Insider's Guide to Beijing

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 198 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lauren E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a very enjoyable day out - visiting the majority of the main things to do in Beijing! Guide was lovely and spoke English well. we were in a relatively small group which was nice as it wasn't too crowded. The driver was however half an hour late as they couldn't find our apartment and nobody was given our phone number to phone us. The guide was lovely and even offered us the opportunity to go on a boat in the man made lake between the summer palace and temple of heaven.
Another flaw to the trip was visiting a silk making factory which was a massive gimmick to make us buy a quilt/pillow/clothes. Nobody bought anything so it was a waste of time.
Also the guide said there was a lot of traffic so on return to our apartment they just dropped us 10 minutes from where we were staying and said for us to walk from there. We booked this tour as it was a pick up and drop off to our APARTMENT/HOTEL not for us to have to walk 20 minutes to get home after paying for this service. Other than that we enjoyed our day.

Prasad P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

very easy and efficient. The tour guide Mr. Li was very knowledgeable and had a sense of humor which the tour party appreciated. Only irritant was the unnecessary silk and pearl emporium side visits which took time away from spending more time at the main attractions such as summer palace etc

Chanindh Thailand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour covered all of the important attractions of Beijing. Michael Ren Jingyu was our tour guide. He is knowledgeable about all of these sights and gave the tourists good information about the history and the significance of the places that we visited. He also took care to swap itinerary items to avoid peak crowds at the Forbidden City. The lunch provided was authentic and quite delicious Chinese food. As expected, one day is much, much to short to take in what this vast and monumental city has to offer, but this tour provides a good overview and interesting vignettes of Beijing. For me, I later went back to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City to satisfy my curiosity to learn more about these .

ashley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a lot of fun on the tour. Our guide Cynthia was AMAZING!! She was very bubbly and energetic. She made it a point to stop at every monument and take pictures of us in front of it. That part was greatly appreciated because I didn't really feel comfortable handing my camera off to random strangers. So we ended up with several hundred great pictures and several of them were because of her. I can't say enough good things about her. As for the trip- we learned a lot about the history and culture of each monument. It was neat learning all of the quirks like why their door frames are raised or why the roofs are different colors. All four monuments we visited were definitely worth the trip. I would suggest bringing lots of water!! Its hot and there isn't always places to stop to get something to drink. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because everything felt rushed, at one point we were even asked to run because we were running out of time. Granted there was a lot to cram into one day. We figured we would be pushed a long a little. BUT- everything was rushed except when they took us to the government funded shopping places. We went to the pearl shop and the silk shop and spent far to much time there. With that being said the people were very friendly and we never felt pressured. I just wish we could have spent less time sitting there waiting to be allowed to leave and more time seeing the sites. We didn't get to see most of the Temple of Heaven or some of the Summer Palace because we ran out of time. Which is a bummer because they were beautiful places. Also- the lunch was at a mediocre buffet that wasn't really 'Chinese' and the food had been sitting out for a while. We ended up having to get snacks later to hold us over until dinner. But, with all that being said, the trip really was great. We would definitely recommend it, especially if Cynthia was the guide. The day was jam packed with culture, history, and fun. Its well worth the time and money.

tiffany D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fun. We had a great group of people on the tour all over the world. I learned a lot on the full day tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

bflint2193

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome! Jackie our guide was great. Just a warning though this mostly a walking tour since there is no parking around the attractions.

Dale C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Due to my first flight getting cancelled and arriving in Beijing much later than expected the guide and driver were able to change the tour time and the tour so that I could get to the Great Wall which I wanted most. Guide Victoria was very good at explaining the history while i was driven around.

jan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It wss a very good tour and our leader was great. However there was a marathon and we could not go to Tinnamen square. I think with a marathon planned many months in advance, we should have known this. That was dissapointng.

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was exceptional. He was energetic, helpful, funny and knowledgeable. The tour was a full day with a lots of things to see and do. We had lots of opportunity to take pictures and to see the sites. The end of the day tea was a unexpected bonus which was appreciated. Well Done!

Helen Anita M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour covers what needs to be seen in Bejing and has lots of walking.
We had a very good guide as well. A must do if you have limited time in Bejing.

Tyrone R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide Shandie? was high-energy and enthusiastic all day, and kept us on schedule through a very crowded holiday my only complaint would be the time spent at the Pearl/Silk markets that could have been much better spent at the FC, TS or palace.

Curtis J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Emel S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is definitely a great way to see a lot of sites in a short period of time if you only have a couple days in Beijing. We were there over a holiday weekend so we had to leave even earlier to avoid the traffic as much as you can avoid traffic in Beijing. The total time from pickup to drop off was 11 hours. We covered 7 miles 11 km so make sure to wear your most comfortable walking shoes. Our guide liked to avoid the crowds and take us along the sides of sites rather than right down the middle. We had to request going down the middle so that we could get better pictures. Yes it was crowded but all of China is crowded so we were mentally prepared for it.

We stopped at a silk factory as well as a pearl store in addition to the 4 sites named above. The silk factory actually had good prices so that stop was deemed a success. The pearl shop was pricier than what we'd found in Shanghai and we were too tired to do any bartering at that point.

The lunch was a buffet and it was good -- not great.

I would also recommend packing your own waters. We bought some at the sites when we ran out but it was always more expensive.

Jaime Q

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This full day tour takes a lot of walking. When I checked in at the hotel, a message with pickup time and person was waiting for me. We had a good tour guide named Victoria, spoke really good English. She showed up a few minutes late from my designated pickup time at 7am but it was fine. The minivan was packed and it felt crowded for 11 of us. Victoria sat on a stool behind the front passenger. Buffet lunch wasn't that good for me and we had to wait a few minutes for clean plates when we arrived at the restaurant. We just had at overlook of the Tiananmen Square from across the street before entering the Forbidden City. All the other places we visited were photogenic but they were all crowded with mostly local looking sightseers. It was still fun and I enjoyed the trip.

Frank H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip..small group Michael was our guide very informative and highly recommend. Was a great day in Beijing with smog blown out for the day so was beautiful. Had a great time and learned a lot about the area and history of China.

Jonalyn P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Teryn G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

I really enjoyed this tour! Even though we had bad weather it turned out to be amazing.

rtma

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Summer Palace was the highlight of this day out, which is a big day out and lots of walking. It was absolutely beautiful and i really enjoyed this part of the day. The Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City are impressive and full of cultural history. Our tour guide Cynthia was fantastic, very bubbly and full of information the whole day. The lunch provided on this day out was terrible unfortunately as it was mainly fried food which was semi cold.

ARTHUR P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day with Jackie our guide. It was national day so lots of people. The guides walk too fast I had to run at times to keep up especially when all I could follow was his flag on a pole. Very informative just a bit slower pace is needed

Fiona H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

There is so much history that one day is not enough to scratch the surface. Our guide was very knowledgable though quite quiet. Our group was small so we could hear him but more information and projecting his voice would have been good. I found there was too much time spent at the retail outlets. I didn't want to spend time shopping and wasn't aware that this was part of the tour. Lunch was not good, large basement restaurant with substandard food but that was not our focus for this tour.. I would recommend this tour but be aware of the time allowed for shopping.

Timothy B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a good tour. Be prepare to walk a total of 7 miles in the day. Lunch is provided on this tour and the lunch was o.k. it was a buffet style lunch.

Mrs Valerie H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip, a lot of walking. Our guide Jackie was excellent and we were picked up and dropped back at our hotel, very nice lunch included.

Melody M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I recommend this tour if you need to fit all of the sites in during a quick Beijing visit. Our guide was very knowledgable. While I enjoyed the presentations at the silk and pearl factories, we were disappointed that it took away from our time at the historical sites. We also did not anticipate these tourist trap visits when booking the tour.

Jamie F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Guide: Great, Sites: Great, Everything-in-between: UGH! My guide Jason was great, he was funny and very knowledgeable. The Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven tours were amazing, but by the time we got to the Summer Palace I could tell the clock was ticking faster than we were moving. I had to go back to the Summer Palace later and spent about 4hrs just wandering around, it is a truly amazing place and cannot be seen in an hour. The stuff-in-between that was terrible was lunch (a buffet that made me sick later) and Dr. Tea…watch out for this place. I am a tea snob, love it, and the tea during tasting was great quality…the stuff I took out of the package when I got home was the same overdried left over bits that I get at Walmart, but I paid close to three times the amount!

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a lot to see in one day. We were rushed - my son and I like to buy souvenirs at the places we visit and we had no time to do that. Plus, we had to go to a pearl factory, which seemed like a waste of time. CoraLin, our guide, was very knowledgeable about history. It was our first day in Beijing, so the massive crowds and heat were overwhelming. More water stops would have been good! I loved seeing the overview of the important places, and knew I could re-visit them more leisurely if I wanted to a different day.

Viewing 5 of 8

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message