Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 308 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 308 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Olivier was a fantastic guide, and tailored our tour to the areas we were most interested in. We learned so much through the tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience. Tour guide was very informed and friendly, and the sites themselves were fascinating. I think every American should make this trip to see what generations before us have sacrificed for our futures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good and knowledgeable tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was terrific! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and very nice! We had sufficient time to see pretty much everything outlined in the tour info. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with interest in D-Day. It was like watching 'The Longest Day' and being there in real life! Thanks again for a great time that I will cherish the rest of my life!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very educational experience for our family to visit these D-Day sites, see the remnants of the battlefields and gain new perspective on these historical events. Our guide, Jean-Francois was excellent and gave us background history we did not all know, plus helped us understand what was happening in France and to the French at that time. The American cemetery brought it all together and one is struck by the orderly rows of white headstones, the lush green grass and serenity of the place-- contrasted with what we now understand was uttter chaos at the time and the terrible losses of human life.

I was concerned that a full day might be too much, but so glad we did this rather than try to see it in a half-day tour or drive by ourselves. We would have missed out on so much.

The tour is well paced, our guide was helpful, informative and diplomatic in dealing with all the guests who had different interests and one in particular who was quite a handful. I definitely recommend this tour and our guide, Jean-Francois.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great the guide really knew great detail and explained every detail on every stop. She grew up in the area and was able to personalize the tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Definitely recommended. There is so much to see, you really need a guide to cover the major highlights with explanations of the historical importance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide and the tour itself were both excellent!! (I'm sorry I have forgotten his name!) We covered a lot of ground and saw many of the Normandy sites in the "short" nine hour tour. We visited St Mer de Eglise, the Army Airborne Museum, Utah Beach, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery, along with a few stops along the way and a wonderful lunch. I especially liked that the guide was VERY well spoken, and begun the tour with a history lesson starting with WW-I to set the stage for WW-II and what we were about to see. It helped us understand the position Germany was in when they began WW-II. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An emotional experience. Our tour guide was Sunny, whose smile and effervescence matched her name. She was knowledgeable, interesting, thorough, and a total delight for the entire day. She gave us sufficient time to explore various sites and sights on our own, but kept the time limits reasonable so we would be able to cover all destinations. We wish all guides were as good as she is.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was all that we thought it would be and more. The tour guide was well informed and could answer any questions that were asked of him. I would recommend Viator Tours to anyone visiting Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! We really enjoyed this full day tour with our guide Anne-Sophia. I am well-read on WWII history and the Normandy invasion and our guide provided explanations were historically correct, always very clear and complete. I highly recommend this full day tour, you won't be disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day tour. The pace was somewhat leisurely and our guide was extremely informative. This is the second time I've taken this tour, and both times I came away much more knowledgable about the planning and implementation of D-Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a fantastic tour with Francois. He was very informative and interesting. Taking a tour is definitely the way to see the battlefield sites--there are so many things that are out of the way and easy to miss. We had four adults and two children in our group and all of us really enjoyed it. It was foggy the day we went, but that just made it more atmospheric! The trip is well worth the price!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide Francois was very knowledgeable and passionate. We enjoyed every moment. Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wow! What a tour and Francois was the best I have ever had the pleasure of listening to.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was excellent!! The guide, Avi, was informative, funny and charming. I will definitely check out Viatour for future trips.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour! Guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of interesting antidotes during the tour concerning the personalities and military situations involved in the landing.Good site selections. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great. Mag did great job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Adrian, at age 24 was surprisingly knowledgeable and experienced, with good English. He cleverly guided our party of 8 to sites and out-of-the-ordinary places that avoided multiple buses and queues. He had appropriate anecdotes that enhanced the facts, making daunting vistas more intimate and colorful. He helpfully went "the extra mile" to guide us to a friend's grave site. He quickly sensed individual interests, which everyone appreciated. He kept us moving with digniity and cleverness beyond his years. At the end of a long day, we all found the experience well worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was absolutely amazing, her local and intimate knowledge of all D-Day spots and events made the whole day the HIGHLIGHT of our trip to France. She especially brought a personal touch with letting us know how she takes care of several gravesights at the American cemetery and her involvement with those families. The incredible small details. especially at Omaha beach gave me a much better understanding of what went on there. A neighbor that lives down the street from us broke into tears at a recent dinner, as I was recounting the time at Omaha beach. Her father was one of the 10% that lived, as he was in the first assault landing at Omaha. I would not have known the high casualty rate but for our guides knowledge. I would recommend her to anyone! Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mag was an excellent tour Director. I would highly recommend her and Viator tours
Bob and Jackie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We truly enjoyed this tour! Francois, our guide, did an amazing job. Despite the fact that half of our group spoke French and Francois had to give the tour in two languages! He was so passionate and knowledgeable about the locations and history of D-Day event!! The tour was everything we had hoped and more. We were given ample time to explore each location. Every spot we visited was rich with history. We enjoyed our lunch stop! It was a moving and wonderful tour which we would definitely recommend to others!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was perfect for both me and my wife. It covered what I wanted to see, but was not too long for her. Our guide, Francoise, was outstanding - personable and knowledgable.

From USD $ 101.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message