4.5 star rating: Recommended 185 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 185 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a breathtaking experience--literally! I always thought the Giza pyramids were the most impressive from a construction perspective, but the Great Wall is a feat that just doesn't seem possible. The angle of the steps along the wall are much more difficult to navigate than what pictures imply. If you are afraid of heights, make careful consideration which part of the wall you visit. Some sections are much steeper than others. Our guide, Jacky Lee, was so informative, intelligent, helpful and professional in each and every way. And he has a great sense of humor, which made the day even better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Jackie Li was the best tour guide ever!!!! So informative and funny too! We were so lucky to have him to ourselves. Excellent job Mr. Li! I hope to see you again in the future as I learned so much from you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We got Jacky Lee as our tour guide for a second day in a row! Great tour and Tour guide. The next tour we had was in Japan a few days later and we were not fortunate to have someone like Jacky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Since I was the only one on this tour for that day, the tour became a private one. Michael, the English speaking guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The punctuality of starting time at the hotel was commendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Visiting the tombs were good, but getting to see and explore a segment of the Great Wall was amazing! Our guide was wonderful - very knowledgeable and a great photographer to boot. She was kind enough to take pictures of all of us to record this incredible experience. This day was much richer with all of the historical tidbits that was shared by our guide. This tour is very highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Family had a great day, the tour guide was very good and was very informative. I think his name was Jack?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This review must be prefaced with the fact that we (unknowingly) booked our week during the Chinese "weeklong" national celebration, Oct 1-7. That said, that meant 430 MILLION Chinese were traveling not even counting foreign tourist. That was in effect the perfect storm for this and all tours to be basically traffic jammed and miserable, but it was not, and thanks to our tour guide Jackie Lee, aka, Jackie Chan, and his driver, we got to the Ming Tombs, to the Great Wall, to lunch, yes to a few jade and tea shops and back to our hotel without hitting any, repeat any traffic jams as he knew all shortcuts and timings of the locals and how to avoid them all! To put this in perspective, on the road to the Great Wall, the same highway we were on, there have been 2 DAY, not 2 hour back-ups on the highway, so him getting us around without delays, plus his wit and charm and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Oh yea, one more small detail, after we got back to the hotel, I noticed either through my fault or the jade folks, my jade object was broke, although nicely packed. I called Jackie as there was no way I was going to fight the traffic and try and replace it and guess what, even on his busy tour the next day, he went to the factory, got me another, better one, brought it to my hotel and took the other one back and this was after his very long tour day for another group. Fantastic service, great tour guide and driver (amazing) and both made the best possible situation for us out of a potentially catastrophic tour day with all the traffic and congestion and travelers. Finally, the weather that day was absolutely perfect, no clouds, no rain, no pollution and we got to spend it touring the sites and not camped out on the highway, waiting to move another inch an hour as some couple reported to us. Be careful who you choose to take you on this tour, these 2 guys made all the difference in the world and it was a great time, pictures coming when I get them downloaded!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was very well planned. We went to the Julong wall instead. The guide was excellent. It was really nice to have the small group tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Jason speaks perfect English and is a wonderful and honest guide. He is also a huge American sports fan which makes for great conversation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour went really well. The tour guide was very imformative explaining everything at the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. He took us to the Ming tombs first explaining that there would be less people there in the morning since most tour guides go to the Great Wall first. He was correct, as there were not many people at the Ming Tombs while we were there.

From there we went to the Great Wall the tour guide explained that we could go to different parts of the wall, one which would not be as many people or to the more well known portion. He left it up to us.
After we were done he took us to a pearl market, where they showed us how/where the pearls come from and of which they tried to sell us pearls.

Lastly the tour guide offered to drop us off at the Summer Palace or at our hotel. Of which we went to the Summer Palace and were very grateful.

Overall it was a great time and I highly recommend the tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Just excellent! So much of knowledge and insight about the history and culture, and the Chinese way of life. And the scenery, wow! The guide knew just where to go and when, just marvellous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great experience which made the most out of my short free time in Beijing. The wall at Badaling was just amazing, along with the Great tombs. Our Guide Cerry was very friendly, helpful and shared her great knowledge of the history of the area. we where a small group so it felt like a personal experience. Also enjoyed the Tea Sampling at Dr Tea. i would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a sample of the fantastic history that Beijing has to offer.

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message