Insider's Guide to Berlin

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 85 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

gerda e A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Couldnt hear the speaker as there were some load people on the boat and no one told them to keep it down.

J A Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

As this was booked via an "english spoken site". I was very dissapointed that the guide on the boat only spoke German. Especially as we were with a group of four from which 3 were from the US. Also the name of the actual company that carries out the boat tour is not mentioned on the voucher. Becaus of this we walked to 3 other boats before we found the right one

Paul T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

It was cold and wet, rain...Tour guide gave up on speaking English as I seam to be the only one who didn't speak German, so he gave me a booklet to follow along.

Thomas H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

low budget type tour

Heather B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Difficult to locate the correct pick up point and when I presented the voucher to the boatman he was not sure if he could accept it. The food was very poor with the only decent dishes on the menu being unavailable. The commentary was very monotonous but there were a few interesting facts. We left the boat early as the stop in the centre of town looked like a better place to find a taxi than the remote station where we had got on the boat.

dawn c

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

This was ok, the guide was informative enough but it just didn't have that wow factor. There are much better ways to see Berlin.

6dguild

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not English commentary

holiday fanatic

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

This was not the best evening cruise we have done. The commentary was good but most of the cruise was in the canals so didn't get to see that much.

Terry T Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

We were tired and uninspired by river, so didn't attend this tour.

Susanne D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

Well not the hit but good that you could leave the boat in Mitte- thanks

Neil R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

Once on the trip we had quite a pleasant evening, however, have to agree with other comments, it is not clear which side of the river to catch the boat, none of the signs mention the supplier, which would be helpful. It made for a bit of a stressful start to the evening. In addition the tour is completely in German. That may sound weird but the tour details do mention English and my German is not good enough for a trip of three hours. The boat was OK and there is food and drink readily available even if you haven't booked the restaurant. Not sure I would recommend it.

Edward K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

boring and there are many newer and better appointed boats on the river.No english translations

David B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

We loved all of the other tours that we took through your company. This was the only tour that we were disappointed with, but it was my fault by not reading that the tour was in German only. You could get an English printout, but you're so busy reading the information that you end up not being able to enjoy your surroundings.

Josefine K Ireland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

I have to say I did not enjoy the trip too much. 3 hours is a very long time on the boat. The food was nice and the staff was friendly but it was just too long. For the first 2 hours we saw the outskirts of Berlin which was not too interesting. The last hour was fab. The city looks brilliant at night. I did not like that we were handed a written English manual of the sights. My boyfriend does not speak or understand German. I ended up translating everything to him because it is not convenient to look into the manual the whole trip. I think in the capital you should have a tour guide who speaks German and English. The bus tour we did a day later was live in both languages.

Steinunn G Iceland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The boat trip was good but not the food.

Margarida G Portugal

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

We did not understand anything since it was all in German and we do not speak German. We asked questions in English, and also felt that there was too much time in the boat, around 3 hours.

Janis L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Guide did not give enough explanation of sites.

Ronald W USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

It was OK. I should have done it during the day.

Padmaprabodh A India

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

The tour operator needs to give more precise instructions on the pickup point. Most tourists are new to a city, and just saying landing dock near Jannonwitzbruck is not sufficient. We ran around all over the place and finally got on to some other cruise - those guys were not even sure whether Viator vouchers were for their cruise or somebody else's.

Fatima K Netherlands

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

The guide for this tour was only doing it in Italian and German, we spoke English/Spanish, so when we ask if she could translate she said she could not do that and gave us a book which my husband read along the way. I understood Italian, so it was not too bad for me, but it should not be this way. We pay for a guided tour and not a reading tour. Sorry, your tour guide missed on this one. It has never happened before, usually the guides ask if they will like some explanation in other language and I don't think this lady did not know English because she was able to talk to my daughter. A bit disappointed!!!!

Jason S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

The tour was in German and the English translation was not easy to follow. It was also dark and not easy to see some of the sites in detail.

James Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We were very disappointed with this tour, firstly we were at the second pickup point for the cruise which meant we missed out on the opened air deck. Secondly the river and canal navigated were filthy with rubbish and smelt. Thirdly the sights, especially in the canal, were obscured by the trees, while those on the river could be best viewed on land. The amount of graffiti on the canal walls and buildings was certainly an eyesore. The boat, crew and food were quite good. Overall a very disappointing evening. /p>

cmitchc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I thought it was awful. We did not see anything except the slums and river people. Very dirty and terrible service. They only had one waitress for the whole boat. Please remove this from your list

Maria H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

I wouldn't even give this trip a full one star was extremely long for its purpose and when we got on after two hours we were dying to get off with no stops we genuinely felt trapped, the tour consisted of being told about every single bridge and shown buildings such as primary schools got off this tour earlier than our planned stop and feel like I did not see any landmark

Edward S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

In I 'm not really sure how to begin, but here goes. First of all, we found it very difficult to find the departure location stated on our vouchers when there were several more convenient locations to board the "tour". When we finally did find it and boarded the vessel, we had a difficult time in understanding everything the guide was saying even though she was using a microphone. We had to endure listening to the "tour" in four different languages when our voucher specifically indicated there would be an English guide. The guide stated that it was given in four languages, English, French, German and Russian. In order to complicate matters. By not being able to totally understand what was being said, we had a very difficult time in "seeing" the sights the guide was trying to describe. The lighting in the cabin, reflected against the windows making it almost impossible to see anything. We would have gone outside to see things, but it a very damp and rainy night. Quite honestly, it was one of the most boring "tours" we have ever encountered. It was a total waste of time and money. We would not recommend this particular tour for all of the above stated reasons. A total bust as far as we were concerned. We managed to exit the tour at one of the various stops after almost two hours of pure boredom. Save your money on this one.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 26.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3080NCRUISE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message