• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 111 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 111 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

What a fantastic tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The tour group of 5 was intimate and friendly, the air conditioned bus was roomy with such a small group, our tour guide knew his history. Could have spent less time at the Jade Factory store, Forbidden City gift shop and government tourist store attached to where we ate lunch but overall it was a great experience and a great value.

Richard C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Everything worked perfectly. Bus was on time, clean and comfortable. The tour guide spoke excellent English and knew his subject well. Also pointed out things other than the tour features. I would certainly book again on a future trip to China.

MEGAN J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This trip was fantastic. The adventure to both Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall was breathtaking. The experience was made so much better for the excellent local guide. An absolute definite if you're ever in these parts.

Peter B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie, our guide was excellent and the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall were amazing. Jackie's indepth knowledge of the Forbidden City was very much appreciated and I don't think we could have done this attraction by ourselves. Could have spent more time at the Great Wall and less time shopping. We were expecting one stop at the Jade factory but the Tea Shop and Silk Factory weren't mentioned in the itinerary when we booked. Overall, though a fantastic day if you want to truly explore these amazing icons.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Viator is a broker who coordinates with the local travel agencies to arrange the tour. The tour company locally in Beijing. Based on the instructions after purchasing the tour via Viator, you are to contact the local tour agency to arrange for pick up at your hotel. They weren't very responsive initially when my friend and i attempted to contact them. I ended up making an international phone call to Beijing to confirm the pickup arrangement. The day before the tour we did receive an email confirmation finally; in addition, the tour guide also left a message at my hotel room the night before to confirm.

The tour itself was great. Our guide's name was Jacky Lee. His english was great and he had alot of knowledge in those historic attractions and was really informative. We ended up purchasing another day tour with Jacky the next day to see some other attractions in Beijing (summer palace, etc). I do have to warn anyone who's contemplating on signing up for the tour, to be aware of the souvenir shops that they take you to. THEY ARE TRAPS FOR TOURISTS. We were taken to the following places:

-Silk Gallery: this was supposed to be a potty stop and not supposed to be part of the tour, but we ended up at the merchandise area and bought a bunch of embroideries.
-Longdi Jade Factory: also our stop for lunch. Food was horrible in my opinion. This place totally is catered for foreigners as i saw not a single local there). If you're to purchase jades there, paying anything more than half of the retail price would be a rip off. Their true value is probably at 1/3 of the retail price.
-Dr. Tea: not part of the itinerary but Jacky took it upon himself to make another stop here. The tea ceremony was interesting, but the retail store is a rip off. Just be careful and not to get suckered into buying like we did.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square was wonderful! We had a great day where we were shown the major sights of the city plus a few extras like the silk and jade factories. I loved that all the entrance fees were included in the tour price. Also, the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was greatly appreciated. I was slightly disappointed in the lunch, but that wasn't the main attraction, so I didn't dwell on it. Over all I would highly recommend this tour to a friend!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I was a little surprised that the tour occured as there were only two guests. Jackie Li was very good as a guide - knowledgeable and tried to make sure that we absorbed at least some of the information! Was a long day (7am to 6pm) but the sights were well worth it. Personally I could have done with less of the shopping adventures (silk shop, jade shop and tea house) but I can understand that some tourists would really like this. Overall - great tour, well worthwhile, saw some Beijing Highlights (hard work walking up the wall but again well worthwhile). Would definitely recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Since I was the only one for this tour, I got a personal tour guide and a driver! The tour guide was very nice and friendly. Because I was the only one, we were able to move quick and got to do more than usual...she was able to show me the Olympic Stadium from a few blocks away which was good enough for me to take a nice photo, and took me to massage. They were very flexible... I wanted to walk around the Great Wall for 30 minutes, so she gave me time as I wished.
The only negative thing is that they take you to silk factory, jade factory, and tea house, which I believe the tour guide and driver get commissions. Of course, the tour guide tried to persuade me to purchase things. I felt bad at the end, so I did end up overpriced Chinese tea. (They sell the exact same tea at 1/5 of the price somewhere else)

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Guide give us just basic imformations and he was not active like other guides on our Beijing tours. Very hot day, but sights are fantastic and worth see. Good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The trip covered the major sites that we wanted to look at, however, we were annoyed at the number of side trips included that were not on the itinerary on the internet. e.g. Silk Market, Jade Market and Tea Ceremony. Would have preferred to spend all of this extra time at the Forbidden City

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Overall, a good tour if you have limited time in Beijing. It's nice having a driver to take you to the sites, and a guide who can point out interesting facts. You have plenty of time at the Wall, but the Forbidden City might be a bit rushed. The Jade Factory / Tea Shop are ok, and you will get hassled to buy something. Lunch was good.

Good value for the money, but again, only if you have limited time in Beijing.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Tour was great, our guide was informative and funny. The Great Wall was amazing (must go again in spring time). Forbidden city and Tiananmen Square was an experience. No waiting in lines for passes, transport or security. Went to a silk house and tea house, interesting, but they try to sell things.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The Great Wall was the highlight and the tour overall was good. We would have liked more time understanding the significance of Tiananmen Square though. Overall a good way to see everything, well top 3 main sights if you only have one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

I had the tour in early December and was lucky, because the day was sunny and not so windy, but cold. I had a excellend guide Jason who answered all the quetions I could ask. I loved the visit to the Badalling Wall. I felt the history while climbing the wall and hearing the chinese talk from the speackers. That part I recommede highly.
Tianamen square and the forbidden city were interested but I also was a little pit dissapointed because you can see the houses only outside. We also visited the jade factory and store and that was very lihghtning to know about the jade industry and work. They can explain so well and shortly about it all. Last visit was to the silk factory, where I learned how the silk is made. Very efficient factory and the store.

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message