4.5 star rating: Recommended 230 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 230 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my climb up the Badaling section of the Great Wall. My knees felt like jelly afterwards however, I would not trade this experience for anything. The Ming Tombs was also another dream come true. Go on this tour especially if you are an English speaking tourist.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I was traveling alone and having the tour bus pick me up and drop me off at my hotel was a big plus. It is actually cheaper than trying to do the same trip on my own with taxi's, etc. Great value and the tour guide was excellent.

Tamara J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

What a place, it's a must! Words can not describe this world wonder, it was just great! Just would like to say a special thanks to our guide and the team - it was well organised and executed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Our day tour with Viator to the Great Wall of China and the Ming Tombs was excellent. Well worth doing and something we would totally recommend. Our guide was probably the best guide we had in the whole time we travelled the Far East. He was so knowledgeable, great fun, and made the day a unique experience.
As the weather was cold when we where in Beijing, we had to wrap up very warm to climb the wall, but our guide encouraged us to go the distance and it was all great fun. We shopped afterward for souvenirs where they drive you crazy to buy their wares, and had coffee in a lovely coffeehouse where we all met up after the climb. We were encouraged to have a photograph done with all our fellow tour companions and guide, before we climbed the wall, with the wall behind us. It was a great picture and great value for money (it was presented in a book with the picture put in on the front page, with information and pictures all about the Great Wall). Our tour guide filled out our name and the date of the tour on the inside cover in Chinese. It was a wonderful souvenir and our family loved reading all about the wall and seeing the picture.
All in all this is a great tour by Viator, who proved to be the best tour company we dealt with. We shall most certainly be booking further tours with Viator on our trips around the world and can only hope they are all as helpful and informative as this one was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Our tour guide was awesome! He added so much to the trip and explained everything in great detail. We will refer Viator to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a really nice trip. Our tour guide Alice was phenomenal! She spoke really good English and knew a lot about the history of the Ming Tombs and the Great Wall of China. The lunch was really good as well. I will definitely use this service again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I thought this tour was excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was the Great Wall of China. What more can I say? It was an excellent experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

What a great experience. The guidebooks said this was not a good spot to see the wall, but I completely disagree. If you don't have much time in China, this was a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I thought this tour was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Jackie was really informative and funny. Didn't rush at all and we spent a lot of time at both Ming Tombs and Great Wall. He swapped the itinerary around so that we didn't get all the busy tourist times. Only criticism of Ming Tombs is that you don't see any tombs, just the gate halls to get to them. Great Wall was amazing, got 90 minutes to ourselves to explore. 30 minutes was too long at the Jade shop. Lunch was okay but wasn't enough for 10 of us, and they said we had to pay for extra of dishes we finished, despite them not giving much in the first place. 4 stars definition by Viator is Recommended, and I would recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was good, but the restaurant/food not good at all

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Awesome day - the Great Wall wasn't overrated, it was breathtaking. Our tour guide, Cherry, picked us up from the hotel at 7AM and we were able to get to Bandaling for the morning. Wear comfortable shoes because the steps are steep, but you don't need to wear gym shoes either. Some people were in sandals or boots, which seemed to work just fine. Don't be surprised if other Chinese travelers want to take pictures with you near the wall. We shared a van with two other guys and had a nice lunch at the Jade factory. The only downside was the tea tasting at the end of the day. Although my husband and I enjoyed the tea, the hostess was pushing us to buy tea for a minimum of 100 USD. Luckily, I grabbed our tour guide, who said something in Mandarin and we were able to leave without purchasing the tea. It was a stress-free day and the wall was something we will never forget!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Great Wall of China climb was the highlight of my visit to Beijing...highly recommended! On the day, the tour guide recommended to visit the Juyong Pass section of the wall instead of Badaling as the number of tourists would be greater at Badaling The group was not entirely sure of which would be better however we went with the guide's recommendation and it was spectactular!! We were not disappointed at all and the climb and views were amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed this day out but the lunch provided was not enjoyable at all.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide was funny and informative. It wasnt a large group all of 10 people so we got plenty of time at every stop. You were given options of the steep part of the wall or a part much more flatter. There was a fair bit of fog and misty rain and the tour company gave us an option of rescheduling. The food was a banquet and of a high standard. Overall a great day and worth doing this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Cynthia, the tour guide, was very sweet! Her English was great and she knew a lot about the history of the locations we visited. There are obvious selling traps, but that is expected. Downfall, rushed through historical locations. Also, my guide was over 35mins late to pick me up. Still a fun tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The sites were amazing however our tour guide was not. Both my husband and I felt uncomfortable at times and would have rather gone with a larger group instead of a one on one. Our tour guide didn't not take us to the Badaling section of the wall which was very disappointing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I very much enjoyed two hours I got to spend at the Great Wall. However, I had wished that I got to see more than just one Ming tomb.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time in greatwall , ms caroline our guide was excellent ..

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative, and delivered as promised but personally would have liked some more flexibility

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great Wall fabulous... but Ming Tombs bit underwhelming. Be prepared...tours will stop at 2 factories...Jade factory and tea house. Both are fascinating...but be prepared that the tour company gets a "kick back" from all shopping done. However, you are under no circumstances pressured or forced to buy anything. Lunch was good but not great.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

As reported by others the tour guide offered the group visit a different site than Badaling on account it was too crowded. We visited the Juyong Pass site which was a steeper climb but very scenic. As expected it was not crowded and we enjoyed our visit. Keep in mind that if icy conditions prevail it would be a risky business. Our guide was quite knowledegeable and stirred us well during visits to the Jade factory and to the tea store. Lunch was quite tasty and of very good quality. The ming Tombs site visit was somewhat disapointing as you do not see any tombs per se!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide was great! Full of knowledge about the tour sites and China in general. We had a small group which meant we could hear our guide clearly. He talked a lot, but not too much, for most of the drive so by the end we had learned many things about current life in China as well as some history of other sites which we were going to visit another day. He added humorous stories and small asides to make it a thoroughly enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great trip, guide Jackie was great on the camera as well!

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message