4.5 star rating: Recommended 66 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Berlin, Germany
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Discover Potsdam Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 66 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Ian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing day out, perfect for the history-lover. David was a brilliant, knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide for this very interesting place. Would recommend booking ahead for the Sanssouci Palace as all the tickets for that day had run out by the time we reached the palace.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great walk but you need to go back again on your own to look at your own pace. Still ,very informative guide and very pleasant and help full. We enjoyed our walk with the guide but a fair amount of area to cover so not much time to browse . You need to be on a wall king tour if only to have the history explained and which way to go.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Carlos was a brilliant guide - knowledgeable, witty and friendly. We had a wonderful guided tour. Highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! Beautiful sites, and our guide Carlos (The Great) was very personable and knowledgable. We stopped for a nice 45 minute break in a beautiful area. One note: you will walk through part of a park where there are nude bathers so if you're shy and weirded out by nudity then keep your head down in that area. We booked three walking tours while we stayed in Germany and I highly recommend them.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Carlos was an excellent guide, providing a good understanding of the history of Potsdam. Extensive walking, about 12 km in total, not clearly outlined in advertisement. Tour stopped short of providing access to San Souci and timing and long queues prevented access. Ticket to San Souci as part of tour would make it a complete event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was very good tour

Suzanne R
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The palaces and grounds of Potsdam are fantastic. The guide was knowledgable and informative but did talk just that little bit too much, so sometimes we drifted off a bit

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great walking tour...but requires the use of public transportation (local bus). The regular bus that came by was full, so we ended up walking an additional mile to catch a tram. This left less time for a nice lunch. Be aware that this tour DOES NOT INCLUDE the tour of the San Succi Palace...which is an additional 12 euros each...and you have to wait for a full group before you can enter. We had to wait 40 minutes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour is incredibly informative- great for history lovers! Our guide, Jim, was great and made the whole experience really interesting, using pictures to help us to keep up with who was who. The only disappointment was that most of the palaces at the start are only seen from a distance. The views along the walk are very beautiful, as you pass through wooded areas, but if you find it difficult to stand for long amounts of time, I don't think that this tour would be for you, there was a lot of walking. At the end you are dropped at Sanssouci Palace, which is one of the highlights of the trip, however we didn't have time to look around properly so I recommend that you leave enough time. If you are thinking of doing the trip yourself and independently of a tour guide, I felt that the most interesting places we visited were Cecilienhof, the old Dutch quarters of Potsdam, Potsdam town in general (looked like there were some lovely shops) and Sanssouci Palace. I really wish that we had spent more time in these places, and sometimes I felt like there was a bit too much information, however, our guide was superb and he did make the trip enjoyable. So... would I recommend it? If you really love history and don't mind lovely picturesque walks seeing many things from a distance, then yes, you would love this tour. However, if I'm honest, although I enjoyed the tour, I felt that a lot of time was spent stood listening and enjoying the view from afar, when I was looking forward to seeing a palace up close and immersing myself in their lavish gardens. If you are like me then I would recommend going independently, as public transport is so good, and just visit the four places I recommended above. If these aren't enough for you, or you don't want to venture too far from Berlin, I'd really recommend visiting the gardens of Charlottenberg Palace. We did this another day and it was beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a great tour to take to learn about the events that took place after the Russians took control of the area. History came alive with this tour. Our understanding of how Germany was divided and how it took place increased a lot. Being on the spot where the leaders of four nations deciding the fate of Germany was wonderful.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was nice to have this excursion out of Berlin itself. Our guide shepherded us along at a good pace but there was still time for good explanations and photo opportunities. This tour is a vey long one with a great deal of walking and so is not for the faint hearted. Our Berlin hot weather had continued although by now we were getting used to the heat. Also it was not as hot as our two previous tours that we had booked and done the previous days. Potsdam is a good pace to,spend time just wandering around with its very interesting and lovely gardens, palaces and has a pleasant town to visit. Must admit that by the time we reached the palace towards the end of the tour we were too tired to spend any extra time there and were happy to be guided back to the station and our return to Berlin.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A fantastic tour that was made all the more interesting by the way our guide, Dennis, presented the history of the sights we visited. The later part of the tour consisted of a ongoing story told to us in sections that, thanks to a number of cliffhangers, kept us all entertained.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a great walking tour with Finn through Potsdam. The meeting point was very easy to find and Finn was very clear about the train and when to get off etc. He is a fount of knowledge about the history of the area Berlin/Potsdam and it was a great trip. It was a little longer than advertised which was not an issue for us but if there are tight schedules for people they should know this. Highly recommend all their tours as all of the guides really know their history but Finn was exceptional.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

our guide Matti has been wonderful throughout the tour giving invaluable insights regarding the history of Potsdam, Wannsee, and Berlin and how all three places relate to each other. travel by train, bus, and tram provides a great feel of the place. the walk along the Wannsee and Potsdam gardens was terrific.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Dennis made this a worthwhile tour even though it was pouring with rain, cold and miserable.
His knowledge of Potsdam and its history gave us a good insight into this historical town and its surrounds.
We walked over the 'spy bridge' and saw where the divide was between East and West Germany. Visited the lovely Cecilienhof Palace where the Potsdam Conference was held. Dennis walked us through the town telling us the history and then to the SanSouci Palace where he kept us enthralled with his 'episodes' on the life of the royal palace.

From USD $ 19.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3817POTSDAM

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message