5 star rating: Highly Recommended 235 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 235 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The best thing about this tour was our guide - Francis. Not only was he very passionate about WWII history, he coupled his knowledge with stories from surviving family members which made this tour very memorable. Not only did Francis have stories about the stops along the tour but also shared stories and answered questions from our group while driving between stops. Seeing Omaha and Utah beaches where our ancestors perished was quite moving. But the most moving part of the tour is the American Cemetery. Every American should visit this memorial. The pace of the tour was just enough, never felt rushed or wanting more time at a location. He even made a wonderful suggestion for our lunch stop which was fantastic. Thank you Frances for making this tour well worth the trip to Normandy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Adrien was perfect. We got the backstory of Normandy and were impressed with his knowledge and personality. Ten days in France and this was my favorite day of the trip. Enlightening and moving and his history knowledge (even William the Conqueror) was amazing. I am recommending this tour to all my friends! Thank you for everything.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

François was an incredible guide. He was quite personable, had a wonderful passion and a wealth of information. We rate him with the highest rating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

exceptional!! Our guide, Francois, was prompt, courteous, humorous and highly informative. I would recommend him again to anyone who wishes to experience the sites with an expert tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide Adrian was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The eight hour tour of the American sites was outstanding. We did it on our first full day and then went back to spend more time at some of the locations on the second day. Our guide, Sly, was very knowledge, friendly and professional. He was French but spoke perfect English. The eight hours flew by. He took us to some off-the-tourist route monuments and explained their significance. Lunch was in a quaint fishing village. At the American cemetery, there was a WWII Veteran with his family. He was not with our group. At the end of the day when the two American flags were to be lowered, Sly went out of his way to make sure that the cemetery staff had the WWII Vet fold the American flag. Class act.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our all day tour of the American sector. Our guide, Mag, did an outstanding job of explaining everything and she had such a passion for the history of D-Day. Since her family had lived in the area for generations, she was able to share some very personal stories about her parents and grandparents. We would highly recommend Viator and especially Mag.
Tom and Anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was simply my "Longest Day" and Magali made me feel a part of "Operation Overlord" - Wow! I can't say enough and along with all of the sights, Magali arranged for a luncheon with Andy and Jacki in former "occupation German Headquarters" which was simply outstanding. I'm ready for another tour. It was a blustery day but we did all that one could do, and then some. I wonder if it would be possible for you to have Magali email me at jwkutz@aol.com. I would love to keep up the dialogue we started on that day. Thanks! John Kutz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I was in Normandy for three days and took one day out for this tour. There were a total of six people, which really made it nice. We covered a lot of territory with a knowable guide. I would go again if I get back in Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was warm, personable, patient and very well informed. The tour moved along effortlessly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Jonathon Dale was out guide--great local knowledge--enthusiastic--
extended friendly thoughtfulness to his 6 visitors
Jonathon's history education and area background make
him an exceptional guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Truly outstanding! Sunny was our guide, and was a wealth of information and insights. Took a great deal of time answering questions and providing us time to view the various locations. The only downer was not her fault - the US government shutdown meant we could not visit the American cemetery or one of the bunkers on Utah Beach.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic tour! Comprehensive, informative..........guide was friendly. Even off the tour circuit, we went to see a monument dedicated to the 507th...........my father was the commander so it was very gracious of her to allow me to see this. I am so appreciative. Lunch was great, too........an excellent time for al!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Rate this tour a 5 thought the guide was knowledgable ( we went on sept 10) and the tour was well thought out

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Tour Guide was excellent and very enthusiastic. My husband and I both would recommend this Tour highly for both people with a knowledge of the history and location and those with only a cursory background . The full day tour was worth every minute.

From USD $ 118.54

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSAS

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message