Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 146 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 146 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Romain was a love. So informative, kind and respectful. It was a great tour for a short time...worth every second!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent. Our tour guide was knowledge - without being officious or boring - and knew answers to some obscure questions put to him by other people on the tour. He arrived on time and kept us informed as to where we would be going and how long we would have and explained some very complex war history in a simple easy to understand manner. Definitely recommend. I enjoyed it much more than I expected and this is due to the guide. We overheard some other guides at various points and defintiely think we lucked out with the guide we got!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour. We had two other couples in our van and it was comfortable and pleasant. We were picked up promptly as promised. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and she was easy to understand. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour and great guide! We learned so much and saw all three sites that were recommended to us!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth while doing and even though the time was short our guide managed to get a lot in to it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had limited time however was able to see a large area of the d day beaches, sights, and gained a very good overall understanding of the area. The guide, Sunny, was a local from Normandy with good knowledge and a passion for the stories and history as well as respect for the soldiers.

Enjoyed the tour and would recommend if time limited.

Mark, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were sorry we only had time for a half day tour. Our guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable and personable. Visiting the Normandy beaches is a must and doing it with a great guide is the best of all possible experiences.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. He gave the us very good information throughout. The group was small, six of us, moved at a very comfortable pace. The locations were definitely the highlights and we enjoyed our trip very much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were picked up at our hotel by a very nice guide who said we could call him Jeff at 8:30 in a nice big van. He was very nice with good English, of course. He drove us to a spot b/t Omaha and Utah beach to see the bunkers and landscape caused by the bombardment, then we went to Omaha Beach and finally The American Cemetery. All the time in the van he spent giving us the background and history of where we were going. My kids enjoyed the first stop the best. It was quiet and no one else was there. It gave a real sense of what our soldiers were up against. This is a real quick succinct tour, if you want more time at each place maybe a longer tour would suit you better. But I knew with 2 teenagers this would be good. I have to say I had average expectations for this tour and it was just wonderful. After the tour he dropped us at our hotel. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative, would recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had to cancel but appreciated the opportunity to view this sacred ground. Next time in France....

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Kate was wonderful. Very informative tour that covered a lot of history. Enjoyed very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent half-day tour of the key American landing sites and cemetery. Guide picked us up at hotel as scheduled and gave an excellent overview of the historical facts and perspectives. Wish we had more time to explore each site.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

WE had an awesome trip. The guide Franceso was amazing, he was friendly, very knowledgeable and very accessible with questions and offering information not only about what we say but the entire surrounding area. For anyone going to this area and have kids this 4 hour trip is perfect.

ps for this parking at Bayeux train station as a start to your tour and you dont understand french. The parking is free the first 24 hours, just take a ticket and place it in your car.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide; small group; would recomend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a wonderful half-day tour with Matthew. He was right on time and we had a great experience at each stop. The tour was perfect in terms of timing, as it gave us plenty of time at each location to have a thorough explanation and the afternoon free to see the Bayeux Tapestry on our own. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome experience. Our tour guide gave detailed D-Day information and had a notebook of pictures to assist with his explanation. This was a half day tour on a mini bus for 8 but there were only 4 of us which was very nice. At Omaha beach, we were given time to wask the LONG distance from shore to the beach entrance. An emotional experience considering the brave soldiers that had to land on the beach under heavy fire to scale the cliffs.Our tour guide gave tons of info on the American burial site prior to arriving but out of respect, did not give commentary on the grounds out of respect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Matthew was knowledgeable, friendly and passionate about tour information and made very personalised telling stories about his own family. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. I found the tour very emotional and sobering.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

She was so well informed and relayed the information in very interesting manner.
Loved the tour. She was so pleasant and showed interest in every question we had.
Wished we would have done the whole day tour.
Elaine Wordell
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Although the weather was not cooperative, the tour was very informative. The guide was excellent in sharing information about the invasion, the obstacles, and the strategy of the allies. She took us to some less popular areas of the cemetery, where a Medal of Honor soldier was buried. All in all, it was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour, very knowledgable guide who was passionate about the history of WWII. This tour is well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Learned a lot of historical context in the 3-hour tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great way to get a lot covered in a short period of time. Our tour guide was Francois with Normandy Sight Seeing tours, he was super informative and fun. His energy and humor made the ride in the rain fun. His information and photos were also very helpful. If I had the time to do a day tour, I would recommend that, but if you are short on time - this was an excellent way to spend what you have!

From USD $ 50.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message