5 star rating: Highly Recommended 129 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

WE had an awesome trip. The guide Franceso was amazing, he was friendly, very knowledgeable and very accessible with questions and offering information not only about what we say but the entire surrounding area. For anyone going to this area and have kids this 4 hour trip is perfect.

ps for this parking at Bayeux train station as a start to your tour and you dont understand french. The parking is free the first 24 hours, just take a ticket and place it in your car.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide; small group; would recomend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a wonderful half-day tour with Matthew. He was right on time and we had a great experience at each stop. The tour was perfect in terms of timing, as it gave us plenty of time at each location to have a thorough explanation and the afternoon free to see the Bayeux Tapestry on our own. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome experience. Our tour guide gave detailed D-Day information and had a notebook of pictures to assist with his explanation. This was a half day tour on a mini bus for 8 but there were only 4 of us which was very nice. At Omaha beach, we were given time to wask the LONG distance from shore to the beach entrance. An emotional experience considering the brave soldiers that had to land on the beach under heavy fire to scale the cliffs.Our tour guide gave tons of info on the American burial site prior to arriving but out of respect, did not give commentary on the grounds out of respect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Matthew was knowledgeable, friendly and passionate about tour information and made very personalised telling stories about his own family. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. I found the tour very emotional and sobering.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

She was so well informed and relayed the information in very interesting manner.
Loved the tour. She was so pleasant and showed interest in every question we had.
Wished we would have done the whole day tour.
Elaine Wordell
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Although the weather was not cooperative, the tour was very informative. The guide was excellent in sharing information about the invasion, the obstacles, and the strategy of the allies. She took us to some less popular areas of the cemetery, where a Medal of Honor soldier was buried. All in all, it was well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour, very knowledgable guide who was passionate about the history of WWII. This tour is well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Learned a lot of historical context in the 3-hour tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great way to get a lot covered in a short period of time. Our tour guide was Francois with Normandy Sight Seeing tours, he was super informative and fun. His energy and humor made the ride in the rain fun. His information and photos were also very helpful. If I had the time to do a day tour, I would recommend that, but if you are short on time - this was an excellent way to spend what you have!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable despite the rain. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and her use of pictures to augment the discussion was very helpful. I feel that limiting the size of the group to 8 keeps the tour very personal and allows for more ability to interact with and ask questions of the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was excellent for the limited time we had. Hit several major points of interest, and our driver/guide Olivier was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and brought the perspective of the local area residents.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was outstanding. The guide has a wealth of local knowledge and more then accommodating to answer any questions we had. Would recommend to anyone to do a tour with. Just wish we had longer to do a longer tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Was fantastic !!
Guide was really friendly and made us feel very relaxed and my goodness she knew her history !!!
Can't fault it at all,
Thankyou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide( I think his name was Philip?) was absolutely great. Very knowledgeable, with plenty of interesting facts, he made the tour like a story that was unfolding under our eyes. The explanations were very clear and it was captivating even though you had no knowledge of the actual historical events. Very good value and very well operated tour.
Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Francois was an extremely knowledgeable and likeable guide. He spoke passionately about the D Day landings. We were given time at each stop by ourselves and the 3 hour trip was ideal for our 8 and 5 year olds. Highly recommended and if you can, ask for Francois - he was superb!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide was very interesting and knowledgeable. We were picked up at our hotel right on time and the tour was everything we hoped it would be.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This tour was wonderful!! Our tour guide, Matt, was so knowledgeable and personable making the tour especially good. He even showed us the avenue at Omaha Beach named after Bedford, Virginia after finding out we were from Virginia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide was absolutely excellent. Knowledgeable and entertaining. Trip was well planned and timing was good in each spot. Really just a home run.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. We had a 4 year old with us and he came prepared with a child safety seat. He was patient and made out tour very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Time and money well spent if you have an interest in the D-Day landing beaches but only a half-day for exploration. We were picked up at our hotel as arranged. Our guide, Phil, was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. It was just the right amount of time for us, because we didn't have the physical stamina nor the time for a day-long trip. Our tour guide was excellent, very friendly and she knew her history. I would recommend this trip for anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Aurelie was a very good tour guide, she knew a lot and gave us an appropriate amount of time at each stop to appreciate some things on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a meaningful and informative tour that covered Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American cemetery. We hadn't realized the significance of Pointe du Hoc and I'm glad we took this tour for that site alone. Our guide was very knowledgeable, as well as a good driver with a comfortable van. The tour ran right on schedule. If you are staying in Bayeux, before or after the tour you can pay a visit to the local military cemetery in Bayeux and the museum there to get an even better feel for the events in the area in 1944.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent trip. David our guide and driver was great and enhanced the trip with his knowledge and photobook of Normandy as it was in the 1940's. He also recommended a great place for lunch.

From USD $ 50.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message