• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 421 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 421 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a must for first timers to Berlin. This was a very informative historical walking tour. There was so much information to share, Alex our guide was fantastic and knowledgeable in giving the history of the city and pointed out some interesting features and places of some of the areas as we walked.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was one of the most informative tours I had ever taken...it was a history lesson, social lesson, and sight seeing wrapped up I to one. Great tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We thought Lorna's knowledge of Berlin was excellent. She projected her voice beautifully and had many fine anecdotal stories to tell. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My two sisters and I hugely enjoyed the walking tour. Our guide Finn was friendly, entertaining and very well informed on local and national history and current affairs in Berlin. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this tour as a 'must do' experience for newcomers to the city!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

A very interesting tour. Our guide Matti was very knowledgeable, had photos to show how places looked in the past and paced the tour for all the group. It was a large group but Matti ensured everyone heard him and kept all of us together. The walk went quickly but so much was seen. We had a coffee break which was good but otherwise there is no stopping for breaks. Very enjoyable and helped to get our bearings. Definately recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

A very informative guide, Finn, made this a really interesting and worthwhile experience. I only wish this had been booked earlier on in our stay.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Learnt a lot, my leader knew everything even specific dates. left the tour knowing a lot more and seeing a lot of very interesting things

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The love of history gleamed from the guide. She was great. This is a true half day walking tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

A very interesting tour that covered much of Berlin's history. The guide, Ben, was very interesting and knowledgeable. We also went on the Cold War tour but they history covered was very different.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thanks very much for an excellent tour; really glad we did this on our first afternoon as it helped us plan the rest of our weekend. This included a second tour about the Third Reich. Both our guides were great; very knowledgeable and helpful - especially in pointing out the tourist traps to avoid.

Many thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Carlos our guide was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our guide La Rocca rocks! This was possibly the best walking historical tour of a major city that I have been on, and I have done a few. In a space of 4 hours, we were taken through the history of Berlin from the eighteen hundreds to the present day. La Rocca, an American now living in Berlin as a graduate student, has a top educator's knack of telling us enough, but not too much, to allow us a clear concept and understanding of the entire sweep of German history, in an interesting, uncluttered, yet stimulating and interactive way. Add a generous dose of humour and anecdotes and it was an amazing educational and cultural experience. But one needs really good walking shoes! This walk is not for the slack and we covered swathes of territory at a fairly cracking pace within the 4 hours, with one 20 minute break in between to put feet up and recharge batteries. This is a highly recommendable tour, especially if you can land La Rocca as the guide. C Tan, Singapore.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide, Alex, was extremely knowledgeable. He provided fascinating history on all the places we saw and thoroughly answered all my questions. A great overview of Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very enlightening tour mostly due to the tour guide Mr. Alex LaRocca - hope I did spell his name correctly -. He happened to be grad student majoring in History/Political History majoring in the German history of the 19 and 20th centuries. So he was very knowledgable and shared what could shared with a typical tour crowd. The Berliner Dome, Unter den Lİnden, Humboldt Universitat, Book Burning, Polish Church as a sign of tolerance, the Book Burning Incident of May 1933, Jewish Memorial, Hitler's Bunker, The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and the underlying rumours, and the finish at the Gendarmen Markt. All seems to be vivid still. I definitely recommend this tour and strongly advise to ask for Mr. Alex LaRocca as the tour guide. I take this oppurtunity to thank him once more for his friendly attitude towards the group and also for his patience.
Mr. Turgut Dagdelen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was the highlight of our stay in Berlin. Our guide, Finn, was absolutely wonderful. The tour, which began at 10 a.m. and lasted until well past 3 o'clock was filled with interesting historical information, including photos, and personal stories that humanized the entire tour. We took this on our first full day of a week's stay and the entire trip was made more enjoyable because we had a sense of the city and its history. Bravo to Finn. Wish we had booked him for the Potsdam Tour, which was not so great.

From USD $ 16.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817DISCOVER

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message