• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 67 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Beijing, China
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Custom Tour: Beijing in One Day. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Guide was highly articulate, spoke good English, was knowledgeable and helpful. We were very pleased with the day and used his services for a second day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

See above

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

In booking the tour we felt that this would be the best way to see the city without all the extra factories and shops thrown in, which we didn't care much about! The night before our guide called to set up a time to meet and get an idea of an itinerary. All the places were in the city so we decided to just use taxis and the subway instead of a personal vehicle. The day of the tour our guide met us in the lobby and we went over some of the things we wanted to see. Our guide was so good we used him on our private tour the next day! He had been a tour guide for 20 years and lived in Beijing his whole life so he was very knowledgeable! The nice thing about the private tour is that you can take as much time as you want, which benefited my boyfriend and I since he likes to take a lot of pictures. You still have to pay entrance fees and the transport, but I think the most expensive place was 40 yuan. Our tour guide could get in most places for free. For lunch he suggested trying one of the famous Beijing Peking duck restaurants, which was amazing! We saw the Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square, the Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple, which was a full day!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

My boyfriend and I had done a private tour the day before and we liked our tour guide so much that we used him again! We payed him 200 yuan, 30 US dollars, to use his personal vehicle for the day. We went to the Drum Tower and were there for one of the performances, which was cool to see! He then drove us to the Summer Palace where we spent about 2 hours walking around and ate at a buffet restaurant near by. I had wanted to check out Prince Gong's mansion, which had sounded interesting in the travel book, but after seeing the Summer Palace, it's really not much. The private tours are good because you can go off the beaten path a little. My boyfriend collects Starbucks mugs from different cities and he wanted to get a guitar pin from the Hard Rock Cafe. Our tour guide took us to the Hard Rock Cafe and then found us a Starbucks near by so he could get his mug. It impressed me a lot that he would do that for us!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful custom made trips for us in Beijing. Our guide was very nice, her English was great and her knowledge of the area was fabulous. When she arrived to pick us up at our hotel she did not know what we had planned. I gave her the places we wanted to see and quickly she devised a plan on how we would fit everything in. She was very empathic to our travel needs. It was the end of a 10 day trip for us and our energy level was not as good as at the beginning. She recognized that and made sure we stayed and did as much as we had energy to do. I loved that about the tour. She took us to lunch in a fantastic restaurant she knew and we really really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend this way to see the city. It was the first time we had a private guide and I would definitely do it again. Thanks for providing us with such and excellent day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

On this second day in Beijing, I again used another private tour guide different one form that used on day one in order to visit Tianamen Square, the Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Bell Tower, the Hutongs and several other sites. Being just the two of us, we were able to cover a lot of ground in one day and my guide to be especially knowledgeable and congenial. Since we were essentially in the center part of the city the whole time, we relied on taxis rather than a dedicated drive for transportation. Another benefit with using a private tour guide is that you get to practice your Chinese language skills with them and also have interesting discussions about their culture and current events.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Our tour guide took excellent care of us. He made sure each member of our group had seen something they were particularly interested in, so it was a customized tour just for us. He was also extremely helpful, translating for us when we were shopping and ordering food in restaurants. I would book this tour again on a return visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This is absolutely the best choice for sightseeing around the central parts of the city - Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Lama Temple, Confucius Temple, Imperial College, etc. Taxi rides are cheap or you can take the subway for 2RMB. The guide I had spoke pretty good English. You can also ask the guide to recommend restaurants that are more local and authentic than the ones you would normally get when part of a larger tour group.

Linda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Nothing planned specifically. Outstanding, knowledgeable, English-speaking guide suggested traditional teahouse ceremony, silk factory visit and market shopping. Happy with very laid-back experience. No rush, no fuss.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and with good language skill. We loved the flexibility of the private tour. The cost does not include transportation admission fees etc.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a nice experience to visit the Great Wall. We had a nice guide who was able to speak great English. Make sure however to add on a couple of hundred dollars extra as we needed to add on the cost of the car and other items.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

great tours and excellent guide Cindy was very patient and helpful with my kids as well

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Excellent guide and good planning with Cindy made this a very efficient day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great, two of us and one very smart guide,worth the money.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

A bit rushed in some places but got to see most of what I wanted. Gave me the experience of getting around the city so was able to return to places on my own where I wanted to see more.

$20.43 Save $4.44

From USD $ 15.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2042PV_01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message