4.5 star rating: Recommended 253 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 253 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Gaynor M
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Such a fabulous day! I had a private tour as the others booked for the day couldn't get visas to enter China as a group. It was wonderful! My guide spoke fluent English, and we talked a lot about culture, festivals and life in China as well as about the history of the areas I visited. He also gave me a detour on the way home to see the Bird's Nest stadium and to attend a tea ceremony. It was wonderful. A fab day out!

Linda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent, knowledgeable English-speaking guide. Humbling experience when you become aware of its history and the time and labour involved to construct.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Awesome tour!! Must see and do!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My family and I loved the transfers and tours. All tour guides were excellent, entertaining, and very knowledgeable.

Trichur R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very friendly and informed guide. Was a pleasure going on the tour.

Tim S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

The single most incredible thing I have seen - the Great Wall. Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

A great tour. The guide gave so much information on everywhere we went and comprehensive information about China itself that I hadn't heard elsewhere. I found the tour entertaining and well organised. It was definitely the highlight in China for me. Highly recommended.

Sheila S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This tour started badly when the vehicle would not start outside hotel. However a new vehicle was dispatched very quickly and off we went, just the 2 of us, on our personal tour. It was excellent and the guide included a visit to a tea ceremony which we hadn't expected. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

What a great tour guide! One of the new seven wonders of the world - this is a must-do!

PATRICIA S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

This was the best! The Great Wall is amazing. It made our trip - we got some great photos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I thoroughly enjoyed my climb up the Badaling section of the Great Wall. My knees felt like jelly afterwards however, I would not trade this experience for anything. The Ming Tombs was also another dream come true. Go on this tour especially if you are an English speaking tourist.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

I was traveling alone and having the tour bus pick me up and drop me off at my hotel was a big plus. It is actually cheaper than trying to do the same trip on my own with taxi's, etc. Great value and the tour guide was excellent.

Tamara J
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

What a place, it's a must! Words can not describe this world wonder, it was just great! Just would like to say a special thanks to our guide and the team - it was well organised and executed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Our day tour with Viator to the Great Wall of China and the Ming Tombs was excellent. Well worth doing and something we would totally recommend. Our guide was probably the best guide we had in the whole time we travelled the Far East. He was so knowledgeable, great fun, and made the day a unique experience.
As the weather was cold when we where in Beijing, we had to wrap up very warm to climb the wall, but our guide encouraged us to go the distance and it was all great fun. We shopped afterward for souvenirs where they drive you crazy to buy their wares, and had coffee in a lovely coffeehouse where we all met up after the climb. We were encouraged to have a photograph done with all our fellow tour companions and guide, before we climbed the wall, with the wall behind us. It was a great picture and great value for money (it was presented in a book with the picture put in on the front page, with information and pictures all about the Great Wall). Our tour guide filled out our name and the date of the tour on the inside cover in Chinese. It was a wonderful souvenir and our family loved reading all about the wall and seeing the picture.
All in all this is a great tour by Viator, who proved to be the best tour company we dealt with. We shall most certainly be booking further tours with Viator on our trips around the world and can only hope they are all as helpful and informative as this one was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

Our tour guide was awesome! He added so much to the trip and explained everything in great detail. We will refer Viator to others.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

This was a really nice trip. Our tour guide Alice was phenomenal! She spoke really good English and knew a lot about the history of the Ming Tombs and the Great Wall of China. The lunch was really good as well. I will definitely use this service again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I thought this tour was excellent.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

It was the Great Wall of China. What more can I say? It was an excellent experience.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

What a great experience. The guidebooks said this was not a good spot to see the wall, but I completely disagree. If you don't have much time in China, this was a wonderful experience. Highly recommended.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I thought this tour was excellent.

Matthew M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The pickup was very convenient. The guide was very friendly and spoke good English. The time on the wall was generous too. Overall a great tour I would recommend!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The site seeing was great! Amazing history to cover in a day's time. The tour guide needed to speak a little slower as multiple facts were pouring out of his mouth and he had a bit of a heavy accent in English :

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time, our tour guide was very informative and funny which made the times in traffic yes we were in Traffic as we happened to be there over the dragon festival bearable. Definitely worth it, got to see a lot more than just doing it on your own. Would do it again

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Great Wall of China is one of the most amazing sites I have ever seen. Going to Beijing was worth it just because we hiked the Great Wall. Its breathe taking and nothing like I would have ever imagined. We were given an hour and a half to spend at the wall, which was a decent amount of time. I wish we would of had a little longer to see some more of it though. But I am glad that we took the tour out to the wall instead of trying to do it on our own. They got us out there quickly and before all of the crowds. When we arrived there was hardly anyone there and we had already made it up several stations before we seen the parking lots start to fill up. That was a definite bonus! Also, the traffic in China is insane and without our driver I fear we would have never made it out there. This is the more touristy area though, next time Id like to go see a not so touristy part. My suggestion would be to wear good shoes, the wall is very steep at some portions and the stairs are uneven. The Ming Tombs were alright. They were kind of a let down because you don't actually see the tomb, you just see a typical red temple building with a few historical artifacts in it. I was expecting that to be more. Lunch was amazing. They took us to a very nice restaurant and the food was more than satisfactory. I do wish our guides were allowed to eat with us so we could have learned more from them, but over all lunch was great. They also took us to the Jade Factory. It was cool to see everything but it is exceptionally expensive and the sales people will follow you everywhere. They never pushed us to buy anything but they hovered. They also took us to the tea house. That was neat to try the teas but the sales people there were very pushy and rude. We ended up feeling forced to buy some rather expensive tea. The Jade Factory and the Dr. Tea House are why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Over all it was an enjoyable day. If we were to do it again I think we would just do the Great Wall though

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I had a great day with William the Guide and our driver. They were both excellent and I really enjoyed the excursions to the great wall and the ming tomb. There were also 2 commercial excursions, one was a jade factory which was interesting but the tea ceremony was rushed and just concocted to get me to buy tea. The guide also made remarks about me to the other staff in when I was paying which left me deeply unimpressed with the hard sell and the unprofessional behaviour. It's worth doing the trip, though.

From USD $ 72.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042SIC_03

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message