Insider's Guide to Bayeux

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Bayeux, France
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

We went with a toddler (4yrs old) and a teen (16yrs old) and Eva, our tour guide, was perfect! Knowledgeable, interesting, well read and fun! She made the trip better than we expected. As a matter of fact my son, who is a WWII fan wants to communicate with her for a project he is working on...we cannot be more grateful and lucky!! We would choose this all over again! Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Naomi was our guide and she was terrific. Very knowledeable about Omaha Beach with a very pleasant manner, and her English was strong. This is a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide Frederic was very knowledgeable of the war and they history of Bayeux. The half day tour is perfect if your time is limited. Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery were very amazing and somber. Don't miss them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Francois was great, and gave our small group a great tour of Omaha Beach, Pointe du Hoc, and the American Cemetary. Wish we'd picked an all-day tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We learned a lot about Omaha Beach. The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide was excellent - well informed, welcoming and obviously had a personal interest in the subject matter. Our pick-up was timely and we saw all the sites as promised.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Everything went just as advertised. We were picked up promptly at our hotel. We had limited time and we saw Omaha Beach, Point du Hoc and the American cemetery. Our guide was well informed and answered all of our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Absolutely awesome. Just being at Normandy was breathtaking and the National Cemetery, walking on Omaha Beach, the bunkers, all of it was overwhelming. Our tour guide, Olivie' (sp?) did a fantastic job of providing us with the historical perspective...fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent tour! Our tour guide Sylvain was fanastic. He took time to explain the history of each site, areas along the way and answer our questions. Although this was a short tour, we were given time to explore. We also lucked out by catching the morning tour and we were the only two people on the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

The tour guide spoke perfect English, was well knowledgable of World war 2 and the history of all the sights we went to. The guide also was courteous, and had a great sense of humor. He also got alot done with the half day trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Our tour was amazing and personal. All the attendees were US Military so our guide seemed to go the extra mile and make the experience that much more special. She understood that those were and are our Comrads on that land. The trip was spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Superb. Turned out to be just Olivier and us to Normandy. The French perspective was good to have. He was a courteous and informative guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Christophe, our guide, was knowledgeable, personable, and organized. We very much enjoyed our moving and informative visit to the beaches of Normandy.

DEAN R
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Our recent tour of Omaha Beach was excellent. Vincent was our tour guide and he was excellent. He was knowledgeable, eager and was on time to pick us up as he said he would. I would recommend your company to anyone for that tour. Thankyou.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Our tour of NormandyOmaha Beach was outstanding. It is still difficult to comprehend the enormity of what happened there in 1944, even after reading accounts of that time and watching documentaries. Thank you for a very moving experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Just brilliant! The guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

If you only have a half day available, take this tour - but the full day is preferable!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Our guide was excellent. He spoke perfect English and he's originally a Parisian! He was thoroughly knowledgeable and our group was small, just 6 - perfect. We would love to go back and take a full day or two with him. There is so much more to cover and see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour was extremely informative and meaningful. Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic, it was truly a joy to listen to her. An especially positive part about the trip was the fact that, at each stop, she gave us many facts, using maps and photos to help us visiualize what we were hearing, and then allowed us about 20 minutes to explore on our own. She was polite, respectful, and funny, with a wonderful command of the English language. She learned each of our names and made sure to use them often. She was also punctual, making an 800 a.m. start time more pleasant. At the end, not only did she recommend a restaurant for lunch, but she also took us there, told us how to order and informed us of the menu items she preferred. Our family would highly recommend using this tour service. A trip of a lifetime was made even more wonderful by this friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic service.

Jo
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Our tour guide was outstanding and we learned so much about the D-Day invasion. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone with a short amount of time to spend in Normandy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Our guide was wonderful. She spoke excellent English and was clearly very interested in the history of the place. I wish we had had time for the full day tour as I'm sure she had so much more to share with us. Definitely recommend this tour!

Caroline R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Most excellent guide. Charming and very well informed. We all learnt heaps. I would have enjoyed seeing part of the Allied, British Canadian action, but I guess that was too far away. I just felt it would have given a more balanced picture of what occurred and who was responsible for the landing. It wasn't only an American action.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a second visit to Normandy and second time we took a tour because this time we took my parents. This tour company was 100 better than the other company which I won't name. Our tour guide was very informative, had photos and shared a lot of information we did not learn about last trip. Very worthwhile.

Paul C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We traveled through some beautiful Norman countryside to the beaches where we saw and learned heaps. The guide was very knowledgeable and brought the history of the area alive for all of us, including our fourteen year old son.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2008

The operator was very knowledgeable and personable. The memorial was deeply moving for all of us and is an excellent tribute to those that sacrificed so much for our freedom. The tour company picked us up from our hotel on time and even dropped us back at the train station as we requested!!!

From USD $ 50.66

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3193NSTC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message