5 star rating: Highly Recommended 541 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 541 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

After viewing the Bayeux Tapestry in the morning we we collected at our hotel by Jonathan and a full van. The American Cemetery was closed because of the USA government shut down. Jonathan smoothly substituted the German Cemetery. He was very knowledgeable about the war and the allies. We are Australian and he tried to involve us as well as the other nationalities on the tour, Irish and American. His English was easily understood. A microphone would have helped though. I can thoroughly recommend the tour especially if you have Jonathan.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great Tour. guide was interesting and informative. Only problem was the American Cemetery being closed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Karen the tour guide was so knowledgeable. She is very friendly and willing to answer questions. We were sorry that the American Cemetary wasn't available for us to see but not a fault of Viator.
We highly recommend this tour and will tell anyone we know that is going to Normandy to book with Viator.
Thank you Karen!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide, whose first name was Guy, was very friendly and very knowledgeable about D-Day. I will use Viator again in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Francois (sp?) was a conscientious, informative, and flexible guide. The US gov't shutdown precluded our visit to the American Cemetery so we stopped at the German Cemetery, most interesting and good for perspective... Time at Pointe du Hoc and Omaha Beach, walking along the fields and cliffs and the German stronghold (WN60) were most memorable. Francois was personable, well researched, and provided interesting anecdotes on the history of D-day. He grew up in Caen and shared personal D-day invasion experiences from relatives, friends and clients. A well run operation and tour. The day was reflective and moving.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Unfortunately American cemetery was not open but our driver took us to a few other places he usually doesn't. Very informative and quite an emotional experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide was fantastic, adding personal and historical insight into the visit. Definitely a highlight of our trip to France.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Fran
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was excellend. We had a change of plans and had to change our pick up location. Our guide was ready and willing to assist. She was a Normandy local and was very well educated on the war history of the area, also sharing with us the personal experiences on her parents and grandparents during the 4 years of German occupation. Our guide also took us to a look out that the German army held and personally escorted us while explaining everything along the way. We were very impressed with this tour. It met with all of our expectations and we have good memories of our afternoon exploring this area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic Tour Guide!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was friendly, informative and gave a fantastic tour. We felt very comfortable asking questions. Our tour experience was wonderful and so glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My wife and I had a great time. Our time visiting Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery were very moving. Our tour guide Mag did a great job. She was personable and well researched on the history of D-day. Her family is from Normandy and she shared with us personal experiences from her parents and relatives of the D-day invasion. A well run operation and tour. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Francois was a very knowledgeable guide. His enthusiastic narration and personal stories made the tour information come alive. The van picked us up at our hotel on time and we enjoyed our day. We will definitely use Viator to book tours on our next trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour for a 1/2 day.
The guide was very knowledgeable and showed a lot of passion for bringing the past alive.
His English was impeccable.At the end he took us to a place where we had a beautiful view of Omaha beach.You had to know how to get there. Impossible to find on your own.
My only regret was that I would have liked more personnel time to explore the sites.
But , I didn't had time to take a longer tour.
My next option will be to visit those beaches on my own if I have the opportunity in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Tour quide was very knowledgeable about the Normandy area. Made the experience come alive. A highlight of my trip.

From USD $ 81.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message