4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 'An Evening at Charlottenburg Palace' Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert by the Berlin Residence Orchestra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was a delight afternoon and evening at the Charlottenburg Palace. We enjoyed the palace tour, the dinner similar to what the king would have eaten and the evening concert. The evening setting was a reminder of how things may have been in days of long ago.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

an incredible, intimate evening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We rank this evening among the highlights of our vacation. The music was wonderful, the staff professional, food good. Only problem was finding the Orangery ticket office. Signage & directions were poor.

Joel S
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A great experience, good food, excellent music and superb ambiance one of the highlights of our visit to Berlin.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This was very nice.

Ian H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was an absolute delight to have attended such a wonderful evening. Classical music I can take or leave, but this night coupled with the fantastic cosy 3 course candlelit dinner was just an unbeatable value for such a beautiful evening.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Well worth the the trip. We arrived too late for the tour, but the dinner and musical performance were worth it. Watch out for one thing though, our waitress asked us for drinks before explaining that they were not included in the cost, so beware ordering expensive champagne. Otherwise, a great value.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

We had a terrific time seeing many of the sight of Berlin by way of the hop-on / hop-off bus tour. We ran out of time to go back to our hotel and dress up formally for the evening performances. Suggestion: Have a map on the website of where the concert is given and where one starts with the tour.

Note from Viator: Hi Roger. We posted a map and seating plan on our product details page (click View Map) of the Charlottenburg Palace. Number 1 on the map is the Charlottenburg Palace Main Entrance. The concerts are performed in the Orangery highlighted as Number II and you must collect tickets from Number IV (Small Orangery Ticket Office). Charlottenburg Palace Tour a self guided and you can see the New Wing highlighted as Number III. Please note, the ticket collection instructions are also highlighted on your confirmation voucher.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great evening . Very nice meal , nice venue and excellent service . The concert was excellent .Only problem we had was finding where to go to exchange our vouchers . In the end we went to the Orangery where the event was taking place and found that was where we changed our voucher not the place mentioned in the information .
We took the tour of the palace in the afternoon , definitely recommend this , beautiful place , excellent tour .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The walk to Charlottenburg along the river was delightful and the tour of the palace worth making time for. When we emerged from the Palace the extensive Christmas Market was in full swing and most enjoyable. We felt a little casually dressed for the formal dinner and concert that was much enjoyed. In all a very good day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We were delighted with our 'night out' at Charlottenburg Palace. The dinner, albeit not very generous in size, was very enjoyable and the staff effiecient and friendly. The musical performance was excellent! We felt the evening was created with a lot of thought and care, unlike some other tourist focused entertainment. The huge hall set up for our evening meal was rather too big for the amount of guests and could do with perhaps some seperate sectioning off to make it a more cosy. Otherwise everything was just fine and we would recommend this tour to anyone interested in a unique dining and music experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our audio guide tour of the palace was included with a ticket for an evening dinner and concert, but it can be visited independently on a different day. Permission for pictures costs extra. There are many rooms available for viewing on the main floor, as well as an additional museum of items in the treasury, such as the family silver collection, on the second floor. I especially enjoyed having the freedom to proceed through the rooms at my own pace with the audio guide. It is amazing how much restoration work has been done following WWII, seen by comparing postcards of the devestated, bombed palace with today's tourist gem. Well maintained, extensive gardens are also open behind the building. Part of one wing is still under scaffolding, near the small gift shop. Here one may also find a cold drink vending machine, much welcomed on a hot July day!
We attended the dinner the evening before, and on a rainy night it began with a great deal of frustration trying to find the ticket office. After trying 4 different doors on 2 widely separated buildings, someone finally directed us to the correct, LOCKED door. Noticing us through a window, an employee there admitted us and told us to go back to the other building that was now open. In a huge entry hall, seating for only 6 was provided, so many were left standing to await the grand opening of the dining room. The setting from then on was indeed lovely, with candlelight, costumed servers, and white linen. Unfortunately the dinner did not meet our expectations. What we did eat was very good, but someone with a more typical appetite than we have would leave hungry for sure. The classical concert afterward was enjoyable and well performed. However, there was far too much down time before it began at 8:30 - people were done eating by 6:45! We were admitted to the concert hall on the opposite end of the entry room at 8:00, there was no A/C on a very hot evening, and the wooden chairs quicly became uncomfortable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

What a quaint experience! We were taken back in history to bygone times. Eating dinner in the Great Hall was an experience in itself and the Mozart and Vivaldi in the following concert were superb. We met some lovely people from other parts of the world at interval. Would recommend this excursion. The website should warn people that they need at least 1 1/2 hours to visit the castle and see the gardens at the Castle. We didn't leave ourselves enough time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The experience was great!. However, getting the tickets was a bit of a bother because the ticket office at the palace would not provide tickets when shown an email copy of the Viator booking but told us to get them from an office in anpther part of the complex. Their directions to this other office were incorrect but we eventually were issued with tickets and the subsequent concert was very enjoyable.

From USD $ 95.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2574CHARPDC

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message