5 star rating: Highly Recommended 49 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Battlefields Tour - Canadian World War II Sites. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 49 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Mathieu is a great tour guide. He is knowledgable and passionate about his subject and added to our experience. My daughter had done a history of WWII course at university but learned details she did not know. We visited Juno Beach, the museum, house that stood alone on the beach and he showed us, with fantastic photos and explanations, all about the temporary harbour at Port Winston. He gave credit to the Canadian contribution and helped us to understand what a hard-one success D-Day was. It was very moving to visit Abby Ardene and hear the story of the Canadian prisoners of war who were killed and of the family that lived in the house when the Germans arrived. It was a peaceful setting as was the cemetery where so many very young men were interred. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a wonderful tour with Lucille.
She was very knowledgeable about all the areas we visited and also very courteous. One of our friends found her Uncle's grave and was extremely happy. We all felt we had sufficient time to wander in all sites and were impressed with the Museum and grounds. Lest we forget.
Overall as Canadians we feel very glad we had the chance to take this tour. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpfull. I wouldly highly recommend Viator based on our experience on our tour of the Canadian D-Day sites
Larry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

An interesting, in-depth tour of the Canadian sites. Our guide (Lucille, I think) was personable and very knowledgeable. It was great to see the Juno Beach museum which tells the stories of Canadian soldiers. Afterwards we had very pleasant dinner at La Reine Mathilde, a café recommended by our guide. In all, a very pleasant day. I would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

What a wonderful,humbling experience,to see that the French People still are so thankful for their freedom when our own people throw it around so carelessly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was very enjoyable and informative. WE really liked our guide and the way in which she honoured our questions. THe timing was also excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

OUR GUIDE DID A GREAT JOB OF THE TOUR AND SEEMED VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE TOPIC AND GEOGRAPHY. SHE ALSO WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO SHOW US SOME EXTRA PLACES OF INTEREST DURING THE TOUR.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Vincent met us at the Train Station in Bayeux at the perscribed time and showed us an amazing afternoon. The area is so rich in history it truly made me proud to be a Canadian. I was honoured to stand in the places so many Canadian heros stood. The Abbey was an amazing place and it was something I knew nothing about.
Vincent was so well versed in the history of the region he made the tour great.
If you have the chance to go, it is a short and direct train ride from Paris. Thanks for a great afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

After phoning the company to tell them we were right across from the Canadian Museum they saved us the taxi trip in toBayeux and picked us up out our hotel. We were the only three people on the tour and our tourguide Rose was absolutely fantastic. She showed us all the sites with a lot of historically correct information and we learned so much from her. Because the trip was slightly altered to our needs it made is so much easier for us. It was an afternoon we will never forget. Thank you

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

The tour was outstanding. We cannot commend Vincent, our guide, highly enough. He made an impressive tour experience phenomenal. As Canadians, we greatly appreciated the Canadian focus offered by this unique tour. While we would recommend the tour to everyoe, we especially recommend it to Canadians as it gave an emotional history experience unequalled by any other. While we had many great experiences in Europe, the tour of the Juno Beach area was the highlight and we would most like to return there again in the future to explore more. We recommend allowing yourself time in Bayeux for exploring before or after the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

LOVED loved loved this tour! It's wonderful and for Canadians ideal! If you go by train from Paris there's a restaurant right across from the train station. Perfect for a quick lunch. The tour was great, saw Juno Beach, the Canadian Museum and a Canadian cementary. Went on June 5th, so everything for D-day was getting ready. Tour guide was for informed. Would definitely recommend.

DEAN R
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

The Juno Beach and Canadian War sites tour was exceptional. Vincent was our tour guide and we were all very impressed with his knowledge of the tour. He had done his homework. I will strongly recommend your company and Vincent for tours of the Normandy Beach area. Thankyou.

John S
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Our tour guide was wonderful, on time, explaining so many things, and was able to even help us when we went to see a family gravesite in Beny sur Mer Cemetary.... Thanks to Rose for everything.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

the guide was great! Very compact and efficient use of time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Not only was it a learning experience, but it was done in such a way that the tour was progressive. The tour guide was knowledgeable and made learning fun.

From USD $ 76.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTA

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message