4.5 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 'An Evening at Charlottenburg Palace' Dinner and Concert by the Berlin Residence Orchestra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I went to the evening at the Charlottenburg Palace, which included the meal and concert. Have to say from start to finish it was a wonderful experience. I would telling people to go on this night out. If back in Berlin - I would book to go again. It's just a must do.

Coralie P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

I attended this function with my wife, and it was one of the highlights of our holiday in Germany. Firstly, the setting for the dinner was as shown in Viator's photos. The tables were well spaced, the service was excellent without being obtrusive, and the meals were generous, well prepared and extremely enjoyable. And if that wasn't enough, we were then thoroughly entertained by the top class resident orchestra, as well as a soprano and a baritone who both gave wonderful performances of the selected arias and duets from the works of Mozart and Handel. It was a night to remember.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

My wife and I appreciated the dinner and the concert. The meal was excellent and the music were very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The evening at Charlottenburg Palace was the highlight of our trip. Berlin is now such a new city that it nice to see what things were like before all the debacles of the 20th century.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The palace is beautiful. The food was outstanding. My vegetarian wife was well catered with a proper meal and not the standard salad and risotto that seems to be given out everywhere. Please note that a vegetarian meal has to be arranged during booking but after that its no bother. The vegetarian menu is automatically brought to your table as soon as they serve you. Drinks are extra and wine can be ordered by the bottle or the glass. The music and costumes are a true spectacle, despite classical music not really being our thing. However, I did find the music portion a little long, but there is an intermission. Approximate timings are arrive at 1730hrs. The dining room opens a little later with the food being served shortly after. The music starts at around 2000hrs in a different hall, opposite the dining area. The music goes on until around 2230hrs ish. My wife and I were possibly overdressed for the event as the most common dress code was smartish casual. Also at 40ish we were probably the youngest people there. The tickets you will receive suggest public transport, however, we drove and had no trouble finding parking very close to the venue. It was in front of the western end of the palace, close to what appeared to be an unattached annex building in front of the main palace and cost a few Euros. Overall we were very impressed, but felt the music was a touch over long. We didn't pick the VIP section but the price band below this. This was very adequate as you only get to sit marginally closer. Our view was not obscured in any way and the fine detail of the period costumes could clearly be seen. The music was loud and clear enough, so no lesser enjoyment at all and a significant saving. All the VIP ticket would seemed to give extra is sitting a bit closer to the musicians and a very expensive glass of champaign at the intermission - the bar opens anyway.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

A great recreation of the time of Frederick. Well worth a visit. The food was very enjoyable as was the Concert.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We really enjoyed the experience! From the meet and greet at the door of the Orangery we were taken back in time. The setting was beautiful and the meal enjoyable. Of course the highlight was the music. All in all a wonderful evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Had a great evening at Schloss Charlottenburg. After a warm welcome we were guided to our table. Atmosphere in dining area is very nice. Good lighting, friendly and efficient service. The quality of the food however is very average. Don't expect a fine dining experience. The music performance after the dinner was impressive. All together it was a fun evening. We booked A rank tickets and based on the quality of the food (especially taking into consideration that beverages were not included) we think the tickets are overpriced.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Lovely concep. atmosphere and wonderful music but the food could was not at this level.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The guide Keith was fantastic, showing about the theme of the tour and asking about many other different questions about Munchen history. Fantastic!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

A very pleasant evening. Excellent food and entertainment. Very well organized, as guests were given not only a concert dinner, but a presentation of life at the court in the eighteenth century. It would be helpful to give directions to getting to the Orangerie, where the event was held, as it's not obvious where to enter from the long frontage of the palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Lovely dinner and great show

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Throughly enjoyed the evening, service was excellent and the meal delicious.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Dinner was delicious and very efficiently served, concert itself was atmospheric and complemented perfectly by the venue - thoroughly enjoyable evening!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Myself and my friend really enjoyed the night setting was beautiful meal delicous and the music was brilliant.What a fantastic night .We are not opera or orchestra fans but the music was superb and played song taht we were tapping our feet to.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Location was fantastic, the music was beautiful, the soloists were very talented and entertaining, but the food was mediocre and did not display unique German cuisine.

Dawid D
Namibia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

It was very nice. The only critique I have was the fact that we had to collect the tickets before 5pm, but the dinner only started at 6. We flew in that day, and it was quite an ordeal to organise everything before 5.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Charlottenburg Palace was certainly an appropriate venue for this event. The palace itself is well worth seeing. The food was OK but not reflective in quantity or quality of the price, perhaps with the exception of a very fine dessert. As for the concert, it was excellent, particularly the flautist and the soprano. They were top quality performers. The overall impression is that it was a bit kitschy, mainly because of the costumes.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

Nice performance. Dinner was a bit too early in the day, it was quite sunny outside. Worst aspect was having to pick up the tickets by 1700 because the office would be closed after that. Why not pick up tickets upon showing up?

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The concert was wonderful - the musicians and singers were very good -- and it made for a very enjoyable evening. However, we'd like to suggest that the ticket office be better organized. It is very inconvenient to pick up the tickets before 5pm and have to wait around an hour or more for the dinner or concert to start. The directions to the ticket office were inadequate and we spent a frustrating 20 minutes searching the Kleine Orangerie in the dark to find it just before it closed. Also, we were bumped to the alternate location in the palace and the office forgot to tell us that we were to eat in an off-site restaurant, so that was another scramble to find out where we were to eat, because the office was closed by the time we figured it out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

We enjoyed eating in the Palace. The food was good and the atmosphere was wonderful. My major complaint was that the voucher said smart casual. Although my husband wore nice pants and a buttoned shirt, he was just about the only one without a jacket or suit. We felt like we were inappropriately dressed.
The concert was good, and luckily it was Vivaldi who we like.
Public transportation to and from the palace was extremely easy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Being at the Palace for dinner and a concert was a fun event. The actual food at the dinner was supposed to be something that would have been served in the Palace when it was operational. I think that gage King May have had the cook's head had he been served a similar meal. Better to have a more modern menu that would come close to the price that was charged. The musicians and singers were very talented and the musical program was very appropriate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I was not able to see palace because I never received the voucher with instructions after I emailed and called and emailed again and told you at the ritz Carlton hotel. I arrived at palace at 5:30 and closed Not good

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

It was a lovely evening but somewhat lacking in atmosphere because the dining room was almost empty and the daylight streaming through the windows made a mockery of candlelight dinner! However, the food was great, the service exceptional, and the musicians were superb.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

Lovely evening. Meal was very poor, dont go hungery to Palace. Diner would need to improve. Nice experience and concert very enjoyable

From USD $ 73.33

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2574CHARDC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message