4.5 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 'An Evening at Charlottenburg Palace' Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert by the Berlin Residence Orchestra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Elegant evening!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great food and atmosphere, highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Was a very nice experience to dine in this beautiful decorated hall with a warm welcome from (as we say) the 'pedel'. The concert was a very nice experience. All by all very much worthwhile going to Charlotteburg.
Lous en Hans Huis in 't Veld

Edward R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent evening. Tour of Palace is worth doing and you will need at least 1 hour to do it. Meal in Orangery was delicious, and excellent atmosphere for meal and concert. Only negative - very hard to find the Palace and also the office to exchange the vouchers. Better signing for Palace needs to be put in the streets and perhaps directions from the station .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Perfect! Nice castle, excellent dinner, friendly staff, impressive concert. Marvellous

John W D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

A night that was well worth it considering the distance we travelled from our hotelon the night. The food was excellent and the atmosphere created by the staff really made it a 'Grand' night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This was a very good tour and worth the money. The castle is beautiful, the food was very good, the dining service excellent. The concert was very entertaining.
When we checked in the agents at the castle seemd confused by our vouchers and then finally let us go in. The problem with Viator is that they do not have any of their agents working in the area. No one know who you are. You should try to rectify that little problem. This was not the only tour we took that when they saw the voucher they were confused and did not know what to do with it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Palace tour was breathtaking, dinner was delicious and of high quality, the concert was relaxing. A great afternoon and night out at very reasonable price. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our visit to the charlottenburg palace was an experience we very much enjoyed, it was a surprise for my husbands birthday and felt that although it wasnt cheap it was well worth it.

Firstly though I would suggest that you make the most of your palace tour by arriving early so that you have at least 2 hours to do the self guided tour easily before arriving at the Orangery for your meal.

We felt the waiting time for your meal was a little to long as the staff were concentrating on selling drinks. (I asked for a glass of tap water)before before ordering a drink and having my meal and was told they did not have any tap water and I would have to buy a bottle of water, yet later in the evening I seen a jug of water on the bar and on asking found this was drinking water and was offered a glass. I wasnt very happy about this as they told me a deliberate lie so I would buy water.

My husband and I feel that we paid a reasonable price for a lovely meal and a wonderful concert afterwards and would recommend anyone to go, just make sure you get tap water if thats what you want.

Kay and Fred

The only real thing I would criticise is that there wasnt any real atmosphere in the dining area, there should have been some pleasant music playing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

It was a remarkable evening! I strongly recommend this for a romantic evening, good foood and excellent services. My rating is 5 star Antoniu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Outstnding. The night was magical. It was our last evening in Berlin and was a night not to forget. Missed the tour of the palace because I was a little misunderstood about the timing. But I would recommend this to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

A great atmosphere was created by the staff who were dressed in period costumes. They greeted us and took us to our dinner table where we received a quality meal with drinks. The concert that followed was of a professional standard and most enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was a delight afternoon and evening at the Charlottenburg Palace. We enjoyed the palace tour, the dinner similar to what the king would have eaten and the evening concert. The evening setting was a reminder of how things may have been in days of long ago.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

an incredible, intimate evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We rank this evening among the highlights of our vacation. The music was wonderful, the staff professional, food good. Only problem was finding the Orangery ticket office. Signage & directions were poor.

Joel S
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A great experience, good food, excellent music and superb ambiance one of the highlights of our visit to Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This was very nice.

Ian H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was an absolute delight to have attended such a wonderful evening. Classical music I can take or leave, but this night coupled with the fantastic cosy 3 course candlelit dinner was just an unbeatable value for such a beautiful evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Well worth the the trip. We arrived too late for the tour, but the dinner and musical performance were worth it. Watch out for one thing though, our waitress asked us for drinks before explaining that they were not included in the cost, so beware ordering expensive champagne. Otherwise, a great value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

We had a terrific time seeing many of the sight of Berlin by way of the hop-on / hop-off bus tour. We ran out of time to go back to our hotel and dress up formally for the evening performances. Suggestion: Have a map on the website of where the concert is given and where one starts with the tour.

Note from Viator: Hi Roger. We posted a map and seating plan on our product details page (click View Map) of the Charlottenburg Palace. Number 1 on the map is the Charlottenburg Palace Main Entrance. The concerts are performed in the Orangery highlighted as Number II and you must collect tickets from Number IV (Small Orangery Ticket Office). Charlottenburg Palace Tour a self guided and you can see the New Wing highlighted as Number III. Please note, the ticket collection instructions are also highlighted on your confirmation voucher.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great evening . Very nice meal , nice venue and excellent service . The concert was excellent .Only problem we had was finding where to go to exchange our vouchers . In the end we went to the Orangery where the event was taking place and found that was where we changed our voucher not the place mentioned in the information .
We took the tour of the palace in the afternoon , definitely recommend this , beautiful place , excellent tour .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The walk to Charlottenburg along the river was delightful and the tour of the palace worth making time for. When we emerged from the Palace the extensive Christmas Market was in full swing and most enjoyable. We felt a little casually dressed for the formal dinner and concert that was much enjoyed. In all a very good day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were delighted with our 'night out' at Charlottenburg Palace. The dinner, albeit not very generous in size, was very enjoyable and the staff effiecient and friendly. The musical performance was excellent! We felt the evening was created with a lot of thought and care, unlike some other tourist focused entertainment. The huge hall set up for our evening meal was rather too big for the amount of guests and could do with perhaps some seperate sectioning off to make it a more cosy. Otherwise everything was just fine and we would recommend this tour to anyone interested in a unique dining and music experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our audio guide tour of the palace was included with a ticket for an evening dinner and concert, but it can be visited independently on a different day. Permission for pictures costs extra. There are many rooms available for viewing on the main floor, as well as an additional museum of items in the treasury, such as the family silver collection, on the second floor. I especially enjoyed having the freedom to proceed through the rooms at my own pace with the audio guide. It is amazing how much restoration work has been done following WWII, seen by comparing postcards of the devestated, bombed palace with today's tourist gem. Well maintained, extensive gardens are also open behind the building. Part of one wing is still under scaffolding, near the small gift shop. Here one may also find a cold drink vending machine, much welcomed on a hot July day!
We attended the dinner the evening before, and on a rainy night it began with a great deal of frustration trying to find the ticket office. After trying 4 different doors on 2 widely separated buildings, someone finally directed us to the correct, LOCKED door. Noticing us through a window, an employee there admitted us and told us to go back to the other building that was now open. In a huge entry hall, seating for only 6 was provided, so many were left standing to await the grand opening of the dining room. The setting from then on was indeed lovely, with candlelight, costumed servers, and white linen. Unfortunately the dinner did not meet our expectations. What we did eat was very good, but someone with a more typical appetite than we have would leave hungry for sure. The classical concert afterward was enjoyable and well performed. However, there was far too much down time before it began at 8:30 - people were done eating by 6:45! We were admitted to the concert hall on the opposite end of the entry room at 8:00, there was no A/C on a very hot evening, and the wooden chairs quicly became uncomfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a quaint experience! We were taken back in history to bygone times. Eating dinner in the Great Hall was an experience in itself and the Mozart and Vivaldi in the following concert were superb. We met some lovely people from other parts of the world at interval. Would recommend this excursion. The website should warn people that they need at least 1 1/2 hours to visit the castle and see the gardens at the Castle. We didn't leave ourselves enough time.

From USD $ 86.06

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2574CHARPDC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message