Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 99 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 99 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The cava wine cellar trip was informative and Sitges was an interesting place, if you can bring your swimming suit. Guide was very acknolegeable and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I would highly recommend this tour, we even bought more cava at the end of the wine tasting. Our tour guide was fabulous and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We really recommend this excursion to anybody who wants to spend a nice day away from the big city and is wants to enjoy a visit to Catalunya's most important industry the cava champaign industry. We had a marvelous trip visiting the Cava cellars of the prestigious brand Freixenet and visiting the beautiful village of Sitges. The english speaking guide was very friendly and explained everything very well. The visit to the Freixenet cava cellars in the morning started with a video presentation of the history of this historic cava brand. Afterwards, our english speaking company guide guided the small group through the cellars were the actual cava is made. The tour, mixed with small video presentations, tastings and a train ride through the cellars and fabric, is as interesting even for wine leeks like us as it is fun and entertaining. Around noon we headed for Sitges where the guide walked us through the typical small streets and explained about the history of this beautifull rich town. In the afternoon we got some free time and went for lunch in a very good restaurant, La Occa, recommended by our guide. Sun bathing and shopping and back to Barcelona city where we arrived around 15h. Really a great experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very nice people and very educational to learn about the kind of wine you like. Know we know wich one to buy.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Sitges is a gorgeous seaside town and the cava tour isn't to be missed! We decided to stay in Sitges a couple hours longer and took an easy train ride back to Barcelona.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. The Freixenet wine cellar museum is incredible. The only reason I didn't give this tour 5 stars is that we got a little rushed out of Sitges. The tour said that it would be 8 hours, leaving around 9am. That should have put us back in Barcelona around 4-5pm. We ended up having to leave around 2:30 which didn't give us enough time to eat lunch in Sitges. We would have taken the train back to Barcelona from Sitges had we not left a bunch of our stuff on the bus. Overall a good trip. Our guide was awesome as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed our tour to Freixenet and Sitges. The Freixenet tour was excellent -- we really enjoyed our tour and the tour guide there was terrific.

The only thing that bothered us is the voucher for the tour told us to be at the central office for 8:45am and we arrived at 8:40am and the tour guide and rest of the 4 people on the tour were already departing without us!! We saw the SMALL group departing and we had to rush into the office and have them called back. We didn't understand this as we weren't late and the group was so small it seemed really strange. I recommend people show up really early and just sit in the lobby to ensure this doesn't happen to you! We found it a little off-putting for the rest of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Was very a very romantic tour! We loved it, also very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Lovely tour guide Rosa. The tour to the cava was very nice. Sitges it is real beautiful. The best part is that one have the choice to return later in train to Barcelona if one will like to stay there and enjoy the beaches.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This excursion was enjoyable. Our guide was very nice. The Winery tour was nice and our guide from Freixenet was pleasant and very knowledgeable. I did not care for their wines but, I'm not a much of a drinker. I did enjoy the town of Sitges, the beach was beautiful and the town is very quaint and loads of places to shop. I had a deliciousl falafel for lunch at ESTAMBUL, located on first street to left when you enter Sitges.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyable trip. Especially enjoyed the visit to Freixenet.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

This trip is a visit to Freixenet's Wine Cellars and then a short walking tour through Sitges. Title and trip description can be misleading if not read properly.
5 stars for the Freixenet trip. The trip into the cellars is worth seeing and the one site guide was good fun and very informative. The trip length at this site was adequate.
The village of Sitges was pleasant. Had it not been part of the tour then I'd have been unlikely to have seen it. Our coach guide took us a walk from the back of the village down to the beach stopping to give us a few pieces of information about the place. OK but nothing to write home about. Once at the beach were were left to our own devices to walk or stop for lunch. I'd, if ever back, walk back into the village from the beach as I'd say the choice of food, and price, will be better.
You are given the opportunity to make your own way back by train thus allowing you a chance to explore further, something that might be better knowing in advance rather than when you get there. The train, we were told, is frequent and cheap.
Coach was clean and our guide was informative.
If you have a few days in Barcelona then this is worth doing to see a little of the countryside and grab a glass of Cava (if you've not already done so by then).

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The Freixenet's Tour was interesting to see and do and Sitges is beautiful. We had plenty time in Sitges (a little over an hr) to get lunch and walk around a little. The guide was nice and told us of a few things in Sitges but would maybe better to just take the train into the town for the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

I REALLY ENJOYED IT. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The tour was great, but there wasn't enough time to really visit Sitges. Freixenet was a beautiful place and they did a great tour.

From USD $ 60.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140SITGES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message