4.5 star rating: Recommended 196 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 196 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent value tour prompt pick up on time by our English speaking guide Jason Howe was very informative
first stop The Great Wall-JUYONGGUAN breathtaking experience not as crowed as other sections very step stairs up not for the unfit.
Second stop The Ming Tombs peaceful and architecturally brilliant well worth the drive
Lunch was in the jade factory restaurant, Jason made sure our lunch was to our specification (vegetarian)
finished the day off with a Tea Ceremony.Highly Recommended !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was very well planned. We went to the Julong wall instead. The guide was excellent. It was really nice to have the small group tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Jason speaks perfect English and is a wonderful and honest guide. He is also a huge American sports fan which makes for great conversation.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The tour went really well. The tour guide was very imformative explaining everything at the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. He took us to the Ming tombs first explaining that there would be less people there in the morning since most tour guides go to the Great Wall first. He was correct, as there were not many people at the Ming Tombs while we were there.

From there we went to the Great Wall the tour guide explained that we could go to different parts of the wall, one which would not be as many people or to the more well known portion. He left it up to us.
After we were done he took us to a pearl market, where they showed us how/where the pearls come from and of which they tried to sell us pearls.

Lastly the tour guide offered to drop us off at the Summer Palace or at our hotel. Of which we went to the Summer Palace and were very grateful.

Overall it was a great time and I highly recommend the tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Just excellent! So much of knowledge and insight about the history and culture, and the Chinese way of life. And the scenery, wow! The guide knew just where to go and when, just marvellous!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A great experience which made the most out of my short free time in Beijing. The wall at Badaling was just amazing, along with the Great tombs. Our Guide Cerry was very friendly, helpful and shared her great knowledge of the history of the area. we where a small group so it felt like a personal experience. Also enjoyed the Tea Sampling at Dr Tea. i would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a sample of the fantastic history that Beijing has to offer.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

If you got to Beijing, you can not go there without visiting the Great Wall. The tour was good in the fact you were picked up from the hotel and taken in a car to the wall. I was on my own and the tour was with 3 other travellers which was nice.

But one thing that disappointed me and the rest of the group was the tour originally was to vist the wall for just a hour and half! The trip is billed as 8 hours yet a hour and half t the wall. We felt this wasn't enough time and did mange to have longer but it was frustrating as the tour was going to spend a hour at a jade factory which to be honest was not the reason I wanted to go on the tour.

The tour guide was very nice but I did struggle with his English at times and he could flap at times which made it a bit stressful. I would say def book this trip but negotiate before hand how long you spend at the wall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour was quite excellent - our tour guide was fantastic and took great care of us, the restaurant for lunch was quite good, and all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Louis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Had a excellent day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

highly recommend, tour guide Jason was fantastic!

Maddineedi
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This trip was very good and highly recommended, we were taken to Great Wall in the morning and given enough time to spend on the Wall. Tour guide was exceptional. Food was ok.Nothing special about the Ming Tombs. If asked to chose 2 sections do pick the most popular.

HUGH H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great Day out. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Just a Great tour!!
Mike is very good guide, very smart and knows everything about the tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was great: door to door service. The guide, Jackie was fun and very informative. He reeled off lots of stats about China and answered everyone's questions well. He was very considerate and friendly. The meal was good. The Great Wall was impressive as were Ming Tombs. No complaints at all. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message