• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 221 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 221 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our tour guide, Elise knew every detail about the battlefields. She is a true historian and a lover of maps. She would explain everything with the aid of her maps. Bringing the history of the battles to life, Elise was a true pleasure. We took the small group tour which was so much more manageable with only right people. Elise took us to a small fishing village where we had a wonderful al fresco lunch. It was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour I know you will love it. Seemed like it was going to be a bit long but tour flew by I actually wished I had more time. The guides are extreamly knowledgable and pleasant would do it again for sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, David Basnier, arrived at our hotel just east of Bayeux at the agreed-to time. His large Volkswagen passenger van was comfortable, and easy to get in and out. He spoke excellent English, and has been conducting tours for 17 years. The Normandy Sightseeing Tours guidebook he carried contained a wealth of maps and photos, and David told many stories about the events of those terrible first days of the Battle of Normandy. The breadth of his knowledge of the battlefields and the actions of the invaders and the defenders is amazing, and when he wasn't sure of the answer to a question -- a rare event -- he said so. We started at the Airborne Museum in Ste. Mere Eglise, a display of photos and equipment that should not be missed on any tour. They have a complete C-47 (Dakota) transport airplane, and a WACO CG-4 glider stored inside buildings on the site. We then proceeded to Utah Beach, Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American cemetery with the excellent new museum building. We chose a simple lunch of sandwiches to save time for more touring, and David took us to a little village church behind the beaches where American airborne medics treated everyone brought in, American, French, and German. We saw the bloodstains on the pews, the cracked stone on the floor where the dud German mortar bomb fell through the roof, and the new stained glass windows commemorating the arrival of the airborne troops and the liberation of Normandy. This tour was our second of this area with different members of our family, and both David this time and Olivier back in 2006 took very good care of us. We highly recommend the tour and the guides. It's well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour was truly incredible! Our tour guide, David, was awesome and extremely knowledgeable. He was prompt to pick us up and we saw all the main sites plus some. The weather was rainy, windy and cold which seemed appropriate for touring these sites. However, we just all plugged along and still saw everything! David's English was perfect and he was quite a gentleman as well. We are a family of six so we were the only ones on the tour. Our special needs son and David became BFF's! He was very kind and so helpful! We would definitely take the tour again and ask for David! Thanks for a memorable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, David, was absolutely the best. His English was excellent, he was very personable and extremely knowledgeable of the history. This tour was the highlight of my visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The best thing about this tour was our guide - Francis. Not only was he very passionate about WWII history, he coupled his knowledge with stories from surviving family members which made this tour very memorable. Not only did Francis have stories about the stops along the tour but also shared stories and answered questions from our group while driving between stops. Seeing Omaha and Utah beaches where our ancestors perished was quite moving. But the most moving part of the tour is the American Cemetery. Every American should visit this memorial. The pace of the tour was just enough, never felt rushed or wanting more time at a location. He even made a wonderful suggestion for our lunch stop which was fantastic. Thank you Frances for making this tour well worth the trip to Normandy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Adrien was perfect. We got the backstory of Normandy and were impressed with his knowledge and personality. Ten days in France and this was my favorite day of the trip. Enlightening and moving and his history knowledge (even William the Conqueror) was amazing. I am recommending this tour to all my friends! Thank you for everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

François was an incredible guide. He was quite personable, had a wonderful passion and a wealth of information. We rate him with the highest rating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

exceptional!! Our guide, Francois, was prompt, courteous, humorous and highly informative. I would recommend him again to anyone who wishes to experience the sites with an expert tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide Adrian was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The eight hour tour of the American sites was outstanding. We did it on our first full day and then went back to spend more time at some of the locations on the second day. Our guide, Sly, was very knowledge, friendly and professional. He was French but spoke perfect English. The eight hours flew by. He took us to some off-the-tourist route monuments and explained their significance. Lunch was in a quaint fishing village. At the American cemetery, there was a WWII Veteran with his family. He was not with our group. At the end of the day when the two American flags were to be lowered, Sly went out of his way to make sure that the cemetery staff had the WWII Vet fold the American flag. Class act.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our all day tour of the American sector. Our guide, Mag, did an outstanding job of explaining everything and she had such a passion for the history of D-Day. Since her family had lived in the area for generations, she was able to share some very personal stories about her parents and grandparents. We would highly recommend Viator and especially Mag.
Tom and Anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was simply my "Longest Day" and Magali made me feel a part of "Operation Overlord" - Wow! I can't say enough and along with all of the sights, Magali arranged for a luncheon with Andy and Jacki in former "occupation German Headquarters" which was simply outstanding. I'm ready for another tour. It was a blustery day but we did all that one could do, and then some. I wonder if it would be possible for you to have Magali email me at jwkutz@aol.com. I would love to keep up the dialogue we started on that day. Thanks! John Kutz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was in Normandy for three days and took one day out for this tour. There were a total of six people, which really made it nice. We covered a lot of territory with a knowable guide. I would go again if I get back in Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was warm, personable, patient and very well informed. The tour moved along effortlessly.

From USD $ 123.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message