Insider's Guide to Beijing

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 147 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

William S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Outstanding.

David C New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This trip was amazing, my husband and I highly recommend it. We were sole tourists, which was a shame because it is always nice to meet other people but the tour guide was friendly and very informative. Our only negative comment was that we felt that the tour guide must be on commission with the various vendors, as we were left to the mercy of the shop assistance badgering. This was a shame and I encourage other tourists to be prepared for this, but overall we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this tour to everyone! NOBODY should visit China and not do this tour!

Signe P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

The guide was FANTASTIC and had a wonderful sense of humor! The sights were amazing, and the company and travel were perfect.

Charles C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

What a fantastic tour!

Daniel S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The tour group of 5 was intimate and friendly, the air conditioned bus was roomy with such a small group, our tour guide knew his history. Could have spent less time at the Jade Factory store, Forbidden City gift shop and government tourist store attached to where we ate lunch but overall it was a great experience and a great value.

Richard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Everything worked perfectly. Bus was on time, clean and comfortable. The tour guide spoke excellent English and knew his subject well. Also pointed out things other than the tour features. I would certainly book again on a future trip to China.

MEGAN J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This trip was fantastic. The adventure to both Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall was breathtaking. The experience was made so much better for the excellent local guide. An absolute definite if you're ever in these parts.

Lorelei T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great tour and very informative. Our tour guide Jackie was the best :

Lorelei T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The best

Ryan D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Booked tour last minute, was contacted right away by our guide Cynthia. Very knowledgeable and covers a lot of information, was lucky to be the only party booked so more one on one time to do whatever. Had a couple stops at silk shop, jade shop and tea shop - all did a presentation and sales pitch

jaws02

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour covering several of the attactions one could expect in a 1 day tour.

Alan A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very well organised. Very friendly tour guide Victoria. Just slightly frustrated by being taken into a number of places under the guise of learning about local arts where there was pressure on us to buy goods.

Corey Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour and guide (Jackie).

eileen b

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Rex L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was very good except for the whingeing toddler
Too many shopping places visited

Caitlin K

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Cynthia, my tour guide, was fantastic. She made sure everything was covered and was fun to spend the day with! I had a terrible cold while I was in Beijing, so Cynthia tailored the tour to suit how I was feeling on the day, which was much appreciated.

Rebecca B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great for seeing the essentials in Beijing.

Jacqueline O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was really good but there were things I wasn't prepared for that I would omit ie I didn't realise we were stopping to shop for so long at the mall which is mainly silk items - although interesting I would rather have had more time at the Great Wall and to take pictures rather than be rushed about

Shekhar

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The best tour in Beijing! We absolutely loved the destinations and the tour guide was excellent. We were very well taken care of. As it was an off peak season for tourism in Beijing, the tour guide (with our permission) made some small changes to the itinerary to make the tour more fun and exciting.

Hailee W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Everything was great me and my best friend THOROUGHLY enjoyed our tour ... My only complaint is that the tour guide..as sweet as she was her Chinese accent is just way too hard to hear through so some of the information that she was giving us was lost on us just due to the fact that we couldn't understand her.. she seemed to get confused if she was off of her memorized English script of what we were looking at so it was probably helpful and I'm sure informative but because we could not truly understand her it was very hard to truly grasp all the information that we were being told...all in all I still had an amazing time

Deborah F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide team (driver and guide) were fabulous! Informative, entertaining and very PROFESSIONAL. This tour offers participants a very full day - over 8 hrs... as driving around in Beijing can be quite a "trip" in itself some days.
My only recommendation was to enhance the lunch, l rated it as meager ...at best.

Yvonne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept us moving along to get through the long day but ensured we were fully informed about each site. Loved the day.

Peter B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie, our guide was excellent and the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall were amazing. Jackie's indepth knowledge of the Forbidden City was very much appreciated and I don't think we could have done this attraction by ourselves. Could have spent more time at the Great Wall and less time shopping. We were expecting one stop at the Jade factory but the Tea Shop and Silk Factory weren't mentioned in the itinerary when we booked. Overall, though a fantastic day if you want to truly explore these amazing icons.

Sally H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Viator is a broker who coordinates with the local travel agencies to arrange the tour. The tour company locally in Beijing. Based on the instructions after purchasing the tour via Viator, you are to contact the local tour agency to arrange for pick up at your hotel. They weren't very responsive initially when my friend and i attempted to contact them. I ended up making an international phone call to Beijing to confirm the pickup arrangement. The day before the tour we did receive an email confirmation finally; in addition, the tour guide also left a message at my hotel room the night before to confirm.

The tour itself was great. Our guide's name was Jacky Lee. His english was great and he had alot of knowledge in those historic attractions and was really informative. We ended up purchasing another day tour with Jacky the next day to see some other attractions in Beijing (summer palace, etc). I do have to warn anyone who's contemplating on signing up for the tour, to be aware of the souvenir shops that they take you to. THEY ARE TRAPS FOR TOURISTS. We were taken to the following places:

-Silk Gallery: this was supposed to be a potty stop and not supposed to be part of the tour, but we ended up at the merchandise area and bought a bunch of embroideries.
-Longdi Jade Factory: also our stop for lunch. Food was horrible in my opinion. This place totally is catered for foreigners as i saw not a single local there). If you're to purchase jades there, paying anything more than half of the retail price would be a rip off. Their true value is probably at 1/3 of the retail price.
-Dr. Tea: not part of the itinerary but Jacky took it upon himself to make another stop here. The tea ceremony was interesting, but the retail store is a rip off. Just be careful and not to get suckered into buying like we did.

Laura S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square was wonderful! We had a great day where we were shown the major sights of the city plus a few extras like the silk and jade factories. I loved that all the entrance fees were included in the tour price. Also, the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was greatly appreciated. I was slightly disappointed in the lunch, but that wasn't the main attraction, so I didn't dwell on it. Over all I would highly recommend this tour to a friend!

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message