4.5 star rating: Recommended 55 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 55 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Excellent Tour + well worth doing. We had Sherry as our guide and she could not do enough for us, showing us the best place to take photos, avoiding the big crowds etc. I think we could have skipped the visit to the Chinese medicine house however everything else was worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Our tour guide, Tony, was excellent -- knowledgeable, friendly and fun. We saw a lot and learned a lot without ever feeling rushed. And Tony made himself available to help us later in our trip. Great experience, terrific guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

My first experience with Viator on the recommendation of a friend was excellent. The guide, driver and bus in Beijing were great and the guide was informative and helpful. I will use Viator next time I travel overseas. Thanks Graham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

This was a very professional and well-led tour. The very small size of our group made it feel like we were being given a private tour. And our guide called our hotel room the night before to introduce herself and confirm pickup times. Nice touch especially when you're on the go. Obviously, these sites are much too large to experience in just a few hours, but we got the highlights. Being led through the Forbidden City is a good thing as it is massive. We also took the Historic Beijing II tour and are glad we did not try to combine everything into one tour. The shopping did not feel forced and we did spend. If you want a tour, however, that just hits historic sites without the shopping experience, you should look around. But this group does a very nicely balanced tour, and the whole experience is very pleasing. We recommend this tour. After taking this one, we feel confident enough to return by ourselves the next time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was good, the guide - Victoria, was fairly knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. The group size was good, only 5 of us. The lacking factor was the lunch - a buffet at 11:15am that was not even warm yet. Nevertheless, even if the buffet had been warm it was still nothing special - this is an area that could do with being worked on.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good tour guide, food was so and so.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Good tour to see in a short time period several highlights of Beijing. However we could spend more time in the different places instead of spending so much time in the shops, Especially at the chinese medical center. Yet, it was interesting to see how silk is made.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Very good comprehensive tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic Tour! The guide was very informative and very well versed in English. My 11 year old daughter found her easy to underdstand. A must do tour whilst in Beijing

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Jason was an excellent tour guide with lots of interesting information. The tour group size was also great (only 5 of us). A very enjoyable day!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very busy day. We did not actually go into Tiananmen but viewed it from across the busy street. Our guide Mr Jackie Lee was very knowledgeable, and very enthusiastically pro-China. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven were jammed but we made the most of it

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Informative tour guide. Spoke descent English. Professional and picked us up on time

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

This was a good tour and the guide, Ming, was excellent. My only criticism is that the Hall of Jewelery, the Hall of Clocks and Watches and Ther Imperial Treasury were not included. I went back later myself to do these.

PALLAVITA SAHA
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

I was the only one on this tour on the particular day and Jackie was really great - he was flexible and was fine with me taking more time than planned at certain places. This tour was also shorter than stated in the itinerary but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Jackie had lots of information and knowledge. Only suggestion would be that we could be given some free time in Forbidden City to wander around and do our own thing.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

FELT A LITTLE RUSHED BUT WAS A VERY
NICE TOUR. RECOMMEND TO GET A
FEEL FOR THE HISTORY OF THE SIGHTS.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

On the whole it was very good but I felt short-changed at Tiananmen Square. We basically walked across it without an commentary or getting to stop to look around. That could have partly been because of the weather which was very, very cold and windy. Thoroughly enjoyed the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven. A little more time to explore on our own would have been nice and less time at the Silk Factory. The buffet was horrible. Thomas, our guide, was very informative and helpful.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The tour of the Forbidden city was great., but make sure that you come back another day to see more of the city, it is to much to take in in just one day. Lunch was just OK, guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Nice to see all those temples and the people going around the square.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was ok, the sights are worth doing. The tour guide Cynthia was pushy to move forward fast and we did not really have time to stay at the sights and did not really see all of the grounds, however, we spent a lot of time at the silk company and at the lunch place. The time was not well spent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was a very long day but it was amazing to see such great, historical sites. Our guide, Jacky, was very nice but perhaps not the best story teller. Despite it being the national holiday we got through the sites with no problems.
Lunch, however, was a disaster. It was absolutely disgusting. Nobody in my group enjoyed it. It was a buffet that seemed like the "western options" part of a Chinese buffet in the US. Soggy fries and something titled "chicken flavor": Whatever that was. I don't believe I;ve ever had such a nasty meal on a tour. Choose a good restaurant and charge more, give people a once in a lifetime experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Since I was the only one in this trip, which was a little scary at first, the day trip became a half day trip. However I was glad that I booked the tour since it was my first time in Beijing. Be prepared to visit 2 companies that want to sell you pearls and silk.

Vard
USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

First off, be advised that the Tienanmen Square part of the tour is a picture from across the street which was disappointing. The guide was very nice but her english wasn't the best so i had a hard time picking up on the history she was trying to explain. Finally, there is nothing relaxed about this tour. It is extremely crowded and you move at a very fast pace.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Jackie Li was our guide for this tour which we completed with one other couple. He willingly shared his detailed knowlegde of all the site's seen and is obviously a very proud Chinaman. Unfortunately, at times, we found his pronounciations of some English words difficult to comprehend, and his practice of giving us his 'orations' then quickly turning to head off to the next point of interest, left very limited opportunities for us to seek clarifications of what he had said and /or to ask questions. That said, both Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are much larger than I had expected and well worth seeing. Both my wife and I found the tour to be most informative.

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern about guide's English skills with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The forbidden palace was a bit of a disapointment as only a few rooms were seen on the tour. The guide was great.

From USD $ 56.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_05

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message