5 star rating: Highly Recommended 235 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 235 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Interesting and informative tour - glad we did the full day. Our tour guide, Matthew, was excellent and provided a very good local perspective.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a wonderful tour and our guide, Sunny, was outstanding! Not only was she knowledgeable, but her personality exceeded her expertise as a guide. She was fun to be with and answered detailed questions, since several in our group had in depth knowledge about D-Day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Despite torrential rain, we toured the beaches, bunkers, museums and cemeteries. Sobering to walk through the cemeteries and to see the youth of the men who died fighting for that ground. Pleasant knowledgeable guide who picked a wonderful place to stop for lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a main highlight of my trip! We spend the whole day touring Normandy! We saw the German and American Cemeteries, Omaha Beach, Utah Beach, Point du Hoc, the Airborne Museum. As a military combat veteran (2 tours in Iraq), I can't imagine what these soldiers went through. I had a wonderful tour guide who made the experience a lot more meaningful to me! I highly recommend taking a tour of Normandy..this experience should be on EVERYONE'S bucket list!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Lucile was amazing. Excellent guide and very professional and respectful. Thank you so much.

Christine, Jan, Carol, Joanie, and Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Jean Francois picked us up promptly at our B and B. After meeting with the rest of our small, friendly group we were on our way. He was an excellent guide giving us both an overview of the history of the D-Day invasion as well as interesting and enlightening details. The tour allows time for the important sites, beaches and museums and time to explore some of the areas on your own. I don't thing we would have enjoyed the day half as much had we been on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This 8 - 9 hour tour offered an excellent agenda visiting key locations of the Normandy battlefields and landmarks. I would highly recommend this tour as an early part of your visit to Normandy.
Kate Pape, our tour guide, knew her WWII history! She was thorough and answered questions in a confident, positive manner. In addition, she answered questions about local restaurants, grocery stores, and other info related to Bayeux and Port en Bessin.
I asked Kate why/ how she became so interested in WWII to which she replied that her grandfather was a young man living in Normandy during WWII. My daddy was a captain in army serving in Normandy etc. so we were able to talk about the area and events of WWII. The tour was very emotional one for myself and my family. Kate understood and could relate to this connection.
Yes, I would highly recommend this tour.
Nan M.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My family and I took this trip and loved it. The tour guide was very thorough and gave us a lot of information and history. My sons ( ages 11-16) really appreciated experiencing the sacrifices of so many. Thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The first thing that made our tour so great, was our guide Philip. I don´t speak english as my mother language so it was important that this british guy was easy to understand. I think we chose the best tour, we saw almost everything we wanted to: German and american cemeteries, Utah and Omaha beaches, Ste-Mere-Eglise and Ste-Marie-du-Mont villages, Paratrooper museum, Pointe-du-Hoc. Sometimes we did not have enough time to take pictures but of course, we had tough scedule. Normandy is beautiful and all those old villages and houses were so peaceful and if we had not taken this tour, we would not have seen these scenes at all. For the future tours: when people book their tours, they would possibly like to have a list what places are included in tours. I missed that list.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful - incredibly knowledgable tour guide! Wonderful lunch! It was a fantastic day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our tour guide, Elise knew every detail about the battlefields. She is a true historian and a lover of maps. She would explain everything with the aid of her maps. Bringing the history of the battles to life, Elise was a true pleasure. We took the small group tour which was so much more manageable with only right people. Elise took us to a small fishing village where we had a wonderful al fresco lunch. It was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour I know you will love it. Seemed like it was going to be a bit long but tour flew by I actually wished I had more time. The guides are extreamly knowledgable and pleasant would do it again for sure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, David Basnier, arrived at our hotel just east of Bayeux at the agreed-to time. His large Volkswagen passenger van was comfortable, and easy to get in and out. He spoke excellent English, and has been conducting tours for 17 years. The Normandy Sightseeing Tours guidebook he carried contained a wealth of maps and photos, and David told many stories about the events of those terrible first days of the Battle of Normandy. The breadth of his knowledge of the battlefields and the actions of the invaders and the defenders is amazing, and when he wasn't sure of the answer to a question -- a rare event -- he said so. We started at the Airborne Museum in Ste. Mere Eglise, a display of photos and equipment that should not be missed on any tour. They have a complete C-47 (Dakota) transport airplane, and a WACO CG-4 glider stored inside buildings on the site. We then proceeded to Utah Beach, Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American cemetery with the excellent new museum building. We chose a simple lunch of sandwiches to save time for more touring, and David took us to a little village church behind the beaches where American airborne medics treated everyone brought in, American, French, and German. We saw the bloodstains on the pews, the cracked stone on the floor where the dud German mortar bomb fell through the roof, and the new stained glass windows commemorating the arrival of the airborne troops and the liberation of Normandy. This tour was our second of this area with different members of our family, and both David this time and Olivier back in 2006 took very good care of us. We highly recommend the tour and the guides. It's well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour was truly incredible! Our tour guide, David, was awesome and extremely knowledgeable. He was prompt to pick us up and we saw all the main sites plus some. The weather was rainy, windy and cold which seemed appropriate for touring these sites. However, we just all plugged along and still saw everything! David's English was perfect and he was quite a gentleman as well. We are a family of six so we were the only ones on the tour. Our special needs son and David became BFF's! He was very kind and so helpful! We would definitely take the tour again and ask for David! Thanks for a memorable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, David, was absolutely the best. His English was excellent, he was very personable and extremely knowledgeable of the history. This tour was the highlight of my visit.

From USD $ 118.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message