4.5 star rating: Recommended 174 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Barcelona, Spain
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 174 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Beautiful trip, plenty of things to see in Tarragona, Sitges is a lovely place and lunch was excellent, we also had a short extra visit to Roc de Gaieta, lovely small resort composed of villas with specific spanish architectural styles. Guide was nice, if you want to know more just ask him, he will gladly provide information on lots of subjects if he sees there is interest.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very nice places to visit. Small tour group very nice and the places were also not crowded. Was able to spend enough time in each place, relax and not rush around.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The sights were incredible to see and very enjoyable. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided great information. I enjoyed spending time with the guide and the group. However, we also had ample time to explore the areas for ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The tour guide was excellent. The tour started on time. Great tour to go

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great trip and excellant tour guide. Great people and trip - really enjoyed the day! A++

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

I loved the trip to Tarragona! Will go back again. Sitges tour information was about 25 minutes long and we were turned loose to explore but the area we wanted to visit was too far to walk and we only had a few hours there. I'll go back there for R and R. The drive up the coast back to Barcelona was picturesque and we got to see the Gaudi, Guell restaurant on the Garraf coast near Sitges and will go back to dine there someday. Our guide Andrew, was terrific.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The Tarragona trip provided a wonderful opportunity to visit significant and well preserved ruins. The ruins were very accessible and really offer a feeling of walking through the past. The Sitges visit was really just a beach boardwalk and opportunity for a meal at beach-side restaurant. We would have preferred to spend all day in Tarragona. Overall, though I would chose this tour again - just for the reason that it offers a credible and insightful visit to wonderful ruins, with a well informed guide, as a perfect complement to our week in Barcelona.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

We honestly would give this trip a 31/2. It was well organized and executed, but our guide was difficult to understand. The group was good, diverse and small - Loved the Roman aqueduct.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

good trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We were very disappointed when we showed up at 830am with our printed confirmation (I booked online), which our hotel also confirmed for us via phone the prior day, to learn that the tour had not been scheduled. The tour director did offer us a discount, and we went the next day. We did enjoy the tour very much, but were not happy about the impact the change had on our Barcelona visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

I had a fabulous time on this trip - it's certainly worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

We enjoyed this trip very much. There was only 7 people in our group. We had plenty of free time and our guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Totally enjoyed the day trip. We thought it was worth the money spent to leave Barcelona for the day and see other parts of Spain. The tour consisted of a van ride to each of the locations and a bit of history explained to us from our guide. Once at the locations we were given a brochure and left on our own to explore. Our tour guide, Alex, was knowledgeable with Spain history and was very pleasant to be around. He did a great job in including everyone, as there was a mixed group of languages (English, Spanish and Italy). Tarragona was a beautiful city with a lot of history, museums, etc. We only wish that the majority of the time could of been spent in this area rather than Stiges. Stiges is beautiful beach town and we had a wonderful lunch there, but did not see too much as far as history. Tour is great as long as you understand that it is up to each person / group to discover the beauty of each location on their own.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

Tarragona was very interesting. I enjoyed the ancient ruins. Sitges was relaxing--shops were closed, as it was the middle of the day. We had coffee and watched the sights. Relaxing!!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

If you like exploring on your own, after background explanation, then this is a good tour for you. Even though our group was small - only 4 guests - there were 2 "trainees" on our tour. Their presence diluted the focus a bit. Our guide was very nice, and well informed. But her English language skills could have had smoother delivery. It took longer than necessary to relay the information, and kept us from asking too many questions. Given the wealth of history in Tarragona, I wish we could have conversed more. But lunch on the beach in Sitges was spectacular. A long, but worthwhile day.

Judy H
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This was our second tour with this operator, so we now knew where to wait. Our guide/driver was a very personable young woman. She did an excellent job of not only driving, but providing commentary along the way. We visited everything stated in the online description. If staying in Barcelona, this particular trip allows one to venture out of the city and get a feel for coastal living. You are given time to wander, on your own, in Tarragona and Sitges. Unfortunately, we reached Sitges during "siesta" time, so many of the shops were closed. There are a number of restaurants available for lunch at Sitges, but they do tend to be a bit pricey. It's a good trip if you have extra days in Barcelona, but if your time is limited, first see everything you can in the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

We enjoyed this tour even though we went on Sunday many things were closed. The guide was good and helpful. More time in Sitges was needed.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Tarragona was a beautiful and historic city and my guide was very knowledgable about the area, welcomed questions and gave recommendations but let us explore on our own. The day was a nice mix of busy and relaxed since Sitges was mostly spent eating a delicious lunch with about an hour to lay out on the beach or go shoppingexploring. The beaches were very crowded so I probably wouldn't have needed more time there anyway.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Great guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Since another local tour operator used by Viator advised us of problems with a wheelchair, and this company did not, I was surprised by the places my husband could not travel with his wheelchair. This operator was given the same information, and sent no reply as to the limitations of accessibility. That said, I still recommend the tour. There is a dirt path to see the Viaduct, but it was not that impressive, and preservation work prevented some photo opps. We were left off the mini bus at the bottom of the old city of Tarragona. Too steep to push a wheelchair up, BUT... a magnificent elevated path along the ocean. My husband and I also happened upon a wonderful local celebration in the downtown shopping area where our guide told us not to go, but it was easily accessible. Horses, donkeys, ponys pulling carts, carriages, etc celebrating old methods of delivering products within the region. Sitges Beach was beautiful, again a paved boardwalk, easily accessible. Small and large cafes on the streetside. Great paella for lunch! Beautiful mid-May day! We stopped also in another seaside village with spectacular architecture and the bus driver was FABULOUS getting my husband around in and out of the wheelchair! "Old road" back from Sitges was crazy with twists and turns, but would not have missed the experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The tour bus and driver arrived early, which was great. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. I enjoyed seeing the aqueduct, but wish we had spent more time in Tarragona and less in Sitges. I'm not sure how much it costs to take a round trip bus to Tarragona, but I would do that instead of take this tour and pass on Sitges all together it is a nice beach town, but hardly requires a several hour visit.

Alex W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Worth doing if you want a very relaxed day trip from Barcelona to see more of Catalonia. Ask the guide lots of questions if you want to know anything as he was very knowledgeable.

Pia B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

Guide was very knowledgeable and informative of the places we passed and visited. He had a great sense of humor which was an added bonus. The vehicle was comfortable. We were provided enough free time to explore both Tarragona and Sitges. The guide gave us a great recommendation of the places we should see which helped maximize our time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

The tour guide was very articulate, very knowledgeable about many aspects of Roman, Spanish and Catalonian history. We were only able to get close to the Aqueduct in Tarragona, but we really weren't able to visit it as it being restored, our guide seemed to know this. The old city of Tarragona was very exciting. Our recommended a restaurant for lunch in Sitges that turned out to be superb. Most of this tour is self-guided, which for us wasn't a problem. To really enjoy this tour you have to be in shape to cover a lot of ground, including hills and stairs. While not a problem for me or my wife, this might be an issue for others, and should be explained in more detail in the description.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Very small group with a friendly guide. The highlight was seeing the aqueduct up close. Our guide took us on a little hike down into the valley. Tarragona was small enough to navigate easily with minimal guidance, because the tour guide basically just drops you off with a map and a short orientation talk and that's it. But several of the sites were closed and others had quite expensive admission fees for what you get to see. Sitges has a beautiful beach, but you arrive during siesta time, so there's little else to do if you're not the beach-loving type. You get lots of free time on this trip, so it's good for people who aren't interested in guided tours.

From USD $ 100.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3142TARRA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message