• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 535 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 535 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was our guide. She was fantastic. It was overwhelming to stand on Omaha Beach. Our day in Bayeux was filled with emotion. I would encourage anyone going to France to make this stop. We did the half day trip with 6 other Americans who were also doing independent travel. The day before that we went independently to the War Museum in Caen.
While you are in the Normandy area, we would also suggest spending a few days in Rouen. The Cathedrals, the spires, the chimes, Joan of Arc's Church, and their Beaux Arts Museum are just a few of the highlights
Lynne and Allan

Fran
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was excellend. We had a change of plans and had to change our pick up location. Our guide was ready and willing to assist. She was a Normandy local and was very well educated on the war history of the area, also sharing with us the personal experiences on her parents and grandparents during the 4 years of German occupation. Our guide also took us to a look out that the German army held and personally escorted us while explaining everything along the way. We were very impressed with this tour. It met with all of our expectations and we have good memories of our afternoon exploring this area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic Tour Guide!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Mag was friendly, informative and gave a fantastic tour. We felt very comfortable asking questions. Our tour experience was wonderful and so glad we did it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My wife and I had a great time. Our time visiting Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery were very moving. Our tour guide Mag did a great job. She was personable and well researched on the history of D-day. Her family is from Normandy and she shared with us personal experiences from her parents and relatives of the D-day invasion. A well run operation and tour. Thanks.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Francois was a very knowledgeable guide. His enthusiastic narration and personal stories made the tour information come alive. The van picked us up at our hotel on time and we enjoyed our day. We will definitely use Viator to book tours on our next trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour for a 1/2 day.
The guide was very knowledgeable and showed a lot of passion for bringing the past alive.
His English was impeccable.At the end he took us to a place where we had a beautiful view of Omaha beach.You had to know how to get there. Impossible to find on your own.
My only regret was that I would have liked more personnel time to explore the sites.
But , I didn't had time to take a longer tour.
My next option will be to visit those beaches on my own if I have the opportunity in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Tour quide was very knowledgeable about the Normandy area. Made the experience come alive. A highlight of my trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The experience was fabulous! Our guide was cooperative about our possible late arrival at the meeting place, she listened to my personal account and was able to locate the site of my uncle's tank landing after doing actual research on it while we were on our own time! A highlight of the whole trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was wonderful because of our great tour guide. The beaches are beautiful, but our tour guide's knowledge on the area really made you feel your surroundings and what had taken place.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful afternoon with Mag (sp). She is a very informative tour guide and we enjoyed each of the stops provided on this tour. Her presentations were very informative and we couldn't thank her enough for her time. Mag did an excellent job sharing the information on these important sites! We will recommend Viator to our friends who are going to France, especially to the Normandy Beaches.

To you the company, having your tour operator do both an English and French tour at the same time was not fair to either groups. While Mag was sharing information with us in English the couple who spoke French were waiting and while she was presenting to the couple who spoke French there were 3 couples who spoke English that were waiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic! Franscois did a terrific presentation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had a wonderful 1/2 day trip to Normandy. We were staying in Paris and took the train from the St. Lazare train to Bayeux...had to switch trains in Caen, but that was easy...small station. We walked from the train station in Bayeux to the Le Conquerant restaurant and had the most reasonably priced meal of our trip...and the folks were pleasant to deal with. We met our guide, Jonathan in front of the Churchill Hotel and he was actually a bit early...nice start to the trip. We drove to where the Army Rangers climbed steep cliffs to attack the Germans and it was awe inspiring. It was hard to imagine anyone doing this without someone shooting at you, I can't imagine the difficulty under fire. From there we went into the bunkers where you could see the damage done by flamethrowers. From there we went to the Normandy beaches where Jonathan explained how the landings went. He did a great drawing on the beach for us that illustrated the landing and went through it step by step. Nice touch. Finally, we went to the American cemetery where almost 10,000 soldiers lay. The whole experience was humbling. From start to finish the trip was first rate...thank you Jonathan and Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour guide was very good. Very interesting sites; enjoyed the walk on Omaha Beach. The Cemetery is an absolute must see especially for anyone who has ever served in the military.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide Mag was delightful. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, with a few hidden gems included!

From USD $ 81.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message