4.5 star rating: Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Belmont
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The tour started at 7.00am. We went on one of the first days of the Chinese National holidays so everywhere was packed to capacity. At 7.30am we were standing in Tiananmen Square, overwhelmed by the number of locals that can gathered. The visit to the Forbidden City was good but limited in the sense that we did not really go into any of the internal "temples" as we walked through the F/City on the outer footpaths, which were still within the F/City so as to avoid the crowds. We arrived at the Summer Palace at 2.30pm by which time over 110,000 people had entered so that will give you a feel on numbers! Likewise, in order for the small party to keep together, we were constantly on the move, so little time to really look at anything. We visited a Chinese Medicine Hospital (waste of time), as well as a silk factory (quite interesting) and a pearl factory (great if you wanted to buy some very reasonable priced pearls). Obviously the latter three stops were purely there to part with some cash! Our guide, Mr Jacky Lee, was excellent as he took time to take photos of the couples in the group and he knew the best places to capture the photos so well done to him. Lunch provided was good. Apart from the crowds, a really good day was had by all.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

There is a lot to see and do in Beijing and this tour includes a good selection of sites. Shopping stops were not too long and no high sales pressure. The lunch wasvery good and our tour guide Michael was very nice and spoke great English.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very enjoyable, great sights however visits were rushed due to the sheer number of places to visit on the trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The guide was really knowledgable and entertaining, a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Overall the trip was worth the money. It was a good introduction to Beijing, especially for someone who has never been there before. However, the tour was rushed at the end. We only spent about 40 minutes (there was only 2 of us on the tour) at The Summer Palace. This place is so huge, a full day doesn't even do it justice (I did go back). Also, the Temple of Heaven was rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

I ended up being the only one so it was an all day private tour. All 4 sites were very cool and the tour gives you plenty of time to take it all in and take plenty of pictures. I was also taken to 2 factories, one that shows how the local silk is made and the other for fresh water pearls; beware it it definitely a ploy to get you to buy stuff. I ended it buying a few things and moved on. Definitely a good trip to see most of the main sites in Beijing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

As usual, fantastic tour with energetic and bright tour guide...i've done Viator tours of all types in Paris, Normandy, Milan, Rome/Vatican City and Berlin and have never been disappointed! The ONLY criticism in the tours in China is when your are taken on side visitsto so called "silk and jade factories", where you are basically turned over to high-pressure sales folks. The real tours are absolutely worth it...you just have to grin and bear the other part.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Guide very very knowledgable and friendly. Arranged for us to not wait in queues, and showed other areas of city not outlined.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Good tour to do if you want to see all of the important tourist attractions in one day. Again we were taken to a pearl factory and some other unannounced shopping stops which annoyed me and the other 7 people on our tour. Lunch was mediocre. The sights were beautiful, but our tour guide Jackie had a very strong accent and was difficult for us to understand at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Great tour guide, one of the best we have had and awesome sites. I did not care for the food though. A home made sandwich would have been better. The place was not particularly clean and the service was bad. Not to mention the buffet that consisted of food that had been out there too long, was cold and tasted awful!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Our guide seemed new at his job and was not very knowledgeable. The bus used for the tour was not very comfortable and could have been better. Places covered by this tour are good and there were just two of us that day for the tour so it was kind of private tour for us! However, silk factory tour can be avoided and was not necessary and it was mainly a "sales" visit. Lunch provided was OK.

Hui Yen L
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Good itinerary. Tour guide didn't bring us to Pearl Market as mentioned in the tour details on the Viator website, but it was fine for me to skip the Pearl Market as I was tired by the end of this fulfilling heritage tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

We absolutely loved our tour! We actually did the Great Wall tour the next day. We were so lucky to even have the same guide both days. He was absolutely wonderful!!!! He knew so much wonderful information and really made sure we had a successful tour! We were in Beijing for 2.5 days and we took your tours both days and it was definitely the right thing to do.

Linda M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Tiananmen Square simply immense and imposing, although Forbidden City involves a demanding 4 hour walk. Excellent knowledgeable, English-speaking guide, very enlightening insight into ancient Chinese architecture & cultures. Because of tiredness, cut tour short and didn't see Temple of Heaven. Too much in one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The tour guide was simply a great guy. He went out of his way to help me get home when I needed to leave early. He was informative, funny, and honest. We went to two tourist traps, a pearl and a silk factory, which were huge wastes of time, time that could have been much better spent at the expansive Summer Palace. Sightseeing was a bit rushed too.

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message