5 star rating: Highly Recommended 551 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 551 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a limited amount of time and this tour fit the bill. Our guide was well versed on the area, having grown up in Bayeux, and his English was excellent. Made for a really great afternoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had an amazing afternoon. Our guide was so knowledgable and was passionate about the area and it's history. Our kids aged 12 and 9 were fascinated and had very little prior knowledge of the history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If I could give this 6 stars, I would. I wish we had done the full day trip but time didn't allow for us to do so.

Our tour guide, Daniel, was very outgoing, friendly, and knowledgeable.

We took the train from Paris and it took two hours. It was well-worth it. We were met at the train station and we left for the tour from there, picking up two other couples along the way.

The tour started at Pont du Hoc, then we went to Omaha Beach, and then ended at the American cemetery and museum.

My grandfather served in WWII (in the Pacific) and my husband is currently active duty Army. The whole experience was beyond educational and extremely sobering. I have always had a deep love and appreciation for our men and women and uniform and seeing this part of history up close and personal was something I will never forget.

We didn't have much time at the end of the evening for the museum, but from what I did see, it is awesome.

If you have the time, do the full tour! I wish we had.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

BEST TOUR EVER and we have been on a lot of tours. We drove 3 hours from paris to go on this tour and it was well worth it. The tour guide was AMAZING, she was so knowledgeable and eloquent it was like I was watching the history channel. If you are at all interested in WWII or history this is a must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great tour and a wonderful guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide, Sarah, was knowledgeable, personable and fun! This tour made me ashamed of my lack of interest as a teenager studying history and I am going to do some research on the battles of that area. Thank you Sarah and Viator tours for making Veteran's/Armistice Day a memorable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We highly recommend this half day tour, quite doable by train from Paris. Our guide was extremely knowledable, personable and interesting. Answered all our questions and made our day very enjoyable. Whether you are a history buff or not this was an amazing and moving experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

OUR RECENT TOUR OF THE NORMANDY BEACHES WAS EXTREMELY MEMORABLE.
THE EXPERIENCE WAS ENCHACED BY THE EXPERTISE OF OUR GUIDE, FRANCOIS.
WE COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR MORE FROM A TOUR GUIDE. HE WAS CORDIAL. KIND AND
EXCEPTIONALLY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE ENTIRE NORMANDY INVASION.
LOOKING FORWARD TO A RETURN TRIP AND WILL REQUEST FRANCOIS.

FRANCOIS--MY LEG HAS HEALED-THANKS!

JOE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

excellent tour. very emotional yet informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent! Adrien, our young guide, could not have been better. Very, very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, open, friendly, and very, very sensitive to his American clients. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was so knowledgeable! He could answer any question, and had amazing insight into the preparations for the landing, the landing itself,and the battles that ensued. Everything was right on schedule, and the van very comfortable. The cemetery was closed due to the shutdown, but the guide did his best to make up for it? I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour took our group to all of the important places. We had adequate time to observe and contemplate all of the sites. Our tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. I was picked up on time (1:00) at my hotel, and those returning to Paris were at the station at, or near, 6PM, certainly in time for their 1830h train.

Taps and lowering of the flags at the American Cemetery at 4:50PM was impressive.

There is considerable walking required. Good walking shoes are a necessity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour. Our tour guide was well informed. If you had a question, she knew the answer. I highly recommend this tour to any and all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Francois was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable He picked us up at our hotel on time I would recommend this tour as a must if visiting France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Oliver Cricket was the best! He explained the operations from beginning to end, and gave a deep insight into elements I had not considered before. My grandfather was part of the DDay landings and would have appreciated Oliver's stories and accounts. I would highly recommend this tour and Oliver as well! Thanks again for making the experience unforgettable!

From USD $ 79.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message