4.5 star rating: Recommended 62 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 62 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The trip was excellent the only thing that mared it slights was the lunch (too early and poor quality food, supposed to be barbequed) and fact that I had to rearrange some passengers so that I could sit next to my wife. Sand boarding was a highlight, make sure you have plenty of water!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Well informed and entertaining driver. The trip was all we expected and hoped it would be.

Malcolm R
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We had a really enjoyable trip. The only problem was lunch, which when booking we asked that 1 meal be non beef. When we arrived for lunch they had run out of fish meals and had to cook the fish up. It was no big deal as lunch was taken with all enjoying it.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

A wonderful trip. Could have cut down the time by reducing the time at the stop on the way back to the same restaurant shop that we had been to in the morning. Overall, worth doing.

Barry V
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

Yes, very good. We had some Australian's with us and they also thought it was value for money.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Very good day! My little boy absolutely loved the shell fishing while my husband and I loved the sandboarding. We got heaps of exercise climbing those hills, but it was great fun!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

All in all a good tour, but I would train drivers to provide more historical and environmental information instead of many personal stories and serve more local produce (different types of fish) and real coffee for lunch instead of fish in lots of batter with many cold salads and instant coffee.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

This was o.k. More for older people, and the kauri forest we visited wasn't that impressive (though we heard of far more impressive ones from other travelers we met). The place we stop at for brekky and afternoon tea was also pretty average.

All in all, it was a somewhat underwhelming tour, though the lighthouse itself was pretty cool.

Rolf S
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Tour and guide were great. Food was lousy.

Isobel M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Good mix of activities which included a boardwalk,visit to Cape Reinga lighthouse, sand boarding and a stop on 90 mile beach as well as two stops for tea and one for lunch. Unfortunately the hotel pickups were very late ( mine was 15 mins) and at the last one the people had gone back inside so we were about 30 mins late starting off. This was referred to constantly during the trip and I felt we were hurried along and activities cut short. The coach itself was virtually full and very uncomfortable. I am only 5 cms shorter than the average height for a woman but there was no footrest and I could not put both my feet on the floor and have my back supported by the seat - I could only do one or the other. By the end of the trip I was in significant discomfort which lasted the following day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

We were last pick up and sat in back of bus. Bus NOT designed for rear seat use. Driver could have rotated the seating to share the bad and the good. Or the folks at front should have paid MORE than those in the back.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

Well, we thought this was the most boring, expensive non event of our trip. The only thing that was good was the sand boarding - for those that could do it. 64 miles of travelling on a beach didn't cut it for us, nor did the fact that the booking clerk got it wrong, and we were left waiting for half an hour before they realised their mistake, before they picked us up. Then we were the last to be dropped off the bus... at the entrance to the Holiday Park some 600 metres of a walk - fine for able bodies, but I have a stick and that was the last gasp. 11 hours - ugh!

From USD $ 97.72

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3910_CRW_B

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message