4.5 star rating: Recommended 127 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 'An Evening at Charlottenburg Palace' Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert by the Berlin Residence Orchestra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great evening . Very nice meal , nice venue and excellent service . The concert was excellent .Only problem we had was finding where to go to exchange our vouchers . In the end we went to the Orangery where the event was taking place and found that was where we changed our voucher not the place mentioned in the information .
We took the tour of the palace in the afternoon , definitely recommend this , beautiful place , excellent tour .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The walk to Charlottenburg along the river was delightful and the tour of the palace worth making time for. When we emerged from the Palace the extensive Christmas Market was in full swing and most enjoyable. We felt a little casually dressed for the formal dinner and concert that was much enjoyed. In all a very good day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were delighted with our 'night out' at Charlottenburg Palace. The dinner, albeit not very generous in size, was very enjoyable and the staff effiecient and friendly. The musical performance was excellent! We felt the evening was created with a lot of thought and care, unlike some other tourist focused entertainment. The huge hall set up for our evening meal was rather too big for the amount of guests and could do with perhaps some seperate sectioning off to make it a more cosy. Otherwise everything was just fine and we would recommend this tour to anyone interested in a unique dining and music experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our audio guide tour of the palace was included with a ticket for an evening dinner and concert, but it can be visited independently on a different day. Permission for pictures costs extra. There are many rooms available for viewing on the main floor, as well as an additional museum of items in the treasury, such as the family silver collection, on the second floor. I especially enjoyed having the freedom to proceed through the rooms at my own pace with the audio guide. It is amazing how much restoration work has been done following WWII, seen by comparing postcards of the devestated, bombed palace with today's tourist gem. Well maintained, extensive gardens are also open behind the building. Part of one wing is still under scaffolding, near the small gift shop. Here one may also find a cold drink vending machine, much welcomed on a hot July day!
We attended the dinner the evening before, and on a rainy night it began with a great deal of frustration trying to find the ticket office. After trying 4 different doors on 2 widely separated buildings, someone finally directed us to the correct, LOCKED door. Noticing us through a window, an employee there admitted us and told us to go back to the other building that was now open. In a huge entry hall, seating for only 6 was provided, so many were left standing to await the grand opening of the dining room. The setting from then on was indeed lovely, with candlelight, costumed servers, and white linen. Unfortunately the dinner did not meet our expectations. What we did eat was very good, but someone with a more typical appetite than we have would leave hungry for sure. The classical concert afterward was enjoyable and well performed. However, there was far too much down time before it began at 8:30 - people were done eating by 6:45! We were admitted to the concert hall on the opposite end of the entry room at 8:00, there was no A/C on a very hot evening, and the wooden chairs quicly became uncomfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a quaint experience! We were taken back in history to bygone times. Eating dinner in the Great Hall was an experience in itself and the Mozart and Vivaldi in the following concert were superb. We met some lovely people from other parts of the world at interval. Would recommend this excursion. The website should warn people that they need at least 1 1/2 hours to visit the castle and see the gardens at the Castle. We didn't leave ourselves enough time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The experience was great!. However, getting the tickets was a bit of a bother because the ticket office at the palace would not provide tickets when shown an email copy of the Viator booking but told us to get them from an office in anpther part of the complex. Their directions to this other office were incorrect but we eventually were issued with tickets and the subsequent concert was very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Fabulous food, great concert. Glad I didn't pay the extra for A reserve tickets - even the cheapest ones would have been great. Didn't get around to touring the castle as it didn't fit in to our itinerary.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

very good and entertaining night, everything was very well done.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

special night excellent musicians

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

An excellent evening all in all. The tour of the palace was well organised and interesting. The evening concert was very entertaining. While the evening meal was very nice, there was only one menu choice - lamb. As I am a vegetarian, I found this rather surprising. When I asked for a vegetarian meal, I was told that goats cheese could be offered. Not very imaginative really. I feel there should have been a vegetarian option provided for on the menu as is standard practice in this day and age. However, in the context of a wonderful evening, this is a relatively minor point. I did mention the matter to one of the waiters afterwards. A fantastic experience otherwise. Thank you to all involved. I would highly recommend the evening.

Regards,

Mark.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A wonderful night out. I was surprised how good the food and service was. The setting was beautiful and the concert finished off a great night perfectly. We all felt very special and very please we had been.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The evening was lovely and exceeded my expectations of a package event. We are not "tour" people but I would recommend this evening to all. The castle is worth spending a few hours touring. Unfortunately, we were there on a rainy day so chose to skip the grounds which I am sure are beautiful. The musicians were excellent and the flow from dinner to concert was commendable. The only suggestion I would make is to upgrade the food; I for one would be willing to pay more for an upgraded menu. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening.,

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Very good evening. The dinner was excellent and the concert very enjoyable. A great start to our few days in Berlin. The directions for finding the ticket office could have been more specific.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We enjoyed our dinner and the concert.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Very nice

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Touring the Palace was interesting. Dinner was great and so was the concert. A very enjoyable evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Excellent tour. Option of hotel transfers should have been made as palace is some way from city hotels.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was an enjoyable afternoon and evening. The dinner was delicious but the serving was quite small. The setting was marvelous.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We toured the palace in the afternoon before attending the dinner and a very enjoyable concert in the evening. Viator reservations need to be converted to tickets at a particular office before entry so leave time.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The dinner was good, the staff were dressed in period costume and the maitre d was superb. Concert was good but had to leave at interval due to room being too hot.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

This was one of the highlights of our visit to Berlin. Imagine having a candlelit dinner at a palace followed by live music. The food was great as was the music following our dinner.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

All excellent apart from the master of ceremonies who was completely over the top and threatened to spoil the whole experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

This was a great experience. The palace is actually open until 6:00 p.m., not 4:30 as was stated for touring. We had no problems getting our tickets from the Box Office. The grounds were beautiful and worth seeing. The meal experience was good - if there was a choice between two meals it might have been better as I didn't like the main course. A vegetarian would have been out of luck. The music was wonderful. Overall, a fantastic evening.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good experience, nice dinner. worh it

From USD $ 86.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2574CHARPDC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message