• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The visit to the Freixenet wine cellars was great, except that they could have provided more than just one glass of cava. The Sitges part of the trip was a big disappointment, as there was very little to do except have lunch. The local agent of Viator should consider hotel pick-ups and drop-offs.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We had an amazing time. The Cava wine cellars tour was something to remember.. the guide was knowledgeable and humorous. The Sitges trip was annoyingly short.. we only had 1 and half hours to explore the town, have a bath in the beautiful beach, eat and rest a bit..so we ended up going for a really fast stroll up to the monastery and hurrying up to the center to grab something to eat and head to 2-3 souvenir shops. Our stay in Sitges should have lasted at least 3 hours

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Would have loved to have stayed longer at Sitges as a great town and the winery very intersting a good day out

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good experience. Charming guide who went the "extra mile" to show us the village or to allow those who wanted time on their own to have it.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

All was very well organised and woth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

We highly recommend this trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the tour of the winery was excellent. We have been to many wine tours in the USA and this was one of the best we have seen. We had plenty of time in Sitges to explore and take pictures. Unfortunately, it was too cool to play on the beach but would go back again the next time we are in Barcelona.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The bus driver was extremely unprofessional with dangerous driving. It seemed like he had been drinking. This is the only concern I have. The tour guide was great, the Frexienet visit was great as was Sitges, but the bus driver took the fun out of the trip

Debra B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The Freixenet wine tour was great. . . on the way we got plenty of information about Barcelona and the surrounding areas and on the tour we found out the production of Freixenet with a dedicated tour guide. Due to traffic on the way to Sitges, we barely had time to eat lunch. However that lunch was the best paella in Barcelona I'm sure but it would have be nice to spend more time on the gorgeous beach - Well worth the money though.

Nessy P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

I enjoyed the visit to the winery, and I liked walking the streets of Sitges and also the beach front.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Tour of Freixenet was great good tour , lots of information and a sample of Cava. Would recommend that the tour be more about Spanish wines and forget Sitges. Sitges we were on our own for several hours which was way to much. We did learn that Bacardi family was from this town and there is a museum. HOWEVER, you can only see on a tour and the English tour for the day was fully booked at to late. Other than that if you wanted to see a beach and have food I guess it would have been okay for a few minutes

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Beautiful seaside. In future, I would probably just hop on the train from Barcelona (takes 20 mins approx) and get here myself to allow plenty of time to relax on the beach. In the tour, we were given time to roam around the town ourselves and have lunch. I think it's just better to get here yourself if you can to do whatever you want to do in your own given time. However for us, it saved us time to join the tour as we were trying to cram in as much as poss to our 4 days trip! I preferred this beach than Barceoneta - really nice sandy beach in Sitges.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Poor, delayed departure, Freixenet was 1st, not expecting to drink Cava at 11 am! In house guide was very good. Ours seemed to be agitated in Sitges, trip was too short and we were 'walked' up the main street and then left on our own. Suggest reversal of tour ie Sitges and then Freixenet

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

I really enjoyed this tour. If you like learning about wines etc this was great because the cava is a different process somewhat so it was something new for me. Our guide at the Freixenet Wine Cellars was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. The only thing is that we only got to try one sample of the cava and I wish more had been included. It was quite a large glass of cava that we got (probably 3-4oz) so they could give you 2 or 3 smaller ones for the same amount. You could buy additional glasses but there were so many to choose from....

Sitges is a really cute town and we had a beautiful day but it felt a bit rushed - another hour there could have been used (but that might just be me!). Our guide gave us a tour and then we had about 1hr of free time but that really only left you with enough time for 1 activity (lunch, beach, shopping..). If you wanted to have a nice lunch and then sit on the beach there wouldn't have been enough time. However, if people wanted to spend more time they could have taken the train back to Barcelona.

I am glad that I did this tour and we had a very knowleadgeable guide, whose english was great! and he gave us some background information on the way to the Freixenet and throughout the day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The cava is good, but you don't have to do it by a tour. The tour guide basically just take you to the cellar, and then organize you back to the bus. Then take you to a really beautiful small town and leave you one hour to enjoy the sunshine, beach and your lunch. The tour is too short ! The tour guide seem to be a little bit unenthusiastic!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The tour at Freixenet was ok, interesting facility, but felt it was a little more business versus insight to the actual process and unique aspects of the company. The tasting is one free glass, would rather had multiple small versions to taste the varieties they offer. Sitges was a nice beach city, but beyond shops and the beach, it didn't offer much of history or excitement.

Special Offer
$72.96 Save $7.30

From USD $ 65.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140SITGES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message