4.5 star rating: Recommended 105 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 105 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour picked us up at the hotel on time. It was just the two of us and one other woman on the tour. Our guide was full of information and talked almost non-stop. This was an extremely fast-paced tour. I would recommend this tour to people who only have a short time in Beijing because it crams a lot into on day. We first went to the Summer Palace and although we spent about 1.5 hours there, we only saw a fraction of it. You could easily spend an entire day there. The next stop was the Pearl Market where the showed us how pearls are made and opened an oyster. We were brought up to the next level where they wanted us to buy pearls. Afterwards, we were taken to the Temple of Heaven and spent about 45 minutes there. From there we went to lunch at a buffet. The food was not great. All of the dishes were vaguely labelled 'pork', 'chicken' and 'vegetable'. After lunch we were taken to the Silk Market. Another shopping experience where they showed you how silk is made. They let my boyfriend open up one of the cocoons, stretch the silk and help make a layer of a quilt. It was a fun experience and we did end up splurging on two silk quilts. After was Tiananmen Square. We only really saw it from across the street, but we were there long enough for photos. We went directly into the Forbidden City and again, we were there for over an hour, but only saw a small section of it. The guide walked very fast and we were exhausted by the end of the day. He was full of information and offered to take photos for us (which was the best part of being on such a small tour). There were a lot of people and panhandlers around the tourist attractions and having a mandarin speaking guide helped shoo them away faster. At the end of the tour, the guide offered to bring us to a cheap place for a foot massage. We were taken to a holistic medical school where we were given foot massages by students and the cost was whatever you tipped. Great tour even with the forced shopping stops.

JENNIFER K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Wonderful tour. We saw so much on this tour and our guide Jason was great. Once again we were the only two on this tour which really made it special. We had lunch in the most beautiful gardens and Jason made a point of taking us down to the Echo Wall at the Temple of Heaven. It was further to walk and wasn't normally on the tour but he did it for us and yes, the Echo Wall really does work. This tour with Jason as your guide is a definite for Beijing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

It was a very long day but we enjoyed all the sights. Jackie was our guide and was full of interesting facts and stories bout China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We had a great day with Linda Li at the Mutianyu portion of the Great Wall of China!
She was very flexible, it was a very cold morning with ice on the pathway. We were disappointed not to be able to walk the wall but it was great to see the snow and landscaping traced by the snow.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour director was informative, knowledgeable, on time and made the trip a pleasure to be on. Viator is lucky to have such a fantastic tour director. Would take another tour with him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour director was informative, knowledgeable, on time and made the trip a pleasure to be on. Viator is lucky to have such a fantastic tour director. Would take another tour with him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

The tour director was informative, knowledgeable, on time and made the trip a pleasure to be on. Viator is lucky to have such a fantastic tour director. Would take another tour with him.

SY
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very good tour covering a lot in one day. Our tour guide Jack Li was friendly and very informative. The only downside was lunch which was rather forgetful and bland. One thing to note is that a lot of time is spent in the silk and pearl factories which will please those who like shopping.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Just a Great tour!!
Mike is very good guide, very smart and knows everything about the tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The best tour and guide that you could ever have. I had a great time this will be the only service I use when I return to tour China. Thanks!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour. The guide, Mr. Li, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. There were only 4 of us on the tour, which made it even better. Less time at over-priced tourist shops on this tour than the Great Wall Tour, which was a relief. In fact, the stop at the silk factory was quite interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an excellent tour of the highlights of Beijing. Very interesting and beautiful. Our excellent guide (Zoe) made the day. Her English was excellent as well as her knowledge of the history and culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Overall, this tour was great...the places we visited were very interesting and the guide was extremely informative. The guide, however, was very much inserting his own personal opinion about how much better China was than all other countries. I think it's great to have pride in your country but not to the degree that you are uing disparaging remarks about other countries...or the people from those countries. Again, it was a great tour and the guide very knowledgeable but I could have done without the propaganda pitch.

Julie
Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The absolute best way to see Beijing! Comprehensive tour that allows you to see all the main attractions in just a few hours. Our guide was great and the food delicious!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Tremendous..would do it again without hesistation.

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message