4.5 star rating: Recommended 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Discover Potsdam Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and gave us an experience we would not have been able to achieve on our own. It was a full day and a lot of walking, but well-worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Having a local as our guide added so much to the experience. The knowledge and experiences he shared with our group made this day memorable. He was even embarrassed having to explain about the nudists. Much history of the region and the buildings with a great stop at the lake. We spent a lot of time waiting as the make up of the group meant we missed a bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was very nice to meet Dennis, he's an awesome guide, super intelligent and a very nice person. The great thing about our guided visit to Potsdam was the historical panoramic view that was provided in the site that History happened. I strongly recommend the visitors of Potsdam to take this guided tour which made our trip complete and full of insights that wouldn't happen if we were without a guide. Our vision about German history was upgraded a lot with this tour. Thank you very much, Viator team.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Matti was a fantastic tour guide. His detailed knowledge of the history both recent and less recent tied in the surroundings very well. I enjoyed my time and honestly felt it a relief from the hussel and bussel of Berlin. A highly recommended tour and a highly recommended guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Dennis the guide was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great. Enjoyed Finn- he was a wealth of information. A good day.

Ian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing day out, perfect for the history-lover. David was a brilliant, knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide for this very interesting place. Would recommend booking ahead for the Sanssouci Palace as all the tickets for that day had run out by the time we reached the palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great walk but you need to go back again on your own to look at your own pace. Still ,very informative guide and very pleasant and help full. We enjoyed our walk with the guide but a fair amount of area to cover so not much time to browse . You need to be on a wall king tour if only to have the history explained and which way to go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Carlos was a brilliant guide - knowledgeable, witty and friendly. We had a wonderful guided tour. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Beautiful sites, and our guide Carlos (The Great) was very personable and knowledgable. We stopped for a nice 45 minute break in a beautiful area. One note: you will walk through part of a park where there are nude bathers so if you're shy and weirded out by nudity then keep your head down in that area. We booked three walking tours while we stayed in Germany and I highly recommend them.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Carlos was an excellent guide, providing a good understanding of the history of Potsdam. Extensive walking, about 12 km in total, not clearly outlined in advertisement. Tour stopped short of providing access to San Souci and timing and long queues prevented access. Ticket to San Souci as part of tour would make it a complete event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was very good tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The palaces and grounds of Potsdam are fantastic. The guide was knowledgable and informative but did talk just that little bit too much, so sometimes we drifted off a bit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great walking tour...but requires the use of public transportation (local bus). The regular bus that came by was full, so we ended up walking an additional mile to catch a tram. This left less time for a nice lunch. Be aware that this tour DOES NOT INCLUDE the tour of the San Succi Palace...which is an additional 12 euros each...and you have to wait for a full group before you can enter. We had to wait 40 minutes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

From USD $ 19.49

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817POTSDAM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message