Insider's Guide to Barcelona

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 206 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

cristina p

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great experience.

Jill D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour, just would have liked more time to explore Tarragona. Loved Emma's expertise and history lessons!

Mike G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our guide, Feliciano was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The Roman archeological sites are the main draw in Tarragona and are worth the visit. The old city is also nice to visit. Sitges is a beautiful seaside resort with good food and an artistic feel.

Gerald B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The two towns were visited wet outstanding but the tour guide needed to improve.

Patricia H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide was good, Tarragona was a very pleasant surprise/historic, but as we didn't plan to swim Sitges visit was a little longer than necessary. That was more our problem than the tours

Denise C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Wish we had more time there. The destinations and tour guide were excellent, but the time was too limited.

Craig Viator

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour is really good. We would have liked more time in Sitges since it is beautiful. Anna is very knowledgeable. The Roman Aqueduct is cool to see. Tarragona is nice but roman ruins not that much to see.

Sara T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Very interesting and beautiful.

Christea4

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Anna was a wonderful guide. She told us so much information about Tarragona. The time in Tarragona is too short though. There should be less time in Sitges, especially when it isn't summer and you can't go to the beaches and swim.

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This tour happened to be just our family of four which was great. We walked across the aquaduct and after learning about the history of Tarragona from our guide spent time in the town on our own. We went to a museum and shopped in the local street market. The second town we went to was mostly abandoned due to the time of year but we still got out and walked on the beach. Our tour guide dropped us off in Sitges and picked us up at a designated time and place.

Zoe United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A nice, relaxed tour in a small group. You visit the Roman aquaduct first and then go on to Tarragona for a quick tour and then free time. We headed to Stiges at 2pm (isn't a lot to do here other than the beach).
Good day out, lots of information but because non of the activities at the places were free it ended up being more expensive than we planned, but thoroughly enjoyed it!

Christopher W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Looking back I had a great day outside of Barcelona. My big complaint is that we spent way too much time in Stiges as opposed to Tarragona. There wasn't much in Stiges except the beach where in Tarragona there was the Cathedral, Circus, and amphitheatre. I only had enough time to see Cathedral and had to rush through the Circus because we were only given an 1hr 1/2. In Stiges we had 2 1/2hrs. I think we stopped there primarily to eat. All I know atleast another hour should have been dedicated to Tarragona instead. I'm still glad I went though.
P.S. I loved the aqueduct.

Darren.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great price. Enrique was very knowledgable and personable. This tour was largely on your own. We got the tour of the aqueduct, and a tour of Tarragona then left to explore for 2 hours on our own. We also had about 4 hours in Sitges in the beach. It is a low key tour.

Steve M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

this was a very pleasant and informative tour. Our tour guide was exceptional. Knowledgeable, very good language skills, outgoing with a friendly and engaging personality. The sites on the trip were what we expected. My only suggestion is that a bit more could be said about the time and actual situation at the beach site. We did know that we were going to have time at the beach and to bring our bathing suits but the actual site was much more inviting than anticipated.

Jan M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This would have been a wonderful tour had it not been disgusting weather the day we went. Rain, rain, and more rain. Ugh.

Lumen T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The day trip to both places was worth it. Our tour guide Feliciano (I hope I spelled his name right) was wonderful. First time in Spain and hopefully it won't be the last. Gracias!

swati

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

My wife and I absolutely loved the company of our guides Li Ping and Julia. We did this tour early Nov/13 and made most of a lovely day in Barcelona with this 8 hr day-trip. Don't forget to ask Julia for some eat-out recommendations in Barcelona...Love Catalonia!

Mercedes F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Nice daytrip/ tour.

Wistremundo D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I did not give it 5 stars as I was not well that day and could not enjoy the experience fully. Regardless, this is a day trip worth doing if you are staying in Barcelona. The bus trip was long out and back into Barcelona due to it being a holiday week (Festival de la Mercé) and coming back during rush hour made it worse, yet it was worth it. The aqueduct is a great starting place for the day! You can go up a hill to stand on it. Onew in my group even ran to the middle of it and back! Very accessible for a Roman Empire remnant.
After visiting the aqueduct we went to Tarragona. The city has several places to stop, among them the circus and the forum. Those are 3.50 euros to enter each. We walked the city around midday, stopping in the forum and enjoying the view of the Mediterranean under a very hot sun (we were "lucky" enough to still have warm weather during the end of September: high 70's F). Once we were done, we were driven to Sitges. The tour guide recommended a place to eat paella near the beach called Santa María. I personally did not eat that day, but was told by the rest of the group that it was good! After lunch, we finished our day at the beach across the street from the restaurant. All I can say is WOW! What a view! You have to pay to rent a chair and umbrella if you need it, but it was worth it.
In terms of the group, we were the youngest ones in the bus group of 22 (4 of us together). All 4 of us know English and Spanish, so it was easy to get around without the guide. Our guide was Belén. She was awesome! She knows a lot about the cities and pointed out good historic points as well as gave good recommendations (restaurant, places to see, etc.). She was very attentive and gave us good background information on each city, including the region (Cataluña) and their differences with the rest of Spain. Overall a great trip that I would recommend to anyone. Be ready to walk a lot and go up hills or stairs to see great views. If not, go to the beach!

Paula C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lovely and worthy

Abel C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tarragona was beautiful with its roman ruins, would have loved to spend more time at Tarragona and less time at Sitges. If you plan on taking this trip, plan to spend a decent amount of time at a very nice beach. Our guide was very good and we lucked out in getting a private tour for this trip.

Saysha USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The highlight of this tour was the aqueduct - amazing! There was plenty of time in both Tarragona and Sitges for walking around, lunch, etc. My tour was on a Sunday, so unfortunately most things were closed in Sitges, but it was great for visiting the Sunday antique market in Tarragona. The tour guide, Alex, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Recommend it as a great opportunity to see something the average tourist to Barcelona doesn't!

S G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The locations that we visited were well worth the time. Tarragona is interesting, and Sitges is worth seeing. We did however NOT visit the advertised fishing village. The tour guide was just OK. Minimal information at the sites visited. He acted more as a driver than a formal tour guide.

William B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

would have been great if more countryside...Sitges was less appealling.

IULIANA C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tarragona and Sitges are 2 different cities. Tarragona is full of history, you need to see it. Sitges is a nice place to walk along the sea and have a great paella in a restaurant. We had bad luck because in that day it was very cloudy and we had also some drops of rain. I hope you'll have better weather!

Viewing 5 of 9

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 101.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142TARRA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message