4.5 star rating: Recommended 146 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 146 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The guide was really knowledgable and entertaining, a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Overall the trip was worth the money. It was a good introduction to Beijing, especially for someone who has never been there before. However, the tour was rushed at the end. We only spent about 40 minutes (there was only 2 of us on the tour) at The Summer Palace. This place is so huge, a full day doesn't even do it justice (I did go back). Also, the Temple of Heaven was rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

I ended up being the only one so it was an all day private tour. All 4 sites were very cool and the tour gives you plenty of time to take it all in and take plenty of pictures. I was also taken to 2 factories, one that shows how the local silk is made and the other for fresh water pearls; beware it it definitely a ploy to get you to buy stuff. I ended it buying a few things and moved on. Definitely a good trip to see most of the main sites in Beijing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

As usual, fantastic tour with energetic and bright tour guide...i've done Viator tours of all types in Paris, Normandy, Milan, Rome/Vatican City and Berlin and have never been disappointed! The ONLY criticism in the tours in China is when your are taken on side visitsto so called "silk and jade factories", where you are basically turned over to high-pressure sales folks. The real tours are absolutely worth it...you just have to grin and bear the other part.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Guide very very knowledgable and friendly. Arranged for us to not wait in queues, and showed other areas of city not outlined.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Good tour to do if you want to see all of the important tourist attractions in one day. Again we were taken to a pearl factory and some other unannounced shopping stops which annoyed me and the other 7 people on our tour. Lunch was mediocre. The sights were beautiful, but our tour guide Jackie had a very strong accent and was difficult for us to understand at times.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Great tour guide, one of the best we have had and awesome sites. I did not care for the food though. A home made sandwich would have been better. The place was not particularly clean and the service was bad. Not to mention the buffet that consisted of food that had been out there too long, was cold and tasted awful!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Our guide seemed new at his job and was not very knowledgeable. The bus used for the tour was not very comfortable and could have been better. Places covered by this tour are good and there were just two of us that day for the tour so it was kind of private tour for us! However, silk factory tour can be avoided and was not necessary and it was mainly a "sales" visit. Lunch provided was OK.

Hui Yen L
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Good itinerary. Tour guide didn't bring us to Pearl Market as mentioned in the tour details on the Viator website, but it was fine for me to skip the Pearl Market as I was tired by the end of this fulfilling heritage tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

We absolutely loved our tour! We actually did the Great Wall tour the next day. We were so lucky to even have the same guide both days. He was absolutely wonderful!!!! He knew so much wonderful information and really made sure we had a successful tour! We were in Beijing for 2.5 days and we took your tours both days and it was definitely the right thing to do.

Linda M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Tiananmen Square simply immense and imposing, although Forbidden City involves a demanding 4 hour walk. Excellent knowledgeable, English-speaking guide, very enlightening insight into ancient Chinese architecture & cultures. Because of tiredness, cut tour short and didn't see Temple of Heaven. Too much in one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The tour guide was simply a great guy. He went out of his way to help me get home when I needed to leave early. He was informative, funny, and honest. We went to two tourist traps, a pearl and a silk factory, which were huge wastes of time, time that could have been much better spent at the expansive Summer Palace. Sightseeing was a bit rushed too.

Derek D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

Informative, punctual, and enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2007

We had a really great day and saw so much! Our guide was really wonderful and so well informed, we learned a lot of history. Our vegetarian lunch was spot on. I'd highly recommend this tour.

Ramon M
Dominican Republic

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Our tour guide was THE BEST! Great places to visit.

Tamara J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

It's all of what you need to see in Beijing in one compact day, it was just great. Just would like to say a special thanks to our guide and the team - it was well organised and executed.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This was a really nice trip. Our tour guide was good and was quite knowledgeable about all of the sites. The tour did seem a bit long, or perhaps it was because I was exhausted from seeing the Great Wall the day before. Lunch was good but I would have preferred a more modern restaurant with Western-style bathroom facilities instead of the typical Chinese toilets.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Positives: we had a really fun tour guide who provided a lot of context for the sites we were seeing. We were able to avoid some lines because he was able to shepherd us through check-points, etc.
Negatives: a significant amount of time was spent in high pressure shopping situations. This tour would be much more enjoyable if those stops were eliminated and you were given more time at the sites to do some exploring. My suggestion is to pay the extra money for a private tour that gives you more flexibility.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Victoria/Fang Fang was a great guide and we had a wonderful time at the various sites on this tour. There were issues, however. The van was very cramped and small, and they overbooked the seats, which mean Victoria had to sit on a stool--very unsafe! The lunch place they took us to was quite awful and very unsanitary. We had to wait 15-20 minutes for the restaurant to produce plates and utensils and when they did, the dishes were covered in sudsy water and didn't seem very clean. We were also taken to two shopping areas, one in the morning and one in the afternoon, and while this may be unavoidable in Beijing tours, we paid for a tour, not to be taken to shops for the tour company to get kickbacks from, right?

Margaret K
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Beijing and the Forbidden City are a must to see. Our guide had very good English and we enjoyed seeing so much history even if it was very cold. Be aware that this tour has a fair bit of walking and there are also many thousands of Chinese doing their pilgrimage to these places. Felt very secure in having a tour guide tell us the history and direct us to the best spots. The only disappointment was the unappetising cold, greasy buffet lunch but the beer was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The visited places were amazing and I enjoyed the time spent. The only thing I didn't like was the time spent in summer palace, that had so many interesting things to see and do, specially on a Sunday sunny afternoon. In instead, we had to visit a boring factory with a lot of expensive and useless things. The lunch was horrible. Food too oily and a poor service. Be carefull. I had trouble during the night because of that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a good tour to see the main attractions of Beijing in one day. We were collected from our hotel at 0730 and went straight to Tiananmen Square. Our guide Jackie was very informative, at times too informative and a little tricky to understand. It was also freezing cold and it would have been nice to do more talking while walking to keep warm rather than standing and listening. We visited Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace and the Temple of Heaven, however, at the Temple of Heaven Jackie received a call to collect his daughter from school and I felt our tour was cut short as we did not visit the art gallery. We also visited a silk factory, pearl market and tea house none of which were in the itinerary. While each additional visit was interesting, it was clear the intention was for us to purchase souvenirs. My main criticism was the lunch; unfortunately the food was very poor quality and all cold (although presumably it was hot at some point). Overall the tour was good, but by no means the best I have experienced.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This was a great way to see the highlights of Beijing that we wanted to see - especially Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. We weren't even aware of the Summer Palace, and that was a beautiful place that we're very glad to have seen. Our guide was very informative (too much, at times), although a little hard to understand due to a strong accent. The part that they don't tell you about is that you also visit a silk factory and a pearl shop, in which the people want you to buy, buy, buy! Unfortunately, some of the other travellers in our group were interested in buying and the rest of us had to wait around for them to finish shopping. Other than that, this tour was worth doing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour guide, service is very good. We did not like being taken to places like pearl farm/shop and other places to have the hard sell to purchase items.

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message