4.5 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the 'An Evening at Charlottenburg Palace' Palace Tour, Dinner and Concert by the Berlin Residence Orchestra. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

William M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

As seats were not tiered, the view was a bit restricted.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

The concert is excellent, and the dinner is correct but not excellent. For the price we paid, I expected more. The service was very good, and the people were nice. A negative thing is that you have to get the voucher at the office before the program, so you have to go there twice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I arrived a little before 16:00 on the day, and first found my way to the small orangery to get my tickets. Don't go through the main gates toward the main palace, turn left instead and walk past the restaurant/bar and the toilets in the small orangery to find a small sign for the office. A bit tricky to find, but once I got there everyone was friendly and helpful. The large orangery is just opposite, and where the dinner and the concert is held.

Walking back to the main palace I started my audio-guided tour of the two floors of the palace. The guiding was really good, and some of the rooms really impressive. Photography inside is only allowed if you buy a permit for 3 euro, which I didn't. However, it was really warm (another scorching day in Berlin) and not really many places to sit. The tour of both floors took about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Once I was done I made my way to the large orangery for the dinner. It didn't take long until I was shown to my seat - a single set place at a table with room for 4. Now that was a disappointment. The table next to me was set in the same way, and once that person showed up and we both realised that we spoke English we asked to sit together instead - what fun is a 2 hour meal just by yourself? When I've been to other similar events there have been large tables with room for 10-12 people so that no one has to sit on their own. Well, we did have fun in the end. The food was nothing special, really, but fully edible. A cold soup for starters, some chicken for the main course and panna cotta for dessert.

Then it was time for the concert. I had a VIP ticket so I sat in the front row. Again, it was nothing special, but it went by quickly enough. I did love seeing the beautiful dresses the women were wearing. Most of the presenting were only in German so I didn't understand much.

My favorite part was probably the tour of the palace itself, but it was all ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Excellent concert, excellent M.C., singers, flute performer.
However, dinner is a bit simple and quantity is not enough. It's a shame that drink is not included ( not even water).
A bit of advice : just join the concert.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The dinner, service, concert and setting were super but there is a fundamental flaw in the arrangements. The ticket includes entrance to the palace which is a little way out of the city centre. The ticket office for this event is not in the main palace, it's about a 5 minute walk away. So having got taxis to the palace, walked to find the ticket office, walked back to the palace for the tour, we had 40 minutes to see the house before it closed at 5pm. We felt rushed and somewhat intimidated by some of the palace attendants (looking at their watches etc) and were effectively unable to do it justice. Arguably our fault for going late in the day. However, once closed, we walked back to the Orangery for the evening's entertainment that started at 6pm. The reception room is not geared up for people to wait around for an hour: not enough seats, no bar, so we, a group of 16, had to stand around waiting for an hour to go through for the evening's entertainment. There's nowhere else nearby to go and get a coffee while we waited. Luckily what followed was worth it but the whole flow was spoilt by this hiatus. So, my advice is definitely worth doing if you're game for some culture and refinement BUT do the palace separately or be prepared for waiting around.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

An interesting night out, I feel that it was overpriced as the meal was very average.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

The palace, the welcome and the ambience was very grand and impressive. However, we were disappointed with the food. The concert itself was good but we were led to believe it was an orchestra when in fact it was an ensemble group. It is worth going and seeing - a pleasant evening.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The actors are great and so was the concert, but the food and atmosphere could have been better. The building is very empty, white, blank and not at all the ambiance we expected from a palace. The beverages (including water) were not included in the meal which was more than a good sum. The dinner itself was a sad imitation of french cuisine. The tour took an hour at the most and it would have been appreciated that someone tell us that because we arrived super early and then had to kill time in the garden for the dinner time to arrive. The concert was probably the only worthwhile part. We were in the C area and still heard and saw everything wonderfully. The only critique about the concert is that the first half was a bit slow and could have included more Vivaldi.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Nice atmosphere,good music,mediocre food,overpriced

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Wonderful experience!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

It wasn't what I expected for the price I paid. However the music was glorious.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Mean was just okay. Didn't get hear concert as had to leave early unexpectedly. Palace and gardens weren't as grand as I had hoped. Underwhelming at best.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Not totally enjoyable!! The palace tour and the dinner were good but the concert was not what we expected. We left after the break.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The experience was spoiled by the general public having to walk through the dining room to go to the toilets which is a shame because the waiting staff and musicians tried hard to be in character of the era. The meal could have been better. The first main courses were over salted so we left them partially eaten. I opted for the VIP option which didn't provide value for money from the original price.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

It was a beautiful place for dinner and the concert,however--My friend and I felt that the price was very high,especially for the dinner. The staff really concentrated on selling drinks, and not eve tap water was provided.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Tour of the palace was good. Dinner was in a lovely setting and very enjoyable. Concert music was well played but very boring,

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

During the dinner, I expected to have more participation of the singers and musicians, however it was a cold enviroment and the scenario could it be much better :( a little disappointmennt. The comcert was ok, the price was not the issue but it was not a show to see for tourist people, were more locals. Should not be the high recommendation of Viator for Berlin. There is much more to do and see at a lower cost and with better quality.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The dinner does not include any drinks or even tap water. They told us at the door that tap water would be provided, but that was a lie and despite our protest were charged and obscene amount of cash for bottled water. The main course was a small portion and rather bland. After the show we went for some fast food because we were still hungry. Palace tour okay, expect to spend an hour or two on it, but probably not more. Pay toilet only on the tour or wear a diaper. There is a free toilet in the dining room if you can wait that long. The auditorium is not suitable for shows! It is very long with a flat floor so people in front of you will block your view. I am tall, and had difficulties seeing it from the 5th row because of people in front of us. I don't think people in the back of that long room can see anything. Maybe stand up and bring a telescope? No photos allowed in the palace or during the performance. Royal or not, this is a really bad deal! Please do not waste your time or money on this. Europe is full of Palaces and castles. Visit a different one, this was the worst.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Although the meal was ok and the concert was good, the overall experience was quite disappointing. My wife and I felt like we were being nickeled and dined. Two rolls came at the salad part of the meal and when we asked for a couple more we were told to wait as the meal was just about to be served. 15 minutes later the meal showed up. There was only a small piece of meat and a vegetable. Although I appreciate the consideration for my weight, the meal was not adequate for the price (no potatoes).

The gentlemen who greeted us and was the announcer just skipped by us when he was walking table to table. My wife felt slighted as we wanted to take a picture.

I would suggest the organizers should turn it into a night to remember not a night to feel that corners were being shaven

From USD $ 85.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2574CHARPDC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message