4.5 star rating: Recommended 137 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Beijing, China
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 137 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We went with Cherry, she is a wonderful guide. She knows better spot to take picture.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

VERY INTRESTING TRIP VERY PLEASED

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The tour was excellent and the Guide gave us plently of information on what we were seeing. Also he took some photos of both of us which was great. His English was good It was a long day and very cold but most enjoyable. John and Judy australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A great way to see the highlights in one day!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

There were supposed to be 5 people on this tour but 3 canceled so it ended up being just my husband and me! Our guide Tony spoke English fluently and was very knowledgeable! We didn't end up going to Badaling because it was a Sunday and a lot of people would be there so we went to a quieter part of the Great Wall instead although it was steeper to climb. We were given a choice and chose this one, the right choice I think but there was still quite a lot of people there! Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square were also great places to visit but be warned as there is about 4km worth of walking on this part. If you tire easily, especially after climbing the Great Wall, you might want to think about saving this visit for another day. We visited a jade, silk and cloisonne gallery which was interesting. No pressure to buy at all but we did grab some nice souvenirs!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Had 1 day free in Beijing at the end of a work trip, this was a great way to see a few of the sights. The guide, Thomas, was very polite and knowledgeable, and the tour went ahead even though there were only 3 people. I definitely recommend this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The trip was a great experience, and I never worried that I would not be taken care of. My tour guide Thomas called the day prior to confirm pickup, and he was prompt to meet me in the lobby. He spoke very good English and gave great information the entire time. The only drawback to the trip was the lunch, which was obviously an agreement with the "restaurant" to feed us mass-produced and typical Chinese food then leave us in the shops to spend money for about 30 minutes. This and stopping at the jade and silk manufacturers took extra time and were obviously agreements to bring tourists in to buy souvenirs. I'd have preferred to stick with just the sights I wanted to see. Otherwise, a great tour and well worth the money paid!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic sights, not to be missed when going to Beijing. We were only 3 people on this trip in a bus for about 20, so that part was comfortable. The guide (Jacky) gave us a lot of historical information but spoke English with a very strong accent so it was not always easy to understand him fully. He had the good idea to visit the wall in the afternoon so there were not many too people. Unfortuanately it was a very cloudy day so the views were very limited.The entire day was great up until the end where the driver wanted to drop me somewhere 10 minutes walking from the hotel which I refused because I did not have a clue were I was. This made him really p....d off so he drove like a madman for the rest of the way complaining loudly in Chinese to the guide. This was extremely rude and uncomfortable for me.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Very informative guide, would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

This was a good and very efficient tou. Covered the top attractions in Beijing in about 8 hours door to door (pickup at 7:00, drop off at 3:00). I went on a slow day (Monday), so it was just me and another couple but we had a great time regardless. Our tour guide spoke English well, and was knowledgeable about each site. Like other reviewers, I believe he probably worked on commission to some of the stops (ie. the Jade Factor and Silk Factory) but he wasn't pushy at all in terms of trying to get us to purchase souvenirs. It was interesting to see how Jade and Silk are made and a nice break from some of the outdoor stops (since it was cold outside), but when it came to the gallery, I kind of wanted to just skip out, instead of looking through a large section of overpriced knickknacks. Lunch was at the cafe at the Jade or Silk factory (can't remember) and was just okay. Overall, I would recommend it for someone who wants to see some sites in Beijing but doesn't have a lot of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The place we have lunch was very very bad, dirty but the trip was interesting and full

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was a fabulous tour. Thomas was an excellent guide. Only problem was that the driver dropped us off on the side of the road across the street from our hotel!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

I had a good experience and our guide was most helpful.Definetly worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Tour was very interesting. Pickup was on time, though signage at a designated area of hotel would be an improvement. Coach ride was comfortable and driver was prompt and very knowledgeable of surrounding areas. Once at the site, there was an opportunity to buy food. Audio devices give a good personal historical account without the need to listen to a guide or follow a group. Plenty of time for picture taking. Just be sure to be back at the bus at the correct time for departure, and you'll have a great time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

The sites were very enjoyable, but the tour guide was average, as she seemed a bit bored! Regardless, the sites were amazing and the price was reasonable as well.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2008

Yes I recommend your Beijing tour. Good experience to see the city with the help of a local who explains the history and culture of China.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

This was a great trip. It was very informational and not too long. At the Forbidden City I could almost hear the ancient music playing and people walking around. It was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Great.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

Hs
South Africa

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Nice and friendly guide, but many unscheduled stops to encourage souvenir shopping. We stopped at 2 additional stops silk factory and tea factory - which none of our group was aware of it even being part of the itinerary. This caused it to be an extremley long day, and being stuck in traffic for a long time. A great tour to see the hightlights of forbidden city and a section of Great Wall - but make sure before you get on the tour bus that they do not drive you into visit shopping factories that is not included in the itinerary.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The tour guide took us to another point of the Great Wall and not Badaling! According to one of the tourist that had a better view and experience. Not GOOD!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Since it was quite small group, only 4 people including me, and all of us speak same language, I felt I joined "private" tour.
Our guide, Jacky, was quite knowledgeable, but sometimes, he talked too much.
He asked a couple of questions, but he answered his question without waiting for our answers.
But in general, I enjoyed and learned a lot during a day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Aside from the lady guide, there were only three ladies in the whole tour, me, my colleague and one young lady from UK. We were picked up by a comfortable van from our hotel on time and because we are only four passengers (including the guide) it was quite an intimate tour. We spent more time at the Forbidden City and the Tiananmen Square. Because it was a public holiday, the place were so crowded and it is very tough to take photos without being distracted by the crowd who did not care. Our tour includes lunch (which looks like mass produced). We also went to the Jade Factory and Sik Factory and spent about 3 hours in both places in total. The guide just stayed in the sideline when we were in the stores but of course the salespeople tried their very best to convince us to buy. The prices were so steep, there were no local tourists around- only foreign tourists (but that's how they earn). Our last stop was The Great Wall where we stayed for almost 3 hours. This was the highlight of our tour because the place was amazing especially the view from the top. We climbed up to Beacon Tower 9 which was very steep. The place was also crowded but it was a good conclusion of our day tour. All in all, I shall say, it could have been an excellent tour if not for the public holiday. With the transport, the dedicated guide, lunch and entrance fees, the cost is reasonable. But my advise to those planning to go there- check your calendar first and avoid going to these tourist places during Chinese public holidays.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The weather was not willing to cooperate on the day of my tour so the experience was less than it should have been. The guide did her best to make the most of the tour despite the rain.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Tour was great, with a good variety of destinations however the guide was pushy and his english was not great

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message