Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 608 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 608 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour took our group to all of the important places. We had adequate time to observe and contemplate all of the sites. Our tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. I was picked up on time (1:00) at my hotel, and those returning to Paris were at the station at, or near, 6PM, certainly in time for their 1830h train.

Taps and lowering of the flags at the American Cemetery at 4:50PM was impressive.

There is considerable walking required. Good walking shoes are a necessity.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour. Our tour guide was well informed. If you had a question, she knew the answer. I highly recommend this tour to any and all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Francois was a great tour guide. Very knowledgeable He picked us up at our hotel on time I would recommend this tour as a must if visiting France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Oliver Cricket was the best! He explained the operations from beginning to end, and gave a deep insight into elements I had not considered before. My grandfather was part of the DDay landings and would have appreciated Oliver's stories and accounts. I would highly recommend this tour and Oliver as well! Thanks again for making the experience unforgettable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thank you to Quin who was knowledgeable, professional and made our afternoon in Normandy such a wonderful and memorable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had Olivier as a tour guide and he went above and beyond to bring it to life and make it personal for everyone. highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

After viewing the Bayeux Tapestry in the morning we we collected at our hotel by Jonathan and a full van. The American Cemetery was closed because of the USA government shut down. Jonathan smoothly substituted the German Cemetery. He was very knowledgeable about the war and the allies. We are Australian and he tried to involve us as well as the other nationalities on the tour, Irish and American. His English was easily understood. A microphone would have helped though. I can thoroughly recommend the tour especially if you have Jonathan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great Tour. guide was interesting and informative. Only problem was the American Cemetery being closed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Karen the tour guide was so knowledgeable. She is very friendly and willing to answer questions. We were sorry that the American Cemetary wasn't available for us to see but not a fault of Viator.
We highly recommend this tour and will tell anyone we know that is going to Normandy to book with Viator.
Thank you Karen!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide, whose first name was Guy, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about D-Day. I will use Viator again in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Francois (sp?) was a conscientious, informative, and flexible guide. The US gov't shutdown precluded our visit to the American Cemetery so we stopped at the German Cemetery, most interesting and good for perspective... Time at Pointe du Hoc and Omaha Beach, walking along the fields and cliffs and the German stronghold (WN60) were most memorable. Francois was personable, well researched, and provided interesting anecdotes on the history of D-day. He grew up in Caen and shared personal D-day invasion experiences from relatives, friends and clients. A well run operation and tour. The day was reflective and moving.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Unfortunately American cemetery was not open but our driver took us to a few other places he usually doesn't. Very informative and quite an emotional experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was fantastic, adding personal and historical insight into the visit. Definitely a highlight of our trip to France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Fran
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was excellend. We had a change of plans and had to change our pick up location. Our guide was ready and willing to assist. She was a Normandy local and was very well educated on the war history of the area, also sharing with us the personal experiences on her parents and grandparents during the 4 years of German occupation. Our guide also took us to a look out that the German army held and personally escorted us while explaining everything along the way. We were very impressed with this tour. It met with all of our expectations and we have good memories of our afternoon exploring this area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic Tour Guide!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was friendly, informative and gave a fantastic tour. We felt very comfortable asking questions. Our tour experience was wonderful and so glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My wife and I had a great time. Our time visiting Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery were very moving. Our tour guide Mag did a great job. She was personable and well researched on the history of D-day. Her family is from Normandy and she shared with us personal experiences from her parents and relatives of the D-day invasion. A well run operation and tour. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Francois was a very knowledgeable guide. His enthusiastic narration and personal stories made the tour information come alive. The van picked us up at our hotel on time and we enjoyed our day. We will definitely use Viator to book tours on our next trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour for a 1/2 day.
The guide was very knowledgeable and showed a lot of passion for bringing the past alive.
His English was impeccable.At the end he took us to a place where we had a beautiful view of Omaha beach.You had to know how to get there. Impossible to find on your own.
My only regret was that I would have liked more personnel time to explore the sites.
But , I didn't had time to take a longer tour.
My next option will be to visit those beaches on my own if I have the opportunity in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Tour quide was very knowledgeable about the Normandy area. Made the experience come alive. A highlight of my trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The experience was fabulous! Our guide was cooperative about our possible late arrival at the meeting place, she listened to my personal account and was able to locate the site of my uncle's tank landing after doing actual research on it while we were on our own time! A highlight of the whole trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was wonderful because of our great tour guide. The beaches are beautiful, but our tour guide's knowledge on the area really made you feel your surroundings and what had taken place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful afternoon with Mag (sp). She is a very informative tour guide and we enjoyed each of the stops provided on this tour. Her presentations were very informative and we couldn't thank her enough for her time. Mag did an excellent job sharing the information on these important sites! We will recommend Viator to our friends who are going to France, especially to the Normandy Beaches.

To you the company, having your tour operator do both an English and French tour at the same time was not fair to either groups. While Mag was sharing information with us in English the couple who spoke French were waiting and while she was presenting to the couple who spoke French there were 3 couples who spoke English that were waiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic! Franscois did a terrific presentation.

From USD $ 66.65

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message