Insider's Guide to Beijing

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 131 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 131 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Tamara J
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2007

It's all of what you need to see in Beijing in one compact day, it was just great. Just would like to say a special thanks to our guide and the team - it was well organised and executed.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This was a really nice trip. Our tour guide was good and was quite knowledgeable about all of the sites. The tour did seem a bit long, or perhaps it was because I was exhausted from seeing the Great Wall the day before. Lunch was good but I would have preferred a more modern restaurant with Western-style bathroom facilities instead of the typical Chinese toilets.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Positives: we had a really fun tour guide who provided a lot of context for the sites we were seeing. We were able to avoid some lines because he was able to shepherd us through check-points, etc.
Negatives: a significant amount of time was spent in high pressure shopping situations. This tour would be much more enjoyable if those stops were eliminated and you were given more time at the sites to do some exploring. My suggestion is to pay the extra money for a private tour that gives you more flexibility.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Victoria/Fang Fang was a great guide and we had a wonderful time at the various sites on this tour. There were issues, however. The van was very cramped and small, and they overbooked the seats, which mean Victoria had to sit on a stool--very unsafe! The lunch place they took us to was quite awful and very unsanitary. We had to wait 15-20 minutes for the restaurant to produce plates and utensils and when they did, the dishes were covered in sudsy water and didn't seem very clean. We were also taken to two shopping areas, one in the morning and one in the afternoon, and while this may be unavoidable in Beijing tours, we paid for a tour, not to be taken to shops for the tour company to get kickbacks from, right?

Margaret K
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Beijing and the Forbidden City are a must to see. Our guide had very good English and we enjoyed seeing so much history even if it was very cold. Be aware that this tour has a fair bit of walking and there are also many thousands of Chinese doing their pilgrimage to these places. Felt very secure in having a tour guide tell us the history and direct us to the best spots. The only disappointment was the unappetising cold, greasy buffet lunch but the beer was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The visited places were amazing and I enjoyed the time spent. The only thing I didn't like was the time spent in summer palace, that had so many interesting things to see and do, specially on a Sunday sunny afternoon. In instead, we had to visit a boring factory with a lot of expensive and useless things. The lunch was horrible. Food too oily and a poor service. Be carefull. I had trouble during the night because of that.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a good tour to see the main attractions of Beijing in one day. We were collected from our hotel at 0730 and went straight to Tiananmen Square. Our guide Jackie was very informative, at times too informative and a little tricky to understand. It was also freezing cold and it would have been nice to do more talking while walking to keep warm rather than standing and listening. We visited Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace and the Temple of Heaven, however, at the Temple of Heaven Jackie received a call to collect his daughter from school and I felt our tour was cut short as we did not visit the art gallery. We also visited a silk factory, pearl market and tea house none of which were in the itinerary. While each additional visit was interesting, it was clear the intention was for us to purchase souvenirs. My main criticism was the lunch; unfortunately the food was very poor quality and all cold (although presumably it was hot at some point). Overall the tour was good, but by no means the best I have experienced.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This was a great way to see the highlights of Beijing that we wanted to see - especially Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. We weren't even aware of the Summer Palace, and that was a beautiful place that we're very glad to have seen. Our guide was very informative (too much, at times), although a little hard to understand due to a strong accent. The part that they don't tell you about is that you also visit a silk factory and a pearl shop, in which the people want you to buy, buy, buy! Unfortunately, some of the other travellers in our group were interested in buying and the rest of us had to wait around for them to finish shopping. Other than that, this tour was worth doing.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour guide, service is very good. We did not like being taken to places like pearl farm/shop and other places to have the hard sell to purchase items.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good tour for forbidden city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I enjoyed the tour, but it was very difficult to understand our guide Cynthia. We also spent too much time at the silk and pearl stores. Cynthia was selling us a bit too hard on the merchandise. It was a little uncomfortable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Much was enjoyable, but the lunch was very disappointing as the restauant was not very clean.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

it was ok, but too many stops at factories.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

This tour tried to accomplish too much in one day. The sights were quite amazing, and a must see while in Beijing. However, in order to fit everything in the pace of the tour was very fast. There really wasn't even 5-10 minutes in any one location to walk around on our own and enjoy the sights. On top of the sights listed, we also visited a silk factory, a pearl factory, and had lunch. It would have been nice to visit less places but spend more time in each.

Dave
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Lots of walking between the bus rides but good to see the sights, some alone time in the Forbidden city would have been nice, it was a bit rushed but our guide was a friendly chap and wanted to show us as mush as possible.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

I originally was going to give this trip 4 stars, but I found out throughout others that I met while in Beijing, some of the information I epwas given apwas false. Our guide spoke fairly good English, enough that we could understand the majority what she said. I did appreciate that the guide called our room to confirm pick up time and place. This was very helpful.

Now, some of the information that she told is that was not true. We were shown Chairman Mao's tomb in Tienman Square, but tools we could not go in as it is open only anfewntimes a year. not true. Found out you can go in at anytime between the hours of 9-5 during the week. At the Summer Palace, we just walked around and were give history of the area, why it was made, when the Emperors or Empress would come down. I we did not go into any of the structures except when we went over the bridge to the island. Cme to finding, you can go into the other structures and climb up and look out onto the whole area view from the tip of the hill. The tour also stated that we would see the Jade Factory. Not the case, we ended up at a Government run Silk and Pearl "factory" wich really were places that demonstrated the process then try to pressure into buying. I did enjoy learning about hiw silk and pearls are made, but I don't enjoy the pressure to purchase.

I expect that when I pay for a tour, I get the full tour with a knoweldgeable guide. I do not appreciate not being given the opportunity to see everything. Though I did get a good history, I would have liked to experience the others parts. I will not be back to Beijing, so will not have the opportunity again,

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Good tour but, guide needs better english pronunciation.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Pretty unimpressed. We spent a lot of time rushing through the things we paid to see, and got stuck in tourist traps where they tried to milk us.

I booked two tours with this company and feel like those two days are gone forever

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Amazing sites. Only 4 on the tour - 3 in our party. Had Cynthia again - rude. Literally had us running from one site to another. Couldnt stop for souveniers, nothing. How does she cope with a tour of 10 or more. Annoying. Detracted from amazing sites

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour started late but blamed it to the traffic and my pick up time was running late so i was worried that my tour guide forgot about me because he did not call but instead I have to call him.
The tour was very informative but my tour guide didn't give us time to take pictures as much as we can because he was in a hurry to finish the tour.
The price of the tour is a litlle bit pricey compared to the local tours.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

For this tour it would actually be quicker to do yourself as they bring you to other places that are not described, we actually left the tour early, if you have a full day then its worth doing but if you only want to do it in a few hours then your better off doing it by yourself.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2013

The Guide was great. I was the only person on the tour, however as with all tours in the region it was spolied by the visits to the Silk Factory, Pearl Factory and the attempted visit to the "Tea Tasting". Being the only person on this tour I didnt want to see any of them but was forced to go along as the guides get commision on the sales. The actual tour part was informative and enjoyable however the 3 hours or so of diversions would have been better spent enjpying some of Beijings other sites which i would have paid a few dollars more for.

Mazza
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

This should have been a memorable day - guide was amusing and lunch was good - however THREE factory visits was TOO MUCH. I paid for the sights and NOT a visit to a factory. Time wasted at the factories detracted considerably from time we should have spent at these glorious sights. We were positively rushed through Summer Palace - such a shame! Be warned.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Trip started early, but ended at 4pm. We had to do our own exploration after 5pm. So if the trip ended around 6pm-7pm, it would have been more convenient.

From USD $ 82.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message