4.5 star rating: Recommended 230 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 230 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour the wall was more spectacular than we amaigined,Our tour leader was most informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

On of the main reasons for coming to Beijing. Only 3 in our group. Cynthia our guide was excellent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our first full day in Beijing and we took this tour. Our tour guide was Jackie Li and there were 5 people on the tour. We had a lovely day. The tour company phoned our hotel room the evening before and confirmed the collection time and we were picked up in the morning. To address the reviews on here that moan about the "full day" aspect of the tour the tours all run from early 7/8am to between 1 and 3pm which is 7/8 hrs or a full work day, they run between these times to avoid as much of the Beijing traffic as possible and we were greatful of this because the best of Beijing traffic is worse than most other places and I certainly wouldn't want to spend hours stuck in traffic at the end of the tour, plus it gives you your afternoons and evenings free so it was perfect for us.
After being collected we headed for the Ming tombs which were very interesting and then on to the wall, Jackie Li was fantastic and gave us all the information about the places we were visiting while on route, he also asked us what part of the wall we wanted to go to, Badaling as advertised which has lots of tourists or a steeper and therefore quieter section at Juyongguan. He was very clear that it was the groups decision and we decided on the later. It was very very steep but an amazing section and having seen some of the photos of Badaling on line I think it is a more picturesque and a lot less crowded so we were very pleased. However if you are not fit you may want to stick with Badaling as it was very tiring and I am of pretty good fitness, my muscles were shaking in my legs on the way down.
Then off to a Jade factory which I know people complain about but almost every tour in China includes these side trips and I find them interesting, I never buy anything unless I want to and the feeling pressured is down to the individuals because we didn't feel any pressure at any stage to buy anything we didn't want, yes the staff follow you around but this happens in all shops in Beijing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great day!!! the tour guide (Jason) was very knowledgable and helpful

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Great Wall is impressive and a once in a life time experience. The tour was well organized and the tour guide (Michael) was very helpful and friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a great day and would highly recommend this tour! Our tour guide Jackie was great and loved to talk.

The tour provided everything it promised and the lunch provided was also amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very good and very friendly. Arrived on time and knew much information and history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent trip, enjoyed it very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My tour guide was Jason, and he was excellent! Spoke English very well, was able to give me great information on the tour, and even emailed me a copy of a picture of us at the Great Wall after! Great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour that was worth every penny. Cheryl was a wonderful tour guide. I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic tour and the guide spoke excellent English. The tour was very informative and there was plenty of time to walk around and surround yourself with this wonderful part of China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What a breathtaking experience--literally! I always thought the Giza pyramids were the most impressive from a construction perspective, but the Great Wall is a feat that just doesn't seem possible. The angle of the steps along the wall are much more difficult to navigate than what pictures imply. If you are afraid of heights, make careful consideration which part of the wall you visit. Some sections are much steeper than others. Our guide, Jacky Lee, was so informative, intelligent, helpful and professional in each and every way. And he has a great sense of humor, which made the day even better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Jackie Li was the best tour guide ever!!!! So informative and funny too! We were so lucky to have him to ourselves. Excellent job Mr. Li! I hope to see you again in the future as I learned so much from you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We got Jacky Lee as our tour guide for a second day in a row! Great tour and Tour guide. The next tour we had was in Japan a few days later and we were not fortunate to have someone like Jacky.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Since I was the only one on this tour for that day, the tour became a private one. Michael, the English speaking guide was knowledgeable and friendly. The punctuality of starting time at the hotel was commendable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Visiting the tombs were good, but getting to see and explore a segment of the Great Wall was amazing! Our guide was wonderful - very knowledgeable and a great photographer to boot. She was kind enough to take pictures of all of us to record this incredible experience. This day was much richer with all of the historical tidbits that was shared by our guide. This tour is very highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide, Michael, was PHENOMENAL!!! We could not be more pleased with our tour of the Great Wall, or the Ming Tombs. Michael was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and very interested in making sure we were having a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone planning on visiting Beijing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our Family had a great day, the tour guide was very good and was very informative. I think his name was Jack?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This review must be prefaced with the fact that we (unknowingly) booked our week during the Chinese "weeklong" national celebration, Oct 1-7. That said, that meant 430 MILLION Chinese were traveling not even counting foreign tourist. That was in effect the perfect storm for this and all tours to be basically traffic jammed and miserable, but it was not, and thanks to our tour guide Jackie Lee, aka, Jackie Chan, and his driver, we got to the Ming Tombs, to the Great Wall, to lunch, yes to a few jade and tea shops and back to our hotel without hitting any, repeat any traffic jams as he knew all shortcuts and timings of the locals and how to avoid them all! To put this in perspective, on the road to the Great Wall, the same highway we were on, there have been 2 DAY, not 2 hour back-ups on the highway, so him getting us around without delays, plus his wit and charm and knowledge of the area was fantastic. Oh yea, one more small detail, after we got back to the hotel, I noticed either through my fault or the jade folks, my jade object was broke, although nicely packed. I called Jackie as there was no way I was going to fight the traffic and try and replace it and guess what, even on his busy tour the next day, he went to the factory, got me another, better one, brought it to my hotel and took the other one back and this was after his very long tour day for another group. Fantastic service, great tour guide and driver (amazing) and both made the best possible situation for us out of a potentially catastrophic tour day with all the traffic and congestion and travelers. Finally, the weather that day was absolutely perfect, no clouds, no rain, no pollution and we got to spend it touring the sites and not camped out on the highway, waiting to move another inch an hour as some couple reported to us. Be careful who you choose to take you on this tour, these 2 guys made all the difference in the world and it was a great time, pictures coming when I get them downloaded!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was very well planned. We went to the Julong wall instead. The guide was excellent. It was really nice to have the small group tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Jason speaks perfect English and is a wonderful and honest guide. He is also a huge American sports fan which makes for great conversation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour guide

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message