4.5 star rating: Recommended 146 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 146 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a perfect one day experience of Beijing. I would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We enjoyed the tour very much and I would recommend Viator to our friends and family. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable on the history of the sights that we visited and was entertaining which made it a fun day. The tour allowed us to get a lot of sightseeing into a short period of time. From the minute we were picked up at our hotel to the time we were dropped off, it was a very enjoyable day.

Michael G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved my tour guide. This was a great tour to get you to see the major sites in one day. Would definitely recommend it! I had a private driver and a private guide all day even though I booked the group tour.

Sarah L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was definitely the best tour I went on whilst in China. We had a lovely small group only 5 of us and our tour guide was excellent. He was enthusiastic, spoke extremely good English, had great knowledge and happily answered any questions we had. He also told us where to take the best photos and took many for us so me and my friend could have photos together. The lunch was delicious and there was a wide selection of food. Overall, I cannot recommend this tour enough, worth every penny!

Rohit A
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Once again Viator has proven itself by giving us a great day tour of Beijing. Its itinerary covered the best of places anyone would like to cover in a day. The tour was very relaxing in terms of timing. The tour guide was a thorough professional. She had great knowledge about the city, its history, culture, and everything modern as well. The place we were taken for lunch was basic, but the food had a good taste. The only downside was the tour coach. It was small and not very comfortable, as usual with coaches. We have used on Viator tours in Europe and the Far East. The tour was ended in a surprise with a soothing foot reflexology massage, which we really enjoyed. I have recently recommended my colleague for certain tours in Phuket. Maybe he will choose some.

Phillip B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I did two day tours in Beijing. Both were outstanding. On the first day to the Great Wall of China I was the only traveller and I had a driver and fantastic guide to myself. This gave my maximum flexibility at each attraction. Second day trip was to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Summer Place - this day with just one other traveller - another great guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Great guide. Very helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My family and I loved the transfers and tours. All tour guides were excellent, entertaining, and very knowledgeable.

Else L
Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was a great Beijing tour, with the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven

Trichur R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The trip was very well organised. It was a very pleasant holiday overall. The guide was very informative and nice. I would highly recommend the tour company to other travellers.

Brett153
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was a very good tour with a friendly guide. It was conducted in a minibus only. We got to see all the main highlights of Beijing.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a wonderful tour. Lots of information and the guide was great.

JENNIFER C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was amazing to see things that we had only seen on TV and in books. The Forbidden City was even more impressive in real life.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a lot of fun on the tour. Our guide Cynthia was AMAZING!! She was very bubbly and energetic. She made it a point to stop at every monument and take pictures of us in front of it. That part was greatly appreciated because I didn't really feel comfortable handing my camera off to random strangers. So we ended up with several hundred great pictures and several of them were because of her. I can't say enough good things about her. As for the trip- we learned a lot about the history and culture of each monument. It was neat learning all of the quirks like why their door frames are raised or why the roofs are different colors. All four monuments we visited were definitely worth the trip. I would suggest bringing lots of water!! Its hot and there isn't always places to stop to get something to drink. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because everything felt rushed, at one point we were even asked to run because we were running out of time. Granted there was a lot to cram into one day. We figured we would be pushed a long a little. BUT- everything was rushed except when they took us to the government funded shopping places. We went to the pearl shop and the silk shop and spent far to much time there. With that being said the people were very friendly and we never felt pressured. I just wish we could have spent less time sitting there waiting to be allowed to leave and more time seeing the sites. We didn't get to see most of the Temple of Heaven or some of the Summer Palace because we ran out of time. Which is a bummer because they were beautiful places. Also- the lunch was at a mediocre buffet that wasn't really 'Chinese' and the food had been sitting out for a while. We ended up having to get snacks later to hold us over until dinner. But, with all that being said, the trip really was great. We would definitely recommend it, especially if Cynthia was the guide. The day was jam packed with culture, history, and fun. Its well worth the time and money.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fun. We had a great group of people on the tour all over the world. I learned a lot on the full day tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome! Jackie our guide was great. Just a warning though this mostly a walking tour since there is no parking around the attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Due to my first flight getting cancelled and arriving in Beijing much later than expected the guide and driver were able to change the tour time and the tour so that I could get to the Great Wall which I wanted most. Guide Victoria was very good at explaining the history while i was driven around.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It wss a very good tour and our leader was great. However there was a marathon and we could not go to Tinnamen square. I think with a marathon planned many months in advance, we should have known this. That was dissapointng.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was exceptional. He was energetic, helpful, funny and knowledgeable. The tour was a full day with a lots of things to see and do. We had lots of opportunity to take pictures and to see the sites. The end of the day tea was a unexpected bonus which was appreciated. Well Done!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour covers what needs to be seen in Bejing and has lots of walking.
We had a very good guide as well. A must do if you have limited time in Bejing.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Shandie? was high-energy and enthusiastic all day, and kept us on schedule through a very crowded holiday my only complaint would be the time spent at the Pearl/Silk markets that could have been much better spent at the FC, TS or palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is definitely a great way to see a lot of sites in a short period of time if you only have a couple days in Beijing. We were there over a holiday weekend so we had to leave even earlier to avoid the traffic as much as you can avoid traffic in Beijing. The total time from pickup to drop off was 11 hours. We covered 7 miles 11 km so make sure to wear your most comfortable walking shoes. Our guide liked to avoid the crowds and take us along the sides of sites rather than right down the middle. We had to request going down the middle so that we could get better pictures. Yes it was crowded but all of China is crowded so we were mentally prepared for it.

We stopped at a silk factory as well as a pearl store in addition to the 4 sites named above. The silk factory actually had good prices so that stop was deemed a success. The pearl shop was pricier than what we'd found in Shanghai and we were too tired to do any bartering at that point.

The lunch was a buffet and it was good -- not great.

I would also recommend packing your own waters. We bought some at the sites when we ran out but it was always more expensive.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour takes a lot of walking. When I checked in at the hotel, a message with pickup time and person was waiting for me. We had a good tour guide named Victoria, spoke really good English. She showed up a few minutes late from my designated pickup time at 7am but it was fine. The minivan was packed and it felt crowded for 11 of us. Victoria sat on a stool behind the front passenger. Buffet lunch wasn't that good for me and we had to wait a few minutes for clean plates when we arrived at the restaurant. We just had at overlook of the Tiananmen Square from across the street before entering the Forbidden City. All the other places we visited were photogenic but they were all crowded with mostly local looking sightseers. It was still fun and I enjoyed the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip..small group Michael was our guide very informative and highly recommend. Was a great day in Beijing with smog blown out for the day so was beautiful. Had a great time and learned a lot about the area and history of China.

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message