Insider's Guide to Beijing

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 157 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Shekhar

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The best tour in Beijing! We absolutely loved the destinations and the tour guide was excellent. We were very well taken care of. As it was an off peak season for tourism in Beijing, the tour guide (with our permission) made some small changes to the itinerary to make the tour more fun and exciting.

Hailee W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Everything was great me and my best friend THOROUGHLY enjoyed our tour ... My only complaint is that the tour guide..as sweet as she was her Chinese accent is just way too hard to hear through so some of the information that she was giving us was lost on us just due to the fact that we couldn't understand her.. she seemed to get confused if she was off of her memorized English script of what we were looking at so it was probably helpful and I'm sure informative but because we could not truly understand her it was very hard to truly grasp all the information that we were being told...all in all I still had an amazing time

Deborah F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide team (driver and guide) were fabulous! Informative, entertaining and very PROFESSIONAL. This tour offers participants a very full day - over 8 hrs... as driving around in Beijing can be quite a "trip" in itself some days.
My only recommendation was to enhance the lunch, l rated it as meager ...at best.

Yvonne C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept us moving along to get through the long day but ensured we were fully informed about each site. Loved the day.

Peter B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie, our guide was excellent and the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall were amazing. Jackie's indepth knowledge of the Forbidden City was very much appreciated and I don't think we could have done this attraction by ourselves. Could have spent more time at the Great Wall and less time shopping. We were expecting one stop at the Jade factory but the Tea Shop and Silk Factory weren't mentioned in the itinerary when we booked. Overall, though a fantastic day if you want to truly explore these amazing icons.

Sally H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Viator is a broker who coordinates with the local travel agencies to arrange the tour. The tour company locally in Beijing. Based on the instructions after purchasing the tour via Viator, you are to contact the local tour agency to arrange for pick up at your hotel. They weren't very responsive initially when my friend and i attempted to contact them. I ended up making an international phone call to Beijing to confirm the pickup arrangement. The day before the tour we did receive an email confirmation finally; in addition, the tour guide also left a message at my hotel room the night before to confirm.

The tour itself was great. Our guide's name was Jacky Lee. His english was great and he had alot of knowledge in those historic attractions and was really informative. We ended up purchasing another day tour with Jacky the next day to see some other attractions in Beijing (summer palace, etc). I do have to warn anyone who's contemplating on signing up for the tour, to be aware of the souvenir shops that they take you to. THEY ARE TRAPS FOR TOURISTS. We were taken to the following places:

-Silk Gallery: this was supposed to be a potty stop and not supposed to be part of the tour, but we ended up at the merchandise area and bought a bunch of embroideries.
-Longdi Jade Factory: also our stop for lunch. Food was horrible in my opinion. This place totally is catered for foreigners as i saw not a single local there). If you're to purchase jades there, paying anything more than half of the retail price would be a rip off. Their true value is probably at 1/3 of the retail price.
-Dr. Tea: not part of the itinerary but Jacky took it upon himself to make another stop here. The tea ceremony was interesting, but the retail store is a rip off. Just be careful and not to get suckered into buying like we did.

Laura S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square was wonderful! We had a great day where we were shown the major sights of the city plus a few extras like the silk and jade factories. I loved that all the entrance fees were included in the tour price. Also, the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was greatly appreciated. I was slightly disappointed in the lunch, but that wasn't the main attraction, so I didn't dwell on it. Over all I would highly recommend this tour to a friend!

keith

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I was a little surprised that the tour occured as there were only two guests. Jackie Li was very good as a guide - knowledgeable and tried to make sure that we absorbed at least some of the information! Was a long day (7am to 6pm) but the sights were well worth it. Personally I could have done with less of the shopping adventures (silk shop, jade shop and tea house) but I can understand that some tourists would really like this. Overall - great tour, well worthwhile, saw some Beijing Highlights (hard work walking up the wall but again well worthwhile). Would definitely recommend.

haruna1212

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Since I was the only one for this tour, I got a personal tour guide and a driver! The tour guide was very nice and friendly. Because I was the only one, we were able to move quick and got to do more than usual...she was able to show me the Olympic Stadium from a few blocks away which was good enough for me to take a nice photo, and took me to massage. They were very flexible... I wanted to walk around the Great Wall for 30 minutes, so she gave me time as I wished.
The only negative thing is that they take you to silk factory, jade factory, and tea house, which I believe the tour guide and driver get commissions. Of course, the tour guide tried to persuade me to purchase things. I felt bad at the end, so I did end up overpriced Chinese tea. (They sell the exact same tea at 1/5 of the price somewhere else)

Andrej G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Guide give us just basic imformations and he was not active like other guides on our Beijing tours. Very hot day, but sights are fantastic and worth see. Good tour.

Denise H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip covered the major sites that we wanted to look at, however, we were annoyed at the number of side trips included that were not on the itinerary on the internet. e.g. Silk Market, Jade Market and Tea Ceremony. Would have preferred to spend all of this extra time at the Forbidden City

Tom V

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Overall, a good tour if you have limited time in Beijing. It's nice having a driver to take you to the sites, and a guide who can point out interesting facts. You have plenty of time at the Wall, but the Forbidden City might be a bit rushed. The Jade Factory / Tea Shop are ok, and you will get hassled to buy something. Lunch was good.

Good value for the money, but again, only if you have limited time in Beijing.

Michele

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Tour was great, our guide was informative and funny. The Great Wall was amazing (must go again in spring time). Forbidden city and Tiananmen Square was an experience. No waiting in lines for passes, transport or security. Went to a silk house and tea house, interesting, but they try to sell things.

Vickramjit S G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The Great Wall was the highlight and the tour overall was good. We would have liked more time understanding the significance of Tiananmen Square though. Overall a good way to see everything, well top 3 main sights if you only have one day.

Sirkka-Liisa M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

I had the tour in early December and was lucky, because the day was sunny and not so windy, but cold. I had a excellend guide Jason who answered all the quetions I could ask. I loved the visit to the Badalling Wall. I felt the history while climbing the wall and hearing the chinese talk from the speackers. That part I recommede highly.
Tianamen square and the forbidden city were interested but I also was a little pit dissapointed because you can see the houses only outside. We also visited the jade factory and store and that was very lihghtning to know about the jade industry and work. They can explain so well and shortly about it all. Last visit was to the silk factory, where I learned how the silk is made. Very efficient factory and the store.

Maria V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE and GRACEFUL.
WE TOOK THE VIATOR TOUR WHILE OTHER OF OUR FELLOW CRUISERS TOOK A SIMILAR TOUR BOOKING THROUGH THE CRUISE SHIP AT TWICE THE PRICE BUT COMPARING NOTES AFTER THE FACT, OUR EXPERIENCES WERE COMPARABLE.
I WILL DEFINITELY CHECK VIATOR FIRST.

TATYANA C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We enjoyed our tour. The tour guide was very good and very knowledgable helped us learn lots of facts from Chineese history. I wish there were less commercial involvement with sales pich but I guess this is inevitable in China.

Rukawa R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We went with Cherry, she is a wonderful guide. She knows better spot to take picture.

JAMES M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

VERY INTRESTING TRIP VERY PLEASED

John P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The tour was excellent and the Guide gave us plently of information on what we were seeing. Also he took some photos of both of us which was great. His English was good It was a long day and very cold but most enjoyable. John and Judy australia

Thuy

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A great way to see the highlights in one day!

Sari L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

There were supposed to be 5 people on this tour but 3 canceled so it ended up being just my husband and me! Our guide Tony spoke English fluently and was very knowledgeable! We didn't end up going to Badaling because it was a Sunday and a lot of people would be there so we went to a quieter part of the Great Wall instead although it was steeper to climb. We were given a choice and chose this one, the right choice I think but there was still quite a lot of people there! Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square were also great places to visit but be warned as there is about 4km worth of walking on this part. If you tire easily, especially after climbing the Great Wall, you might want to think about saving this visit for another day. We visited a jade, silk and cloisonne gallery which was interesting. No pressure to buy at all but we did grab some nice souvenirs!

Caroline S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Had 1 day free in Beijing at the end of a work trip, this was a great way to see a few of the sights. The guide, Thomas, was very polite and knowledgeable, and the tour went ahead even though there were only 3 people. I definitely recommend this tour!

Teresa R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The trip was a great experience, and I never worried that I would not be taken care of. My tour guide Thomas called the day prior to confirm pickup, and he was prompt to meet me in the lobby. He spoke very good English and gave great information the entire time. The only drawback to the trip was the lunch, which was obviously an agreement with the "restaurant" to feed us mass-produced and typical Chinese food then leave us in the shops to spend money for about 30 minutes. This and stopping at the jade and silk manufacturers took extra time and were obviously agreements to bring tourists in to buy souvenirs. I'd have preferred to stick with just the sights I wanted to see. Otherwise, a great tour and well worth the money paid!

Carla S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic sights, not to be missed when going to Beijing. We were only 3 people on this trip in a bus for about 20, so that part was comfortable. The guide (Jacky) gave us a lot of historical information but spoke English with a very strong accent so it was not always easy to understand him fully. He had the good idea to visit the wall in the afternoon so there were not many too people. Unfortuanately it was a very cloudy day so the views were very limited.The entire day was great up until the end where the driver wanted to drop me somewhere 10 minutes walking from the hotel which I refused because I did not have a clue were I was. This made him really p....d off so he drove like a madman for the rest of the way complaining loudly in Chinese to the guide. This was extremely rude and uncomfortable for me.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message