Highly recommended. Phillipo our tour guide was outstanding. Recommend a picnic at Montserrat with the local bread and cheeses.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Montserrat is a must see for any visitor to Catalunya. The Boys Choir, the serrated mountains located in the heights of Catalunya, the sense of spirtuality, and the presence of history and the story was all held together by our guide. While my wife are not Cava wine affienados, the uniqueness of wine county and the wine sampling was most appreciated.

Peter D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic day, very well organised and should not miss it. Once again Viiator have come up with the goods.
Many thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This trip was wonderful, even though it was a rainy day. Our guide, Fabion (sp?), was more than you could ask for. He was so knowledgeable about the history of the area, it made the trip more than worth it. Montserrat was amazing. Don't miss the boys choir. We didn't get to see the Black Madonna because they closed the public doors earlier than on the schedule. But it could be seen from the pews. I was a bit disappointed in the winery we went to. They only offered two types of Cava...both extra dry...so I didn't buy anything. Could have offered more choices. Other than that, it was pretty good. We were so glad we did the full day trip as there's so much to see at Montserrat and the ride is beautiful. I also bought home-made cheese from a street vendor at Montserrat. Delicious!!! Highly recommend this trip and especially recommend Fabion.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A fanastic day! We had lots of time in Montserrat and then thouroughly enjoyed the winery tour. Travelling with a small group was way better than taking a bus tour and our guide was very knowlegable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A must see tour of the Montserrat area and the wine producing area of Barcelona. Highly recommend this tour and the opportunity to see the monastery and the ancient village.

From USD $ 98.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142MONT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message