Viewing All 184 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Brett153 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was a very good tour with a friendly guide. It was conducted in a minibus only. We got to see all the main highlights of Beijing.

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a wonderful tour. Lots of information and the guide was great.

JENNIFER C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was amazing to see things that we had only seen on TV and in books. The Forbidden City was even more impressive in real life.

sabre31158

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour was really good. The guide Michael was very friendly and knowledgeable. I was the only one on the tour, and so it went relatively quickly, but it was fun.

Edward J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The guide was amazing - very knowledgeable and helpful. Although there was some time spent on selling at some gift shops, the overall experience was very positive. We loved the small group feel.

Sneha P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Worth having a coordinated tour through the city and bypassing the lines.

Kylie M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

An excellent overview of the city and it's history. Our tour guide, Jackie, was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Ann Marie United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The trip provided a nice overview of the key sites in Beijing, but it would have been nice to have had more time at the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace. The guide was both flexible and helpful. It was a lovely day out and a great way to avoid the ticket lines.

Gerald L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Jackie Li JL was my tour guide. Reliable and punctual, relatively good English speaker, energetic, joyous, empathetic, funny, sensitive and gives a sense of security to me. Note, this is my 1st tour and I normally plan my own itineraries.

Start: 7am for me.

1st and 2nd Stop - Tiananmen Sq and Forbidden City : Historical, huge and spacious. Loads of history, JL can provide you both short and long versions. Tian Sq is the gateway into the city. Bring your passport, good walking shoes, and sense of humor. It's a 2.5hr walk. We took the EAST RHS pathway through the city which was less crowded by 95, benches on the corridors to rest, better angle for photography trust me and relaxing for an autumn day walk. Covered too, if it rained. JL was sensitive enough to see one of our members had difficulty walking. - You need to walk to the center to see the insides of the 3 buildings on the outer court.

3rd - Silk Factory : Shoppers kindly bring your Credit C. Loads of nice silks, Duvet Cover set was worth it, RMB3.5k. I bought loads of scarves. Simply awesome!

4th - Lunch : Reasonable unelaborated simple 4 course Chinese meal. There were 4 of us, so good for a nice table by the window.

5th - Temple of Heaven : Relaxing, traditional music played from afar, retirees hung out to gamble, long corridors leading to the top of the temple. Simply breath taking, spiritual honestly.

6th - Pearl Factory : I didn't buy anything here. A US tourist said the sea water pearls were overpriced. We picked an oyster, and was given a tiny pearl from that oyster. Yaay!

7th - Summer Palace: JL did a good job telling stories of the Empress Dowager. The lake was peaceful, the architecture was inspiring.

8th - Hotel : End at 5pm and brace through the Beijing Traffic Jam! We walked more than 10km, so we didn't mind sitting. Recommended? YES! JL, thanks for the guide, you are really good at it!

Jeni H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Good tour. Good guide.

CHWI HONG T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good introduction to Chinese history. The places visited are must-see's for any visitor to Beijing.

frnklw

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour hit all of the big spots to see in Beijing. The tour guide was informative, but perhaps just a bit too much so. The meal was delicious and more than ample. The trip to the silk factory and to the pearl factory were drags, but I guess they are common.

sharon f

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The guide Cynthia was really good, cheerful and very informative. She was like a machine in her knowledge of dates, times, names, etc.. Obviously limited by the limitations in the country. The one BIG problem was the restaurant that she took us to for lunch was absolutely HORRIBLE. I would suggest that Viator works with the local company to make sure no one has to walk down into a basement, sit at a moldy smelling table, and eat a gross buffet. Fortunately I wasn't hungry but honestly, just have people bring their own lunch.

Lauren E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a very enjoyable day out - visiting the majority of the main things to do in Beijing! Guide was lovely and spoke English well. we were in a relatively small group which was nice as it wasn't too crowded. The driver was however half an hour late as they couldn't find our apartment and nobody was given our phone number to phone us. The guide was lovely and even offered us the opportunity to go on a boat in the man made lake between the summer palace and temple of heaven.
Another flaw to the trip was visiting a silk making factory which was a massive gimmick to make us buy a quilt/pillow/clothes. Nobody bought anything so it was a waste of time.
Also the guide said there was a lot of traffic so on return to our apartment they just dropped us 10 minutes from where we were staying and said for us to walk from there. We booked this tour as it was a pick up and drop off to our APARTMENT/HOTEL not for us to have to walk 20 minutes to get home after paying for this service. Other than that we enjoyed our day.

Prasad P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

very easy and efficient. The tour guide Mr. Li was very knowledgeable and had a sense of humor which the tour party appreciated. Only irritant was the unnecessary silk and pearl emporium side visits which took time away from spending more time at the main attractions such as summer palace etc

Chanindh Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour covered all of the important attractions of Beijing. Michael Ren Jingyu was our tour guide. He is knowledgeable about all of these sights and gave the tourists good information about the history and the significance of the places that we visited. He also took care to swap itinerary items to avoid peak crowds at the Forbidden City. The lunch provided was authentic and quite delicious Chinese food. As expected, one day is much, much to short to take in what this vast and monumental city has to offer, but this tour provides a good overview and interesting vignettes of Beijing. For me, I later went back to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City to satisfy my curiosity to learn more about these .

ashley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a lot of fun on the tour. Our guide Cynthia was AMAZING!! She was very bubbly and energetic. She made it a point to stop at every monument and take pictures of us in front of it. That part was greatly appreciated because I didn't really feel comfortable handing my camera off to random strangers. So we ended up with several hundred great pictures and several of them were because of her. I can't say enough good things about her. As for the trip- we learned a lot about the history and culture of each monument. It was neat learning all of the quirks like why their door frames are raised or why the roofs are different colors. All four monuments we visited were definitely worth the trip. I would suggest bringing lots of water!! Its hot and there isn't always places to stop to get something to drink. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because everything felt rushed, at one point we were even asked to run because we were running out of time. Granted there was a lot to cram into one day. We figured we would be pushed a long a little. BUT- everything was rushed except when they took us to the government funded shopping places. We went to the pearl shop and the silk shop and spent far to much time there. With that being said the people were very friendly and we never felt pressured. I just wish we could have spent less time sitting there waiting to be allowed to leave and more time seeing the sites. We didn't get to see most of the Temple of Heaven or some of the Summer Palace because we ran out of time. Which is a bummer because they were beautiful places. Also- the lunch was at a mediocre buffet that wasn't really 'Chinese' and the food had been sitting out for a while. We ended up having to get snacks later to hold us over until dinner. But, with all that being said, the trip really was great. We would definitely recommend it, especially if Cynthia was the guide. The day was jam packed with culture, history, and fun. Its well worth the time and money.

tiffany D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fun. We had a great group of people on the tour all over the world. I learned a lot on the full day tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

bflint2193

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome! Jackie our guide was great. Just a warning though this mostly a walking tour since there is no parking around the attractions.

Dale C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Due to my first flight getting cancelled and arriving in Beijing much later than expected the guide and driver were able to change the tour time and the tour so that I could get to the Great Wall which I wanted most. Guide Victoria was very good at explaining the history while i was driven around.

jan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It wss a very good tour and our leader was great. However there was a marathon and we could not go to Tinnamen square. I think with a marathon planned many months in advance, we should have known this. That was dissapointng.

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was exceptional. He was energetic, helpful, funny and knowledgeable. The tour was a full day with a lots of things to see and do. We had lots of opportunity to take pictures and to see the sites. The end of the day tea was a unexpected bonus which was appreciated. Well Done!

Helen Anita M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour covers what needs to be seen in Bejing and has lots of walking.
We had a very good guide as well. A must do if you have limited time in Bejing.

Tyrone R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Shandie? was high-energy and enthusiastic all day, and kept us on schedule through a very crowded holiday my only complaint would be the time spent at the Pearl/Silk markets that could have been much better spent at the FC, TS or palace.

Curtis J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Viewing 4 of 8

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message