4.5 star rating: Recommended 80 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Discover Potsdam Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 80 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The palaces and grounds of Potsdam are fantastic. The guide was knowledgable and informative but did talk just that little bit too much, so sometimes we drifted off a bit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great walking tour...but requires the use of public transportation (local bus). The regular bus that came by was full, so we ended up walking an additional mile to catch a tram. This left less time for a nice lunch. Be aware that this tour DOES NOT INCLUDE the tour of the San Succi Palace...which is an additional 12 euros each...and you have to wait for a full group before you can enter. We had to wait 40 minutes.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great tour to take to learn about the events that took place after the Russians took control of the area. History came alive with this tour. Our understanding of how Germany was divided and how it took place increased a lot. Being on the spot where the leaders of four nations deciding the fate of Germany was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was nice to have this excursion out of Berlin itself. Our guide shepherded us along at a good pace but there was still time for good explanations and photo opportunities. This tour is a vey long one with a great deal of walking and so is not for the faint hearted. Our Berlin hot weather had continued although by now we were getting used to the heat. Also it was not as hot as our two previous tours that we had booked and done the previous days. Potsdam is a good pace to,spend time just wandering around with its very interesting and lovely gardens, palaces and has a pleasant town to visit. Must admit that by the time we reached the palace towards the end of the tour we were too tired to spend any extra time there and were happy to be guided back to the station and our return to Berlin.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A very knowledgable guide, and very well organised.

Going back into the history as if experiencing some of the events of the past.

Well worth it.

John W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

This tour is great for getting a feel for Potsdam itself and the palace area. The tour does not provide entry into any of the palaces - if you want to do that, you have to stay on and make your own way back to Berlin by train. We did that and thought it worthwhile. Matti our guide was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a very comprehensive and useful tour. Our guide was highly knowledgeable, very friendly, and willing to answer questions and help out. What prevents me from giving this tour a higher rating is the following: our guide should have told (or at least hinted) that it would have been useful to book the entrance tickets to the Sans Souci palace in advance somehow because timed tickets sell out fairly quickly, and then you may have to wait for some time for your time slot.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Carlos was a great guide and very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A good trip but more time was needed in the city. The distribution of time outside and inside Potsdam should have been more even. We had to rush through the city part.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Jim was a great guide; kept everything moving quite well and good communicator -- it was a lot of walking but worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Jim was excellent and the only slight quibble was that we would have appreciated a longer time at lunch, to relax and stroll around Potsdam itself.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This tour was a great history lesson, and was full of interesting sights. People should be advised that it is a lot of walking, but well worth thte trouble. The guide was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

My wife, Robin, and I very much enjoyed the walking tour. We felt that Carlos, our guide, was excellent.
Ed Lampert

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

The tour was very interesting, and our tour guide was extremely knowledgable. Well worth the time. A caution, however. This tour covers about 5 miles of walking; so it is not for the feint of heart.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Really enjoyed our guide who was most knowledgeable. The tour gave a great insight in the lifestyle and history of Potsdam and well worth it. We did see some great venues and 'homes'. It would be a great option to offer a guided tour of Sanssoucci at the end of the tour as we tried to do this but would have had to wait over 2 hours to this. Would recommend this tour. There is a lot walking but it is quite easy.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Wow, The presenter was very knowledgeable, and a lot of information to cover. The walking pace was a little faster than expected, but overall, a good tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very good. It was very informative and interesting.

John W D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The tours was well worth it. It should be stressed that this was a walking tour and we did cover a lot of ground and kilometres on a very warm day, but all very interesting. As a suggestion maybe a few more scheduled rest stops would help those in groups that may not best use to walking the longer distances.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The tour guide David was excellent, and very knowledgeable, well credentialed. Also he took us back to where the tour started, and helped us navigate home, which is an added bonus - not many of the guides are so courteous!
However, there is an awful lot of walking as so much ground to cover. People should be prepared to walk quite quickly for several hours.

Michael H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Excellent tour guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It. sãs só good, but it. sãs só much interesting if it. as in spanish. It. hás a big historical contents I louve it., but my English is not só good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Carlos was an excellent guide, providing a good understanding of the history of Potsdam. Extensive walking, about 12 km in total, not clearly outlined in advertisement. Tour stopped short of providing access to San Souci and timing and long queues prevented access. Ticket to San Souci as part of tour would make it a complete event.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

We spent too much time on public transportation and listening to more detailed history than we could ever possibly remember.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Too rushed..I took in little of the sites, saw nothing of Potsdam...we had no time to relax and take fotos..it was like a boot camp..David, the guide was ok, but not customer focused..he was on a tight time frame. I hated it!! It spoilt my experience. too much info given..and we spent too much time at the spy swap bridge.

From USD $ 16.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817POTSDAM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message