4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hamdy B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

A must see tour. I can not understand how people go to Beijing without booking this tour! In a short time we saw alot. I have 2 teenagers and I was looking for the most comfortable but sufficient tour. I was not disappointed.I gave the tour man a big tip as his English was excellent and I felt the tour was real value for money. We will always go on similar tours.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent guide and activities very personalized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our guide was wonderful, she gave history to detail and we couldn't have been more pleased. Our flight was delayed and we had to reschedule our tour and Viator handled it without incident.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Outstanding.

David C
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This trip was amazing, my husband and I highly recommend it. We were sole tourists, which was a shame because it is always nice to meet other people but the tour guide was friendly and very informative. Our only negative comment was that we felt that the tour guide must be on commission with the various vendors, as we were left to the mercy of the shop assistance badgering. This was a shame and I encourage other tourists to be prepared for this, but overall we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend this tour to everyone! NOBODY should visit China and not do this tour!

Signe P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

The guide was FANTASTIC and had a wonderful sense of humor! The sights were amazing, and the company and travel were perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

What a fantastic tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2007

The tour group of 5 was intimate and friendly, the air conditioned bus was roomy with such a small group, our tour guide knew his history. Could have spent less time at the Jade Factory store, Forbidden City gift shop and government tourist store attached to where we ate lunch but overall it was a great experience and a great value.

Richard C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

Everything worked perfectly. Bus was on time, clean and comfortable. The tour guide spoke excellent English and knew his subject well. Also pointed out things other than the tour features. I would certainly book again on a future trip to China.

MEGAN J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This trip was fantastic. The adventure to both Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall was breathtaking. The experience was made so much better for the excellent local guide. An absolute definite if you're ever in these parts.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept us moving along to get through the long day but ensured we were fully informed about each site. Loved the day.

Peter B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Jackie, our guide was excellent and the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the Great Wall were amazing. Jackie's indepth knowledge of the Forbidden City was very much appreciated and I don't think we could have done this attraction by ourselves. Could have spent more time at the Great Wall and less time shopping. We were expecting one stop at the Jade factory but the Tea Shop and Silk Factory weren't mentioned in the itinerary when we booked. Overall, though a fantastic day if you want to truly explore these amazing icons.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Viator is a broker who coordinates with the local travel agencies to arrange the tour. The tour company locally in Beijing. Based on the instructions after purchasing the tour via Viator, you are to contact the local tour agency to arrange for pick up at your hotel. They weren't very responsive initially when my friend and i attempted to contact them. I ended up making an international phone call to Beijing to confirm the pickup arrangement. The day before the tour we did receive an email confirmation finally; in addition, the tour guide also left a message at my hotel room the night before to confirm.

The tour itself was great. Our guide's name was Jacky Lee. His english was great and he had alot of knowledge in those historic attractions and was really informative. We ended up purchasing another day tour with Jacky the next day to see some other attractions in Beijing (summer palace, etc). I do have to warn anyone who's contemplating on signing up for the tour, to be aware of the souvenir shops that they take you to. THEY ARE TRAPS FOR TOURISTS. We were taken to the following places:

-Silk Gallery: this was supposed to be a potty stop and not supposed to be part of the tour, but we ended up at the merchandise area and bought a bunch of embroideries.
-Longdi Jade Factory: also our stop for lunch. Food was horrible in my opinion. This place totally is catered for foreigners as i saw not a single local there). If you're to purchase jades there, paying anything more than half of the retail price would be a rip off. Their true value is probably at 1/3 of the retail price.
-Dr. Tea: not part of the itinerary but Jacky took it upon himself to make another stop here. The tea ceremony was interesting, but the retail store is a rip off. Just be careful and not to get suckered into buying like we did.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our tour of Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square was wonderful! We had a great day where we were shown the major sights of the city plus a few extras like the silk and jade factories. I loved that all the entrance fees were included in the tour price. Also, the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was greatly appreciated. I was slightly disappointed in the lunch, but that wasn't the main attraction, so I didn't dwell on it. Over all I would highly recommend this tour to a friend!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I was a little surprised that the tour occured as there were only two guests. Jackie Li was very good as a guide - knowledgeable and tried to make sure that we absorbed at least some of the information! Was a long day (7am to 6pm) but the sights were well worth it. Personally I could have done with less of the shopping adventures (silk shop, jade shop and tea house) but I can understand that some tourists would really like this. Overall - great tour, well worthwhile, saw some Beijing Highlights (hard work walking up the wall but again well worthwhile). Would definitely recommend.

From USD $ 86.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message