Insider's Guide to Berlin

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bo P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The trip was very nice, but a bit too long.
The guide was very difficult to understand both in German and in English - could be the soundsystem, or his deep tone of voice but it definately would have been a much more interesting trip, if we had got more of the informations as we sail along.

philip m

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This was a really good trip hut in my opinion just over 3 hours was too long

Vanessa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Very hard to hear the guide.

Hana B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Enjoyed it in spite of the rainy day and the fact that we were the only couple that showed up for the timing we had booked . There has to be at least 6 people for them to sail.fortunately the next run was half empty so we waited 50 minutes for the next boat tour.. Would do it again!

Lynette F

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great river trip except for the afternoon storm. My advice don't book before you go just rock up so you know what weather is like.

Elizabeth M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Great cruise.Only fault was the commentary being difficult to hear and you lost interest quickly.

Daniel B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

The trip was not three hours as advertised but only 1.5 hours or so. Otherwise fine,

Loraine S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Ok cruise, seen better river tours, the english written commentary was useless as we did not know where in the booklet to start

Reinhilde H USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

THIS WAS A VERY NICE RELAXING TRIP. tHE ON-LINE TICKET WORKED VERY WELL. I WISH THAT THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN ENGLISH EXPLANATIONS ALSO AFTER THE GERMAN.

alitch

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Due to a misdirection by a taxi we ended up on the wrong boat for this tour, so i cant really give a review, but im sure this boat would have been better than the one we went on!!!

Cordelia B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Fantastic tour and excellent commentary. HOWEVER, we were offered no alternative to the German commentator which meant that some in our group had nothing other than what we translated plus the gorgeous scenery.
By contrast, the bus tour offered various languages which worked for all.

Marty P United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

This started in more of an industrial area, which was a long way from the main part of the city. There were stops where people got off We did that as well. I didn't see anyone getting on at these other stops, but that might have been more conducive to the trip. We would have preferred to get on at the government complex dock and then get off there as well as on the return. The boats were not as modern as many of the others on the river and the English translator lacked knowledge of the language.

Stefan Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Nice tour. Leisurely. Unfortunately, if you were interested in information...........as an English speaking person, this is not for you. English 20%, German 80%

George

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This is a waste of time.

Anamaria R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

ENCONTRAR EL LUGAR PARA TOMAR EL BOTE FUE MUY DIFICIL PORQUE LAS INDICACIONES NO ERAN CLARAS. ADEMAS FUIMOS LAS UNICAS TURISTAS EN EL BOTE. LO PEOR FUE QUE LA GUIA SOLO HABLABA ALEMAN Y SE SUPONIA QUE ERA EN INGLES

María Inés T Argentina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Nice trip, but the guide's explanations were only in German. Neither audioguide nor written info in English was provided or even offered to non German speaking passengers. A bit of cosmopolitanism, please! Regrettable attitude towars tourists.

Ronald V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

It was only ok, the walking tour is much better.

Malini M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Its a nice trip if the weather is nice otherwise you will be cold. There is no commentry in English, all you are given is a little leaflet, so in that respect you are just going for a boat ride. The lady at the landaing was quite rude and did not give any information. The landing stage itself is way out of town. So if you want something a little more easy choose a crusie that has a central landing stage. Once you get off the boat you cannot get back on it. Although, it was nice through the main parts of town (as we know the centre quite well), but the second half is a bit boring. You also need to be aware that the boat does not stop at all the stops shown on the map. If you need to get off early like we did - you have to let them know on the bus. We found it expensive for what you actually got for your money.

David C United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

It could have been a disaster as on the scheduled day we were due to depart, due to the rain we called ahead to re-arrange for the next day - only to be told the trip had been cancelled by the operators!! Luckily we didn't make the trip to the launch jetty to find out it had been cancelled!! So I recommend you always call ahead! It further started as a big challenge to actually find the launch jetty after departing from the Underground station. There were no signs and even the locals didn't know where the jetty was located! We arrived with a minute to spare as the directions were totally inadequate. The boat trip itself was good, although the guide only spoke in German our fault for not speaking the language requiring us to follow a book with pictures in English. Very confusing. Saying that we did enjoy our trip and saw many great sites in Berlin via the river - although we did dismount at the half way point rather than do the whole trip again in reverse, which probably would have been a waste of time. So certaily could be much better!

Eugene G USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

There are many different cruises you can purchase in Berlin, but this is just about the longest of them all. There were a few nice sights that we would not have seen on the shorter cruises, but the final 1 hour is spend going down a narrow canal with very little to see. We actually got off a stop early, which worked out quite well, since we were right in the heart of the embassies, many of them showed some astounding and impressive architecture. The crew was less than friendly. The server only came by once at the beginning, then he spent the rest of the cruise sitting at a table with his friends. It was raining, so we spent most of the cruise on the lower level, but at one point I tried to go to the top, when I was blocked by the kitchen staff, who were on a smoke break. The would not let me by to the top level, even though it was open and other people were there. I had to wait for their very long break to end for them to clear the stairway so I could go up. I do recommend a river cruise in Berlin, but perhaps not this one.

Kamani G United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

The biggest downfall was that the commentaries were in GERMAN! This was rather disappointing. Also the location to get on the boat was rather out of the way, and there were other operators that were centrally located with English commentaries.

DONALD C USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

If you don't understand German, best to avoid this one. The brochure indicates both English and German on the handout but there were just tidbits of English in the first third of the 3 hr tour, then only German for the next 2/3 of the tour. The brochure handed out listed all the sights to be seen, however the sights were not in numerical order! Furthermore, their description on meeting place is the worst ever, giving an address that is blocks away from actual meeting spot. Meeting spot should just say across the street from the palace - on the bank of the River Spree.

seifeldeen.hesham

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Believe me you won't even like it !! Just to cut to the chase.. There are other gigantic boats right behind the Berlin Cathedral (Berlin Dom) and right in front of the DDR museum.. They look doubtlessly better than this one !!
What makes me not to like is that the tour was very long and boring !!

Robert W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

To begin- the instructions give to find the location are not adequate. We were dropped off by cab exactly where the instructions said- and ended up scrambling to find the location which was down another street, across a bridge and not clearly marked even when we found it! Our booking also clearly stated that this was an English tour. The guide only spoke in German. We were offered a book to follow along by ourselves. We ended up leaving the tour half way through because we were not learning anything from the commentary- which is why we booked in the first place. Finally- we ordered three coffees- 10.50 euro!! We left before the tour was half over. We have always had good luck with Viatour- this was not up to expectations

cj

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Because there were only 2-3english speaker we were given a booklet to read! Not interesting. Didn't always know where we were.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 24.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3080DCRUISE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message