Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 644 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Bayeux, France
  • Duration:5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 644 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I like the tour and the guide, and I had a very good time, thank you so much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide Rose was great. I would recommend this tour!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

David was very knowledgeable and it was a great tour.
I will definitely be back for the full day tour and some more time to explore the many museums.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour guide who was a native of area. She was very knowledgable of the area and the history of the fight. Great day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a wonderful and truly inspiring. Olivier was incredibly knowledgeable and was able to put a lot of the history and events of the day into context with the greater war history. We were also grateful to get almost an hour and a half to explore the American Cemetery and the Visitor Center on our own at the end of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking of touring the Normandy area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was awesome. I can't begin to explain the emotions I felt when walking on Omaha Beach. To think of those brave young heroes who came ashore not knowing what to expect or if they would survive to live another day. Our tour guide was a young English born man who had lived in France most of his life. I think his name is Phillip. I couldn't have been more pleased with his commentary. He is VERY knowledgeable and showed a great deal of respect for those very important sites including the American cemetery. I will do this tour again but I want to go at low tide to see the full expanse of the beach and get a better feel for what the G.I.s actually faced when they began to come ashore about 6:30 A.M. that morning of 6/6/44. My own father, who died in early 1951, and I never knew was actually on the English channel on D-day on a Destroyer Escort whos job was to retrieve damaged landing craft and tow them back to England to be repaired. This fact made it especially important that I make this trip. All in all this tour was possibly the greates trip I have ever taken. I HIGHLY recommend it. Thank you Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, tour guide spoke good english and very solid knowledge of D-Day invasion....Day of tour had wind gusts up to 40 mph and driving rain, tour guide had umbrellas for everybody....this made tour much better

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

For a half-day tour, it was well worth it! Phillip was very knowledgeable, doing a wonderful job detailing the events of D-day. Would definitely recommend this company and tour!!! They were even flexible with a change in our pick-up location that morning. Thanks for a memorable day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were extremely pleased with our 1/2 day tour to Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American and British cemeteries. Sunny, our guide, was more than knowledgeable about the history; she was passionate about it! You can tell that being a guide is not "just a job" for her. She used photographs from D-Day, maps, and illustrations to help us understand some of the finer points. After explaining what was before us, Sunny gave us time to look around for ourselves and take photos. On the day of the tour, Sunny picked us up promptly at our B and B in Bayeux. We traveled in a comfortable van, and Sunny was an excellent driver. Though I regret that we did not take a full-day tour, I felt that we still managed to gain so much knowledge in our half day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide, Lucile, made it extra special. Would recommend to anyone who is interested in the turning point of WWII. Great job, Lucile !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Adrian was excellent. Really knew his history and his way around Normandy. We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon and I would highly recommend for those with limited time to tour the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetary. Our guide was excellent. It was well worth the money and now I know I can trust Viator Tours wherever they are offered.
I highly recommend Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Laura, was very knowledgable and sweet as can be!! She picked us up right on time at our B and B and delivered us after the tour was finished. Unless you are a real WWII buff a half day was perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pick up location and time were perfect. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, thoughtful. Her presentations were filled with respect and gratitude for the sacrifices made by the Allies as well as the French people on June 6, 1944.

She also took special care for my 86 year-old mother who uses a walker.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Our guide was very knowledgable about the events that took place on D Day as well as other WWII history that happened in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable tour. Tour guide excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great introduction into the history of the D-Day landings and our tour guide, Guy, was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Would thoroughly recommend this tour to those with time limitations in the area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was wonderful. And it was made even better because of the fact that our guide had a close tie with the events because of her grandparents. They were there during the occupation and passed it down to her. It was obvious that she was deeply affected by it and was reflected in the way she led the tour. She was very respectful and grateful of the soldiers that died saving her family and her country. My only wish was that I could have done the longer tour but still was very pleased with what I saw. Thank you Katee!

Edward C
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide Sophie was excellent! We enjoyed the tour immensely. I would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really enjoyed this tour, only had 5 hours to spend but enough to see Point Duhoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetary. Our guide, Katell, was very sweet and informative and her family lived in the area during that time in history. Appreciated her constant statements of appreciation of what the U.S. did for France. I really suggest you go in the small group like we did, no big group to follow, and in and out of each area quickly - we were lucky to have 2 Veterans in our group and enjoyed hearing their perspectives. Picked up at the train station right on time. Great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My wife and I took a day trip from Paris. Our guide picked us up and took us to all the important sites with plenty of time to walk around and explore them. Our guide was very knowledgeable of the historic events.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Adrian picked us up at the appointed time, was friendly, engaged and accommodating and gave us a marvelously historical account of DDay and Omaha Beach. He described the invasion of Omaha Beach by drawing in the sand...which worked very well! Adrian was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide, Adrian, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Glad we took the tour and recommend it to others.

From USD $ 68.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message