• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 178 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 178 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We didn't visit Badaling, but went to another section that was a stopping point for the emperor when visiting Mongolia. Our tour guide was very informative and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Fantastic. The guide gave us a show of China History and tradition.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

As usual, Viator provided a very interesting tour with a very knowledgeable and personable guide, As luck would have it, we were the only two people on the tour that particular day, so we had what turned out to be a "private" tour. Both the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs are, without a doubt, two of the world's most impressive sites and should not be missed when one visits the Beijing area. One word of caution, however: The word "antique" appears to be used a bit liberally in the gift shops near the Great Wall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Tour guide is very knowledgeable of the Badaling part of the Great Wall of China. She told us to go the less crowded side of the wall so we could get a better view of the wall and take better pictures. This way we could also have an easier time hiking all the way to the top if we want to, which we did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wow! The Great Wall was quite the experience. Difficult climbing at times. Too many stops at "shops". Maybe there should be a tour just for shoppers. The lunch was very good. Cherry was excellent guide and answered our many questions. She gave commentary most of the time we were travelling between sites.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Our tour guide was excellent. There were no other clients so the trip ended up being a private tour for both of us in a nice car with a drivre and the guide. The guide spoke excellent english, was very informative and very helpful.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

A fantastic trip - well organised, a very informative guide, and a highlight of our visit to China.

ZVONKO A
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Conntacted by guide night before tour as promised. It happened to be a private tour. Guide was speaking perfect English and with great knowlege of history and cultur of China. Great experience.

DEAN F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

superb day, fantastic guide an extremely personalised tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The guide Thomas was fantastic! Provided great info while not being overbearing as some guides can be. I would do it again in a heartbeat! BEST GREAT WALL TOUR! I had been to the other sections but Badaling was by far the most scenic. Try to go to the great wall first thing in the morning to avoid the corwds.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide did a great job and I recommend this tour to anyone interested in visiting sites in and around Beijing.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour! Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Many other stops along the way give you a good view of the city, and see things you may not have gone to see.

PETER N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent trip, with a lovely and knowledgable guide, Thomas. He really madde the trip for us, and we saw the best bits of the wall, the ming tombs, and the sacred path. Thomas' knowledge and language skills were excellent and i'd recommend this trip as a good all rounder from Beijing. Only down side was the compulsory shopping trips to the Jade market and Tea shops. We were the only ones on the tour, so when we said we didn't actually drink tea and didn't need to buy any, we weren't treated very nicely by the shop staff. Nothing to do with the guide though.

Michael G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I booked a 'group tour' expecting a bus; however, it ended up being me, the driver and the tour guide all day. I thought the Ming Tombs were a waste of time. You see one temple, and then a mound of dirt where the tombs are said to be, and that's it. Then you go onto the Great Wall which was one of the best experiences of my life. Everyone who visits China has got to go to the wall. I was grinning ear to ear the whole time even though it was -2 degrees and there was snow everywhere. The only issue I had was that I was back at my hotel by 2pm and it was meant to be a full day tour.

Linda S
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Our tour guide deserves 5 stars, his knowledge and professionalism were 100 percent. The fact that the tour was carried out with two guests only was another big plus.

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message