Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 323 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 323 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ann-Sophie is so knowledgable plus she is an excellent driver! Couldn't be better! So many pluses on this tour. The 82nd airborne museum is excellent. We had a great stop for lunch at the le Roosevelt. Thanks! You made the trip worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thoroughly informative and interesting. Our tour guide, Sophie, was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly with excellent English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. Long day but was well worth it.

james f
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Absolutely perfect. Great tour guide. Exceeded expectations. Saw everything I wanted to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was excellent. Our guide had lots of knowledge and anecdotes of what happened on the beaches and after. If you want to see the beaches and get an overview of d-day, in the American sector, then this is a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Kate was very prompt and professional and her English was excellent. She was also very well prepared and passionate about her personal experiences and appreciation for the tremendous sacrifices made by the soldiers who led the invasion in June of 1944. The only slight drawback was the necessity to travel from our hotel to the train station to start the tour otherwise it was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We did the full day tour of the American Sites. I would DEFINITELY recommend it. The tour was very cool. To be honest, you can't really visit EVERYTHING in Normandy in one day but the tour hits alot of the big spots. Me and my friend were very pleased with the tour guide and the tour in general. She spoke pretty good English and was able to explain alot of the little details about each stop. If we could give any recommendations I would say that I wish we had more time in St. Mere Eglise. The guide saved the last 1.5 hours for the American Cemetary and while the cemetary was very moving, me and my friend found ourselves just wandering and looking around at the end while we had to rush to get through everything in St Mere Eglise in the beginning. Expect it to be fairly breezy/windy. The van was very nice, clean and has an internal speaker system so the guide can talk while driving explaining things and everyone can hear her very clearly. The small group your paired with is efficient. And you get time at each stop to go and do your own thing and see what you want after the guide explains everything.

Would recommend this company to EVERYONE I know that goes to Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended as an overview for anyone who has not previously seen these sights. Our guide, Sunny, was very informative and included experiences from her grandparents during the occupation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My father was a member of Company E of the 502 PIR who dropped at Normandy. The day we were there would have been his 90th birthday. Visiting this area was very moving and I do not mean the 50 mph winds and light rain we had most of the day. Our guide was great and tour was well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was spectacular. Our guide was punctual, well informed, dedicated, and charming. We could not have had a better time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour....one of the best. So informative, so much historical knowledge by the tour guide. All went smoothly. Met at assigned place, and then it was a full day touring all the wonderful sites of the Normandy invasion. The tour guide knew EVERYTHING, so asking any question was met with knowledge. There was a lunch break, and even that was wonderful. I would recommend this tour to ANYONE who is going to tour the Normandy Battlefields. ONE OF THE BEST TOURS I HAVE EVER TAKEN and I travel quite extensively!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. 9 hours went by so fast and the sites were fantastic. I would definitely do this tour again if i have the chance to come back and I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to do the American sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a wonderful day! Our guide was SO knowledgable and made the day one to remember. This was money well spent and I would recommend it for anyone wanting to travel in this area. Had we done it on our own, we wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much, and we wouldn't have learnt as much as we did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Olivier was a fantastic guide, and tailored our tour to the areas we were most interested in. We learned so much through the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. Tour guide was very informed and friendly, and the sites themselves were fascinating. I think every American should make this trip to see what generations before us have sacrificed for our futures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good and knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice! We had sufficient time to see pretty much everything outlined in the tour info. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with interest in D-Day. It was like watching 'The Longest Day' and being there in real life! Thanks again for a great time that I will cherish the rest of my life!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very educational experience for our family to visit these D-Day sites, see the remnants of the battlefields and gain new perspective on these historical events. Our guide, Jean-Francois was excellent and gave us background history we did not all know, plus helped us understand what was happening in France and to the French at that time. The American cemetery brought it all together and one is struck by the orderly rows of white headstones, the lush green grass and serenity of the place-- contrasted with what we now understand was uttter chaos at the time and the terrible losses of human life.

I was concerned that a full day might be too much, but so glad we did this rather than try to see it in a half-day tour or drive by ourselves. We would have missed out on so much.

The tour is well paced, our guide was helpful, informative and diplomatic in dealing with all the guests who had different interests and one in particular who was quite a handful. I definitely recommend this tour and our guide, Jean-Francois.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great the guide really knew great detail and explained every detail on every stop. She grew up in the area and was able to personalize the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Definitely recommended. There is so much to see, you really need a guide to cover the major highlights with explanations of the historical importance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide and the tour itself were both excellent!! (I'm sorry I have forgotten his name!) We covered a lot of ground and saw many of the Normandy sites in the "short" nine hour tour. We visited St Mer de Eglise, the Army Airborne Museum, Utah Beach, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery, along with a few stops along the way and a wonderful lunch. I especially liked that the guide was VERY well spoken, and begun the tour with a history lesson starting with WW-I to set the stage for WW-II and what we were about to see. It helped us understand the position Germany was in when they began WW-II. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An emotional experience. Our tour guide was Sunny, whose smile and effervescence matched her name. She was knowledgeable, interesting, thorough, and a total delight for the entire day. She gave us sufficient time to explore various sites and sights on our own, but kept the time limits reasonable so we would be able to cover all destinations. We wish all guides were as good as she is.

From USD $ 102.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message