Insider's Guide to Beijing

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 198 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved my tour guide. This was a great tour to get you to see the major sites in one day. Would definitely recommend it! I had a private driver and a private guide all day even though I booked the group tour.

Sarah L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was definitely the best tour I went on whilst in China. We had a lovely small group only 5 of us and our tour guide was excellent. He was enthusiastic, spoke extremely good English, had great knowledge and happily answered any questions we had. He also told us where to take the best photos and took many for us so me and my friend could have photos together. The lunch was delicious and there was a wide selection of food. Overall, I cannot recommend this tour enough, worth every penny!

Rohit A United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Once again Viator has proven itself by giving us a great day tour of Beijing. Its itinerary covered the best of places anyone would like to cover in a day. The tour was very relaxing in terms of timing. The tour guide was a thorough professional. She had great knowledge about the city, its history, culture, and everything modern as well. The place we were taken for lunch was basic, but the food had a good taste. The only downside was the tour coach. It was small and not very comfortable, as usual with coaches. We have used on Viator tours in Europe and the Far East. The tour was ended in a surprise with a soothing foot reflexology massage, which we really enjoyed. I have recently recommended my colleague for certain tours in Phuket. Maybe he will choose some.

Phillip B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I did two day tours in Beijing. Both were outstanding. On the first day to the Great Wall of China I was the only traveller and I had a driver and fantastic guide to myself. This gave my maximum flexibility at each attraction. Second day trip was to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Summer Place - this day with just one other traveller - another great guide.

Michel V Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Great guide. Very helpful.

ALLAN T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My family and I loved the transfers and tours. All tour guides were excellent, entertaining, and very knowledgeable.

Else L Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was a great Beijing tour, with the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven

Trichur R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The trip was very well organised. It was a very pleasant holiday overall. The guide was very informative and nice. I would highly recommend the tour company to other travellers.

Brett153 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was a very good tour with a friendly guide. It was conducted in a minibus only. We got to see all the main highlights of Beijing.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a wonderful tour. Lots of information and the guide was great.

JENNIFER C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was amazing to see things that we had only seen on TV and in books. The Forbidden City was even more impressive in real life.

mistymodel

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This is a great way to see the highlights of Beijing when time is limited. Our guide Michael was knowledgeable and well understood.

jag

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

excellent guide, very informative, recommend to new visitors. one suggestion is to include visit to tiananman square itself rather than watching from distance

Rosemary H Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, our only negative was that we found it really hard to understand our English speaking guide.

emilyspeca

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was exactly what we needed for the first day of our Beijing trip: transportation to all the big sites in Beijing, a meal that was set for us, and a reason to stay awake the whole day to get us on Beijing time. The bus was comfortable enough. The meal was good with a variety of dishes to share between 8 group members. The driver was good at getting us close to the entrances of the places. The guide was good but had some quirks. Traffic was bad at the end of the tour so it took a while to get back. We ended up getting out at someone else's hotel because we just needed to get out of that bus and were interested in eating around that area. As others have stated, we did have to spend about 2 hours of the tour at places meant to take tour groups in and have you buy things. One was a silk factory which I found at first to be kind of cool because they showed you the process but then sales people do their best to guilt you into buying silk quilts. Later in the tour we went to a cultured fresh water pearl shop, which again was cool to learn the process but ended up being lots of time to stare at each other. I ended up bargaining down on a bracelet and am glad I came away with it as a souvenir.

sabre31158

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour was really good. The guide Michael was very friendly and knowledgeable. I was the only one on the tour, and so it went relatively quickly, but it was fun.

Edward J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The guide was amazing - very knowledgeable and helpful. Although there was some time spent on selling at some gift shops, the overall experience was very positive. We loved the small group feel.

Sneha P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Worth having a coordinated tour through the city and bypassing the lines.

Kylie M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

An excellent overview of the city and it's history. Our tour guide, Jackie, was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Ann Marie United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip provided a nice overview of the key sites in Beijing, but it would have been nice to have had more time at the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace. The guide was both flexible and helpful. It was a lovely day out and a great way to avoid the ticket lines.

Gerald L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Jackie Li JL was my tour guide. Reliable and punctual, relatively good English speaker, energetic, joyous, empathetic, funny, sensitive and gives a sense of security to me. Note, this is my 1st tour and I normally plan my own itineraries.

Start: 7am for me.

1st and 2nd Stop - Tiananmen Sq and Forbidden City : Historical, huge and spacious. Loads of history, JL can provide you both short and long versions. Tian Sq is the gateway into the city. Bring your passport, good walking shoes, and sense of humor. It's a 2.5hr walk. We took the EAST RHS pathway through the city which was less crowded by 95, benches on the corridors to rest, better angle for photography trust me and relaxing for an autumn day walk. Covered too, if it rained. JL was sensitive enough to see one of our members had difficulty walking. - You need to walk to the center to see the insides of the 3 buildings on the outer court.

3rd - Silk Factory : Shoppers kindly bring your Credit C. Loads of nice silks, Duvet Cover set was worth it, RMB3.5k. I bought loads of scarves. Simply awesome!

4th - Lunch : Reasonable unelaborated simple 4 course Chinese meal. There were 4 of us, so good for a nice table by the window.

5th - Temple of Heaven : Relaxing, traditional music played from afar, retirees hung out to gamble, long corridors leading to the top of the temple. Simply breath taking, spiritual honestly.

6th - Pearl Factory : I didn't buy anything here. A US tourist said the sea water pearls were overpriced. We picked an oyster, and was given a tiny pearl from that oyster. Yaay!

7th - Summer Palace: JL did a good job telling stories of the Empress Dowager. The lake was peaceful, the architecture was inspiring.

8th - Hotel : End at 5pm and brace through the Beijing Traffic Jam! We walked more than 10km, so we didn't mind sitting. Recommended? YES! JL, thanks for the guide, you are really good at it!

Jeni H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour. Good guide.

CHWI HONG T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good introduction to Chinese history. The places visited are must-see's for any visitor to Beijing.

frnklw

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour hit all of the big spots to see in Beijing. The tour guide was informative, but perhaps just a bit too much so. The meal was delicious and more than ample. The trip to the silk factory and to the pearl factory were drags, but I guess they are common.

sharon f

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The guide Cynthia was really good, cheerful and very informative. She was like a machine in her knowledge of dates, times, names, etc.. Obviously limited by the limitations in the country. The one BIG problem was the restaurant that she took us to for lunch was absolutely HORRIBLE. I would suggest that Viator works with the local company to make sure no one has to walk down into a basement, sit at a moldy smelling table, and eat a gross buffet. Fortunately I wasn't hungry but honestly, just have people bring their own lunch.

Viewing 4 of 8

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message