5 star rating: Highly Recommended 129 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Just brilliant! The guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

If you only have a half day available, take this tour - but the full day is preferable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our guide was excellent. He spoke perfect English and he's originally a Parisian! He was thoroughly knowledgeable and our group was small, just 6 - perfect. We would love to go back and take a full day or two with him. There is so much more to cover and see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour was extremely informative and meaningful. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic, it was truly a joy to listen to her. An especially positive part about the trip was the fact that, at each stop, she gave us many facts, using maps and photos to help us visiualize what we were hearing, and then allowed us about 20 minutes to explore on our own. She was polite, respectful, and funny, with a wonderful command of the English language. She learned each of our names and made sure to use them often. She was also punctual, making an 800 a.m. start time more pleasant. At the end, not only did she recommend a restaurant for lunch, but she also took us there, told us how to order and informed us of the menu items she preferred. Our family would highly recommend using this tour service. A trip of a lifetime was made even more wonderful by this friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic service.

Jo
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Our tour guide was outstanding and we learned so much about the D-Day invasion. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone with a short amount of time to spend in Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our guide was wonderful. She spoke excellent English and was clearly very interested in the history of the place. I wish we had had time for the full day tour as I'm sure she had so much more to share with us. Definitely recommend this tour!

Caroline R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Most excellent guide. Charming and very well informed. We all learnt heaps. I would have enjoyed seeing part of the Allied, British Canadian action, but I guess that was too far away. I just felt it would have given a more balanced picture of what occurred and who was responsible for the landing. It wasn't only an American action.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a second visit to Normandy and second time we took a tour because this time we took my parents. This tour company was 100 better than the other company which I won't name. Our tour guide was very informative, had photos and shared a lot of information we did not learn about last trip. Very worthwhile.

Paul C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We traveled through some beautiful Norman countryside to the beaches where we saw and learned heaps. The guide was very knowledgeable and brought the history of the area alive for all of us, including our fourteen year old son.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

The operator was very knowledgeable and personable. The memorial was deeply moving for all of us and is an excellent tribute to those that sacrificed so much for our freedom. The tour company picked us up from our hotel on time and even dropped us back at the train station as we requested!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Outstanding guide was entertaining, with excellent English. She kept it moving at a pace that was comfortable and allowed for lots of questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Our guide was first rate. He shared lots of interesting facts relating to battlefield conditions. I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

We had an excellent guide. He made the place come alive with his information and heartfelt insights. His English was very easy to understand and his vocabulary was very good. I highly recommend your services to anyone who visits the Normandy area.

Paul O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

Tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable - I would definitely recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Stunning, memorable, humbling

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great. Lots of facts and info. The guide Phillip was very friendly and helpfull and full of information.The only downside was it was too short. We did'nt have enough time at any of the venues covered, especially the American Cemetry which was our last stop.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great trip and guide. Recommend doing this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was on time and very friendly. She knew her history and the importance of the places she took us. The only negative was that she was sometimes hard to understand with her French accent. Other than that, it was a great tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great, tour guide was interesting and passionate, great for limited time in normandy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Good length tour and level of detail for my 3 boys, ages 12, 10 and 7. Great info once we arrived at sites. Would have liked more info on the region/commentary as we were driving.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent...guide was charming and extremely informative. Three hours was a very short amount of time to cover so much ground but Francois did a great job of balancing his talks with giving us time to explore the bunkers and beaches and American cemetery.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice guide and introduce the history in detail! We spent a meaningful morning with him, immersing ourselves in the imagination of what happened there on D-day. Thanks to him, we harvested a lot.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Although the tour was only 3 hours it gave us a good insight the events that took place in WW2.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Jonathon did a great job lots of info and pictures. WE were not able to go to the American Cemetery and Museum do to our great American government in a Shut down. He did take us to a German Cemetery instead.
He also had lots of other interesting tidbits. No problem with being picked up for the trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Just what we hoped for, a friendly guide francoise, and lots of info.

From USD $ 50.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message